For The Fathers *Open Thread*

by

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there. I hope you are able to spend time with your children today, that you have the kind of relationship with your children that brings you, and them, joy, and that your heart is full.

I posted this video, “Fathers Matter, before, but I think it bears repeating:

Indeed, fathers do matter, and lucky are those who have their fathers still, blood or chosen.

scan0001For many of us, this is a day of remembrance since our fathers are gone now (nine years now for mine). I know my father loved his children, and was proud of us, even when that word got passed on to us from our mom (or at least in my case). While I am eternally grateful for the gifts of music I got from my dad (and mom), I know Dad was proud at how I was able to use those gifts, though he would have preferred I play classical guitar rather than folk. But still, music was such an important part of Dad’s life, I know he relished his children having it a big part of ours. I remember so well Saturdays spent at this one music store where Dad would obtain his sheet music for the organ Prelude or Postlude at church. I loved that store, though I suspect it is long gone now…

My dad also loved to garden, and had a major green thumb. He didn’t go for the vegetable gardens, but rather flower gardens. That was his thing. Every year, he would create a beautiful garden. I remember so well Dad carefully choosing what plants he wanted that year, and the time he would spend on providing a place of beauty (Mom gardened more in later life; Dad when we were younger and he was able). I learned a lot from Dad about different types of flowers, and still love Columbines for the ones he would have climbing in the garden…

But music, especially the organ, was Dad’s big love, and the sound filled our house every weekend as he practiced before church. So Dad, this is for you:

And a Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers out there. May it be one filled with love and joy!

4 Responses to “For The Fathers *Open Thread*”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    What a lovely tribute, Rev Amy. Dads are more important than they will ever know, so important that even in their absence they will be felt.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, insanity – I appreciate that!

      And yes they are. One thing for which I am grateful is that I was able to sit my dad down and tell him all of the gifts he gave me, or nurtured in me (both parents were musical, so there’s that), and thank him. He and I had a difficult relationship when I was growing up (if you click on the link at the top abt the video I posted a couple of years ago, you can see more, if you wish), and I am eternally thankful that we were able to have a good relationship later on in life. What a gift that was…

      So, so true abt their importance – beautifully said!

  2. justine Says:

    So nice, RRRA. Fathers are terribly important. I lost mine much too early, but have fond memories. I’ve heard it said that much of the problems with today’s society are because of the lack of fathers for many. I can certainly understand that theory.
    .
    [Are you the big or the little sis? Heartwarming family picture. :)]
    .

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thank you, Justine – I appreciate that!

      And I am sorry you lost your dad so young. I know that had to be terribly difficult for your family. Thank heavens, though, you have good memories of him – what a gift that is!

      Thanks for asking, and for the comment, I am the younger one. I am the only planned out of the family )4 of 5). That is thanks to my cousin, Lisa, who was born abt a year before me. Mom thought she was such a beautiful little girl, she vowed right then and there to have another girl, and that was me! Oh, and I may have mentioned that fact to my siblings a time or two! 😉

Leave a Reply

