Happy St. Patrick’s Day! *Open Thread*

by

Cloudburst wishes you a Happy St. Paddy's Day!

Cloudburst wishes you a Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

(Photo: Gentle Carousel Miniature Horse Therapy)

And I also wish you a very happy St. Patrick’s Day. Yes, this is the day everyone has a little bit of Irish in them (and I do from ancestors long ago). So everyone is welcome to join in the celebration.

To get this party started, and for Helen, here is Loreena McKennit and The Mummer’s Dance”:

What a haunting, beautiful voice McKennitt has. Perfect for this St. Patrick’s Day.

St. Patrick’s Day would not be complete without one of my all-time favorite Irish groups, and family members, Clannad:

And of course, no St. Paddy’s Day would be complete without a traditional Irish blessing. This one is performed by Aoife Nรญ Fhearraigh, with the English translation by Roma Downey:

Finally, on this St. Patrick’s Day, I leave you with the traditional Irish blessing:

May the roads rise to meet you,
May the wind be at your back,
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
The rain fall soft upon your fields,
And, until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

A Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you all. This is an Open Thread!

15 Responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day! *Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Good Happy St. Pattyโ€™s Day Amy and all of our Rebel Rouser’s here.Love the Videos too. ๐Ÿ˜€ :mrgreen:

  2. Katherine B. Says:

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!! I grew up in NYC where it really was a big deal and I even marched in the parade with my college class. My mom was Irish and we celebrated big time. I miss those days.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, Katherine – how cool! From where in Ireland was your mother? We’re planning on going there next year as part of a trip to the Royal Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. Can’t wait!

      I bet you do miss those days…

      • Katherine B. Says:

        I don’t know where my mother’s family was from in Ireland. I have, however, been to Edinburgh and the tattoo several times and it is just wonderful. My favorite story about Edinburgh is my cab drive up to the Castle. The traffic was awful and at one point the cab driver said, “You’d be better off getting out and walking the rest of the way.” Very kind of the man. Can’t imagine any cab driver in NYC cutting short a fare.

        Hopefully, you are coordinating your trip to take advantage of the Edinburgh festival. There are – or used to be – many wonderful literary side events as part of the Fringe Festival. Of course, that might have changed since I’ve been there. Lovely town, nice people, not so good food.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, you are so lucky! We have been wanting to go to the Tattoo for a while now, and it is finally working out for 2015. I am SO excited abt it!

          I love Edinburgh – beautiful, beautiful town. We have been wanting to get back to Scotland for years now. Hopefully, we’ll be able to go to Wales on that trip, too. We’ve spent time in England and Scotland, but not Ireland or Wales, so we need to remedy that.

          Holy smokes – that is amazing for a cab driver, and NO, having lived in NYC for abt 5 yrs during/after seminary, no WAY can I see a cabbie there cutting a fare short!

          Thanks for the heads up abt the Fringe Festival, too. I appreciate that!

          Even though this is an Irish holiday, since we are talking abt the Royal Military Tattoo, here is an interesting synopsis abt it:

  3. helenk3 Says:

    HAPPY ST PATRICK’S DAY to all who are Irish and to those who wish they were.

  4. helenk3 Says:

    I had to steal this from a commenter at the crawdad hole

  5. helenk3 Says:

    one of my favorite Irish songs because a friend of mine’s son used to sing it on St Patrick’s day for his parents

  6. Cindyindie Says:

    Erin go bragh, Cuzin!
    Thanks for the post and the music—-I love it.

    Here’s another favorite:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, Cuz!

      And you know I LOVE the Corrs! They are another one of my favorite Irish bands/family. This piece is just gorgeous. Love it.

      Hope you are well!

  7. foxyladi14 Says:

    Stopping by to say Good morning friends.
    Praying it will be a blessed day for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      And a good morning to you, too, Foxy! I am working on a new post, so hopefully, I’ll get it up soon. We have our contractors here doing some work, so I am a bit delayed.

      Anyway – hope you are having a good morning!

Leave a Reply

