Spring Is Here, So Is Easter *Weekend Open Thread*

by

It is most definitely Spring. Here, the azaleas and wisteria are in full bloom with all the colors and lovely aromas that brings. This particular Easter/Passover weekend will also be celestially special thanks to the sun and an eclipsed moon appearing simultaneously Saturday morning (h/t Helenk). How cool is that?

This time of year, Easter weekend, also signals when we are able to get our now 10 1/2 yr old grandnephew, Aidan, for a week. I am so excited to be able to pick him up in Charlotte on Saturday, but not before I go to see “Celtic Woman,” now on their 10th Anniversary tour with one of my niece’s, my sister, and her husband. I am so excited to take my niece, the youngest of my favorite brother’s children (he has five, four girls and one boy. All four of the girls have red hair of one shade or another since my brother and his first wife were both red heads. The niece I am taking looks VERY much like “Ana” from “Frozen,” except she has brown eyes instead of blue.). Years ago, I took one of her sisters to see “Riverdance,” and Elise watched the video from that over and over, she told me. Since “Riverdance” won’t be in our neck of the woods any time soon, Suzy was willing to give up her ticket so Elise could go with me (not a huge hardship for her since she will be taking Aidan and Vianne, his younger sister/our goddaughter, to Dave and Buster’s for video games and go-kart racing).

But you know I can’t mention “Celtic Woman” without including one of their beautiful pieces. This one seems appropriate for Easter weekend:

Of course, this Sunday is Easter, and all the glory, majesty, and celebration that brings with it. It is no wonder it comes at such an amazing time of year. And without Easter, without the resurrection, there would be no Christianity. The rolling away of the stone, and the empty tomb. Then the appearance of the resurrected Jesus appeared to Mary Magdalene (John 20:11-18):

11 But Mary stood weeping outside the tomb, and as she wept she stooped to look into the tomb. 12 And she saw two angels in white, sitting where the body of Jesus had lain, one at the head and one at the feet. 13 They said to her, “Woman, why are you weeping?” She said to them, “They have taken away my Lord, and I do not know where they have laid him.” 14 Having said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing, but she did not know that it was Jesus. 15 Jesus said to her, “Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?” Supposing him to be the gardener, she said to him, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away.” 16 Jesus said to her, “Mary.” She turned and said to him in Aramaic,[a] “Rabboni!” (which means Teacher). 17 Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’” 18 Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord”—and that he had said these things to her.

The resurrection leads to cries of “Alleluia, Alleluia” among the faithful:

Without this foundational event, without this sacrifice, resurrection, and ascension, Christianity would not be. And so, it is the most glorious of times in the Christian calendar, one of great joy and celebration.

To that end, I leave you with this classic, triumphant, Easter hymn that embodies the majesty of the day:

Such beautiful voices, I might add. (If you would like to hear more from King’s College, you can click here for the 2014 program in its entirety.)

I hope you all have a good weekend, whatever your religion or creed. If nothing else, I hope the weather is lovely and the flowers blooming where you are. May we all commit to being more mindful, more compassionate, more loving, one to another; to meet hatred not with hatred in return, but with love and kindness, to stand up for all that is good and holy, to stand up against those who persecute others, to stand for the freedom to believe, to think, to speak, from our hearts without fear of reprisal or retribution. May we take courage from one who evidenced unbelievable courage and so much more that day so long ago, and may we remember that love does not mean weakness, but requires strength of heart, strength of soul, and strength of character to stand up to those who wish to tear us down. May we take heart, may we stand strong, and may we commit to love.

Personal Note: As noted above, we are picking up our beloved grandnephew on Sat. for him to spend his Spring Break with us. I will likely have time to write at least the first few days of the week, but we will be going to Myrtle Beach for a long weekend with him. I may not always get to comments in a timely fashion, but I’ll do my best. I trust y’all will keep things going when I am not able to be here myself. Have a great weekend and week, friends!

24 Responses to “Spring Is Here, So Is Easter *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I was a rabid Patsy Cline fan, still am come to think of it. Not so much Willie Nelson but I do love this duet.

    For the Country Music fans among us.

    Just a Closer Walk With Thee https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOKaircCiGI&feature=player_detailpage

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Right there with you. Love Patsy, but Willie is not a fave. He does rescue a lot of horses, though, so there is that.

      Thanks so much for the lovely duet!

  2. mcnorman Says:

    A peaceful Easter to all.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Happy Easter everyone!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    I think the author of this piece, Kurt Schlichter, is absolutely right. He is further to the right than I am but in spite of that I agree with him most of the time. I really enjoy his blunt, take no prisoners style and respect the fact that when he speaks of an issue, like Kosovo, he speaks from experience. Some difference from most lefties who speak from their “feelings”.

    Liberals May Regret Their New Rules

    I think a lot about my year-long deployment to Kosovo ten years ago. I think a lot about people today who, for short term political points, cavalierly disregard the rules, laws and norms that made America what it is. I think a lot about how liberals, especially those who boo God, should pray to Him that those rules, laws and norms are restored.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/2015/04/05/liberals-may-regret-their-new-rules-n1980933/page/full

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ain’t that the truth, Marge. It is so shortsighted to treat people like this. It is amazing how few people seem to understand the wisdom of the Golden Rule, even if they do NOT believe in some kind of Higher Power. But they sure don’t seem to, do they?

      Thanks for this!

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    While I am sure that some may find this Doug Giles piece “homophobic”, I don’t. But that’s because I feel that gays, like the rest of us can be made to look ridiculous, which they do quite often. Don’t we all? I also know that in this country at this point in time to disagree with the left on any matter gets you smeared as racist, homophobic, Islamaphobic, misogynistic or a war monger. I no longer care about that.

    The name callers simply are too hateful, hypocritical, hysterical and dishonest to merit caring what they say or do. These people who claim to speak for the gay community, do not, and are the very kinds of bullies that the gay community fought so hard for so long. On the eve of victory they have become what they hated.

    I’m So Sick Of Hearing About Gay Cakes

    Dear God… I am sick of hearing about gay cakes.

    First off, I’d like to say that pretty much all cakes are gay. Duh. No offense, of course.

    If you don’t believe me then Google “cakes”. After that page loads select “images” and then look at what your search yielded up and tell me with a straight face those pics don’t look absolutely fabulous.

    Tell me … what did you see? I’ll tell you what you saw: fluffy yellow, brown or white cake filling donned with colored icing, decorated with rosettes or candy and/or some other kind of pleated, sugar-coated diabetes, belly fat and cellulite inducing crap. That’s what.

    I have two things to say for that aforementioned visual: 1). Completely. 2). Boy George.

    And don’t even get me started on cupcakes. Cupcakes are verily gay. Especially, mini-cupcakes.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/douggiles/2015/04/05/im-so-sick-of-hearing-about-gay-cakes-n1980930/page/full

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am pretty tired of hearing abt it, too! And really, you have to love tongue-in-cheek posts like this. People need to lighten up already and stop with getting so,outraged at the drop of a hat.

      Absolutely, those who claim to speak for the community have become total bullies, demanding a kind of thought regulation that we have four against for years. Newsflash: we don’t all think alike, and that is a good thing!

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Happy Easter, my dear friends. I hope you have a glorious day!

    Btw, Celtic Woman was phenomenal – as always! My niece and grandniece loved it, too. 🙂

  7. HELENK3 Says:

    Happy Easter to all.
    may you all be blessed with good people and things

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

  9. foxyladi14 Says:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Happy Easter back at ya Foxy.

      For the first time in many years I got a chocolate Easter Bunny. And I ate it.

      Too much joy in the getting to worry about too much sugar in the bunny. Tomorrow I’ll worry, today I will enjoy the chocolate a sister-in-law who has not been all that close bought for me. Sometimes you just have to say, “Thank God”, and know that right now, for this moment, life is good.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Good for you, Marge. What a nice gesture from your sister in law to give that to you. Sometimes, you just have to enjoy the moment and appreciate the gift in front of you. 🙂

  10. piper Says:

    Happy Easter to all the wonderful bloggers who post here. May sunshine fill your day.

  11. foxyladi14 Says:

    Marge said.
    I got a chocolate Easter Bunny. And I ate it.
    ______________________________
    Drooling here Marge. 😀

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    The foolishness of modern day politics is illustrated so well in this piece. Not to mention that I am so glad “Politifact” cleared up this controversy.

    Who cares about conflicts of interest and corruption at the state department?

    Scott Walker bought a sweater!

    Because we clearly don’t have anything else more important to worry about. /s

    Politifact Investigates Scott Walker Sweater Purchase

    During a recent visit to New Hampshire, Wisconsin governor Scott Walker said that he bought a sweater at Kohl’s department store for one dollar.

    Politifact felt it was necessary to make sure the story was true:

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2015/04/politifact-investigates-scott-walker-sweater-purchase/

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    Michael Goodwin’s column for fans like me.

    http://nypost.com/2015/04/05/its-war-out-there-Obama/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Good piece, Marge!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Glad you liked it. I almost always like what he writes even though he is far more “hawkish” than I am. He has a way of skewering Obama and the left I find delicious.

Leave a Reply

