Cold Weather, Cold Cash, And Common Core *Open Thread*

by

The weather continues to be some of the big news of the day. It was cold for where I live – 19 degrees when I got up this morning. That is unprecedented for us, no doubt about it. It has also frozen where our water comes in from the reverse-osmosis tanks, so we are sans water for the moment. My poor partner is under the deck as I type holding a hair dryer on a switch that can freeze to see if that helps. Brrr.

But, we don’t have snow here. In fact, it is clear as a bell, which is a good/bad thing. Good that there is no precipitation, but bad that it means what heat is generated throughout the day will dissipate at night. And I know I can’t complain much – many, many people have it WAAAYYY worse than I do as this article highlights:

[…] A whirlpool of frigid, dense air known as a “polar vortex” was expected to suppress temperatures in more than half of the continental U.S. starting into Monday and Tuesday, with wind chill warnings stretching from Montana to Alabama.

It was 5 degrees at kickoff Sunday afternoon inside sold-out Lambeau Field for a playoff game between the Green Bay Packers and the San Francisco 49ers, one of the coldest ever played.

“We suited up, we brought all the snowboarding gear we use … and added to it,” said 49ers fan Jeff Giardinelli of Fresno, Calif. “Without the wind, which isn’t here yet, we’re good. When it gets windy, we’ll be ready for it.”

The forecast is extreme: 25 below zero in Fargo, N.D., minus 31 in International Falls, Minn., and minus 15 in Indianapolis and Chicago. Wind chills — what it feels like outside when high winds are factored into the temperature — could drop into the minus 50s and 60s. Northeastern Montana was warned of wind chills up to 59 below zero.

“It’s just a dangerous cold,” said National Weather Service meteorologist Butch Dye in Missouri. […] (click here to read the rest.)

The good news is that the Vortex isn’t expected to last too much longer. Thank heavens for that.

Meanwhile, the other issue in the news is Unemployment Extension. Naturally, the Democrats are portraying Republicans as people-haters who don’t care about those who are out of work, and Republicans are saying this just cannot go on indefinitely. You know, same-, same-o. But there was a plan in the works to do something about this pressing matter. And what did the White House do? Stuck its big nose in and mucked it all up. From the Daily Caller:

White House officials Monday tried to blow up a nascent political compromise over a one-year, $25 billion extension of unemployment insurance.

The dramatic move came only a few hours before a close Senate vote, and amid a White House strategy to divert media and public attention from the imploding Obamacare program.

“We have an emergency right now. … The president believes we should pass this right away, no strings attached,” White House economic chief Gene Sperling said, while rejecting GOP calls for a compromise over the extension of unemployment benefits for people who have been unemployed for more than six months in Obama’s economy. (ANALYSIS: Obama’s 2014 strategy — my economy sucks)

GOP leaders, including House Speaker John Boehner, have repeatedly said they’d be willing to extend unemployment benefits if Democrats identified offsetting budget cuts or economy-boosting regulatory changes. GOP leaders want to minimize other political battles to focus voters’ attention on the Obamacare crash. […]
(Click here to read the rest.)

Sigh. What else is new?? What be concerned with rampant, unchecked spending? Sure, let’s just willy nilly keep this programs going on with no way to fund them. What’s the big deal?

And not that I am unconcerned about those on Unemployment Of course I am. But it cannot be a continuing program. It was never MEANT to be a continuing program. As it is, people can be on Unemployment for almost TWO YEARS. It is simply unsustainable to think that we can continue to give people money for an extensive amount of time without having to compensate for it somewhere. Something’s gotta give, that’s for sure.

And the same could be said for Common Core and its impact on this country. Once again, from Tennessee, we have a young man speaking out to his school board, one that from the get-go demonstrated its unwillingness to bend. But that did not stop this eloquent young man for speaking up about the state of Education in his state, and in our country:

Young people like Kenneth Ye gives me hope that maybe, just maybe, things can get turned around in this country and we can get back on track.

Okay, that’s it for me. Lots going on these days, and feel free to talk about whatever is on your minds today. I hope you are safe and warm, and get to stay indoors!

This is an Open Thread. Have at it!

56 Responses to “Cold Weather, Cold Cash, And Common Core *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here we go again with the repulsive political posturing by this White House. They are oh so concerned about people who have lost their unemployment insurance but not concerned enough to keep from throwing a monkey wrench in the process of getting to there from here.

    How long will the majority of Americans be fooled by these tactics?

    Who in their right mind thinks it a bad thing to “pay” for things? Except politicians who spend taxpayer dollars like monopoly money.

    I should take that back – most of the people I played Monopoly with were far more careful with those colorful pieces of paper than congress is with the dollars they spend so carelessly. The dollars they spend that they don’t have.

    Sometimes I just want to give up!

    Oh and Rev, tell your partner to be careful with that blow dryer. Heard yesterday that some guy set his house on fire that way.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Uh, yeah – that is how they roll.

      And BREAKING NEWS: the Jobless Benefits bill has now passed the Senate. Here’s the story from The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/on-the-money/other/194610-jobless-benefits-vote-passes-procedural-hurdle-in-senate

      Unfortunately, it seems far too many people are willing to be taken in by these kinds of tricks. Speaks volumes, that…

      And thanks, Kenosha. The thing that requires the hair dryer is a small little box outside. There is nothing around it to catch fire since when the hair dryer is directed at it, it is aimed toward the box and dirt. That’s all. But I appreciate the warning – always important to be careful!

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      You know I truly feel sorry for some of these guys on Unemployment.
      However there are a ton of them make 4 and 5 hundred a week on unemployment and other some other governmental benefits…(Reason most won’t take a minimum wage job)
      Yes I was shocked when I realized the amount some were getting…There are a lot of Americans that don’t get much working full time. So its not as much as they might have been making , but it is way more than minimum wage, which is what I would be doing if there was nothing else.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I feel sorry for people who are unemployed, too, but to continually extend benefits – 99 weeks?! – is just unsustainable without cutting spending elsewhere. Perhaps they could go after duplicative programs, of which there are many. But SOMETHING has to give, and right now, it is our deficit…

        • kinthenorthwest Says:

          Some will actually brag that with unemployment, food stamps, and other supplements they actually get more than when working and without the expenses like gas clothes and ???

        • justine Says:

          Would it be unreasonable to continue unemployment benefits at a year; after that the unemployed apply for welfare?
          .

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Hmmm, that’s something abt which to think. I don;t know how it is now, but I know years ago when I lived in MA and was laid off, getting Unemployment was not easy. You really had to pound the pavement and prove you were trying to find work. That is as it should be, I think.

            Like I said, I don’t know if it is still the same now, but I wonder what the impact would be for someone to move to Welfare and not have the same kind of requirements.

            Just thinking this through…

            Btw, Kin, a realtor in the area told us abt a friend of hers who went on Unemployment who is doing so much better on it than she did off it. She’s apparently enjoying quite the life. Of course, not everyone is like that, but people being people, some of them are…

          • justine Says:

            Thanks, RRRAmy. I don’t know whether one gets more on UI than on welfare, but after a certain period of time, it just seems more correct to stop calling it unemployment. (This from someone who kept the same job for 30 years because I hate job-hunting so much. So, the UI get my best wishes.)
            .

            • kinthenorthwest Says:

              OK why do I get the feeling that Unemployment is getting to be a new name for Welfare..

  2. kinthenorthwest Says:

    Well it looks like I am known in the Morrow County 911 department.
    To make a long story short they can be great people…
    I spun out today on black ice(H3LL turns out whole highway was black ice)…and then after finally getting my car out of the field my car was not really doing too great..So I parked it on side of road behind the people who had called 911.
    They told me to stay put..Ambulance and tow on way..At least I thought tow. 30mins later nothing so called back..They were great again.
    Ten mins later I got rear ended…
    OK moral of story pull off way more than you have too…2nd moral get the hell away from your car even if it is freezing outside.

    So far doing OK but really think the Oregon Highway patrol and 911 are awesome…

    So all you guys up there in cold weather give yourself double triple time to get where ever if you have to go out…and drive a lot slower.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      OHMYGOSH, Kin – that is terrible! And frightening!!! Thank HEAVENS you are okay. I hope you didn’t have to wait too long for the two to come get you, I am sorry your car got rear-ended, too. Most important that you are safe, and hopefully by now, warm…

      • kinthenorthwest Says:

        That’s why I said for Suzy to be careful…Heck I was super careful with everything and Ouch……
        It was however great to know we have some kewl people on this end…

        It was funny when I called to compliment the operator and I get this are you the lady in the blue mustang….I had to laugh, as I saw “Oh my ever one knows” and so did she as she said “well its a small department here.”

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          LOL abt the operator. And nice of you to call and compliment them. I imagine they don’t get that a lot!

          Fortunately, we have had no precipitation, so no black ice or anything like that. Thank heavens.

          And hopefully, we will be getting our water back on as soon as this pipe thaws out. We have a huge tank of water from the reverse/osmosis system, but no way to pump the water up into the house yet. Amazing how often one turns on the faucet especially when one has pets…

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Good for you for bothering to call and say thanks. So many rush to complain but few offer any thanks. I try to do both. 😉

          • kinthenorthwest Says:

            I rush to do both…I figure if I will tell them what *%^ they are I need to make sure I tell them when they do a great job.

    • SSDD Says:

      Dang that was scary kin…glad you are okay though.

  3. Katherine B. Says:

    I got a call from the DNC yesterday asking for a mere $500. So I listened to the guy’s pitch, which included statements about how Medicare is in danger and how the country is falling apart. When he finally took a breath, I advised him that I had been a Democrat my entire life up until the DNC decided to install Obama, that the party that cut Medicare was the Dems to the tune of almost 3/4 of a trillion dollars so they could pay for Obamacare and that, if the country is falling apart, then I lay that at the feet of the jackass who has been president for the last five years. Then I hung up. Made me feel good.

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      Now if we could another few million Democrats to grow brains…Our nation might just be saved

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – well done, Katherine!! I love how they used these crises of THEIR own making to play victim and solicit funds. Just unbelievable.

      Your response was PERFECT!! 🙂

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Good for you! And don’t you wonder how the Democrats can spout such nonsense when Obama has been in the White House for 5+ years, the Dems have held the Senate since 2007 and he had both a Democrat House and Senate for the first two years he was in office. Yet nothing ever seems to be his/their fault?

      Why would anyone with a brain buy into that crap?

  4. Katherine B. Says:

    While I’m thinking of it, Obama trashed the Republicans for going home for Christmas break and leaving the unemployed without benefits. This from the clown who (a) signed the legislation allowing the benefits to expire and (b) spent how long on vacation in Hawaii (thinking every waking minute, I’m sure, of the folks who lost their benefits). And now we have Marie Antoinette Obama staying on longer in Hawaii separate from her loving husband and kids and racking up how much more in taxpayer expenses for security and to transport her home. My parents never needed to vacation separately. Just sayin’

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      You mean the Hawaiian vacation that we paid at least 5 Million plus for just the transportation…

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Can you believe the sheer sanctimonious hypocrisy of it all??? There he was, in this gazillion dollar house, on OUR dime, frolicking around in the water when he wasn’t playing golf, and he had the AUDACITY to criticize Reps for going home over the holidays??

      And now he is acting like jobs have been his BIG priority and he feels SO badly for these poor people the Republicans hate so much. Wow, what a piece of work.

      The thing with Michelle just leaves me SMH…

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, and I heard Obama today going off on the whole Sequester thing and its impact again. I yelled at the Tee-Vee that HE was the one who pushed it, for cryin’ out loud. So aggravating this man, and the people who buy his BS.

        • kinthenorthwest Says:

          Then there is the shut down which was over the Republicans trying to delay Obamacare…and so what does Obama do only weeks later…

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Hallelujah – we have WATER!!! The lamp worked to thaw out the pipes, and the water is flowing now. YIPPEE!!!!!

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      As the lady at Ford said things have got to get better and they have.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Great news Rev. And we have good news here in SE Wisconsin too, it actually got above zero this morning – 3 degrees. Schools opened and I bundled up and got the garbage out to the curb.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Dang, Kenosha – above ZERO? Yeah, that’s downright balmy! 🙂 Glad things are warming (!) up, and the trash is out!

        We had a bit of a situation here this morning. We had filled up the tub last night in case we lost water again. Well, this morning I was brushing my teeth and heard this: SPLOOOSH. Our cat, Pippa, had fallen into the water. Before I could get to her, she swam across the bathtub, made a plaintive plea, and jumped out in a pool of water all over the floor. She ran upstairs and went under the bed, leaving a trail of water and paw prints behind.

        She is back downstairs now, all dry and clean (!). Oh,and bonus – our bathroom floor is all mopped now, too! Ahem. Poor little kitty.

        And naturally, we have not lost water today…

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Justine, sorry – the nesting ran out, so I am responding here. Good point abt after a year or so of Unemployment, it morphs into something else altogether.

    It is really astonishing to see Obama continue to blame everyone else for the state of affairs in this country when he has been Prez for 5 yrs, the Dems have controlled the Senate all 5 yrs, and they had it all the first 2. But somehow, it is not his fault, or the Dems, at ALL. Then again, it seems he is fulfilling his stated plan from some years ago to get people on gov’t subsidies so you have a cohesive voting bloc. And sadly, it is working.

    Meanwhile, we are paying for it all…

    • justine Says:

      You’re correct, RRRA. Obummer is the most blaming person I have ever heard of — as long as the blame is directed away from himself.

      In my state, a huge percentage work for government — local, borough, schools, state, federal. So, whether it’s entitlement programs or government work, it’s still government. I would really like to see limited government, but that will never happen if Obummer can get everybody beholden (for wages or benefits) to government.

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Uh, yeah – rather than Obama blaming everyone else for the lack of jobs and high Unemployment, maybe he should be looking in the mirror: http://thehill.com/blogs/regwatch/business/194756-chambers-donohue-says-obama-policies-to-blame-for-slow-recovery

    And not for nothing, but if his policies weren’t stagnating growth, there would be no NEED to extend UI benefits…

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    One of these things is not like the others…

  9. Nunly Says:

    We’re having a heatwave in the Chicago area….a sunny 1 degree day, time to break out the sunscreen, tank tops, and flip-flops. Not. Ugh….winter.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, BRRRRR! I suppose you probably don’t want to hear that it is 61 here, right? Yeah, I thought not! 🙂 DANG, that’s cold, Nunly!

      Sure hope you’re staying warm. I imagine that communion wine could be mighty helpful in that! Ahahahahaha…

  10. justine Says:

    How’s your knee coming, RRRA?
    [Well, I hope…]
    .

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much for asking, justine! Yes, it is coming along well. The incision is healing beautifully, and my range of motion, aided by my PT, is now at 105. It is around 96 when it is just me. Still, he is very happy with that, as am I.

      Tomorrow (Friday) is my last day of spending quality time in the CPM. YAY!!! I am happy abt that, though it has helped my other knee to rest during that time. Still, happy, happy, happy to not have to devote so many hours a day to it.

      I will continue to wear the brace for a few more weeks, though. According to my PT, ligaments take longer to heal than bone and muscle, so yeah, I’ll be wearing that a bit longer. It is really helpful, though, as irritating as it is when it keeps slipping down and I have to stop and yank it back up. But it is pretty painful without it.

      All in all, I am happy with where I am. Thanks again for asking! 🙂

  11. SSDD Says:

    Gawd I hate this cold weather. I feel really bad for the folks in sub zero temps….shiver shiver. I just read something that ties right in with your post Rev Amy:

    “In 1974, Time Magazine blamed the cold polar vortex on global cooling….

    Scientists have found other indications of global cooling. For one thing there has been a noticeable expansion of the great belt of dry, high-altitude polar winds —the so-called circumpolar vortex—that sweep from west to east around the top and bottom of the world.”

    Lol…back then it was global cooling…now it is global warming. These global warming enviro nazies are so invested in their insanity that they don’t realize the jig is up…we know it is a huge scam. There has been wild and weird and extreme weather since the beginning of time. I wonder what they would say caused that mini ice age back in medieval times. Certainly wasn’t caused by cars or factories. or too many people with a heavy carbon footprint. I guess they would have to atribute that one to some serious cow flatulence…sarc.

    As for unemployment…most people will ride that train as long as they can and only obtain a job when their benefits run out. I have spent time at the unemployment office myself and what i heard from most of the people I encountered was that they were enjoying their paid vacays. Nothing creates incentive to take a job…any job you can do…like having nothing else to depend on. Extending it only creates more laziness. If you can’t find some kind of job in a year’s time…I don’t mean a job just like you had or the perfect job either…you are not looking. Unemployment is there as a safety net…not an ongoing way of life. It isn’t supposed to be welfare.

    I hope your recovery is going well Rev. Amy.

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      Unemployment has now become just another form of Welfare…..
      Most people who don’t find a job within the first 2 to 3 months will pretty much setttle into enjoying their umemployment benefits and stop looking for work…Then a few weeks prior to the expiration of their benefits they will usually get off their butts and start looking again, or find another form of governmental benefits. The longer one is on unemployment the harder it will be for the person to get a job, much less actually want to get a job.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, SSDD – how fascinating! Thanks for this blast from the past, and the mindset from back then.

      And you are right – the planet has always had wild swings – like the Ice Age, for instance. As y’all know, I believe in caring for the planet because it is our home and home to such amazing flora and fauna REGARDLESS of what they find, but I had been a big Al Gore person, even buying his documentary as gifts for people. No, really – I did.

      But then I started learning abt the scientists manipulating data to fit their forgone conclusions, or intentionally deceiving for political gain. That really took me aback since science was supposed to be one of those places where that sort of thing did not happen. That was disenchanting, as well as finding out that much of what Gore said was downright false. I had been had. And for what? Gore to make millions and win a Nobel Prize, apparently…

      That said, do I care abt what we put in the air and water? Heck yes. But they can spare me the sanctimonious patronizing fear mongering until they are willing to stop making this a political issue and use real science to look at what is going on with our climate. (Along those lines, there was a scientist who went to study the decline of the polar bear, fully expecting to his hypothesis that they were dwindling, and to his surprise, found quite the opposite. So why are we still being told they are on the verge of extinction or whatever? Why not just tell the TRUTH??)

      • SSDD Says:

        Rev. Amy… most all of us have gone through some kind of realization about things we formerly believed to be true. I know I have. I do believe that pollution is a problem…but it is entirely different from global warming. We are supposed to be good stewards of the Earth…it is the only place we have to live. I recently read that China has 8 million acres of land that is too toxic to farm on. The air there and in other countries is not fit to breathe. Pollution destroys water sources and kills animals and humans. You will never make me believe that CO2 which is necessary for trees and plants to live is bad….they absorb it and give off oxygen so we can breathe. It is a perfect symbiotic relationship.

  12. foxyladi14 Says:

    Just stopping by to say Hi everyone. Great comments!! glad you are getting better Amy. 🙂

  13. Katherine B. Says:

    I’ve been following the Christie bridge scandal and, while I have no idea whether he knew of it or not, it is astounding that so many in high office were willing to screw over so many ordinary citizens just to get back at a mayor of another party who refused to endorse their guy. Not only was Christie’s staff involved, officials of the Port Authority were in on this. These are the people in government. No wonder this country is in such dire straits.

    • SSDD Says:

      Christie’s usual in your face “F” you attitude is going to bite him in that sizable behind of his this time. It just seems something he would do…whether he says he knew nothing about it or not. Personally, I don’t believe he was not aware of it.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I saw a good bit of the press conference, and he said repeatedly that he had never asked this mayor for his endorsement. Apparent;y, the mayor himself said last night he was never asked for an endorsement, so why would someone retaliate against someone for something they hadn’t done?

      That said, I don’t know if he is telling the truth or not – who the hell knows with these politicians. But he DID do the right thing by firing these people tout de suite for their actions. That was the right thing to do. Obama could take a page from that.

      You said it, Katherine. That the PA was in on this, and that it happened at ALL is startling. Very, very disturbing.

      • justine Says:

        At first, I thought “GWB” meant Bush and didn’t understand it was a bridge. I guess it’s important to know initials. 🙂
        .

  14. SSDD Says:

    This little guy is so adorable!

  15. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here is another outstanding commentary against Common Core by a concerned parent. The math problem she presents, and teh Common Core solution to that problem, is sheer lunacy:

  16. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    So abt Christie – I don’t know if he is telling the truth or not, but I gotta say, who will be investigating what happened sure looks MIGHTY suspicious to me. Especially since he was passed over for Christie 8 yrs ago. Talk abt the potential for holding a grudge. Oh, and then there is his Hillary connection: http://dailycaller.com/2014/01/09/democrat-u-s-attorney-probing-christie-got-slighted-by-christie-fundraised-for-hillary/

  17. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2014/01/epa-changes-the-borders-of-wyoming-governor-appeals-decision/

    EPA one of the most dangerous departments in government. Ist dept that should be done away with

Leave a Reply

