“My Old Kentucky Home” And *Open Thread*

by

Okay, Kentucky isn’t really my old home, North Carolina is, but my grandmother was from there, so there’s that. And that is where there are a whole bunch of horses, as you might have heard. Something about that whole “Kentucky bluegrass” thing, dontcha know.

So, yes, I am leaving today (Tuesday) to make a pilgrimage to Kentucky to go to some amazing horse places (more below). I have the added bonus of being able to spend the night at the home of Katmoon and Ferd in TN on the way. Cannot wait to see them – AND the five kittens a feral cat mom left them. That will be such a blast.

On Wednesday, we are meeting up with an old boarding school chum (the one who got me blogging) who lives on the border of IL and KY, and who usually travels East each summer for a mini-reunion. It is my turn to head that way, and it comes with the added bonus of seeing some pretty spectacular horses and horse farms.

First up on our list is Old Friends Equine Retirement in Georgetown, Kentucky. Old Friends is home to almost 80 former racehorses (sadly, they lost two within a week of each other recently, one of whom, Bull in the Heather, had his own Breyer horse model), and the ADORABLE pony, Little Silver Charm. I know I have shared this with you before, but I must share it again. It is particularly appropriate, I think, in light of the ongoing World Cup (which I am watching religiously, even as I type this). Here, then, is Little Silver Charm:

Ohmygosh, isn’t he SO CUTE?? And if you have seen any of the World Cup, you know all that running around post-goal is EXACTlY what they do!

Anyway, I cannot wait to meet Little Silver Charm, who has a new paddock now (just in the past week or so). From what he said at Facebook (yes, of course, the pony has a Facebook account!), he wanted a Jacuzzi, but no go. I have a big bag of treats in the car just to take to him. Okay, maybe some of the other horses can have some, assuming Charm is willing to share.

The next place we are going, and part of our July Fourth celebration, is the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY. The last time I was there was twenty years ago, and only then because my younger brother married a lovely woman from Kentucky he met in the English Lit. doctoral program at UNC-Chapel Hill. So, I am long, long overdue for a return visit.

Along with seeing the horses they have there at the park, and being able to see some of the events they have going on, we signed up for a small tour group that goes to some of the local private farms. Here is the description from the Kentucky Horse Park website:

The Kentucky Horse Park offers guests the opportunity to take a behind-the-scenes tour of our world-renowned Bluegrass horse farms. Unique Horse Farm Tours is a service offered exclusively at the Kentucky Horse Park and takes guests to some of the world’s most famous Thoroughbred farms and equine-related facilities in the area.

This rare opportunity lets you see some of the most important horses to ever set foot on a racetrack and visit with Thoroughbred celebrities at some of the most beautiful horse farms in the world. You will tour the grounds of historic estates of the Bluegrass Region as well as impeccably-maintained, multi-million dollar farms of international movers and shakers. Hear behind-the-scenes stories about the individuals and horses that make Lexington, Kentucky “The Horse Capital of the World.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Doesn’t that sound so cool?? Only 15 people go at a time, so it is a nice, small group. Makes me teary-eyed to even think about being in “The Horse Capital of the World.” If you are interested, and have the time, you can watch this video of the “Parade of Breeds” at the Kentucky Horse Park. Here is a shorter one about the Kentucky Horse Park Foundation, which is good in that there is general information at the beginning, and you get to see some of this magnificent park. The Foundation does great work, of course, and is what helps keep the Park running:

Other than that, we’ll do some sightseeing in the area, and just catch up with our friends. So, so excited about this trip, It has been a long time in coming.

In the meantime, I hope you have a good week, and a great Fourth of July (a post will be up to celebrate our Independence Day). I will be back at the beginning of next week, no doubt still high on the intoxicating smells of bluegrass, hay, and horses. Feel free to discuss whatever!

12 Responses to ““My Old Kentucky Home” And *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I am pea green with envy over your trip Rev. Have a great time – and how can time spent with horses, and ponies be anything but a great time? I spent much of my formative years around these amazing creatures and have some of my arthritis pains as a memory of some of our less than happy encounters. Little Silver Charm actually looks much like the first pony my little brother and I had, a dapple grey named Daphne. (I was into reading Daphne du Maurier at the time and the pony was named after her. I was only 10 but already a voracious reader.)

    And please say Hi to Katmoon and Ferd for me and tell them I remember them fondly!

    I posted this on the previous thread but felt it worthy of a repeat here:

    How a suburban homemaker humbled Illinois and Big Labor

    http://washingtonexaminer.com/how-a-suburban-homemaker-humbled-illinois-and-big-labor/article/2550345

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOL, I can totally understand your reaction, Marge! I am so excited I can barely stand it. The only hiccup is that, as things seem to go, we are having to wait for the A/C people to come repair our mini-split unit in the room over the garage. Naturally, it started leaking RIGHT before we had an Open House this past weekend. We had planned to already be gone so we could have more time with Katmoon and Ferd, as well as their ADORABLE kittens (they have other cats and a dog, too, but these are little kittens!!!). However much time we have together will be fun, of that I am certain. I will most definitely pass along your greetings to them!

      That is so cute abt your pony and her name! Adorable! And wow, you MUST have been a voracious reader! If she looked like Little Silver Charm, then I KNOW she was beautiful girl!

      I hear you abt some of your arthritis being the result of some of the more cantankerous horses! They all have their own personalities, don’t they? Some are nicer than others, that’s for sure.

      I am so excited abt seeing all of the horses, and the small tour group to the private farms is going to be awesome. Of course, spending time with my old boarding school chum is always delightful;. Heck, we’ve already picked out some restaurants to which we want to go!

      As always, I will be able to see comments (I get them in my email and can respond via email, but can’t do the stars, unfortunately).

      Thanks for the article, too – I did comment at the post yesterday. It truly is amazing that one woman could get this case all the way to the Supreme Court. And that she won was a win for all of us…

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    About Daphne, when my brother and I “outgrew” her we gave her to a friend who had had polio and had a “bum” leg because of it. But Daphne was trained to drive too and our friend Jan joyfully drove her around until the day she died.

    Daphne just lay down one night and never woke up. Jan was heartbroken as were her 3 children who had grown up with Daphne. One little pony who made life a whole lot better for a whole lot of people. If only most humans could say as much.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, Marge, what a beautiful and moving story abt Daphne and the joy she brought to that family. What a gift that was, and what a gift she was. And s hard as it surely was for them to lose her, it sounds like she died peacefully, also a gift.

      Great story…

  3. mcnorman Says:

    Gosh, this sounds like a perfect 4th of July weekend. Have fun for the rest of us. πŸ˜€

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, mcnorman. And we will do! If we get some good videos, we will try to post them. πŸ™‚

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    Enjoy Amy we await your return with all the good news. πŸ˜€

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, Foxy! We are currently half an hr from Katmoon and Ferd’s house. Can’t wait to see the kittens, er, I mean, them!

      And the horses – so excited! I am thrilled my old friend is indulging me in doing this trip. πŸ™‚

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Word of the day stolen from doc99 over at NQ:

  6. foxyladi14 Says:

    πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

