Dreams Fulfilled Through Hard Work *Weekend Open Thread*

by

This weekend break could not have come soon enough, could it? This week brought us the misnamed “Anti-Terrorism Summit” that was far less than a focus on anti-terrorism and much more a pep rally to promote Muslims in America, and a series of lectures against the intolerance of awful Americans for being so mean to Muslims and provoking them to terrorism and essentially calling for Jobs Fairs for those at who might consider becoming terrorists to give them another career option through jobs or becoming business people instead. Uh yeah. THAT should really cut back on terrorism – just push them toward owning a grocery store or something. That oughta do it…

Oh, and if you really want us to believe this WAS an “anti-terrorism summit,” maybe the White House should have invited the FBI DIRECTOR, James Comey instead of anti-Semites like Salam Al-Marayati. Just sayin’.

And then you have the Administration in its infinite foolishness boldly proclaiming PRECISELY what our war plans are, when they will start, and when they will end (hopefully before Ramadan, fingers crossed!). Are you freaking kidding me with this insanity? Hey, I am not the only one who thinks this is nuts. Check out what this US Senator and retired General have to say on Megyn Kelly’s show recently:

“Aiding and abetting the enemy” pretty much sums it up, doesn’t it? Ugh. There is something SERIOUSLY wrong with this Administration. Like the General, I don’t know why in the hell they are doing this either.

Wow. I think many of us could use a breather after all of this. I know I could.

Amy_&_Little_Silver_CharmSo I want to share with you Vinnie’s story, or part of it anyway. I was turned on to Vinnie by the Facebook page of my beloved Little Silver Charm (of Old Friends), whom I got to meet in person this summer. The one Little Silver CHarm had up was the Gym one (third video below), but while looking for that one, I discovered the origin of Vinnie’s story. And is it ever cute.

So, let’s begin from the beginning (no need to have on sound if you don’t want since it has subtitles):

Little Vinnie has taken off for the big city, looking to follow in his mother’s, um, hoof steps, if you will. He doesn’t give up easily, as you will see in the second part of his story:

There is more of his story at Youtube, and you can pick it up at Episode 3 to find out what happens next.

But it was this one that Little Silver Charm had up that had me literally laughing out loud:

C’mon, how funny was THAT?? That little Vinnie is just adorable. Don’t tell Little Silver Charm I said this, but he might give Charmie a run for his money in the cuteness department!

Since it is the weekend and the temperatures are returning to our normal from the below freezing levels we had this past week (BRRRRR – I know, I know, it is nothing compared to what a lot of you are going through), it means I also get to go see my handsome Jordan. Not only do I enjoy seeing him, but I get to give treats to the other horses and Peanut the Pony (who looks a lot like Vinnie in the videos above). And if my back will chill out for a little while, hopefully I will FINALLY get to go see “American Sniper” (which Suzy and I had planned to do before my back freaked out last weekend).

OH! Speaking of movies, Suzy and I watched “Fort Bliss” the other day before she headed out to California for 1 1/2 weeks. It stars Michelle Monaghan and had a limited release in theaters last year. It addresses some of the issues our returning service people endure after being in theater. It is a powerful movie, and very well done, I think. It is available on Netflix and likely some other outlets.

One final note: February 22nd is George Washington’s birthday. The Father of our Country was a wise and faithful man who uttered such comments as:

Let your heart feel for the afflictions and distress of everyone, and let your hand give in proportion to your purse.

And this:

If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.

Not to mention this one:

I hope I shall possess firmness and virtue enough to maintain what I consider the most enviable of all titles, the character of an honest man.

They sure don’t make them like that anymore, sadly. But how fortunate we are that Washington took on the mantle he did lest our nation might look very different today (and we might still be British subjects).

If you would like to se more Washington quotes, Brainy Quotes has a bunch of them. Feel free to share your favorites in the Comments below.

Okay, friends – that’s it for me. I hope the Vinnie videos brought a smile to your faces, and I hope you have a good weekend. This is your Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , ,

30 Responses to “Dreams Fulfilled Through Hard Work *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kinthenorthwest Says:

    Love your pictures and stories of the horses…Forgot you had gotten to see one last summer Amy..Guess we have to work on Suzy harder so one ends up at your house..
    I thought I’d share this Kleenex story i just read…Such a sweet story(just a snippet, but the whole will have you in awe of such a loving couple).
    Wyoming Woman Stunned by Gift From Husband Who Died Last Year
    “I went back to my son and said, ‘You have to call the flower shop and confirm Dad sent these. I’m too emotional.’ Sure enough, he had come in that last Valentine’s Day and had said, ‘Just send her flowers for the rest of her life.'”

    Their daughter, Ashley Wisroth, was at the grocery store when she found out who the flowers were from, and “just started bawling,” she told ABC News today.

    “I was so excited to know he had done something so sweet. It was just like my dad to do something like that. At the same time, it was bittersweet, because we knew in order for him to set something like that up, he must have known at one point he wasn’t going to make it.”
    Golay said the flowers “means to me that his love never ends.”
    “He set up such an amazing gift for me to receive that,” Golay said. “That act of love to me is just true love in its purest form.”
    https://gma.yahoo.com/wyoming-woman-stunned-gift-husband-died-last-162513550–abc-news-sex.html

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      That is a sweet story Kin,
      Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Kin! Yes, I spent some quality time at Old Friends Equine Retirement last summer, as well as the Kentucky Horse Park. It was Mecca for me! 😀

      Thank you for such a beautiful love story – what a gift this woman’s husband gave her. It says a lot abt the relationship they had, doesn’t it? Just lovely. Thank you!

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    I love Vinnie,
    Thanks for sharing Amy. 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Isn’t he SOOOO cute??? I just love him. He reminds me of the pony at the barn, Peanut. I am getting ready to head over there and see Peanut along with my Jordan and the other horses (Willie, Rambo, Fox, Kirby, and Sprout). They are all retired horses – it’s an Old Horses Home. 😀

  3. HELENK3 Says:

    http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2015/02/the-worst-of-jen-psaki.php

    OUCH but she gets high ratings in Russia

  4. HELENK3 Says:

    why Tom Sellack will always be one of my favorite actors

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I love Tom Selleck!

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      Love Love Love Sellack—Love his new show. Actually love anything with him in it…(Will have to say I love how he handled Rosie when she tried to slander him on TV. Up until that show she was a favorite of mine, but now I really don’t like her).

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Selleck spoke abt that very incident in a TV Guide interview recently. It really was something what Rosie did, wasn’t it? I used to like her too, but no more.

        But Selleck, OTOH, I love. And I watch his show religiously.

  5. HELENK3 Says:

    some dreams music

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    KenoshaMarge, Cuz’n Cindy asked me to give you a cyber hug for her. She was sorry to hear abt all you went through. She’s taking a bit of a break herself for now, but did want me to let you know she is thinking of you!

    • kinthenorthwest Says:

      Amy tell Cuz’n Cindy we love her..

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      As we all are {{{Marge}}}] ❤

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks for the message Rev. Hugs back at her and all of you. As I said before I am not always feeling up to commenting but read all all your comments every day. All the medications I am taking mess up my mind a little and I can’t always “think”.

      In the meantime, you know, messed up mind or not, I am not giving up my beloved cartoons. Thought you all might get a kick out of this one…

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Love the cartoon – hilarious! And Miss P is quite the beauty, isn’t she?

        I totally understand abt the meds and all – been there (now you know why I didn’t write any posts after my knee surgeries. 🙂 ). I am sorry, though – I know it is also frustrating.

        Just please know how much we are thinking of you, dear Marge, and wishing you a speedy recovery!

      • foxyladi14 Says:

        Marge ❤

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A friend of mine had this up at Facebook. It literally had me LOL – so, so CUTE:

  8. HELENK3 Says:

    count down clock

    My Countdown Countdown

  9. HELENK3 Says:

    http://directorblue.blogspot.com/2015/02/but-but-warming-nasa-photo-captures-us.html

    awesome picture of USA from space

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Helen shared this fantastic video at my Facebook page, and I have to share it here. Just amazing:

Leave a Reply

