A Soldier’s Surrender, A Home Found *Weekend Open Thread*

by

It is the Weekend, which means our (my) weekly break from the important news of the day. Of course, being an Open Thread and all, we can chat all we want about what is going on with our Administration, or a few of the wackier Congresscritters making an impact (usually in ways we don’t like). This has been another intense week with Obama’s releasing of very dangerous “enemy combatants,” Obama’s unyielding insistence to engage with the terrorist-leaning country of Iran (h/t Facebook friend), and speculation about Obama’s upcoming SOTU on Tuesday.

By the way, who here volunteers to watch it? Anyone? Anyone? Yeah, I’m not watching it, either. I’ll read the transcript, thanks. Sen. Ernst’s response I’ll watch, though. Oh, and Senator Rubio gave Sen. Ernst some advice before she begins her response. From Instagram:

marcorubiofla
1 day ago

Congrats to @joniernst chosen to give #GOP response to #SOTU. You will do great. Only advice is have plenty of water BEFORE not during!

And he had a photo of a Poland Springs bottle of water – cute!

Anyway, it has been a tough week, though not all bad. There is always some good, though, and thank heavens for that.

Which leads me to the focus of all this rambling. Now, I will warn you – you might want to get some Kleenex or a handkerchief first – I’ll wait. Okay. This is a bittersweet story of a soldier having to surrender his dog before he was deployed. Well, it was a dog that had belonged to his mother. This Facebook post comes view Huffington Post:

Rescued With Love
Non-Profit Organization · 102,254 Likes · January 5 at 8:33pm · Edited

Dear Soldier, you don’t know me, but I know of you. I know you were heading to Darwin and then being deployed to Iraq. You are probably going through more than what anyone can ever imagine – and I wanted to ease your mind by letting you know your Mum’s dog Prinny is safe and happy with us at Rescued With Love.
I know your Mum passed away and I am so sorry for your loss. Losing parents is hell, and to have to give up Prinny and surrender her to the RSPCA because you had no option would have been an unbearable burden.
I read your surrender form which came with her paperwork, and my heart broke for you, for Prinny and for your Mum. You wrote such beautiful things about Prinny, and what a gorgeous girl she is. You were right, she certainly is.

We know Prinny is 12 years and 4 months – and it is not easy to rehome a dog that age, I guess you know that, and thought you would give her a chance anyway. The RSPCA did their best, and she was with them for ages – and then a phone call from a kind lady found Prinny on her way to us – and I want to tell you about her new home. If it’s ok, I want to tell you a little about that.
Prinny was adopted before she even came to us, because her foster Dad Brendan is a Veteran.
He heard about Prinny’s predicament – and wanted to step up regardless. I asked he and his wife to just wait and foster her – but it seems I didn’t need to be cautious at all. Prinny has fallen in love with her Dad, and he with her, and they are now inseparable, and very very loved.

I don’t know where you are, or how to find you to tell you Prinny is safe. Maybe this will find you. All I know is my throat ached when I read your writing on that form when you handed her over – and I could not try to let you know she is safe, and very happy. Stay safe soldier. Kind regards, Kae Norman, Founder, Rescued With Love Inc. […]

Hang on – okay. Whew. How wonderful that Prinny found a home, one where she is well loved, and loves well. What a great ending.

But it isn’t the ending quite yet. From HuffPo:

[…] “I don’t know where you are, or how to find you to tell you Prinny is safe. Maybe this will find you,” the letter read. “All I know is my throat ached when I read your writing on that form when you handed her over — and I could not try to let you know she is safe, and very happy. Stay safe soldier.”

The note has since gained quite a bit of attention on Facebook, with more than 100,000 likes. In fact, the letter’s popularity helped it reach the soldier, who wrote back to the organization, telling them that he was overjoyed at Prinny’s new life, Norman told HuffPost. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

What a happy ending to what had to be a torturous decision for this soldier, to find a home for the dog that had belonged to his mother, now gone. Thanks to the goodness of the large hearts of Prinny’s new owners, though, she is now in a happy home. What a blessing that must be for this soldier to know.

Speaking of soldiers and blessings, I saw this commercial today on Fox and Friends that had me in tears:

What a tremendous gift these dogs are for those who are suffering from their time in theater. And how important are organizations like K9s For Warriors here in this country to help our wounded warriors when they return (they have a great Facebook page, too, including this touching interview with Captain Haag, and his dog, Axel).

And to continue in the vein of animals, I have to share this video a friend had on Facebook. Marge, this one’s for you:

How adorable is that bird?? Love it. And there are a bunch more of Snowball dancing to music at Youtube.

Finally, that same friend had this video up, too, which completely cracked me up. So, so cute:

Poor little things – but oh, my, they are just precious.

One last thing, Go, PACKERS!!!!

Okay, that is it for me. As always, feel free to share stories, videos (Helen, that gymnastics one is a HOOT), news, whatever is on your minds. This is your Weekend Open Thread.

39 Responses to “A Soldier’s Surrender, A Home Found *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.youngcons.com/john-boehner-uses-taylor-swift-roast-obama-epic/

    who knew john boehner had a sense of humor

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – that was FANTASTIC!!!

      One of my favorite clips of Taylor Swift was an interview she did with Ellen DeGeneres. Ellen asked her what she thought abt when she was on stage, and her response was immediate: “Kittens!” It was adorable, and went on from there…

  2. HELENK3 Says:

    i was trying to get the gymnastics video to post here but it did not work so please just delete my post above

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      No worries, Helen – I’ll see if I can find it. I thought it was so funny and clever – plus it took a LOT of ability. Hang on…

      Here it is:

  3. HELENK3 Says:

    interesting

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    Sad Friends are usually on time. 😆

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Okay, my cartoon loving friends, I think you will love this one:

    You've Got A Friend

    Link: http://townhall.com/political-cartoons/2015/01/16/126913

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.wimp.com/collieunique/

    where’s the dog?

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Helen, you will be happy to know that your horse, California Chrome, won “Horse of the Year”! WOOHOO!! Yippee! Very well deserved honor: http://www.hrtv.com/videos/2014-horse-of-the-year-california-chrome/?VideoCategoryId=0

  8. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2015/01/lib-media-cheers-russell-brands-racist-attack-on-foxs-judge-jeanine-pirro/

    he took on the wrong woman. she does not suffer fools gladly

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I’ll say. It is astonishing the way the Left constantly attacks Indies and Reps as racists while being complete and utter racists themselves. I guess that is why – if they are always claiming the other side is, it takes away the light that should be shining on them.

      And sorry, but Brand is an idiot. I have never liked him anyway, and sure don’t think he is anywhere NEAR the level of a Jeanine Pirro. What a schmuck.

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A friend shared this beautiful story on Facebook – perfect for a Sunday:

  10. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2015/01/16/is-nervous-obama-white-house-holding-bergdahl-report-hostage/?intcmp=latestnews

    backtrack bunch holding bergdahl report hostage?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I have no doubt they are withholding this report. They withheld it before the election, and won’t let go of it now since Obama’s approval numbers are going up (still below 50%, but the headlines keep blaring that his Numbers are UP! Ahem.).

      But yeah – they continue to do a grave disservice to this country and military…

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    Interesting piece by Karen Tumulty. At least I thought so.

    Elizabeth Warren keeps pressure on Hillary Clinton and Democrats ahead of 2016

    more: http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/elizabeth-warren-keeps-pressure-on-hillary-clinton-and-democrats-ahead-of-2016/2015/01/17/cc844300-9b49-11e4-a7ee-526210d665b4_story.html

    Whenever I read about some Senator or other public official being “powerful” I can feel the hair on the back of my neck stand up. I don’t care if the person is from the left or the right. I don’t “like” them being too powerful. Bad things are often done by those with the best of intentions.

    I don’t think Elizabeth Warren is a phony, other than that whole Fauxcahontus b.s. She’s worse that a phony, she’s a true believer and as such she sees no other POV but her own. If you oppose her you are an enemy.

    As for her “keeping” Hillary in line if it didn’t scare me that she had that power I would find it humorous that the “powerful” Clintons are being held in thrall by a relative newcomer.

    And here’s another “truth”, IMO, most of us don’t tell

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, good point abt Elizabeth Warren being a “true believer.” In her case, that also blinds her to the many hypocrisies of her speech, and her life. But yeah – you said it abt any politician being “powerful.” If someone is “powerful because of how they speak, communicate, or for their ideas, that is onw thing. But having power OVER someone else, especially some Freshman Senator, is another matter altogether…

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    I wasn’t around much yesterday, because to tell the truth sometimes I just get up to here – with politics. I have to channel it back or have my head explode. I can read only so many hours a day, or my eyes get too tired to see the page. Then there’s television. So few shows I really like and most of those are repeats. (Looking forward to the Librarians tonight as well as perennial favorite Downton Abbey.

    So yesterday I dug out my discs of “Farscape” and had my own marathon. I have seasons 1-4 and got through about 8 episodes. Remember without commercials an episode is not an hour long. I had forgot how good Farscape was. Or at least how good I thought it was.

    Anyway, I have found another way to hide from a world that is quickly becoming more than I can handle.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      And you were missed! I totally understand though, Marge – it is important, I think, for our mental and spiritual health to just take a break from politics. Glad you had a good “Farscape” marathon to do just that!

      We love “The Librarians,” too – and “Downton Abbey,” of course. Did you see that there is a new Masterpiece show starting tonight? It is a mystery show, and looks to be very good.

      And of course, there is a little game this afternoon abt which you may have heard – ahahahaha! So hope the Packers win. I hope they win it all!

  13. HELENK3 Says:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Kerry is rightly being mocked, here and abroad for his asinine behavior. But it does none of us in this country any good that our SoS is perceived as a fool. Even if he can speak French.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I gotta say, though – this is funny as hell!

      Both SoS’s under Obama have been disasters. Both have made MAJOR blunders. It is more a reflection of Obama’s failed leadership, or worse, his POLICIES, than anything else. But yeah – as Americans, it’s a bit tough to see. Then again, all these folks in Europe thought Obama was gonna be SOOOOOO awesome. Um, yeah, no – experience and qualifications really do matter!!

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      😆 Sharing. 😀

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    David Brooks on Charlie Hebdo: When It Comes to Free Speech “We Should Have Certain Social Standards”
    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2015/01/17/david_brooks_charlie_hebdo_free_speech_we_should_have_certain_social_standards.html

    Once again PBS, and David Brooks as well as Judy Woodruff misunderstand the whole “free speech” issue.

    Free Speech has nothing to do with “Social Standards”. If so, by my “Social Standards” there would never been another Kardashian on television ever again. Or any number of “Survival” episodes. But I don’t get, using free speech as a guideline to choose what other people choose to watch or see. I don’t have to watch and I don’t have to approve. I can be just a damn “offended’ as I want – that doesn’t abrogate freedom of expression for others. End of discussion.

    Do you ever wonder why they bother to have a liberal on their panel when they have David Brooks?

    That said I haven’t watched a PBS “news” program in years. If it weren’t for programming like Downton Abbey I wouldn’t watch PBS at all.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Right there with you – I don’t watch their “news,” either – it is just as biased as the networks.

      And WOW, for an alleged journalist to think that our constitutional free speech should have some “STANDARDS” is appalling. And who, pray tell, would determine those standards, David??? Uh, yeah.

      Like with religion, we do not have the right FROM free speech, but OF free speech.

  15. kenoshamarge Says:

    Obama: Dem Senators Do What Donors Tell Them

    At a closed-door meeting on Thursday, President Barack Obama suggested that some Democratic senators base their foreign policy positions on the preferences of their campaign donors.

    Sen. Robert Menendez (D., N.J.) was livid at the president’s claim that his Democratic colleagues support increased sanctions on Iran as a way of appeasing their financial contributors, the New York Times reported:

    The president said he understood the pressures that senators face from donors and others, but he urged the lawmakers to take the long view rather than make a move for short-term political gain, according to the senator. Mr. Menendez, who was seated at a table in front of the podium, stood up and said he took “personal offense.”

    http://freebeacon.com/politics/obama-dem-senators-do-what-donors-tell-them/

    Another of those great Obama foot in mouth moments that the MSM will not report.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Well, THAT certainly explains things! Just let the big donors tell you what to do. Isn’t that one of the reasons we had issues in Paris, having a big time donor be ambassador as opposed to someone who was a DIPLOMAT???

      Wow, wow, wow…

      Oh, and yeah – reporting something like that doesn’t meet their “standards…”

  16. foxyladi14 Says:

    Well Well! Lookie here. 🙂

    The Dish ran away with the Fox.
    And the Fox won!!!

  17. HELENK3 Says:

    http://petapixel.com/2015/01/16/31-rolls-undeveloped-film-soldier-wwii-discovered-processed/

    this is pretty cool

  18. kenoshamarge Says:

    Under 5 minutes in the Packer/Seahawk game and the Packers are up 19 – 7. Can I dare hope all the experts including those on The Five were wrong?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I sure hope so, but good GRIEF, the offensive play calls have been TERRIBLE. Just terrible. Calling the same running play time after time, giving up all those yards after the interception was a HUGE waste of the interception. Holding my breath after that Seahawks touchdown…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Now its in overtime. And things aren’t looking good.

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Touchdown Seattle – Packer lose. Oh crap!

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            I am so, so sorry. I was really rooting for your team!! It was clear that Rodgers was REALLY hurting, though, and maybe that was why they weren’t calling more pass plays – it seemed he was having a hard time planting. But wow, he was playing like his old self at the end of the 4th, wasn’t he?

            And you gotta feel for the guy who missed the football on the onside kick…

Leave a Reply

