Yet One More SOTU… *Open Thread* UPDATEDx2

by

Updates with link to stream Sen. Ernst’s response is at the end of the post.

Which means one more opportunity to do a whole bunch of other things RATHER than watch the SOTU. I think we have all heard enough from Obama now to have a good idea of what he is going to say: Rich people = BAD; “fair share” = GOOD (I always did like that Robin Hood); I get credit for everything even though I had nothing to do with much of it; Republicans are evil and I suggest you buy stock in Bic Pens; one biased poll shows I am at 50% (that would be the ABC/WaPo poll everyone is touting this week – what they aren’t telling you is the breakdown of people who were polled: 30% – Democrats; 24% – Republicans; and 37% – Independent, and it is ONE poll); did I mention that Republicans are evil and I can’t work with those crazy whackadoodle people?; and finally, you all are SOOOOO lucky to have me.

Of course, there are some things we WON’T hear Obama say, like: Islamist terrorist; quoteformer CIA Chief Leon Panetta’s claim about the likelihood of a terrorist attack here; I support the Keystone pipeline; the IRS did target groups for political reasons and heads are gonna roll; Holder does bear responsibility for “Fast and Furious” and he will be treated accordingly; and yeah, Hillary and I lied through our teeth about the deaths of the four Americans in Benghazi. They were killed by Isl, um, Isla, uh, terrorists, and I apologize for lying about that stupid video.

Am I right? Okay, okay, there may be more, and you can check out what is supposed to be in it HERE. But rest assured, “Obama predicts ‘relaxed, better’ SOTU,” The Hill reports. Maybe he’ll show up in a smoking jacket like this one (from here):

Jacket

That would be fetching, don’t you think? Oh, yeah. Though Suzy thinks this is more his style since, well, this was his style (Credit here):

Choom

She has a point…

But you know the airwaves are gonna be overrun with analysis before, during, and after the Address, and then there is the Address itself. I don’t know about you, but I will not be watching Obama go on, and on, and on. No, I can think of a few things I would rather be doing.

For instance, I would rather be watching these Buddhist monks (h/t Facebook friend):

Yep, they’re breakdancing, alright! Isn’t that more fun?

Or maybe I’ll be doing this:

Or possibly watching this:

There are all KINDS of things to do besides watching Obama and the SOTU. Feel free to list some of the things you might do, or think would be fun to do. I am sure there is no shortage of things out there.

One thing I WILL be watching, as noted this weekend, is Freshman Senator, Joni Ernst, (R-IA) as she gives the response to Obama’s Address. THAT should be interesting, huh? You can watch Sen. Ernst HERE.

In all seriousness, if you WANT to know what Obama is going to say, you can read some spoilers here, like yet more taxes he wants to raise, and not just on the rich, for example.

And of course, Sen. Joni Ernst will be giving the GOP response. Once a link becomes available at which to watch that, I will add it here.

UPDATED: HERE IT IS via the Des Moines Register. If you go to this site, you will be able to stream both the SOTU, and Sen. Ernst’s speech as well. (Since Sen. Ernst is from Iowa, this seems most appropriate. Can’t wait to hear what she has to say.

And, of course, if you are brave enough to watch it (as in, risking the health of your tee-vee), please feel free to keep us posted here.

If you have some other ways you intend to spend the evening you feel like sharing, we’d love to hear it. And this is an Open Thread, so talk about whatever is on your minds today!

Update 2: Rep. Gowdy had this link to see real0time factchecking of the SOTU, and to be able to watch Sen. Ernst’s response: http://www.gop.gov/sotu/

46 Responses to “Yet One More SOTU… *Open Thread* UPDATEDx2”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    I agree with everything you said Amy.
    And I never ever watch him if I can help it. 😆

  2. HELENK3 Says:

    I have my roku handy and many different movies and tv shows to watch. My stomach can not handle listening to or watching backtrack

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Good plan! We have some shows dvr’ed for tonight, too. And two Netflix movies are available if time permits! 🙂

  3. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.frontpagemag.com/2015/david-hogberg/thomas-sowell-unrest-suits-sharptons-income-interests/

    very good article by Thomas Sowell

  4. HELENK3 Says:

    http://canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/69124

    tin foil hat theory?

  5. kinthenorthwest Says:

    Thanks Amy..
    Like Helenk I saved quite a bit of my Hulu stuff for tonight along with there being Netflix to watch.
    I bet Obama will take credit for everything but the Black violence which is way way out of control. A lot of it due to Obama throwing Law enforcement under the bus.

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2015/01/20/msnbc-about-to-give-bobby-jindal-the-herman-cain-treatment/

    backtrack’s PR cronies strike again

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am not one bit surprised they are starting in on Jindal. But to make such a racist statement abt him is just such totally hypocrisy from these people. UGH. And here Jindal is a sitting Governor, with FAR more experience than Obama had (one could argue “has” considering how much time he takes off to play). WOW.

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    http://suckersonparade.blogspot.com/2015/01/obama-to-address-congress-in-annual.html#.VL6yji6rCSo

    backtrack’s annual manure spread

  8. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-partisan/wp/2015/01/20/the-insiders-why-democrats-are-so-frightened-of-joni-ernst/

    why the dems are afraid of Joni Ernst

  9. HELENK3 Says:

    inkis.com/www.publiusforum.com/r2DRA

    so far backtrack has broken 112 state of the union promises

  10. piper Says:

    I can tell my grass needs mowing by certain bare spots under the snow.
    If I run into difficulties I will retreat to my sitting room with a drink in hand to watch Netflix’s second season of ‘Crossing Lines’ – good acting and plots. Premise – The International Criminal Court, a special crime unit based in The Hague investigates a variety of crimes that cross international boundaries.

    • piper Says:

      A complete rendering of his speech today – blah, blah, blah, blah read from a tele-prompter by the smartest ever snowflake to part the oceans or is that the Red Sea – must reread that book.

      Amy,
      Happy to hear that you’ll be streaming Joni Ernst’s rebuttal – like her as she’s seems like a pragmatic person, my kind of person.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        LOL abt the grass under the snow – I have to say, I was a bit dismayed to realize a week or so ago that the grass here has started growing, only there is no snow to serve as an excuse not to do it! 🙂

        That show sounds GREAT – I am going to have to look into it. As I noted, I am so glad we have some shows from last night and last week when Suzy was in CA to watch tonight.

        That said, I did find a place at which you can stream both the SOTU if you are desperate, and Sen. Ernst’s rebuttal. I imagine that FoxNews.com, c-span.org, and npr.org will have links to stream it. But in honor of Sen. Ernst’s home state, I present you with the Des Moines Register link, which will be streaming both as well: Des Moines Register.

  11. HELENK3 Says:

    let me see. backtrack spewing or walking over to the other side of the complex and see the rocket launch scheduled for 7:43 pm
    what should I do?

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Rep Trey Gowdy had this link to see Factchecking during the SOTU, and see Sen. Ernst’s response: http://www.gop.gov/sotu/

  13. piper Says:

    Perfect

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – that is FANTASTIC!! Ohmygosh, I was laughing SO hard when I saw this. Thanks, Piper! I have already shared it with friends! 🙂

  14. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Just finished watching Sen. Ernst’s response. Is it ever clear why the Dems are so freaked out by her. She is something else. Her talk of hard work and the freedom to succeed flies in the face of their ideology. What an impressive woman.

  15. HELENK3 Says:

    https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/10931510_711052499011531_3711295485343147743_n.jpg?oh=43ebb441616739bc1bb3f4752718e9b1&oe=556886B9&__gda__=1428701185_7adfc38c94a30e08e7a4d91db814b6b5

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOVE it!! And that is exactly how I felt when I changed the channel and Obama was STILL blathering on!

  16. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here is Sen. Ernst’s response to the SOTU:

  17. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2015/01/word_i_never_thought_id_write_ruth_bader_ginsburg_speaks_for_me.html

    Ruth Bader Ginsburg take on the speech

  18. HELENK3 Says:

    http://therightscoop.com/watch-sen-ted-cruz-respond-to-2015-state-of-the-union-address-sotu/

    Ted Cruz’s response to the speech

    • piper Says:

      Thank you Helen, I so very much would like to see Ted Cruz in the WH or on the way there. Not only is he an eloquent speaker, his words resonate with me and many others. He speaks truth, not blah, blah with a teleprompter, and I love hearing ‘God Bless America’ at the end which drives the smug self-righteous progs. crazy.

  19. HELENK3 Says:

    http://therightscoop.com/even-andrea-mitchell-says-obama-ignored-reality-in-state-of-the-union-no-strategy-on-foreign-policy/

    oh oh backtrack has a problem. even with those who have their heads so far up his ass are beginning to see the empty space

  20. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/obama-trolls-talks-trash-with-a-purpose/article/2558903

    trash talk with a purpose

  21. HELENK3 Says:

    http://soopermexican.com/2015/01/21/absurd-usa-todays-social-media-sotu-review-loves-everything-about-obama-mocks-republicans/

    now from the obot side

  22. HELENK3 Says:

    http://weaselzippers.us/211694-obama-bashes-constant-fundraising-in-sotu-speech-immediately-asks-dem-supporters-for-donations/

    does he even listen to himself

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      No, and neither do his supporters who never seem to hear his many flip-flops, double speak, and hypocrisy.

      And, this from the man who went on a fundraising jaunt the day after Benghazi. Disgusting.

  23. HELENK3 Says:

    maybe it is because I saw my first rocket last night but this really hit home

  24. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Helen shared this on my Facebook page, and asked if I could get it on here. This is from Sarah Palin’s Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/sarahpalin/photos/a.10150723283643588.424640.24718773587/10153053412838588/?type=1&fref=nf&pnref=story):

    Bear Yawn

  25. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/obama-tilts-the-scales-against-stay-at-home-moms/article/2559012

    what does backtrack have against stay at home moms?

  26. HELENK3 Says:

    you have to be kidding

  27. HELENK3 Says:

    broken promises

  28. HELENK3 Says:

    7 years

Leave a Reply

