Laughter, Kindness, And Music: Weekend Respite Open Thread

by

Holy smokes, what a week this has been. Between the on-going protests and distortions of fact; the new Defense Secretary nominee, Ashton Carter, who by all accounts seems like a nice guy, but who has NO military experience. And even though he claims he will be no “lapdog,” watching him embracing Susan Rice with such enthusiasm makes me wonder; the continued revelations about the extent of Obama’s Amnesty overreach; and more, I am worn out. The cold hasn’t helped, I admit, but it is mild in comparison to the other crapola happening.

Consequently, I think we need a weekend off from all of this stuff, and just have some lighthearted fun, listen to some good music, and tell stories. How about that?

First up is a cute spoof from the TownHall.com staff as a Christmas greeting. Since many of us read them, and like Katie Pavlich so much, this is a good way to begin:

I totally cracked up about Katie Pavlich being 6’7″. Hilarious!

And now for a story I saw mentioned this past week. It is a lovely tale of friendship and respect. The Daily Mail had the story and some photographs taken by citizens:

Officer Holder takes Dorothy Shephard grocery shopping for Thanksgiving.

Officer Holder takes Dorothy Shephard grocery shopping for Thanksgiving.

[…] (Officer John) Holder told reporters that he met (Dorothy) Shepard after visiting her home for a wellness check after she’d had neck and back surgeries and then offered her his cell number should she ever need any more help.

Shepard said she was floored by Holder’s kindness.

‘I was so surprised that I started rambling,’ she told WFAA-8.

‘He listened and he was patient.’

Ever since the day they met the two have become friends and when Holder is not working he drives Shepard in his squad car to doctors’ appointments and helps her out in any way he can.

‘He said, ‘I’ll give you my cell phone; if you ever need anything, call me,”’Shepard recalled. ‘And as it turns out, the next day I did need a ride!’

‘I know police officers, but I never expected him to be that kind, and to go out of [his] way. He’s just tremendous,’ Shepard added.

Prior to the photo being taken Holder says he didn’t tell people that he’d been helping Shepard.

Now he says he’s been inundated with with appreciation after the photos surfaced and says he feels blessed especially with all the negative attention the media shining on police in recent days. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Isn’t at a great story? We have police officers all across this country showing their kindness and compassion to others. Those stories aren’t always reported, but thank good ness for when they are. And thank heavens for people like Officer Holder reaching out a hand of friendship to this widow. Both of them are fortunate they found one another.

With Winter upon us, worse in some areas than others (it’s 58 degrees as I type, so I am not complaining), the music of the season has the ability to warm us up with joy. This latest rendition of, “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” by Idina Menzel and Michael Buble, fits the bill:

Isn’t that such a charming version of that song? It was playing in my head, so I just had to share.

With Christmas upcoming, and Sunday being the Second Week of Advent, I offer up this rendition by my new favorite a capella group, Pentatonix:

Isn’t that just beautiful? And amazing what these young people can do with no instrumentation at all.

For a more traditional version of an Advent piece, I give you the following piece. It is also a recognition of the Winter Season:

Isn’t that just lovely and soothing? A little salve could not hurt in these times, I think.

That’s it for me, my friends. Now it is all yours!

33 Responses to “Laughter, Kindness, And Music: Weekend Respite Open Thread”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Happy Saturday friends.
    Love the videosA my.
    Hope you are over da bug. 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Happy Saturday to you, too, Foxy!

      And thanks – but I had to laugh since I was sneezing when I saw your comment. Ahahaha! I am better, though still have that nagging cough (mainly), which wakes me up at night. I’m ready for a full night’s sleep! 🙂

      Hope YOU are doing well!

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    We sure can use this thread.Thanks Amy. ❤

  3. kinthenorthwest Says:

    Thank You so much for that Story. Makes it kind of hard to type with tears in one’s eyes and a cat on your lap. And the music Amy you always choose such beautiful music. One of the guys in Pentatoniz is a cousin of my daughters. The whole family is so proud of him and the group.
    Thought I would post some Christmas Music. This is a new one to me and so beautiful. Actually one of the inmates when we were doing the Thanksgiving Food Bag fund raising turned me on to it.
    Did I tell you all these inmates raised enough for 200 Thanksgiving Dinner bags for the homeless and less fortunate people in the area here.
    Fall Softly Snow

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Kin – what a nice thing to say! I do love music, that’s for sure. (We are driving into town to run rrands, see Jordan, and see the new “Hunger Games” movie. We have “Celtic woman’s Chritmas” cd playing. Wow, so pretty…)

      I know what you mean abt hat story, too. Wasn’t that so sweet?

      And WOW that one of the Pentatonix members is family!! That is so cool. They are phenomenal. What incredibly talented people!

      Thanks for the video. I’ll watch it when I get home. 🙂

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Wow abt the inmates raising so much money, too. That is fantastic!

        I don’t think I have ever heard that song before, either. Thanks for that!

  4. HELENK3 Says:

    two of your favorite things

  5. HELENK3 Says:

    this has to bring a smile

  6. foxyladi14 Says:

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    stolen from the crawdad hole

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Cartoon for a Sunday morning.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    LA Landslide: Republican Bill Cassidy Gains Ninth GOP Senate Seat in Win Over Landrieu

    The 18-year long reign of Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA) has finally come to an end in Louisiana. In a landslide victory in Saturday’s runoff election, Republican Bill Cassidy defeated the incumbent and captured the ninth Senate seat for the GOP, capping off a victorious midterm election for his party. Cassidy pulled in 56 percent of the vote, to Landrieu’s 44 percent.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/cortneyobrien/2014/12/06/la-landslide-republican-bill-cassidy-gains-ninth-gop-senate-seat-in-win-over-landrieu-n1928359

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Bwahahahahahaha!! Not that that is stopping the Dems from acting like they won.

      And not like that is stopping the violence against the police the “Civil Rights” leaders, Pres., and AG, have ginned up. But maybe it will stop them soon…

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    I’m mostly a political animal so a very short respite from the news of the day is all I can take. I listen to music everyday so that’s nothing unusual. I like most kinds but prefer classical for background when I’m reading – which is often.

    Today however we do need to remember:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Absolutely. I was just coming here to post this sobering, moving, and yes, beautiful, photo that is the Bing home page today remembering this day:

      ??????????????????????????????????????????

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    Great Horned Owl Takes Relaxing Swim in Lake Michigan

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Once again, the Judge tells it like it is:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      She is terrific! Her final question is one I’ve been asking for 6 long years.

      It’s also why Michael Ramirez’s cartoon about the “divide and conquer” tactics of the Obama administration tells a story the left doesn’t want to hear:

  13. Cindyindie Says:

    Cuz—Sorry I’ve been Missing in Action!
    So busy down here!
    Great post today…That music was lovely.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Cuz! So good to *see* you! I figured you were might busy these days. I am glad you dropped by, and glad you liked the music! I bet y’all are singing some beautiful Advent hymns today!

      Thank you – I appreciate it!

  14. HELENK3 Says:

    http://sharylattkisson.com/eleven-alternative-investigative-journalism-sources

    some good information

  15. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2014/12/mcsallys-sally-an-update.php

    one more runoff to go.
    I really hope McSally wins. she sounds like she would be an asset to the country

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I hope McSally does, too. We have been supporting her campaign, and the recount, too. She is a remarkable woman, very accomplished, and also got the rules changed for women service members serving in Arabic countries so they don’t have to wear different clothes from the men when they are there. That, on top of being a pilot and a Col., are all cool things, IMHO.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks for this reminder Helen. With all the other “wins” to celebrate I had forgotten about Martha McSally. Keeping fingers crossed.

      I was particularly impressed with the comment by a “reader” in the update to the update at Power Line. Just can’t trust those donks can ya?

      UPDATE: A reader writes from Phoenix:

      Having been involved in Martha McSally’s campaign for more than two years, I have no quarrel at all with Scott’s post, except that it possibly understates her outstanding qualities. My suggestion is that you never again pay attention to anything printed in the Arizona Republic, and especially anything written by Rebekah Sanders. She is just one of a large group of “reporters” who write about politics, overtly favoring any Democrat candidate. Her piece was simply based on her fantasies. Several of us have been afraid since election day that the Barber campaign and the Pima County Democratic Party would find a way to steal this election. We’re still afraid, but are becoming a little more hopeful.

  16. foxyladi14 Says:

    Remembering. ❤

    https://wtpotus.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/pearlharborday-copy.jpg?w=987&h=987

Leave a Reply

