Things For Which To Be Grateful *Weekend Open Thread*

by

With Thanksgiving coming up this week, thinking of things for which I am grateful seems timely. Even in the midst of all of the government craziness, such as: the revelation of 30,000 IRS emails from Lois Lerner (surprise!); the Grenade-walking Report from the Inspector General; the New Black Panthers who were arrested for handguns and plans to set off pipe bombs in Ferguson (I know, no one is more surprised than I am that members would be arrested on Federal charges considering this DOJ, but there ya have it); or how our President has “gone rogue,” as one of the House members, Aaron Shock (R-IL), stated. There are plenty of things going on right now that cause consternation, anger, depression, and frustration.

Hence the need, in my opinion, for some things for which I am grateful. Naturally, I would love to hear about those things for which you are grateful, too, which leads me to first on my list for today. That would be y’all, my readers and friends. As my friend, Gina, points out often, one good thing about Obama is that he has enabled me to meet some amazing people. I am grateful for our daily dialogues, for the wisdom, the humor, the insights provided by you all here. And I am grateful to know such a wonderful group of kindred spirits. So, yeah, even I have to thank Obama for something, and that would be getting to know all of y’all.

Another thing for which I am grateful is the solidarity exhibited by our neighbors to the North recently. Via HotAir.com, this from HuffPo:

They may be our biggest rivals on the ice, but when it comes to honouring our American neighbours, Canadians don’t pass up on the opportunity to chime in. The video, filmed Nov. 18, shows the opening of the Toronto Maple Leafs vs. the Nashville Predators hockey game. When Canadian singer Michelle Madeira began the American national anthem, her microphone failed. So what did the Canadian crowd do? They picked up right where she left off. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Check it out:

Moves the ol’ heartstrings, doesn’t it? Nicely done, Canadians!

Next up are the Therapy Horses of Gentle Carousel. They have added a new location at which they are doing their work, and that is in California, primarily with Veterans (all photos from the Gentle Carousel website):

GC Veterans

They are very patriotic, these mini-horses:

GC Patriotic

I am grateful at the goodness of people who spend so much time training these magical little creatures so they can bring joy and healing to those in need.

Of course, I am thankful for my own furry family: the dogs, Dorothy and DJ; the cats, Punkin’ Bug, Bou, and Pippa; and our own magical horse, well, funny at least, Jordan. (And for my partner, too, but she isn’t furry!)

And I am grateful for the kindness of strangers. This morning, I saw a segment on Fox and Friends about Lt. Commander Bashon Mann. Lt. Commander Mann wrote an open letter to a stranger who paid for a birthday dinner for one of his daughters. Here is some of the letter as reprinted at The Blaze:

[…]November 19, 2014 was not an especially peculiar day for any reason, it was rather cold in the nation’s capital but other than the usual beltway driven, dog chasing its tail political nuance that occurs here on a daily basis this was simply not unlike any other day as far as I could see. “ “, I suspect you saw it through a completely different lens however, just my hunch. I do want you to know that I walked into that restaurant this evening wearing my Navy service dress uniform because my daughter asked that I dress up for the occasion of her birthday dinner. I was more than happy to oblige. You see, she does not get to see me in uniform very often, and I was proud of her that she would ask to see me in what Daddy goes to work in. After all it is my work that tends to keep me from seeing them as often as I, and THEY would like. However, all other melancholy realities of life put aside, when we walked in Mi Rancho Wednesday night all was good. We were together, we were smiling, we were ready to celebrate Sabine.

[…]

“ “, I am 41 yrs old, so when I tell you that I sometimes hang my head a bit when Mom & Dad say they got “it”, well you’ll just have to understand though tremendously grateful for the blessing of parents with the energy, ability and will to share so lovingly, there is the small sting of humility and a burden I feel I place upon them from time to time. Things have been difficult the past couple of years and it’s a longer story than you probably have time for. Thus, you are asking yourself why am I telling you all of this? I’m longwinded, can never tell a short story. You see “ “, it’s just that you caught me flat footed. And maybe that was your intent. You don’t know my inner struggles, and I don’t know yours. Perhaps that is how it is meant to be; perhaps that is the blessing inside the blessing – one I shall just have to accept and learn from. That despite heaviness, strife and anguish it is the openness of ones heart that allows for the good to spread, for healing to be felt. It has been hours now and I have not stopped thinking about the profoundness of your actions Wednesday evening at Mi Rancho. And, I suspect it is going to take me some time to figure out how I shall properly respond. How do I take your action and create an equally compelling and forceful reaction. How do I pay it forward?

[…]

“ “, you don’t know a single burden I may carry or what I may have been going through today, nor do I know the travails of your daily journey; but when I reached my car to begin my drive down Georgia Avenue, I fought back tears as I tried to keep myself together and take in your kindness at its root. You presented me with hope and faith; you were a blessing tonight at Mi Rancho and I will not soon forget your overture. I need you to know that I won’t block the flow of generosity; I won’t halt your abundance of goodness. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

People can be amazing sometimes, can’t they? Often when we least expect it, but need it the most.

So that is it for me today. Feel free to share things for which you are grateful, or the news of the day, or music, whatever is on your hearts. This is your Weekend Open Thread.

74 Responses to “Things For Which To Be Grateful *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. HELENK3 Says:

    brought this forward. watching this kids both in the two man boats and the bigger one, I had this thought. what a good way to teach cooperation as well as sportsmanship. working together to make a boat go fast and in the right direction is a good lesson in life

    • HELENK3 Says:

      PS there are alligators in that lake so you know they have to row fast

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much for bringing it forward, Helen.

      And yes, rowing is definitely a good lesson in cooperation and sportsmanship.

      LOL abt the alligators – that’s some inspiration, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    I am so full of things to be thankful got they are coming out of my ears. 🙂
    Right up there at the top of the list is this blog and all of my dear friends here. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Amen to that, Foxy. There are so many things for which to be grateful!

      I am thankful for y’all – every day! And I am thankful that I have been able to meet some of y’all in person, like Cuz’n Cindy, Kinthenorthwest, and Gina. What a blessing!

  3. HELENK3 Says:

    I am grateful for the people I have met through my travels. The places i was lucky enough to see. The many people who have taught me a lot about a lot of different things.

    Yes most of all I am grateful for my family and blogging friends

  4. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Ahh, how sweet. Gratitude is an awesome thing.

    Your story about the Canadians singing the national anthem was quite precious. A few years ago we had a softball game with some Canadians and the same thing happened, the sound system failed, which really amounted to nothing more than one of those toy microphones you buy for kids, but the crowd, which was only about 30 people, managed to pull the Canadian nat’l anthem lyrics up on their cell phones and give a boisterous and likely quite sad rendition to honor our rivals.

    In case anyone wondered, the Canadian nat’l anthem is hard to sing, really hard. The American anthem at least, is modeled after an old English drinking song, and most people can manage to sound like some form of a drunken sailor.

    I’m grateful for a lot of things, at the moment lots of fond memories, but also I’m really grateful for those spontaneous acts of kindness that people sometimes manage to just pull of unrehearsed. I love it when a group of people all wind up on the same page and act in unison simply because we all know it’s the right thing to do.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      What a WONDERFUL story, insanity! That is just fantastic that people pulled out their cell phones and looked up the Canadian anthem. It is a tough one.

      ROTFLMAO abt the US anthem and drunken sailors – that is hilarious!!

      Amen to those spontaneous acts of kindness – there really is nothing like them to remind us of the kindness of strangers and humanity. Thank heavens for that…

  5. HELENK3 Says:

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    I had to post this. wish we had more senators like this

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      How many other senators quote Cicero? Thanks for this, Helen. If only more people would listen to him (and the might have had the MSM not demonized him like they do anyone who threatens the dubious actions of Dems)…

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2014/11/20/Blue-State-Blues-An-Immigrant-s-Warning-When-Illegality-Becomes-the-Law

    this article should be bookmarked and read once a week just to remind us what we have and have to fight to keep.

    when illegally becomes law

  8. H Says:

    the quest for knowledge that gave pictures like this

    http://129.164.179.22/apod/ap141122.html

  9. Cindyindie Says:

    Grateful for YOU, cuzin Amy!! Wonderful post, btw…

    Sorry I’ve been in and out….We’re trying out new computer….giving the boys the old one..and still workin’ out the kinks…!

    Love to all! And Suzy too!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Cuz! I am grateful for YOU, too! And for your wonderful husband, adorable grandsons, and lovely daughter!!

      LOL – no worries – I totally understand abt that. And cool that the boys will be getting your old one.

      Love to you and the family, too!

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Another thing to be thankful for is when the Press Corps actually does its job in a very funny way. Check out their responses to the State Dept So=pokesman on Benghazi: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q0NuwzQ0agY

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    I’m grateful for columnists who tell the truth and shame the devil. Goodwin iniatially supported Obama. I believe he even voted for him in 2008. However unlike the slobbering lovefest of other reporters Goodwin reports on the lawlessness of Obama. He is a supporter no more and hasn’t been for some time. I am also grateful for the way he skewers Obama in a way no one else quite does. I know, shame on me. 😦

    This week Michael Goodwin’s column is a solid indictment of Obama and the illegal immigrants he cares for more than American citizens.

    A job for super ego

    http://nypost.com/2014/11/22/a-job-for-super-ego/

    Have been gone for a couple of days because of computer problems. Ran a Kaspersky “rescue disc” but that did nothing. Well it did point out all the problems but wouldn’t fix them because the datebase was outdated and wouldn’t allow me to activate my new security disc. So after running the “rescue disc” for 2 days and 11 hours I am right back where I started. Guess this “fix” is beyond my capabilities and the computer will have to go into the “shop”.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      What a GREAT piece by Goodwin. I appreciate his willingness to admit he made a mistake – too many Dems refuse to do that, and instead, dig in their heels lest they admit how VERY wrong they were.

      Anyway, he is absolutely spot on in his assessment abt Obama. Obama HAS been wrong abt absolutely everything, intentionally thumbing his nose at the very people he is supposed to be serving when he imposes policies on us. I think the Congress felt like they couldn’t do as much earlier on because of the constant racism charge, but I think many people are over that crap now…

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        And so sorry to hear abt your computer problems! I was wondering where you were – now I know! But yeah, there is nothing like when your computer isn’t working properly. Ugh.

        Welcome back!

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Thanks Rev. I felt cut off from the world! Television just doesn’t do it for me.

          We went and bought a reconditioned computer yesterday and will set it up so that we are never without again! May not have all the bells a whistles but my bells and whistles weren’t ringing and blowing anyway.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            I definitely missed you and your great comments – I just figured you were busy or something! 🙂

          • piper Says:

            I’ve been known to use my i-phone – prob. reading small print spurred me to get an i-pad as back-up.

            • piper Says:

              a bit hard appreciating the cartoons

            • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

              My phone has a very small screen (my partner was just saying I need to move into the 21st century). I can respond to comments via email from it, though, so that’s good! 🙂

              But yeah, I don’t think I could see the cartoons from it…

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thought you might like this:

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    So yesterday afternoon, we went to buy a new car (Toyota Highlander to replace my Lexus RX450H – the cargo space is too small in that since our dog, DJ, got so big).

    Very happy with the new car (we have long been a Toyota/Lexus family), but that is not the point of this comment. The point is the salesman we had. He was an amazing guy, served in the Navy, and was on the anti-piracy team (he said, “think Captain Phillips”). He was trained by Marcus Latrell, and said he is just the most amazing man. He added that “Lone Survivor” is EXTREMELY accurate, down to how the men held their weapons. He said Latrell insisted upon it, and did an amazing job.

    He also said he is 100% disabled from the service. He needs to have five different surgeries (both ankles, knee, hip, and shoulder – he has 7 anchors in his shoulder to hold the muscle to bone, and some have come loose). Get this – he has waited EIGHTEEN MONTHS to see an orthopedist at the VA. This man served tours in Iraq, Afghanistan, Haiti (which he said was very violent toward Americans, which many people did not know), and a number of other posts. And he has had to wait this long just to SEE an ortho. That is APPALLING.

    Anyway – he was a fascinating man, and he worked very hard not just to get our business, but he helps Gold Star kids get vehicles even when he doesn’t really make anything on the sale because it is the thing to do. That’s the kind of guy he is.

    Yep – our military are the TRUE one percenters, and they should be taken care of MUCH better than they are…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Do you ever wonder how long those hang-wringing members of the House and Senate have to wait to see a doctor if they get so much as a hangnail? Hangwringing is b.s. Do something and get this fixed!

      Do the people of this country see that this is an indication of what healthcare will be for all of us if obamacare takes over our health system? All of us except those who are exempt from this abomination.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Isn’t that incredible?? I was just infuriated when he told us that. It is appalling that someone who LITERALLY laid his life on the line for this country, who served it faithfully for so many years, would have to wait so long just to SEE the doctor, never mind get the actual surgery. Who knows when that will happen??

        Andrea Tantaros said for all those people who think they want single payer healthcare, all they have to do is look at how the Government has handled the VA. And that was with FAR fewer people than the entire populations, so one can just extrapolate how much worse it would be for us.

        But yes, as it is, the entire Obamacare system is truly destroying our country’s healthcare system, not a doubt abt it.

      • piper Says:

        irc – both chambers have drs and nurses staffing med. center on site.

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      Congrats on the new wheels Amy. 🙂

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Thanks, Foxy! We had originally planned to get a used one, but the deal was too good not to go with the new one. And now, we can fit everyone we need to fit in if, heaven forbid, a hurricane comes our way. That’s life on the SC coast!

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    E-mails show White House tried to muzzle Sharyl Attkisson

    http://hotair.com/archives/2014/11/21/e-mails-show-white-house-tried-to-muzzle-sharyl-attkisson/

    I was surprised that the attempts by the White House, and ultimate success in getting Attkisson out at CBS, did not outrage other reporters. Do they understand it could, and will happen to them if they do not “behave” themselves.

    I have had little to no respect for Bob Schieffer for a very long time. His bias is all too obvious. However I really thought he had more respect for his profession than to be a presstitute for this or any other administration.

    I wonder, does the press realize how they have destroyed their credibility? Do they realize that the public, for the most part, has no more use for them than the crooks, aka politicians, they cover?

    From all accounts Attkisson has some serious “tech” people looking through her computer. Supposedly CBS is helping. LOL!

    I do hope she can prove they hacked her. Even the nitwits that slobber at Obama’s heels won’t like that much. Or will they even care anymore?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Isn’t that amazing? I was stunned when I saw this the other day and noted the DOJ spokesperson went after her because she was making “Holder look bad.” The only person making Holder look bad is HOLDER himself with his unlawful actions, not Attkisson.

      And yeah, Schieffer is such a hack for this Administration. You would think that he, and other journalists, would at least care abt how this Government has treated people like Attkisson, Rosen, and another journalist, but they ALL seem to think that this couldn’t POSSIBLY happen to them because of how sycophantic they have been, but we also all know it takes VERY little for this Administration to throw someone under the bus.

      I truly hope Attkisson blows this Administration out of the water with the results of the hacking trail. Not that the diehard Dems will believe their own eyes, but still…

  15. HELENK3 Says:

    TEST

  16. kenoshamarge Says:

    The great Michael Ramirez strikes again! He doesn’t go easy on the right either if he isn’t happy with them.

  17. piper Says:

    I’m so thankful that I live in this country legally. Came over when I was 5 and became a citizen at 12. Another blessing was my beautiful, gentle DH who served in the military. People may rail at the military but who do they think did will protect them from the ‘baddies.’
    As a cheapskate I usually wait for good books to read from the library but the other day bought the kindle version of Sharyl’s book. My way of supporting her in her battle to expose the corruption and wanton callousness of the press.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I’m so thankful you came to this country, too, Piper!

      And many thanks to DH for serving in the military. You are exactly right – who but the military protects us from the bad guys?!

      That is why I went ahead and bought the hard copy of Sharyl’s book (I don’t have a Kindle). To make sure she knew there were people who do actually care abt the truth (still willing to share!). So yeah, right there with you!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      We’re lucky to have great additions to this country like you.

      It is a repulsive lie that anyone who doesn’t support the open borders and the hordes of illegals are anti-immigrant.

      Except for one great grandmother who was an Oglala Sioux all my great grandparents were immigrants. We are indeed a nation of immigrants but we are also a nation of law. And the illegals are breaking it. Why anyone defends that I cannot understand.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Wow, cool abt your people, Marge!

        The thing that bugs the crap out of me is exactly what Michael Goodwin wrote abt in that great piece you put up earlier abt those here illegally: the MASSIVE sense of entitlement, the demands for benefits; and the sheer lack of regard for our country and its laws.

        When people are given something instead of having to EARN it, they often take it for granted. I think we are seeing that in SPADES with this group.

  18. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.ijreview.com/2014/11/206710-president-obama-gets-schoolhouse-rocked-snl-illegal-immigration-orders/

    Comics finally getting brave enough to make fun of backtrack

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOL – beat me to it – I was going to use this in my post for tomorrow. 🙂 Can you believe it though? Abt damn time. Between SNL and Jimmy Kimmel, it seems the comedians are finally seeing Obama for who he is.

  19. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Abt that Benghazi report – my senator, Lindsey Graham, referred to it as “Crap”: http://dailycaller.com/2014/11/23/lindsey-graham-house-benghazi-report-is-full-of-crap-video/

  20. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Congratulations, Helen and Marge, on the wins by your respective teams!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Any win within the division is always a great win. Of course beating the Vikings is almost as good as beating the Bears. Not quite – but close! 😉

      Congrats Helen. Now we’re both smiling.

  21. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.youngcons.com/liberal-asks-mike-rowe-how-anyone-can-be-a-republican-and-christian-his-response-is-epic/

    what an awesome response to an idiot

  22. kenoshamarge Says:

    Before the era of Obama really, and finally, opened my eyes about the party which I had supported all my life I was a knee jerk hate the nearest Republican” most of my life. Thus because I very much loathed Bush and Cheney Condi Rice was also loathed. I didn’t even try to see what a rather amazing women she is. That’s my bad and I have made some major corrections in my thinking. (Still loathe Cheney FYI.)

    Anyway, to get to the point, I thought this showed Condi Rice at her best. And I am glad I finally took the time and effort to get to “know” her some. It was worth it.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Right there with you, Marge – I was exactly the same way. I immediately discounted Condi Rice simply because she was a Republican. It is embarrassing to admit now how narrow-minded I was before I finally acknowledged the waving red flags in 2008. And we have seen how often Dems have continued to do that with strong Republican women (the TRUE “War on Women”).

      Anyway, what a great statement by the former Sec. of State. She is an impressive woman, to be sure.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I can respect and admire her without believing that the things she said and did as a member of an administration that I have little respect for were right. I happen to believe that most of our heroes and sheroes are simply human beings with more breadth and depth. Those on the left, and I can at least be proud of the fact that I was never one of them, seem to fall in love with candidates. I didn’t then and don’t know. I tend to be more pragmatic. Without that I would have made a bigger fool of myself then I did when I was a die-hard Donk.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Exactly, Marge. I don’t have to agree with everything she, or anyone else says, but it was wrong to dismiss her, or worse, demonize her, just because she was a Rep. We have seen that time and time again in the past 6 yrs, though. Ugh.

          Good point abt the not falling in love, too. I am pretty sure I made a fool out of myself over Hillary. Never again.

  23. kenoshamarge Says:

    Good Victor Davis Hanson piece on Obama IMO. He explains things that we sort of “feel” but can’t quite articulate. Or at least I can’t.

    Explaining Away Obama

    http://pjmedia.com/victordavishanson/explaining-away-obama/?singlepage=true

  24. HELENK3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/national-security/iran-talks-fail/

    that went well NOT

  25. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.nationalreview.com/article/393251/small-man-big-office-kevin-d-williamson

    OUCH 95 times

  26. HELENK3 Says:

    http://therightscoop.com/another-imperial-pronouncement-by-emperor-obama-future-presidents-cannot-use-his-example-of-executive-action/

    emperor backtrack the doublespeaker pronounces more nonsense

  27. HELENK3 Says:

    http://nypost.com/2014/11/22/a-job-for-super-ego/

    a good article

  28. HELENK3 Says:

    chuck Hagel just quit as defense secretary

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Good. As Katie Pavlich just said, he wasn’t the best choice in the first place. NO kidding. Don’t know why in the hell he was ever confirmed, but there ya go. So, yeah – good. He was terrible.

      • HELENK3 Says:

        Senior White House official says President Obama initiated discussions with Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel about leaving in October – @washingtonpost
        Read more on washingtonpost.com

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I don’t think he jumped, I think he was pushed. And Obama’s remarks about him not being “right” for the times is a real slap in the face. I would feel sorry for Hagel if I hadn’t thought he was an idiot for taking the post in the first place. Did he really think he could work with those thugs?

        Isn’t it funny that the first time Obama is holding someone accountable it turns out to be the only Republican in his cabinet? If Hagel didn’t see this coming he’s just stupid. Even naive isn’t enough and he was in Washington too long to be that naive.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I think he was pushed, too. But honestly, he was not the brightest in the world, not by a LONG shot. And his stance against Israel over the years was so troubling that he never should have been confirmed in the first place, IMHO.

          True, he was the only Republican, but really – there were SO many more intelligent, experienced, qualified Republicans from which Obama COULD have picked had he wanted to do so. That he picked Hagel says a lot right there.

          But yeah – what a shock that out of EVERYONE who should be held accountable, Hagel is the only one…

Leave a Reply

