The Best Openings, And A Closing Remembered *Open Thread*

by

The nomination hearing for Loretta Lynch to become our next Attorney General continued on Thursday with a number of panelists offering up their personal or professional opinions and experiences as they related to either the nominee, Lynch, or the office of Attorney General. I want to share the testimony of three of those panelists with you as they highlight in a real way just where our nation is under this Administration, and this Attorney General.

First up is the intrepid reporter, Sharyl Atkisson (if you prefer to read her opening, you can CLICK HERE). Most of us know Attkisson’s story, and it is beyond disturbing the extent this Administration went to silence her and her reports.

But don’t take my word for it. Take Attkisson’s:

It is beyond “chilling,” a word used by a number of Senators in response to Attkisson’s testimony, that the Administration went to such great lengths to silence her and her reports. But they did, to the extent of hacking into her computer, listening in on conversations, and stealing files from her computer. As she noted, Ann Compton, retired ABC News reporter, claimed that having covered SEVEN different presidencies, this one was by far the most “opaque.” From Newsbusters:

According to retired ABC News journalist Ann Compton, Barack Obama launches into “profanity-laced” tirades against the press in off-the-record meetings with reporters. In a C-SPAN interview, Compton also derided the President for leading “the most opaque” administration of “any I have covered.”

The journalist, who retired in August after a 40-year career, revealed to C-SPAN’s Brian Lamb: “I have seen in the last year Barack Obama really angry twice. Both were off-the-record times. One, profanity-laced where he thought the press was making too much of scandals that he did not think were scandals.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

So much for that whole “transparent” Administration jive Obama claimed.

But it should be chilling to every citizen that this Administration is working so hard to silence exposes of their scandals, and to silence dissent. That is precisely what they have tried to do to the next person up, Catherine Engelbrecht of “True The Vote”:

Can you just imagine being a regular old citizen who has the entire government come down on you JUST because you want to ensure the sanctity of the vote? To have the most powerful agency in the country, the IRS, target you JUST because they disagree with your OPINION?? That is precisely what has happened to Engelbrecht. She has had numerous government agencies target her for what can only be seen as punishment for expressing her First Amendment rights for something we should ALL want – the sanctity of our vote. What has happened to Engelbrecht is the stuff of Hollywood movies depicting the tyranny of a government over its citizens, only this is no movie – this is real life. And it is beyond disconcerting.

But that isn’t all that is disturbing. What is also disturbing is having the Top Law Officer in the country undermine law enforcement officers across the country. That was the topic of testimony from one of our favorite law enforcers, Sheriff David Clarke from Milwaukee County:

No law enforcement officer should have to operate with so little support from those at the top, yet that is precisely what our officers are having to do given the rhetoric of Eric Holder. His actions and words have done great harm to the law enforcement community. That must change. And hopefully, it will if/when Loretta Lynch is confirmed (and all signs are pointing toward confirmation).

Presuming that Ms. Lynch will be confirmed, I certainly hope she will investigate the IRS (and other agencies) who target American citizens for nothing more than a difference of opinion. And I certainly hope she will punish any official engaged in cyberstalking and harassing of a journalist for simply doing her job. That would be an opening of a new era, one sorely needed after these six years of ratcheted up lawlessness from the top down, and a close to the destructive tactics of Eric Holder.

scan0007But there is another close I want to remember today, and that is the passing of my mother. Today marks the five year anniversary of my mother’s death. I still miss her everyday, miss talking to her about what is going on in my life, receiving her wise counsel, and hearing her beautiful laugh.

I know many of us have lost loved ones this year, whether family members or friends, or pets who enriched our lives. We miss them, we mourn them, and we grieve for the loss of them in our day-to-day lives. But we also honor them in the stories we share about them, recount something funny they said or did, bringing a momentary laugh or smile to our faces. And we ache for the hole their passing leaves in our hearts.

But as time goes on, the pain of loss dulls, the sharpness of the longing pales, allowing the memories of all my mother taught me, all she brought to my life, to shine. I miss her still, but I see her (and my grandmother) every time I look in the mirror, or laugh. I see her in my siblings. And I carry her forever in my heart.

I want to close with this son by The Band Perry. It captures so much that is true about my mother:

Openings and closings, truly they are the stuff of living…

This is an Open Thread.

55 Responses to “The Best Openings, And A Closing Remembered *Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    The pain never really goes away Amy.
    We just learn to live with it.
    Also we must remember they are not dead but alive and happy in heaven.
    Waiting for that joyous day when we are reunited with them. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      True that, my dear Foxy! True that…

      A friend had a sign up at Facebook that said something along the lines of, “I wish there were visiting hours in Heaven…” Indeed…

  2. HELENK3 Says:

    remember the good times with your mother and smile. You know that is what she would want. spend this day treasuring the time you had with her and know she is in heaven and still looking out for you

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Helen – that is exactly what Mom would want. She was so generous of spirit, LOVED animals, loved us, was talented, funny, and warm as a summer day. She wasn’t perfect, but she was amazing…

  3. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2015/01/29/day-2-lynch-senate-confirmation-hearing-witnesses-slam-holder-obama/

    witnesses slam holder

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I watched almost the entire thing, and yes, the witnesses did not mince words. Of course, the Dem Senators kept blathering on abt how AWESOME Holder is, which said EVERYTHING abt them I need to know, and attacked the witnesses for maligning him despite the horrible things the DOJ and Holder specifically have done. Just infuriating.

  4. HELENK3 Says:

    http://woundedamericanwarrior.com/what-obama-campaign-leaders-arrive-in-israel-to-help-defeat-netanyahu/

    It would upset me if another country sent people to intrude in our election. I am sure the people of Israel feel the same way. Considering backtrack actions in empowering muslims and against Israel, I would think they would run them out on a rail

  5. HELENK3 Says:

    here is day 2 of the hearing

  6. HELENK3 Says:

    More from Mitt Romney’s statement to supporters: ‘I feel that it is critical that America elect a conservative leader to become our next president. You know that I have wanted to be that president. But I do not want to make it more difficult for someone else to emerge who may have a better chance of becoming that president’ – @hughhewitt
    Read more on hughhewitt.com
    2016 US elections
    29m
    Mitt Romney, in statement to supporters: ‘After putting considerable thought into making another run for president, I’ve decided it is best to give other leaders in the Party the opportunity to become our next nominee’ – @hughhewitt
    Read more on hughhewitt.com

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am a bit disappointed that he has decided for sure not to run. He was only the candidate ONCE, though people act like because he ran in that huge field that left us with McCain, he has no business running again. Huh?

      Oh, well. I am sure his wife is happy abt it, though I hope whoever wins uses him and his expertise.

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    http://woundedamericanwarrior.com/breaking-obama-secretly-begins-importing-75000-muslims-into-these-7-states/

    backtrack secretly begins importing 75000 muslims into these 7 states

    well isn’t this just peachy.
    we know how well they will be vetted. just look at our southern border and see how many felons come over every day

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Good grief. I would not put this past Obama ONE bit, which further proves his callous disregard for the national security of this country.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Abt those “non” terrorists: http://dailycaller.com/2015/01/30/taliban-claims-responsibility-for-attack-that-killed-3-americans-white-house-wont-call-taliban-terrorist-group/

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This should scare the CRAP out of parents, and citizens, that CAIR, the Muslim Brotherhood American Arm, is having this much influence in our PUBLIC SCHOOLS: http://dailycaller.com/2015/01/30/taxpayer-funded-school-celebrates-hijab-day/

    • HELENK3 Says:

      wonder what would happen in a girl wore the hijab and carried the bible and a rosary?

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Indeed…

        CAIR is a dangerous entity and it sickens me that they are treated as if they are honest brokers. They are far, far from that.

  10. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.westernjournalism.com/texas-lawmaker-asks-muslim-americans-to-pledge-allegiance-to-us-gets-blasted-on-social-media/#ZsQxbwFjXAflhjvl.97

    I see nothing wrong with what she asked

  11. HELENK3 Says:

    http://eagnews.org/university-cancels-all-classes-to-hold-campus-wide-mandatory-white-privilege-seminar/

    lets bring back segregation
    that will limit the interactions between races and we will have less hurt feelings

    do away with affirmative action
    make everyone compete on merit regardless of race

    make each neighborhood responsible for what is taught and expected in schools

    I think these actions should trump the race card

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      For heaven’s SAKE – are you KIDDING me with this??? These universities are doing a TREMENDOUS disservice to their students by insisting upon this kind of mindset. WOW.

      • HELENK3 Says:

        those are my ideas to end the complaints about racism. lets go back to those days.

        they really seem not to want what MLK and those who fought for civil rights gained for them

    • mcnorman Says:

      What a pantload. I’m Hispanic, but always pegged for an Israeli. go figure. I cannot even begin to tell you how often I witness racism by the lighter sinned Latinos against their own. I was always given a hard time growing up as a kid because I was so darned pale and my last name didn’t sound “beaner” enough. Is that white privilege dribble trying to shame them into giving a darn? This is just more pc nonsense being doled out by phony people who don’t have anything to do in life but posture about things that they are clueless about.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Dang, mcnorman – seems like you could teach these P(ainfully)C(luelss) people a thing or two abt “white privilege,” don’t you think? If you decide to do it, PLEASE let us know so we can all come witness it! I am sure that would be something to see! 😀

  12. HELENK3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/national-security/open-jihad-declared-in-egypt-following-state-dept-meeting-with-muslim-brotherhood-aligned-leaders/

    following state dept meeting , muslim brotherhood calls for open jihad in Egypt

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      But of course they have. Honestly, when are people in this country going to wake up to what this Administration is doing??

  13. HELENK3 Says:

    http://pjmedia.com/tatler/2015/01/30/army-deletes-chinks-in-armor-tweet-because-pc-crowd-too-stupid-to-understand-english/

    when I see stories like this I do not know whether to laugh or cry.

    I remember when there were complains about the expression “black Friday” for the shopping day after Thanksgiving. Screams of racism all over the place. the term was a bookkeeping term for when stores when from the red to the black due to increased sales.

    Had to go to a seminar where a young girl was talking about interaction between people. We had to explain to her that the expression ” toe to toe” meant confrontation.

    I have no idea who taught these people

  14. HELENK3 Says:

    http://newsbusters.org/blogs/curtis-houck/2015/01/30/networks-continue-show-no-interest-covering-senates-passage-keystone

    Senate passes the Keystone pipeline bill

  15. HELENK3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/national-security/the-military-has-a-bureaucrat-problem/

    the military has a bureaucrat problem.
    this can not be good
    we really do need someone to look into this

  16. mcnorman Says:

    I have a theory about kittehs and relatives who have passed on. Make no mistake, those kittehs are getting their keyboard marching orders from your mom. It’s her way of saying “I’m still here.” 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I would totally believe that, mcnorman! My mom loved animals so much, I can see her doing that no problem!

      Oh, and if you like cats, I think you’ll enjoy the Weekend post! 🙂

  17. foxyladi14 Says:

    I miss our Marge, I hope she is OK,
    And struttin with new pink cane. ❤

  18. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.westernjournalism.com/texas-governor-declares-february-2-chris-kyle-day/#suICtAew3211VIhu.97

    Feb 2 declared Chris Kyle Day in Texas

  19. HELENK3 Says:

    http://sharylattkisson.com/federal-judge-accuses-justice-dept-attorneys-of-possible-fraud-upon-the-court/

    federal judge accuses justice dept attorneys of possible fraud upon the court.

    for the lawyers here, how bad can this get?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I’m no attorney, but this is HUGE. I can’t wait to see where this goes next, and I trust Attkisson will keep us posted on this.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I might add, that this is in regards to a whistleblower case AND victim intimidation (gee, who coulda seen THAT happening from the Holder DOJ??), is unbelievable. WOW.

  20. kenoshamarge Says:

    Good morning dear friends, and do consider all here my friends, you may have noticed me absence lately. If was not by choice. On the 22 of February I had to be taken to the emergency room with severe shortness of breath. Several days later I was transferred to another hospital, after a cardiac catherization procedure and eventually to a hospital only a few blocks from my house where on last Sunday afternoon I had a triple bypass operation.

    Needless to say this hasn’t been any fun but it was life-saving and it appears I will come through with flying colors. That’s mostly and credit to the wonderful skill of my doctors, nurses, CNAs and all the wonderful, kind, competent people involved in my care. And although it may surprise some and stun others, I was compliant and did everything they told me to do. (I know, is this really Marge talking?)

    Every one laughed when my biggest complaint, after missing my home, was that I missed my computer. They expect that from the hip and young, from the old bags like me, not so much.

    Just wanted to let you all know I was back and why I hadn’t been around. Will take me a little time to catch up on things but it sure felt good to sit down at this keyboard this morning. I’ve sure missed everyone.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Obviously I meant to type January 22 not February 22 – Geez if they were gonna but me open couldn’t they have taken out the typos!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, Marge – I was afraid something was wrong, and was worried abt you, but I was HOPING that wasn’t the case. Thank HEAVENS you are okay now, but what an ordeal you have undergone in the past 1 1/2 weeks! A triple bypass?? Wow – thank HEAVENS you went to the hospital when you did, and that they were able to help you.

      I have to admit, it made me tear up reading abt your ordeal – bless your heart(!), so grateful you are okay now. I know it is a long road ahead, but if anyone can do it, you can!

      LOL abt being compliant. Hey, we all have our moments, right?

      You have been missed, dear friend – every single day. I thought abt sending you an email, but didn’t want to intrude in case you were taking time off. And I feel funny abt using people’s emails from your comments (I don’t want to overstep boundaries, you know?). So please know you were being thought of, and missed.

      Prayers for a speedy and complete recovery! Welcome back!!

    • HELENK3 Says:

      sorry you were ill. very glad you are back

  21. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thanks so much Amy. I know it will be a long time coming back. Months not weeks but just coming home has been wonderful. Never worry about “intruding”. But in this case I wasn’t home so it wouldn’t have mattered anyway.

    Lou has been a saint and says he never had any idea all the things I did for him. He also said he never realized how lonely it was here at night for me when he went to work. He says the first thing to do when I’m up for it is to get me a nice little, older dog.

    Don’t think I’ve forgotten about my plan to put older dogs and older people together, just not up to it now.

    According to the doctor once I am fully healed I will be better than ever. It seems one of my arteries was blocked by 90%, another by 60% and a third by 50%. So getting all the blood flow I need should feel wonderful once I heal. Right now it feels like Wiley Coyote dropped on of those ACME anvils on me. But that will soon change.

    Gotta go do my breathing exercises and take another of my short little walks. Now that I’m home and have access to a full length mirror it has become apparent to me that my bikini days are over!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      True enough, it will be a while, but I know with your gumption and spirit, you WILL make it through this with flying colors. And if you get to get a little dog out of it, so much the better, right? 🙂 I can’t wait to see who you and Lou bring into your home! (Having to wait on that is understandable, as well as your plan. It can wait until you are fully recovered.)

      Isn’t it funny when our partners have to take over our jobs? Suzy often asks when she is traveling what I have been doing that day. A host of things flash through my mind, but I usually answer something like, “you know, the usual…” Well, when she has to do what all “the usual” is, like this weekend since I am going up to Aunt June’s (more on that in my upcoming post), she gets a different perspective. Anyway – good for Lou to experience what you do for him, but sorry for the REASONS for it.

      Wow abt the amt of blockage. Yes, in the long run, you will feel so much better, but that is quite the surgery to have. It is important to do your walks and breathing, but also to pay attention to your body and not overdo (says the Queen of pushing too much post-surgery).

      ROTFL abt the bikini – hey, these days you would be AMAZED the people I have seen in bikinis in my travels. Shudder…

  22. HELENK3 Says:

    http://theconservativetreehouse.com/2015/01/31/chuck-hagel-admits-he-was-pressured-by-the-obama-white-house-to-release-gitmo-detainees/

    Hagel admits he was pressured by backtrack bunch to release gitmo detainees

Leave a Reply

