Merry Christmas To You *Open Thread*

by

And so it is, another Christmas Day is upon us. This is such a special time, spending time with family, stressing out over gifts, or food preparation for family gathering, or the inability to afford either…It is a time of reflection, a time of sharing. It is a time of remembering what is important, of a lowly birth in a manger, of hopes for peace around the world. It is a magical time, filled with a beauty only the winter can bring…

And it is about the music. Whether one is a Christian or not, there is something special about the music of this season. It can be quiet and soothing, like a mother singing to her child. It can be joyous, and exuberant, the birth of the promised one remembered and celebrated. It can be lighthearted, and fun, sleigh rides in the snow, and you just know there will be a mug of hot chocolate with marshmallows waiting at the end of the ride…

It is that music I want to offer for this day, if you will indulge me. These songs speak to me in one way or another, whether it is the chanting quality that reaches deep into the soul, or memories of my mother and father singing their parts in the church choir, where Dad was also the organist. There are so many to choose from that I love, so this is but a sampling.

Since it is Christmas Day, it seems only fitting to harken this day with, “O, Come All Ye Faithful,” sung by the incredible group, Celtic Woman:

Beautiful, just beautiful. I swear, I could just pick a bunch of their pieces for this post – I just love their voices. Gorgeous.

Another one of my favorite Christmas songs, performed, appropriately enough by the Vienna Boys Choir, is “Little Drummer Boy”:

Lovely. These boys have the prettiest voices, don’t they?

The Wexford Carol has gorgeous harmonies, as evidenced in this rendition by Celtic Woman:

This has to be one of the best Christmas songs, performed here by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, “Angels We Have Heard On High”:

Wow, their reputation is well deserved, is it not? Amazing.

And finally, this fun, joyful piece, “Christmas Pipes.” Again, it is performed by Celtic Woman:

I hope your Christmas Day is all you wish it to be, filled with love, warmth, time spent with loved ones, and that there is no cold or loneliness for you this day, or any. Many blessings on this day, and for the New Year to come.

4 Responses to “Merry Christmas To You *Open Thread*”

  1. Ferd Berfle Says:

    Belated Merry Christmas, Amy. Thanks for the videos.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      And same to you, Ferd! I hope you all had a wonderful day!

      • Ferd Berfle Says:

        Amy, I responded to your comment the other night at Kat’s. I want to assure you that I was not including you in my rant. You were always my favorite over at NQ and I looked forward to your commentaries as I can’t think of a single time where I disagreed with you..

        ferd.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, you are too kind, Ferd. I assumed you weren’t, but you know what they say abt “assume”! 🙂 Anyway, thank you so much. That means a lot to me.

        I truly am glad for y’all’s new blog. It is such a blessing to have a place like yours to hang out! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

