Some Tops As The Year Comes To A Close, And Waiting To Hear *Open Thread* Updated

by

Update at the end of the post.

As 2014 draws to a close, there are a number of lists out for the Top 5 or 10 in a particular field. Well, you know there are a bunch popping up in the political realm, too. I have a couple to share with you here, beginning with one major area in our country, mainstream media bias.

Now, how Cortney O’Brien of Townhall narrowed this down to just FIVE is quite a feat, but hey, I guess you have to draw the line somewhere. Without further ado, here are the top three in her list:

[…] 1. Rolling Stone’s Sabrina Rubin Erdely

Just how crazy?

Erdely published a story on a student’s alleged rape claim at the University of Virginia, without attempting to contact the accused rapists. The result was a botched report that greatly hurt the integrity of the student’s story.

In her defense:

What can you expect from a magazine that once put a terrorist on its cover?

2. GQ

Just how crazy?

It made a list of ‘crazy politicians’ without including the trifecta of Harry Reid, Nancy Pelosi or Debbie Wasserman Schultz.

In its defense:

Maybe there were just too many Democrats to choose from.

3. Raw Story’s Amanda Marcotte

Just how crazy?

In a piece defending abortion, she claimed that unborn babies were ‘time-sucking monsters.’

In her defense:

That’s indefensible. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

It just boggles the mind that this is what passes for “journalism” in our nation these days, doesn’t it? Good grief.

Not to be outdone, <a href="Watch the latest video at video.foxnews.com“>Fox and Friends had a segment this morning with Genevieve Woods from the Daily Signal, detailing some of the worst media bias of this year as decided by a number of judges for the Media Research Center. Woods was one of the judges making these determinations, and recaps the Top category of “Notable Quotables” in the Daily Signal:

[…] Quote of the Year winner:

Okay. I’m just going to come right out and say it: This is quite possibly the best minute and a half of audio we’ve ever come across — well, come across in a long time anyway. A massive brawl in Anchorage, Alaska, reportedly involving Sarah Palin’s kids and her husband. It was sparked after someone pushed one of her daughters at a party. … And now police have released audio of that interview. It does include some rather colorful language from Bristol. Here now is Bristol’s recollection of how that night unfolded. So sit back and enjoy. — “CNN Newsroom” anchor Carol Costello on Oct. 22, introducing audio of Bristol Palin describing how a man shoved her, dragged her on the ground and repeatedly cursed at her.

Runners-Up:

“Every media organization has investigated this [Benghazi] to death. This animates the right wing of the Republican Party. And I would like to point out that Ambassador [Chris] Stevens was not murdered. He died of smoke inhalation in the safe room in that CIA installation.” — The Daily Beast’s Eleanor Clift on “The McLaughlin Group,” May 11.

“You know, I’m a Christian preacher, and God finally said, ‘Look, I can’t send nobody else. I got to go myself.’ And I ain’t saying that Obama is Jesus, but for many of his followers he is.” — MSNBC contributor Michael Eric Dyson on “Melissa Harris-Perry” Aug. 23, arguing for Obama to visit Ferguson, Mo. (Click HERE to read the rest of this article, and HERE to read the entire list.

Wow. It just boggles the mind that these people not only still have jobs, but that there are those who CHOOSE to watch them. Good grief…

Finally, one of the Top stories for this year has been Obamacare. The intrepid reporter, Sharyl Attkisson, continues to follow the ins and outs of this law, and its impact on all of us. Her work stands up against the “ACA success” stories the Administration trots out, as Attkisson noted in her, “Obamacare ‘Fail’ Stories.” But then there are the (vast) number of other stories Attkisson details. Here is just one from her article mentioned above (and you can click HERE to read Attkisson’s other reports on the ACA):

[…] OBAMACARE DOUBLES INSURANCE EXPENSES FOR FORMER NEWS REPORTER AND CANCER SURVIVOR: $40K LAST YEAR IN PREMIUMS AND MEDICAL CARE: DOUBLE AFTER OBAMACARE

lance williams
October 21, 2014 at 12:34 pm # Edit
In 2000 I was diagnosed with such a virulent strain of leukemia doctors told my wife to prepare to bury her husband and the father of her young children. By God’s grace, using remarkable medical science, groundbreaking medications and the generosity of an 18 year old bone marrow donor, 14 years later I am cancer free, have watched my children grow up and successfully work full time in real estate. Nine years ago, after leaving my television reporting job I had to figure out how someone in my situation was going to get health insurance! Well, federal law… yes, there was already a law in place… required that carriers provide an open application session for those with pre-existing conditions. So, long before Obama intoned that his plan would finally provide insurance for those with pre-existing conditions, I was doing just fine: I had insurance at a rate I could afford, seeing the doctors of my preference. It wasn’t cheap, but, looking back, a mere pittance compared to what I now face. Last year my family and I spent over $40,000 in premiums and medical care! Twice as much as before The Affordable Care Act.!. AND…. I am now forced to change insurance carriers! Before the election I begged friends, liberal and conservative, to heed my situation; it is NOT unique… it’s exactly what millions of Americans are now facing, unduly burdened by government intrusion and overreach. Yes, we needed health care REFORM, not a government mandate, and now any kind of reform is lost in the sticky wicket of OBAMACARE!
Lance Williams/Tampa […] (Click here to read a number of other “FAIL” stories.)

Sadly, there are many, many more stories like this, and they are only going to get worse as the additional aspects of the law kick in. Happy 2014! Ahem.

There are many more stories out there, and feel free to share them below. Meanwhile, we are waiting, waiting, waiting to hear news about our beloved Dorothy, and what the vet has discovered. Will keep you posted.

This is an Open Thread.

Update: We heard from the vet a few minutes ago. Sadly, Dorothy’s spleen and liver were covered with bleeding, cancerous lesions. We made the only decision we could, and let her go. Dr. Sauls concurred that it was the best thing we could do for her. She has gone home to Mom now. (I don’t know what poor DJ is going to do without her – he was DEVOTED to her.)

Here’s our girl:

DSC_0168

So going to miss that face…

26 Responses to “Some Tops As The Year Comes To A Close, And Waiting To Hear *Open Thread* Updated”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    {{{{Amy}}}} ❤

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Oh Amy – so sorry about Dorothy. You did what you had to do which isn’t to say it was easy. And now the void. Bless you and may you find some solace with all the other wonderful “family” that you have.

    Just try to remember, as you said, that Dorothy has gone “home” to Mom and that they are together again. They have found each other and it those of us who are left behind are saddened by their absence.

    Your Mom must have missed her Dorothy so much and now has her back at her side. Lucky Mom, lucky Dorothy.

    When my Katie bird left us I tried to tell myself that she had gone to be with her beloved brother and friend Kameron and that the two of them had found endless blue skies together. I know it sound simplistic and like some sappy greeting card but at times its all that keeps me from bursting into tears. Whatever gets us through the day. My thoughts are with you and Suzy in your sorrow.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Marge – and no, it isn’t sappy at all. Or if it is, I am okay with that.

      It does help to know that Dorothy is no longer in pain – the suffering must have been terrible as she wasted away – she lost two lbs from Sat. to Mon. – since she didn’t feel like eating. She needed to be relieved of that pain.

      And in some ways, I reckon it is good that they whisked her away yesterday to start fluids and all, so our good byes were said, but there wasn’t the opportunity to linger. It would have been so much harder had we known for SURE that was the last time we would see her, know what I mean?

      I have no doubt your beloved birds are enjoying glorious flight, bright blue skies, and all the fruits and nuts they could ever want to eat, though they, no doubt, are thankful to have had you in their lives…

      Thanks again – it has been a tough morning, to be sure. She will be missed…

  3. Katherine B. Says:

    Amy,

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. It is so awful to lose a pet, as Marge knows. The sorrow lingers.

    I just had to put one of my cats down right before Christmas. She was such a strong presence – a bit demanding but also very affectionate. I miss her so much.

    So I haven’t posted much lately, but I’m here reading.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, Katherine – I am sorry to hear abt your cat! How very sad! My heart goes out to you – seems we are in the same boat this holiday season…

      And it is so good to *see* you. Glad that you are still around, though I can tell you I miss your insightful, informative, and often funny, comments. That is to say, you have been missed, friend!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Oh Katherine, I am so sorry to hear about your cat. And you’re right the sorrow lingers. My thoughts are with you and Amy today. I know how you are hurting. How I wish I could do something to help.

  4. piper Says:

    Amy,
    My heart aches for you – so hard to say good-bye to our beloved children. As I said the other day, they give so much love and comfort asking for little in return. I’m a bit sappy about the Rainbow Bridge in Heaven where all pets go and frolic free of pain and disease.
    Last November (2013), the weather was truly crappy – cold, windy and sleety. I knew that I had to make a decision about my Princess. Made several appointments which I cancelled finally realizing it was time – so on a cold Friday morning drove to the vet whose office was on the north side of Milwaukee, and about a mile out the clouds scurried away and the sun came out as if my heavenly beloveds were calling for her to join them which provided solace for me. In the office, she looked at me then quietly went to meet them.
    Sending prayers and hugs to you, Suzy and furry friends.

    • piper Says:

      My new avatar is one of my favs of her. She owned me lock, treats and kisses!!!!!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Piper. I appreciate it. And I am so sorry abt your Princess, too. No matter how many times we go through this, we humans, it never gets any easier, does it? I am glad the clouds parted, though, and that you knew your Princess was being welcomed in to her final home.

      Since we built this place 8 1/2 yrs ago, we have had to give up 5 dogs and 1 cat, 5 of them to cancer (1, our greyhound, Arthur, was 13 – old for a greyhound, especially a LARGE one like he was – we did have to let him go, but it was more the effects of old age, like having a hard time walking).

      It is just hard for me to believe that just a few weeks ago, Dorothy was enthusiastically exploring our new property, and two weeks ago, before we left on vacation, was playing with DJ in the yard. And now she is gone.

      That said, I am glad she did not suffer for long, nor have a disease that lingered and lingered, requiring continuous care and vet visits making her have to go in to the vet’s over and over and over. Her having to go in 4 times in the past 5 days was more than enough for her, but having dealt with this kind of thing before, it could have gone on for much longer. So for that, I am grateful indeed…

      Thank you again…

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Can we stand to lighten the mood just a bit with some New Year’s Cartoons. Smiles can sometimes lift a heavy heart.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Absolutely – nothing like a laugh or smile to lighten the heart. All of us here know the sorrow of losing a loved one, human or animal, and even in the midst of the sorrow, remembering a funny story, a look, an action, reminds us of WHY we love them so…

      So, thank you. And believe you me, dear Marge, you have helped plenty. Having this wonderful group to share the goings on in our lives is a gift of major proportions.

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    for Marge and everyone else

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks so much for this Helen. I missed a few and I am an ardent Branco fan so was glad to see some new, new to me, ones.

      Lest I forget, Happy New Year Helen. You bring so much to all of us and nothing is the same when you aren’t around.

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/68638

    considering the people in backtrack’s life from birth on , this article makes sense to me

    http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/68638
    Reply

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Contra CNN, *Lots* of Women Were in Leading Roles in Blockbusters This Year,/strong>

    http://freebeacon.com/blog/contra-cnn-lots-of-women-were-in-leading-roles-in-blockbusters-this-year/

    Shame on me! I read the story about there not being many leading roles for women in Hollywood and reverted to my bad old Dem days and believed.

    I know better by now so have no damn excuse for believing their b.s. Plus the fact that I don’t “go” to the movies. If I’m still around when they come to television that’s good enough for me. Although I will “On Demand” Masters of the Universe,/I> because I just can’t wait!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Oops screw up the formatting. Again. I have no excuse this morning. Had my 2 cups of coffee and am working on my second cup of pomegranate green tea. Maybe it was just me? Eeeek the horror of not having an excuse. See, there I go reverting to my bad old Dem days again.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    I don’t know if you saw this – the tidiest elephant in South Africa. I thought it was so cute.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      OHMYGOSH – I love this, Marge!! This is fantastic! A whole lot of people could learn something from that elephant. Thank you!

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    And then there’s this. I have no reason to post it except I love the image and it makes me chuckle. Anything that brings a smile is worth posting. Right? Even if it’s kind of a mean smile. Whatever, here tis…

  11. piper Says:

    A fav.

  12. HELENK3 Says:

    http://directorblue.blogspot.com/p/best-of.html

    have you seen this cartoon place?

Leave a Reply

