“Current Events,” “Fatigue,” And Mother’s Day *Weekend Open Thread*

by

Wow, what a week we have had. From the continued revelations about the probable overreach of charges levied against the Baltimore police by the State’s Attorney, just who her lead investigator was (a demoted, disgraced former police officer), the challenge accepted by the new DOJ AG, Loretta Lynch, to look at how the Baltimore Police Department operates as opposed to how the COMMUNITY operates (see below), and on I could go with the week’s events, it is most definitely time for a break.

I have to share Brit Hume’s opinion piece on this targeting of the Baltimore Police Department:

I couldn’t have said it better myself. That the focus continues to be on the POLICE and not on the CRIMINALS is astonishing. It just boggles the mind, doesn’t it?

Which leads me to a great article in The Federalist by Cheryl Magness. In it she writes about the way in which we can succumb to “current events fatigue,” and some ways to deal with that fatigue. From The Federalist:

[…] Psychologists have identified something they call compassion fatigue—a syndrome that affects those who give extensive and ongoing care to others. Compassion fatigue occurs when one who is repeatedly called upon to tend to the physical and emotional needs of others grows weary of doing so to the extent that destructive patterns of behavior emerge in his or her own life. It is commonly seen in medical workers, ministers, and caregivers and is a defense mechanism of sorts, similar to the dissociation often practiced by children of alcoholics.

Sometimes, in painful situations humans find it necessary to emotionally detach in order to survive. Yet while that detachment can to a certain extent be helpful, aiding in the ability to continue functioning normally, it can also be harmful if it is carried to extreme, impeding normal psychological and emotional development and the forming of healthy relationships.

I certainly understand this kind of fatigue as a former hospital, university, prison chaplain and parish minister.

All that is to say, what is the impact of the bombardment of constant news? Back to The Federalist:

[…] Thinking about compassion fatigue, I can’t help but wonder: is there such a thing as Current Events Fatigue? I think there is, and I think I’ve experienced it. I grew up in a Democrat household, but one in which current events were not discussed at great length or in great depth. In college, as I began to study the issues on my own with help from the man I would eventually marry, I became a conservative Republican. I started paying more attention to politics when Ronald Reagan became the fortieth president of the United States, and I’m sure that had something to do with it.

How does one care without being completely swallowed up by it? That is the question.

[…]

Now, as national and world events continue to dismay conservative, traditionally-minded Christians such as myself, I find myself wondering if I will ever get my current events groove back. Current Events Fatigue? You bet I have it. Yet, as a 50-year-old mother of three children who, God-willing, has another 35-40 years or more on the planet (I’m thinking optimistically here), I know I can’t just stop caring. I owe it to my children and grandchildren to not stick my head in the sand. But how does one care without being completely swallowed up by it? That is the question. If you have found yourself wondering the same thing, here are a few suggestions.

I cannot include all of her suggestions here, but I do have a couple I want to include below. I urge you to read the rest at The Federalist:

[…] 2. Go about Your Daily Life
Martin Luther is said to have stated that if he knew the world was going to end tomorrow, he would still plant a tree today. I don’t know if he actually said that, but it is a message worth heeding. No one knows when the world is going to end; none of us knows what tomorrow is going to bring. So, somehow we must live in the moment, caring for our families, serving our neighbors, and making a difference in whatever small ways we can.

This attitude towards daily life is one Luther taught and is known among Lutherans as the Doctrine of Vocation. But you don’t have to be a Lutheran, or even a Christian, to see its value. I may not be able today to march on Washington, go door-to-door handing out political tracts, or make a sizable donation to the candidate of my choice. But I can do what I do, whatever that is, and in so doing I can make a difference in my own little corner of the world.

[…]

4. When It Gets Overwhelming, Take a Break

Back in 2012 on my personal blog, I informed my readers that I was going to ignore politics for a while. I called it my “Anything But Politics Challenge.” It helped me to refocus on things I cared about that I had forgotten. It helped me to once again ground myself in the real, flesh-and-blood community around me.

Taking a break is important advice indeed. It is one I work on doing, thought I am not always successful at it. Still something for which to strive.

Magness continues with her advice:

[…] 5. Pray

I realize this point may not apply to all readers, and that’s okay. But if you are a believing person, prayer is both the first and final line of defense. I believe that when there is nothing else, there is a God who cares for and hears His children. That is my ultimate comfort and defense against the fatigue of living in a messed up world.

[…]

In a world that seems in many ways to be spiraling completely out of control, it is important to find a balance between utter fatigue and withdrawal, and extreme empathy or “infection by the scene.” It is a tremendously difficult balance to find, but one each of us in his own way needs to seek. I hope that the five strategies listed here may help as you consider how to seek that balance in your own life. (Click here to read the rest.)

I hope these suggestions are helpful ones. I think they are certainly food for thought…

I want to leave you with one more suggestion, a classic Beatles’ song a friend reminded me of recently:

Amen to that…

scan0025And of course, this Sunday is Mother’s Day. I would like to take this opportunity to wish all of the mothers here a VERY happy Mother’s Day! I assume many of you have experienced fatigue of a different kind in keeping with this weekend’s theme. Heck, I have no doubt I wore my dear mother out (I was what you call a “handful”). I miss her still every day, especially at times like this (Spring and Mother’s Day). I know she would love the greeting for this special occasion from Gentle Carousel Miniature Horses. This is in Mom’s honor:

Mother's Day

Aren’t they just precious?! I hope it is a very good day indeed for you moms out there. Heaven knows, you deserve it!

This is your Weekend and Mother’s Day Open Thread.

Tags: , , ,

33 Responses to ““Current Events,” “Fatigue,” And Mother’s Day *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Wonderful post Amy!!! 😀

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    Why is WZ down?? 😯

  3. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    From what I saw, they are having server issues:We still appear to be having some challenges with the server change. Some folks are still being blocked out of new posts and we hope to have this resolved soon. Those who are unable to access the new posts are congregating here at the last post from last night, which is allowing comments. (http://weaselzippers.us)

  4. Cindyindie Says:

    Cuzin!!! I’m back for a minute, but don’t tell my doctor I’m talking about politics—LOL!!!
    I LOVE the picture of you and your siblings with your mother—What a wonderful photograph…
    Did you see that Dr. Ben Carson called Obama a “psychopath”? I have GOT to send money to his candidacy!! I just love the guy—I know y’all do too.
    Stay safe with Ana out there….and kudos to you for your blog—I don’t know how you do it!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, YAY!! I have been thinking abt you so much, Cuz, and wanted to wish you a Very Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you have a wonderful celebration with your family.

      And thanks! I don’t know where my oldest brother was when this photo was taken, and of course, I couldn’t sit still, hence why I am turned toward my baby brother. 🙂

      You just gotta love ANYONE with medical training calling Obama out. I think the Good Doctor Krauthammer saie the same thing abt him. Ahahaha. Oh, and Dr. Carson doesn’t need a teleprompter, unlike the Psychopath in Chief. Very smart man, that one!

      Okay – enough politics for you, Missy! Enjoy your day! 🙂

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Derek Hunter nails the New York times on its “blame the victim” mentality when the perpetrators are Muslim.

    The Last Temptation Of The New York Times

    When an event was held in Garland, Texas, last week that included a $10,000 prize for the best drawing of the Muslim prophet Mohammad, it was no surprise that many Muslims, particularly radical ones, would be upset. Considering that radical Muslims have spent a lifetime being upset, and in the wake of the Charlie Hebdo attack, it also wasn’t shocking that two of them would attempt to kill everyone who dared look at what they didn’t want drawn. That’s the world we live in right now.

    What was surprising was the reaction to the attempted mass murder and how the blame went to those targeted for death more than the would-be killers.

    The Associated Press actually tweeted out a link to a story on the aftermath of the event that read, “Pamela Geller says she has no regrets about Prophet Muhammad cartoon contest that ended in 2 deaths.” How dare the event organizer not apologize for “asking for it” by having an event where people draw, right?

    The New York Times took the “she shouldn’t have worn such a short skirt to the bar” mentality to the next level.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/derekhunter/2015/05/10/the-last-temptation-of-the-new-york-times-n1996846

    Isn’t it “odd” that the New York Times had no sympathy for the “anguish” of millions of Christians who were offended by the “Piss Christ”? The Times thought that was much ado about nothing. The hypocrisy is stunning. And as Hunter said:

    To pretend The New York Times is motivated by anything is other than selective hate is, well, something much stronger than hogwash.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Great article – and absolutely spot on. The glaring hypocrisy by the Times and other outlets is telling, and their “blame the victim” mentality when it comes to radical Muslim extremists is obscene. I am sick of hearing the bias every time this event is mentioned, how wrong headed it was or misguided, as well as the constant ad hominem attacks against Geller personally (Juan Williams yesterday attacked her, then said she was making this all abt her when HE was the one doing that, then he attacked her personally some more). When the FBI and the Defense Department come out saying that there are risks here at home, it exposes these victim-blamers for the apologists they really are. And that is scary.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Juan Williams is an ass. When he speaks I hit mute or change the channel. Since most of what I watch is DVRd I can also fast forward away from his asinine remarks. I cannot stand the sound of his voice.

        The left’s attack on Pam Geller is disgusting, but predictable.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          That he is. We were driving into town and had Eric Bolling’s show on. He is such a piece of work.

          Telling, isn’t it, that BOTH of his sons are Republicans? He said that it was due in part to growing up in DC under Marion Berry and seeing how he conducted himself (among other things)…

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Happy confusing Mother’s day!

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    The Left’s Crusade Against Free Speech

    What could the president and his advisers have been thinking in orchestrating an assault on Fox News? Where could our president, a graduate of Columbia University and Harvard Law School and a former lecturer at the University of Chicago Law School, have gotten the idea that it was government’s prerogative to determine who properly reports the news and to supervise the flow of opinion in the country?

    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2015/05/10/the_lefts_crusade_against_free_speech_126535.html

    Obama and his sycophants like to compare him to Lincoln and Reagan, both Republicans by the way. The fact is he is much more like the paranoid Nixon. Without the brains.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Not to sound repetitive or anything, but reading Attkisson’s book, seeing the way this Administration has gone after not JUST Fox News, but other outlets as well, is astonishing. That “transparency” thing was more smoke and mirrors which only the gullible believe…

    Thanks for this!

  9. Cindyindie Says:

    I post this every Mother’s Day—–and still love it.
    Happy Mother’s Day to all—and to the memory of all of our mothers.

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Wow, SNL actually did a skit on drawing Muhammad. I bet Geller never thought she’d get support from THAT arena: http://www.bizpacreview.com/2015/05/10/snl-sets-up-wildly-funny-game-show-draw-the-prophet-muhammad-202927

  11. foxyladi14 Says:

  12. mcnorman Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to all.

    Flowers in Holland filmed by drone.

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    Carly Fiorina Continues Her Epic Domain Name Trolling

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/christinerousselle/2015/05/10/carly-fiorina-continues-her-epic-domain-name-trolling-n1996965

    Any bets that a lot of talking heads are scurrying to make sure they own their domain names?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I think it is hilarious that she is doing this. I loved when she told Seth Meyers that she got HIS web domain name while sitting in the Green Room waiting to go on to his show. Ahahahaha. Good for her for catching these folks with their own kind of “gotcha” journalism.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Don’t you love seeing the “gotcha” people “gotchaed”? ☺

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          You bet – they underestimate Fiorina and how smart she is with their smug, arrogant selves. SO serves them right!

  14. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here is an excerpt of Kirsten Powers’ new book, and is it a doozy. She does NOT pull any pucnhes: http://dailysignal.com/2015/05/11/how-the-illiberal-left-uses-silencing-tactics/

  15. kenoshamarge Says:

    In keeping with the media’s obsession with Tom Brady and the Patriots “cheating”, here’s a great Branco cartoon.

Leave a Reply

