Weekend Open Thread And Mother’s Day Remembered

by

Wow, what a busy week it has been politics-wise. IRS partisan hack Lois Lerner was found in Contempt of Congress, rightly so, since she was. So, about time that happened, and it couldn’t have happened to a more deserving person. But the House wasn’t done yet, nosirree. They voted to create a Special Council on Benghazi. The Republican members are good choices, especially Gowdy, Jordan, and Brooke, sober, serious people all, who will get to the bottom of what really happened, who made some of the more questionable decisions, etc. It remains to be seen who, and if, the Democrats will choose anyone to be on the Committee.

Meanwhile, we have my former Representative (thank HEAVENS for redistricting) making unbelievably intolerant comments about my US Senator, Tim Scott, affirming what many black Conservatives have said about the Democratic mindset. Specifically, Clyburn, a corrupt crook, had the audacity to say the following about Sen. Scott (h/t a Facebook friend) from the Daily Caller:

[…] “If you call progress electing a person with the pigmentation that he has, who votes against the interest and aspirations of 95 percent of the black people in South Carolina, then I guess that’s progress,” he told the Post.

Clyburn’s argument was featured in a generally favorable article about Scott’s practice of briefly working alongside his constituents in South Carolina without revealing his identity.

The comment from Clyburn, age 73, stands in contrast to a comment from James Copeland, who recently worked alongside Scott at a Goodwill store in Greenville, S.C. When Copeland — an African-American — was told of Scott’s identity, he responded positively.

“Oh, wow, I thought he was just some guy off the street,” he said, according to the Post.

“He was really speaking on my level. I felt like I can relate to him. I’d vote for him. Absolutely,” said Copeland. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Holy smokes. Clyburn could not make any clearer the lack of tolerance for freedom of thought based on skin color. Either walk in lockstep with Democrats or be demeaned. Seems Clyburn could learn something not only from Copeland, but from MLK’s son, who also shocked the bejeezus out of MSNBC host, Toure, as the Daily Caller reports:

[…] “While I happen to be a Democrat, I think it’s important for African Americans to be Republicans,” he explained. “I think it’s important for African-Americans to be independent. Uh, I’ll say this kinda — I also think it’s important to be engaged with the Tea Party.”

Toure was flabbergasted. “Wh — why would it be important for us to be engaged with the tea party?” he asked incredulously, as the live audience snickered.

“Because the only way you can change — the only way you can change is you have to be at least communicating,” King noted. “If there’s no communication, you just let someone have an agenda.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

That Toure was incredulous speaks volumes, and goes to the same mindset evidenced by Clyburn. But what MLK III said was absolutely in keeping with what his father preached: judge someone by the content of their character, not the color of their skin.

scan0025That was a message my mother taught us, too, among many other life lessons she passed on. I have written about my mom here several times since her passing a few years ago, and I hope I have made one thing clear about Mom: she led by example. That didn’t just go for matters of race, but creed, and what people thought. Mom had a generous heart, a loving heart, a spiritual heart, and taught us how to treat others by the way she did. Everyone was always welcome at my mother’s table, no matter from where they were, what their socioeconomic status was, what color they were, or what language they spoke. In fact, she relished meeting people from other countries, and developed long-lasting relationships with many.

Yes, my mother was a wonderful woman in many ways, and taught me lessons I have never forgotten. I can only hope to have a heart as loving as hers. The following song by The Band Perry sums Mom up well, and I chose this version since it has lots of animals in it, something my mother loved, and passed on to me:

If you’d like to see a version that has the lyrics, you can click HERE. So, yeah, that pretty much sums up my mother.

There is another video making the rounds right, “World’s Toughest Job.” It is well done, and hammers home just what so many mothers do on a regular basis. Check it out below:

I love how these young people react once they realize just about whom the interviewer is talking in his list of qualifications. Their responses are moving and powerful.

And I realize that not every one had a mother like mine, or like the ones these young people speak about above. I realize that Mother’s Day isn’t always a celebration. But mothers don’t have to be blood, they can be chosen, and I hope that even if your birth mother was not the kind of mother who nurtured and nourished you in mind, body, and soul, that you had someone in your life who did.

For those of you who, like me, have lost your mother, I know this can be a tough day. While we can no longer tell our mothers how much they meant to us, we can reflect on what their lives meant to us on Mother’s Day.

Okay, friends – feel free to talk about politics, or share some music that moves you, or reminds you of your mothers, or whatever else is going on this weekend. I’ll leave you with one my mom used to sing to me when I was little (she had a beautiful alto voice):

I sang it not that long ago to our 3 1/2 yr old grandniece. Always reminds me of Mom.

This is an Open Thread!

27 Responses to “Weekend Open Thread And Mother’s Day Remembered”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thanks for the Andrews Sisters and Mairzy Dotes RRA! I remember my mom singing it too. My mom had a stroke when she was nearly 45 and we lost a wonderful and loving mainstay in our lives. That was as many years ago as she lived. I still miss her.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Truly my pleasure, Marge. So glad you liked it!

      So sorry abt your mom, though. I can imagine how very difficult that was for you and your family to lose her so young. I am sure you do still miss her…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I was 25 at the time with 2 little boys and a six month old baby girl. All three were the lights of my Mom’s life. I don’t think my oldest son, who was born 9 months after my little brother was killed when the horse he was riding was hit by a drunk driver, ever got over missing his “Gramma Lorn”. They seemed to form a bond that I as a new mother found amazing. I was still trying to get things “right” while she just dove in and loved.

        Now after 45 years I often wonder what life would have been like if we’d have had her even a few more years. If my son had had his “Gramma Lorn” around when I had another baby when he was just 10 months old would he have stayed out of trouble? I just don’t know but in the dark of the night, when I can’t sleep, I wonder. And I miss her.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, Marge – what a difficult, difficult time that must have been for you! A young mother with 3 young kids, and then losing the person who doted on them? Absolutely heartbreaking, just heartbreaking.

          And how you lost your brother is just tragic. Your family sure had a lot to deal with in a short amount of time. But how wonderful that your mother and your son formed such a close bond. No doubt, he felt her loss profoundly.

          I can certainly appreciate you wondering what might have been had you not lost your mother so young…

          Thank you, Marge, for telling us that part of your history. I am still just abt speechless after reading it and reflecting on it all. My heart goes out to you, and no doubt you miss your mom…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            Thank you Rev. I didn’t really mean to tell the sad story of my life – just thinking about my mom and it all spilled out.

            I will be commenting below in my usual cantankerous way lest anyone think I’ve turned into a sweet old lady. 😉

  2. helenk3 Says:

    http://weaselzippers.us/185562-absolutely-shameful-benghazi-hero-glenn-dohertys-family-hasnt-received-his-death-benefit-or-insurance-payment/

    sorry to start off with a downer
    this needs to go viral , there is no excuse for this

  3. helenk3 Says:

    marge you will like this one

    http://directorblue.blogspot.com/2013/12/benghazi-comix-is-this-what-happened.html#more

    the really sad thing is that it might be true

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I do like it and suspect something very like is what happened. Oh they don’t say it out loud but they think it and do what is “required” politically with no thought for the lives of those who are in harm’s way. It tells you a lot about the kind of people we have in our media that their intent is to cover Obama’s ass, and Hillarys’ rather than get the truth and justice for four murdered Americans who were put in harm’s way by their country. A country that was playing politics as they died. It is just sick. And everyone of those sick @%&*@# that is still trying to cover up for Obama, in and out of the media is a traitor to everything this country is supposed to stand for. They disgust me more than I can possibly articulate!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Amen, Marge. The continued dismissal of what happened in Benghazi, and the meme that the Committee is just a “stunt,” to use Pelosi’s term, all to protect Obama and Clinton is deplorable…

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    Great post Amy. And love the videos. 🙂

  5. helenk3 Says:

    http://news.yahoo.com/9-11-remains-returned-world-trade-center-112011877.html

    Unidentified victims of 9/11 return to world trade center

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I just read this great story abt a troop of Boy Scouts rescuing someone famous (though they didn’t know who she was). WOW! Here’s the link: http://dailycaller.com/2014/05/09/new-jersey-boy-scouts-rescue-nbc-journalist-ann-curry/

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trey Gowdy earned my appreciation for his way with words when he called Nancy Pelosi “mind-numbingly stupid”.

    I have a candidate who also deserves that title – Eleanor Clift.

    See for yourselves…

    Eleanor Clift: Ambassador Stevens Wasn’t Murdered, He Died Of Smoke Inhalation

    video: http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2014/05/10/eleanor_clift_ambassador_stevens_wasnt_murdered_he_died_of_smoke_inhalation.html

    She’s another of those “brilliant” lefties. “Mind-numbingly stupid” is what she is for saying anything so idiotic. She is the main reason I never watch Washington Week – any program that would have her – will not have me.

    Being a woman I really dislike stupid women – they make us all look so bad. When they have a place to spread that stupidity publicly it makes me cringe. This remark really made me cringe.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      You have just GOT to be kidding me with this. What in the hell is WRONG with these people? Are they so mind-numbingly partisan that they simply cannot allow even a glimmer of truth to inform them lest it have a negative impact on The One? They need to put down the Hopium, the Kool Aide, whatever it is they are imbibing, and take a look at reality for a change.

      And the people who elected folks like Clift have a lot of ‘splaining to do…

      Marge, no room left to comment above, but I, for one, very much appreciate learning more abt your story. I don’t want to pry abt your son except to say whatever happened with him, I know had to be very hard on you.

      And lest I take away any more from your return to cantankerous-dom, allow me to say Happy Mother’s Day to you, and the other mothers here (I include fur babies, since that is what I have!).

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Fur babies count too! As do feathered ones – my Katie Bird, the boisterous Blue and Gold MaCaw is one of the lights of my life.

        And before I got too quick in calling Eleonor Clift stupid I should have remembered that she’s one of the panelists on The Maclaughlin Group.

        Ever feel like, when you get a bit fiesty, God likes to put you in your place?

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I bet your feathered baby is beautiful! And yes, she definitely counts!

          LOL – yes, God has a way of doing that, that’s for sure. But hey – she still said something stupid, so there’s that! 🙂

  8. helenk3 Says:

    Happy Mother’s day to all here whether your baby is animal, human or fowl.
    really enjoy the day

  9. helenk3 Says:

    http://foxnewsinsider.com/2014/05/11/judge-jeanine-did-hillary-clinton-make-benghazi-video-narrative

    judge jeanine opening statement

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent as always. She is just fantastic.

      And speaking of someone who is fantastic. Rep. Trey Gowdy was on Chris Wallace this morning:

  10. helenk3 Says:

    http://foxnewsinsider.com/2014/05/11/%E2%80%98i-don%E2%80%99t-want-theater%E2%80%99-boehner-benghazi-house-select-committee

    john boehner interview

  11. helenk3 Says:

    http://foxnewsinsider.com/2014/05/11/%E2%80%98i-want-transcend-politics%E2%80%99-gowdy-says-benghazi-cmte-won%E2%80%99t-be-dems-vs-gop

    trey gowdy on benghazi committee

  12. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/tv/barbara-walters-goodbye-50-years-article-1.1784475

    barbara walters last day next friday

Leave a Reply

