He Was A Patriot *Week(end) Open Thread*

by

Yes, I am still down in Grand Cayman, enjoying the beautiful Caribbean, and the company of my partner (when she gets back from scuba diving, and we get to see videos of her adventures), my adorable grandnephew, and my handsome godson, both of whom are also learning to scuba dive. It is everything one could ask for in a vacation, or at least that I could ask for in one. I hope all of y’all are also getting some nice time off this summer, especially as it draws to a close.

Anyway, while the situation in Israel and Gaza still continues, and as a follow-up to Katherine B.’s excellent post, I have another take on what has been happening in Israel. This is a very touching story, and I thank one of my Facebook friends for this one.

A few weeks back, a “lone soldier, an American serving in the Israeli Defense Force, was killed. Here is more on what it means to be a “lone soldier,” from IJ Review:

[…] These fighters are called “lone soldiers” and are considered heroes. Steinberg had decided to join the IDF six months after he took a Birthright trip to Israel in 2012, according the Israeli newspaper Haaretz.

Approximately 30,000 people attended Max’s funeral in Jerusalem, which his family also attended from California. […]

Thirty thousand people attended the funeral of this young man, Max Steinberg, a “Lone soldier.” That is remarkable, and incredibly moving.

But that isn’t all. In a Tweet Steinberg had sent out, he had on a New England Patriots’ hat. The owner of the Patriots saw the Tweet, and sent this letter to Steinberg’s family (Buzzfeed courtesy of IJReview):

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Steinberg,

It is with a heavy heart that I write to you after having learned about your dear son and distinguished member of the Israel Defense Forces, Max. Although I didn’t have the privilege of knowing your son Max personally, I have taken the liberty of reaching out to you since I noticed him wearing a New England Patriots cap in one of the broadcasted photos. He represents the consummate patriot and I am forever grateful for the sacrifices he made to keep our beloved Israel safe. His dedication and loyalty to Israel have not gone unnoticed and I am sure he has left behind a legacy of which you and your family can be proud.

On behalf of the entire New England Patriots team, please accept our most sincere condolences as we are all profoundly saddened by his untimely passing.

Sincerely,

Robert Kraft

“We are all Patriots”

With love of our tradition and the people of Eretz Israel.

While this won’t bring back their precious son, I imagine it meant a great deal to this family to know how much their son’s sacrifice was valued not just in Israel, but in the United States, and by someone as infulential as Robert Kraft. While I will NEVER be a Patriots’ fan, I can at least appreciate the goodness, the graciousness, and the compassion of their owner toward this family in their time of mourning.

Of course, there continues to be more raging on in the world, and in our country. As I understand it from Charles Krauthammer, President Obama continues to “dither” around with what to do with ISIS as it attempts to wipe out thousands on a mountaintop:

Yep, that’s our president, and that’s what happens when people elect a singularly unqualified person to run the greatest nation in the world. Not only are Americans bearing the brunt of too many of our fellow citizens being taken in by this charlatan, or voting for a man simply based on his skin color, but so are nations around the world. Heckuva job, Obama, heckuva job. Not.

But I am on vacation still, so I will leave you to discuss the news of the day and week. I want to leave you with a smile on your faces though. Allow me to leave you with these cuties, whom I have shared here before, but was reminded of recently:

How precious are those two?! Just love this, and it brings a huge smile to my face. Hope it did yours, too.

One more, and this is for all of y’all who are in love with Trey Gowdy (it’s a long list, I can tell you):

You’re welcome!

Okay, I’m going back on vacation. This is all yours now! Take care, y’all!

34 Responses to “He Was A Patriot *Week(end) Open Thread*”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Enjoy your vacation! It sounds lovely. What a sweet story about the lone soldier and the support people showed at his funeral and to his parents.

    LOL, too funny how you still won’t ever be a patriots fan 🙂

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    What a class act by the owner of the Patriots! I will still go to my grave as a Packer Backer but I can still respect and admire a good man with a good heart.

    On another note I imagine you have all heard about Govenor Rick Perry of Texas being indicted for “abusing the power of his office”. Now if you can’t see the irony of Dems doing that you just aren’t trying.

    Texas’ Perry indicted for coercion for veto threat
    http://townhall.com/news/politics-elections/2014/08/15/texas-perry-indicted-for-coercion-for-veto-threat-n1879416

    FYI – I am NOT a Rick Perry fan and think it would be insanity for the GOP to nominate him in 2016. That said…

    This reeks of liberal corruption and their habit of using the law to do their dirty work. That’s not to say that the GOP does not do it from time to time. It is equally inexcusable no matter which party does the dirty deed.

    There was a time when most Americans had faith in Grand Juries. This will only further erode confidence in our judicial process.

    Here is Wisconsin the Dems have tried to use the courts, including the Wisconsin Supreme Court, with the help of the despicible Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, to do their dirty work. They were for the most part slapped down.

    Shame on the members of the Austin Grand Jury who allowed their politics to pollute the legal system in their state. Their actions are reprehensible.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Absolutely, Marge – I can appreciate the kindness and support of the Pats’ owner, and it was classy, too. But yeah, doesn’t motivate me to support them. 🙂

      Ugh, yes – Cuz’n Cindy sent me a link last night abt Perry’s indictment. It just tells me how scared they are of him. Oh, and not to mention likely getting back at him for having the AUDACITY to stand up to Obama by ordering in the National Guard for the borders.

      It is reprehensible for any party to use the courts to target their political enemies. The law should be above politics, but those days seem long gone under this Administration. There was a good article at BizPac that had some funny Tweets abt targeting someone for wanting to cut the budget of a drunk DA: http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Peace/2014/08/13/Western-Sex-Slaves-for-ISIS-The-Twisted-Psychology-of-Jihad-Brides

  3. foxyladi14 Says:

    Rick put the guard on the border.
    And ticked off the Messiah as well as Mexico
    Thus causing this. 😆

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    Her arrest video!!! 😯

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Just one more example of the corrupt media

    Louisiana’s Abortion Law Gets Light Attention, Perhaps Due to Its ‘Overwhelming’ Democratic Support

    http://newsbusters.org/blogs/tom-blumer/2014/08/12/louisianas-abortion-law-gets-light-attention-perhaps-due-its-overwhelmin

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    You all know of my love for cartoons. Well I think I’ve found the perfect one for a Sunday morning. See what you think.

  7. helenk3 Says:

    the weirdest thing just happened. I was listening to Fox when they had on a singer from American Idol. He now sings Christian music. I looked out my window and there was a skywriter writing Trust Jesus in the sky over the lake

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

    Awesome!!!! 🙂

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Our beloved macaw, Katie Bird, had a seizure this afternoon and died. We are disconsolate. But we are so grateful that we had the good sense to “rescue” her 14 years ago. She rewarded us in so many ways.

    Lou had to go to work and so I am here alone – where I was never alone because I had my birds. First we lost Kam a year and a half ago and now our precious Katie Bird. I hope someone in bird heaven knows that she liked Cook Whip on her banana and was especially fond of Nutter Butters.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, Marge – I am so, so sorry for your loss. I know that Katie Bird has been such a big part of your life (and Lou’s) for so long. She was fortunate indeed that you picked her, and you were fortunate to have her as your faithful companion all these years (along with Kam).

      I am so sorry – of course, you are disconsolate – how could you not be? Breaks my heart for you…

      And the quote is beautiful. Thank you for that.

  10. Katherine B Says:

    The loss of your Katie Bird is so sad. Brought tears to my eyes. Pets add so much to our lives. I echo Amy’s comment that it is a beautiful quote and I am grateful to now be aware of that website Healing Pet Loss. Warm thoughts being sent your way.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thank you for your kind words and thoughts Katherine. They are much appreciated. One of the reasons I love to come to this site is the warm and wonderful people – animal lovers who understand what I am feeling now. But we’ll muddle on Lou and I.

      We talked a little today about looking for some other pet to rescue. As long as they need us we feel we must do what we can. I am getting too old to “rescue” young animals or birds but the older ones are more apt to be put down so old crocks like Lou and I can still do some good. And we cannot imagine our house without a pet.

      As much as we loved Katie Bird she loved us back. And she would want us to rescue someone else and not to be alone. But I doubt she would be willing to share her banana and cool whip – that would be going too far. Maybe a Nutter Butter or two… We bought those little cups of Nutter Butters with the nickle sized cookies and they were, next to banana and cool whip her favorite treat.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        So glad you can find support here, Marge. Truly, the folks here are the best, with big hearts.

        There really isn’t anything like losing a pet. My partner and I were talking abt our last two dogs we lost the other day after our godson mentioned Sasha. We lost her over three yrs ago, and Sweetie four years before that (and our two greyhounds since we built our house 8 yrs ago, as well as a cat). We miss them all still, and I still cry when I talk abt them. Such great dogs and companions, how could I not still miss them?

        It was so wonderful of you and Lou to provide a loving home for Kam and Katie even knowing they had problems. That they were safe and secure, spoiled with their Nutter Butters and other treats, no doubt made them feel they had gone to heaven already…

        And how very sweet that you are already talking abt rescuing someone else. A niece who worked in the animal field for decades has always said people should adopt age appropriate pets, so you are right on track with that idea. I am sure that whoever you taken in will thank their lucky stars for your kindness.

        What a big heart you have to even be thinking abt that in this time of sorrow and grief. That speaks volumes abt you, friend. Bless you!

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Thank you for the kind words RRRAmy. So sorry for the loss of your beloved dogs. If I could get around a little better I would love to rescue an older dog. But some days I can’t get around much and couldn’t get Fido out as he or she needs. I had dogs all my life and miss having one around. But it wouldn’t be fair to the dog.

          I don’t know about a big heart but I know about an empty one. Lou and I are not going to rush into anything but we think in about a month we’ll start looking for a bird(s) who needs us. And that need will fill the empty place we both are experiencing now.

          We also know that much as we adore the “big” birds that we are getting too old to handle them and give them the care they need. So I guess we will have to look for one of the smaller birds.

          In the meantime we are missing out wonderful Katie Bird and telling each other wonderful stories about her. She was a hoot and could make us laugh when it seemed as if we didn’t have a laugh in us. We will miss that.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Thanks so much, Marge. I don’t mean to inject my loss into,the one you and Lou are suffering now. Really just to say these creatures get ahold of our hearts and are there to stay.

            No doubt you two are missing her so much now. And I completely understand abt the limitations our age can place on the types and size of animals we rescue. When you are ready, you will know. And when you find the right bird(s?), you will know that, too.

            And yes, I would say you have a big heart! 🙂

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    And by the way – when we rescued Katie and Kam we knew they had seizures. The people that owned then had put them down in the basement because they were noisey and messy. After a few years they begin having seizures. The vet thought they might have been exposed to some kind of toxic fumes from the furnace or hot water heater that wouldn’t harm a human but was damaging to birds. There are unfortunately a lot of things like that.

    We were told when we took them that they probably would live very long. We had Kam for 12 1/2 years and Katie for 14 so we think we were very lucky. And because we knew their life span would be short we gave them treats, like banana and cool whip and Nutter Butter cookies that we wouldn’t have given to young healthy birds. We wanted their short span to be a happy one. (FYI – Macaws can live for as long as 75 years. Kam was 22 1/2 when he died and Katie was 24.

    By the way if you ever hear of someone who wants to get on of these majestic birds – warn them – yes they are noisey and messy and can be destructive. And they are wonderful! Smart and funny and a joy.

    • Katherine B Says:

      I am reminded about the very first cat I adopted when I set out on my own to attend school in D.C. I had been raised with dogs and loved them but I was doing theater and my hours were very irregular and I thought a cat would be more self-sufficient. He was a teeny tiny ball of gray fur and I named him Topo, which I think means mouse in Italian. Anyway, I had that cat for 14 years and he traveled all over with me – to Europe for four years and back. When he died I was a wreck. I had spontaneous bouts of crying for weeks. Finally, when I had calmed down ( and you might find this amusing) I was in the car with my then husband and I announced, “Well, I think I handled that pretty well.” He almost drove off the road, looked at me and said, “Are you kidding? You’ve been doing nothing but crying for two weeks. I think you wouldn’t be that upset if it was me.”

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Thank you for sharing your story of a beloved pet. And thank you for making me laugh. Both are indicitive of a warm and loving heart.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Lol, oh, my, that is a great story! Topo sounds like he was a great travel companion on top of it all. How cool is that? But funny abt your husband’s reaction – thanks for the laugh!

        Yeah, our godson was specifically talking abt Sasha, our “Skippity-do-dog,” who was just the happiest little Border Co lie mix. She loved everyone, from little kids to seniors, cats and dogs alike. She had the greatest disposition. Everyone wanted her. And Sweetie lived up to her name. They both were rescues, Sasha from the ASPCA, and Sweetie from an abusive neighbor.

        When we first got Sasha, she wouldn’t go inside the dog house we had, but would jump on top of it. Naturally, I taught her to do it on command. It was hilarious…Oh, she never stayed outside mind you. It was there from a previous dog before my time, but still. I thought it was funny she would not dream of going in there (it was clean, btw).

        Oh these pets – what joy they bring us…

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    I of course meant to say “We were told when we took that that they probably would NOT live very long.”

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    Meanwhile, politics as usual continues. Sadly.

    What do you all think about this article?

    How Responsible Are Michael Brown’s Parents for His Demise?

    We cannot continue to excuse criminal behavior by claiming poverty and inequality.

    by Patricia Dickson

    http://pjmedia.com/blog/are-michael-browns-parents-responsible/?singlepage=true

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      In case you are wondering who is this Patricia Dickson person, her bio says:

      Patricia is a no “nonsense” straight talking girl, blessed with Godly wisdom and common sense. She retired from the U.S. Air Force after serving over twenty years and holds a B.A. in Psychology from Chapman University and a Masters in Business Administration from Brandman University in Orange, California.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Indeed, they do. All kinds of things going on this week, aren’t there?

      As for Brown, Minister Gentry, the one who had the video abt how people in his community are acting over this, also said it was ridiculous for Brown’s parents to say people were disparaging his character when there is video proof of his criminal behavior. He said that wasn’t disparaging, but FACT. And so it was.

      Of course, parents can do the best they can for their kids and still have them turn out badly, but to play the victim card so heavily when the facts are showing quite a different story is something else altogether.

      And did you see the story abt the white unarmed teenage boy shot by the black cop in Utah, whom the media referred to as, “non-white”? Yeah, it happened around the same time as the Brown shooting, but the white kid did not attack the black cop, or break his eye socket or anything. And there was no rioting, looting, or statements from Obama, or appearances by Sharpton and Jackson. Nope. Nary a peep.

      This is all MSM ratcheted up race baiting and it is not only dangerous, but immoral. Oh, how I wish the MSM would get its comeuppance…

      Thanks for the bio of the author, too. Seems like she has some real life experience to back up her claims.

  14. Katherine B Says:

    I have found the events of the recent past just so depressing and demoralizing that I couldn’t bring myself to comment on them. The riots and looting in Fergusson with everyone calling for justice for the Brown family but not for the police officer (gee, that sounds fair) to the awful beheading of the American journalist with Obama going back to golf less than 10 minutes after his “sorrowful” statement to the release of details of the unsuccessful special operations to rescue hostages which now jeopardizes future missions not to mention the fate of those people being held have all left me feeling flattened. I’m hiding in my house listening to classical music, which (depending on the piece) helps soothe my spirits and eating chocolate ice cream, which isn’t as comforting as usual. I’m going to try playing with my cats to see if that helps.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Uh oh, then you might not want to read the post I wrote for the Weekend Open a Thread tomorrow. I didn’t mention Ferguson, but you touched on some of the other themes…

      All that is to say, I totally understand wanting to play with the kitties and eat ice cream. What has been happening just this month alone is incredibly disturbing. Sigh…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I understand the idea of playing with cats and eating ice cream. I often revert to that when one more item would make my head explode.

        I have reached the end of my tolerance for most of the “pundocrisy” and the pundidiots. I watch the panel on “Special Report” and that’s it for me with politics on television. Even then if the idiotic Juan Williams is on I won’t watch.

        Other than that it’s Falling Skies and Defiance and Longmire which are my 3 favorites.

        I watch the “Fixer Uppers” fix up and Mike Holmes restore a lot of homes. (Even if you are not a Mike Holmes fan Rev there is an episode about fixing up an old man’s barn for his horses. It is fantastic! I think it was called “Hoofed Roof”, watch it if you ever get a chance. The old man rescues horses.)

        I will always read about politics and keep up with the facts as well as I can. The problem is that I am unconvinced that I will find many facts on television. Even the best are pretty bad.

        And for all that – I found a Jonah Goldberg article on Townhall that I think skewers Obama as well as anything I’ve read. And Jonah always does it so gently and with a touch of humor.

        Obama’s Small-Screen Worldview
        http://townhall.com/columnists/jonahgoldberg/2014/08/22/obamas-smallscreen-worldview-n1881783/page/2

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Yes, having shows that have nothing to do with politics is truly a respite from all of the insanity out there. I definitely have some faves to which I turn, including some of the Fixer Upper shows (usually later on at night).

          I love Mike Holmes – what a great soul he is, especially since he so often uses his own money to help people. That is very cool that he fixed up the barn for a man who rescues horses! What a wonderful thing to do!!

          And I love Jonah Goldberg, too. He is so eloquent and erudite. His sense of humor is so good, too. Whenever he is on Special Report, he always cracks up everyone else. He usually gets Kirsten Powers to laugh really hard at his comments. But he is not mean-spirited in his remarks, which is hard to do some time. I am going to go read the article by him right now. Thank you!

          Oh, and one thing abt being down here, I cannot watch Fox at all – the resort doesn’t have it. I do miss Special Report – I think it is the best news show on tv. But it means I step away from politics some, though I do check a few regular sites each day to stay in the loop. But yeah, much better for my blood pressure to not have to watch Bob Beckel or Juan Williams while I am down here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

