All Creatures Great And Small *Open Thread*

by

We got in late last night from our (less than restful) vacation. We did have a good time down in Grand Cayman, especially spending time with our dear friend, and chosen sister, Penny, as well as friends there. We were included in a wonderful family Christmas dinner with people who were so welcoming, warm, and friendly, it helped to distract us from worrying about our dog, Dorothy.

I should add, in addition to worrying about our dog, my great aunt took a turn, and ended up back in the hospital with pneumonia. I had had a long conversation with her caretaker while in the Charlotte airport on my way down, and really didn’t know what was going to happen while I was gone. So, yeah, beautiful place, but not the restful time away I had envisioned. Oh, well – life goes on, right?

But since we have been talking about our beloved animals, I thought what better time to have a post where we could share stories, videos, and/or photos of our beloved furry or feathered family members.

And since I have been talking about Dorothy, I want to share this video of her playing with DJ about a year ago. Dorothy is CONVINCED that cameras, including phone cameras, steal her soul. Watch until the end when she realizes Suzy is taking a video:

Isn’t that hilarious? Cracks me up every time.

Speaking of Dorothy, we got her to eat a little baby food this morning, and she drank some water, both good things. But she is wiped out now and sleeping again. Bless her heart.

And here is one of our horse, Jordan, along with a couple of his friends at the barn, Willie and Peanut (the pony):

I just love that little Peanut. Isn’t he SO cute?! Here is one of just Jordan looking his usual handsome self:

Oh, I love that boy. Can’t wait to see him now that we are back in town.

And of course, we have the cats, beginning with Bug (who is as cute as one, scoots as fast as one, and can be one):

DSC_0572

Our oldest, and smallest, cat (though Pippa isn’t far behind her), who is VERY sweet, Punkin’:

Punkin'

And the siblings, Pippa (first up) and Bou:

DSC_0496

DSC_0044

All of our cats are very friendly, cuddly, and affectionate. They demonstrated their affection and glee that we were home by waking me up all night long to cuddle with me. I woke up at one point because Pippa was licking my upper arm (she does not normally do that!). They are so funny, so much fun to watch, and so cute, the whole pack of them/

And they make me think of this classic hymn performed by one of my favorite opera singers, Katherine Jenkins (though we grew up singing it to a different tune, this is the Anglican version):

That’s it for me. Please feel free to share whatever you wish on this Open Thread, from the thousands of police officers who turned their backs on de Blasio, that putz who was TWO HOURS LATE FOR THE FUNERAL of NYPD Officer, Rafael Ramos, to the recent revelations from Sharyl Attkisson on both Benghazi and “Fast and Furious.” It’s all yours now!

22 Responses to “All Creatures Great And Small *Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Amy those videos are just wonderful, Thanks for sharing them.
    We are still praying for Dorthy. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Foxy – I appreciate your kind words, and your prayers!

      Hope you are doing well with your recovery!

      • foxyladi14 Says:

        Thank you Amy.
        I am doing great keeping up the exercise.
        And I tackled those basement steps for the first time since the fall.
        Now I can get back to doing the laundry. carefully of course. 🙂

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, that is great abt the stairs! Yes, do be careful carrying the laundry, but so glad you are making advances in your recovery. Woohoo!

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          So glad to hear how well you are doing Foxy! Just take care and don’t do too much. We tends to get cocky in our old age from time to time. Or at least I do.

          I can relate to the “basement stairs” thing. I rate how well my days are going by whether I can make it up and down the stairs. If I can – I’m doing fine. If not – phooey!

          I know Lou is willing to do the laundry – that’s not the point. I WANT to do my own damn laundry. I’m very fussy about it and he just doesn’t do it right.

          By the way, I just came up from putting clothes in the washer. It’s gonna be a good day.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Oh, am I ever right there with you on wanting to do things anyway. I admit, I am having a harder time with my knees again, but there are some things that just bring me so much joy – like feeding the birds outside in the morning – that I just do it anyway. I can sit down after I am done with that and my exercises.

            Suzy is willing to help, but she is usually so busy, she can’t get it done in MY timeframe, so yeah – I do it anyway!

            But do please be careful on the stairs – they can be mighty unforgiving!

        • piper Says:

          It’s Monday and I’m in one of my snarky moods, might have something to do with global warming in the neighborhood – not really complaining as we have clear blue skies and Sun!
          Glad to hear how well you’re doing, but I also add please be careful on the steps. Always enjoy reading your comments on the various site you and I have in common. I use several blog names to keep NSA guessing about me, and dh warnings about real names being tied to comments which have the potential to be used against us. Dh was an attorney who worked for a large bank.
          Cue the tomatoes.
          Laundry – a never ending job but lounging around in your birthday suit can be an issue if you’re old and live in a cold clime.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            LOL abt lounging in one’s birthday suit. Uh, yeah – not cold weather-friendly, that’s for sure!

            And you are so right abt using one’s real name. I don’t even use my last name and somehow had crap happen to me early on in my writings in support of Hillary (sigh – still cannot believe how much I supported her). Other people had it worse than I did, though having my credit card hacked and having a bunch of crap ordered to come to my house with which I had to deal was no fun.

            Anyway – I am always delighted to see y’all in other places, too. 🙂

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      Praying the the Good Lord keeps her in His comforting healing hands. Some say that they are just animals, but us people with pets know differently. Our pets are a piece of our heart, even when they are messing up big time..

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    Also prayers for your Aunt and for all of Gods children. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thank you – I got word today that Aunt June is improving, thank HEAVENS!!! Of course, her dear caretaker, the niece of her best friend, has now come down with the flu. Ugh.

      Chances are good I will be going up there in another week or so (flying this time) to visit with her. Will keep you posted…

  3. foxyladi14 Says:

    Our pets are family, Just like the rest of the kids. 😆

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That they are! I cannot imagine my life without them. My sweet girl, Punkin’, has taken every opportunity to lay full out on me, and stroke my cheek and neck with her paw (she weighs less than 7 lbs – she is tiny!). So cute…

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    My cartoon of the day:

  5. piper Says:

    Amy,
    Have added your Aunt and Dorothy to my prayer list. Please let us know how the vet visit goes.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Piper. We left Dorothy with the vet. She will have surgery first thing in the morning for a spleenic mass. He said it was 50/50 chance it was malignant, or he might find lesions once he gets in there. If it is malignant, well, we said our goodbyes today just in case. But we are sure hoping it isn’t…

      I appreciate the support so much from all of you wonderful people. Thank you from the bottom of my heart…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Will be praying for, and thinking of, you and Dorothy tomorrow morning. My heart aches for the worry you are going through.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thanks so much, Marge – I admit, it has been a tough day. And I didn’t sleep well last night wondering if Dorothy was going to make it through the night. I kept waking up to see if I could hear her.

          I very much appreciate the kind words and the prayers for us. Means so much!

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    http://directorblue.blogspot.com/2014/12/here-they-are-2014-fabulous-50-blog.html

    2104 fabulous 50 blogs

    some interesting names here

  7. foxyladi14 Says:

    Thanks Helen.
    I visit a lot of those blogs. 😀

Leave a Reply

