Extended Weekend Open Thread

by

Well, it’s Friday, and I imagine we are all happy about that for a number of reasons. The weather is FINALLY Spring like here in my neck of the woods, and I hope it is where you are, too. And I have to admit, since it’s my birthday today, I am particularly happy about it! My happiness is increased by being in Texas Thursday and Friday for a conference for my partner. While she is conferencing, I’ll be getting a massage at the spa, and go see the horses at the stable the resort has. After the conference has concluded, we will then on to Bastrop to see Cuz’n Cindy (aka, CindyIndie), her husband, HonestLawyerMostly, and their grandsons. I cannot WAIT to see them and spend some time with them. So excited about that!

All of that is to say, I will check in on occasion, but for the most part, I will be out and about, enjoying life in Texas until my return Monday morning.

In the meantime, while I hope life is good where you are, I have a great story for you that should bring a smile to your faces. The Daily Caller tells the tale:

It’s always satisfying to see race-baiting bureaucrats get their comeuppance in court, but an opinion by the 6th Circuit issued earlier this month begins especially delightfully:

In this case the EEOC sued the defendants for using the same type of background check that the EEOC itself uses. The EEOC’s personnel handbook recites that “[o]verdue just debts increase temptation to commit illegal or unethical acts as a means of gaining funds to meet financial obligations.” Because of that concern, the EEOC runs credit checks on applicants for 84 of the agency’s 97 positions. The defendants (collectively, “Kaplan”) have the same concern; and thus Kaplan runs credit checks on applicants for positions that provide access to students’ financial-loan information, among other positions. For that practice, the EEOC sued Kaplan.

The April 9 ruling in Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v. Kaplan Higher Education Corp. has received little fanfare. It should probably receive more, though, if only because the EEOC lost so good and hard.

In the case, the unanimous three-judge panel ruled to exclude the findings of government contractor General Information Services and the testimony of a dubious statistical analyst, thus affirming a lower court’s “meticulously reasoned” summary judgment decision and likely ending the EEOC’s complaint against Kaplan. […]

Now the place has been set, just wait – this gets SO much better:

[…] Kaplan collected no race (or gender) data about job applicants at the time of the credit checks. The company only sought such information at the hiring stage. Nevertheless, the EEOC saw a convoluted conspiracy to identify people by race — by using the very credit checks the EEOC uses.

In its subsequent lawsuit, the EEOC alleged that Kaplan’s “use of credit checks causes it to screen out more African-American applicants than white applicants, creating a disparate impact in violation of Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act.”

The case quickly became absurd and hilarious when the super sleuths at the EEOC set out to prove racial disparities in Kaplan’s credit checks by matching up the subpoenaed names of Kaplan job applicants with photos from various Department of Motor Vehicles databases.

The glaring problem with the name-matching scheme, of course, is that there can be no guarantee that someone who applied to work for Kaplan is the person with the same name who also got a license down at the DMV.

The 6th Circuit panel highlighted as much. “The EEOC brought this case on the basis of a homemade methodology, crafted by a witness with no particular expertise to craft it, accepted only by the witness himself,” the unanimous opinion observes. […]

I mean, c’mon – that’s funny, right?? You have these judges essentially calling these people out on their shoddy work, their preposterous claims, and using the race card on top of it all. But this is just too rich:

[…] “The unanimous ruling by the 6th Circuit demonstrates just how untenable the EEOC’s position was,” he (Cooper of the National Center for Public Policy) told TheDC. “Telling employers who haven’t asked or in any way inquired about the racial status of applicants that they cannot adopt simple, widely-used preventative measures to ensure that potential employees won’t engage in wrongdoing is unfair. Using government contractors to scour applications and get third parties to provide photos to guess the applicants’ race to show how it might constitute racially-biased disparate impact is just plain bizarre.” […] (Click here to read the rest of this great piece.)

Oh, yeah – that’s a big time smackdown by the courts of the ginned up race baiting by those within this Administration. And it is about damn time too, don’t you think? I sure do. That it came from the 6th Circuit Appeals Court just makes it that much sweeter. FINALLY, people are doing their jobs based on the law. What a concept, right?

Before I leave you to this Extended Weekend Open Thread, I want to share this one last bit of sheer, unadulterated beauty with you. That would be the Northern Lights in Alaska as filmed by Alexis Carom (h/t Daily Caller):

Breathtaking. Just breathtaking. I so hope to see them for myself one day…

That’s it for me as I spend my birthday weekend in the great state of Texas with our good friends, Cuz’n CindyIndie and HonestLawyerMostly. Feel free to discuss anything that’s on your mind, or share videos of songs you like, whatever works for you. I’ll start us off with one just for the EEOC:

Have a great weekend, y’all!

14 Responses to “Extended Weekend Open Thread”

  1. SSDD Says:

    Wow, Rev. Amy…sounds like a nice little vacay for you. I’m glad you are getting to see Cindy. A massage sounds awesome and I know you will enjoy seeing the horses….they are such gentle and lovely creatures.

    The EEOC is nothing but a racist organization out to stick to white folks, and their claims are just so much horseshit…pardon my French. I experienced blatant discrimination in a job…but the EEOC would not even hear me out. Basically, the gist of what I got from them was, that I was white and white people are never or almost never discriminated against. I’m glad they got hammered in this case. It couldn’t have happened to a more deserving bunch. Minorities don’t want equality…they want preferential treatment.

    A great big Happy Birthday to you Rev. Amy!!! I hope you have many many more of them!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I appreciate that, SSDD! Thanks!

      So true abt the horses – we’ll be seeing them later this afternoon. Oh, and the massage was amazing. They even had a birthday card waiting for me when I left with a little gift. How nice is that?

      I am very excited abt seeing Cuz’n Cindy and her family. Can’t wait!

      Ugh abt the EEOC. I am sorry you had to go through that, and then didn’t get any support, either. Sheesh…

      THanks for the great video! 😀

  2. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Have a good vacation. Happy birthday!

    I guess it’s spring here too, if spring means completely bi-polar and unpredictable.

  3. foxyladi14 Says:

    Happy Birthday Amy and enjoy Texas. 😀

  4. Katherine B. Says:

    Happy 22nd birthday! What? Am I off by a couple of years?

    Enjoy your vacation.

  5. SSDD Says:

    I just came across this: http://nation.foxnews.com/2014/04/24/dem-gov-wonders-whether-black-republicans-are-jewish-nazis

    In light of what is said in that article, I will never understand why Jews vote Democrat.

  6. SSDD Says:

    I was just reading an article about a woman with a PhD who wrote Obama a letter about Common Core…how bad it is. This is a 7th grade essay question from a Common Core test:

    “You have learned about electricity by reading two articles, “Energy Story” and “Conducting Solutions,” and viewing a video clip titled “Hands-On Science with Squishy Circuits.” In an essay, compare the purpose of the three sources. Then analyze how each source uses explanations, demonstrations, or descriptions of experiments to help accomplish its purpose. Be sure to discuss important differences and similarities between the information gained from the video and the information provided in the articles. Support your response with evidence from each source.”

    After reading that, I was like wtf? I couldn’t answer that question and I am 55 yrs old.

  7. SSDD Says:

    This vid made me get teary eyed…

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Just got back to the hotel from a fantastic day with Cuz’n Cindy, HonestLawyer, their lovely daughter, and her two sons. After dinner, we got home and the house was decorated for my birthday party. Cindy and Suzy did a great rendition of the Beatles’ classic, “You Say It’s Your Birthday,” with the grandsons helping, then two kinds of cake, delicious ice cream from a local company, and wonderful presents, including a print from a local artist. It was a great party, and I am most appreciative of them going all our for my birthday.

    Cuz’n Cindy is as funny and delightful in person as she is in her comments, I can tell you!

    Tomorrow, we will be doing some sightseeing as we make our way to Houston for an early flight home Monday morning.

    What a wonderful birthday weekend this had been. I hope all of y’all are having a great weekend, too!

Leave a Reply

