“Why Are Americans So Willing To Accept Lies and Liars?” *Open Thread*

by

KenoshaMarge was kind enough to allow me to re-post this here. I made a poor attempt at re-blogging it, so if some of her good post still shows up as a duplicate at the end, that is solely on me, and just ignore it.

And now to Marge’s post:

“Why Are Americans So Willing To Accept Lies And Liars?”

I don’t know why we are even surprised anymore, if some of us are, when discovering the blatant lies that are told by this, and other administrations. The only difference is the willingness of the media to “investigate”  Republican lies and their willingness to cover up or “spin” Democrat lies. Not as much for Hillary since they really don’t seem to “like” her nor she them. Thus a Hillary campaign will have glimmers of truth now and then from the media unlike the Obama campaign which was one long slobber.

Nor should we be surprised at the lack of anything resembling shame by the most egregious of the liars. Susan Rice comes most readily to mindOpen ThreO since she embarrassed herself all over Sunday Morning Talk shows with her “the video is/was at fault” b.s. Granted she was only the point “man” for Obama but still she should never be considered as having ANY credibility  ever after. And he should be ashamed for hiding behind her.

  Confirmed: The State Department Knew Benghazi Was Terrorism Within Hours      

  This isn’t a “bombshell revelation” per se, because multiple strands of evidence have pointed to this truth for some time.  For starters, then-CIA director David Petraeus told CNN that the US government knew the Benghazi massacre was a terrorist act “almost immediately,” and a State Department email sent the morning after the attack accurately pinned the blame on Ansar al-Sharia.

http://townhall.com/tipsheet/guybenson/2015/05/27/confirmed-the-state-department-knew-benghazi-was-terrorism-immediately-n2004495

Now that Hillary has “decided” to run for president, again, we are bombarded with news of the Clintons 24/7 which is way more than they are interesting IMO. They are, again IMO, just a pair of hucksters who have been around way too long and have bored me for some time. Bill’s adolescent hormonal problem and her inability to tell the truth, not that he ever tells the truth either but at least he “looks” sincere when lying. Or at least more sincere than she does.

Here’s Keith Koffler’s hilarious take on Bill’s “consulting” business:

 Top Ten “Consulting” Services Offered by Bill Clinton

Letterman eat your heart out!

The thing that worries me the most about the lies, spin and obfuscations of the people in media and government is that so many Americans seem to find their lies acceptable. A comment on one of the blogs I visit was a perfect example. We were discussing the various “lies” that have been told about the death of Bin Laden. The commenter said: “So what. He’s dead and that’s all I care about.” Seriously? You don’t care if the facts are no such thing? You don’t care that those who are there to serve the public have no problem lying to us?

I worry that in time, and that time is soon, we will not only not care about the truth we won’t recognize it. There is a lot of talk about “low-information” voters. How abut “no-information” voters? How about people that vote for their “tribe” simply because they are their tribe. No right. No wrong. Just blind loyalty which is not only not deserved it is dangerous to the individual. If you dont’ bother to “think” there comes a time when you can’t think. But that’s just the opinion of one old lady who “thinks” thinking is a very good thing.

48 Responses to ““Why Are Americans So Willing To Accept Lies and Liars?” *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here’s Keith Koffler’s, of the blog “White House Dossier, hilarious take on Bill Clinton’s “consulting” business:

    Top Ten “Consulting” Services Offered by Bill Clinton

    1. How to create proper feng shui in your office and also turn it into a sex palace.

    2. The meaning of word “is” – with additional information on how to use it in a sentence.

    3. How to get the full value out of your interns.

    4. Worried your son may one day face a draft? 1960s draft-dodging techniques updated for the 21st century.

    5. Strategies for lying to a grand jury and not going to jail.

    6. How to turn the presidency into a money-making extravaganza.

    7. Why starting your own charity is the perfect scam.

    8. Someone caught you cheating? How to convince your wife it’s all just part of a “vast right wing conspiracy.”

    9. Ramen Noodle Rich: How to scrape by on $25 million a year.

    10. Men are from Mars, women are from Venus? Okay, how to meet chicks on Mars.

    http://www.whitehousedossier.com/2015/05/27/top-ten-consulting-services-offered-bill-clinton/

    Letterman eat your heart out!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Sorry, Marge. I can try to fix it so it is just a post here. The link you sent had to be modified since It was in edit. I will try again to get it and set it up properly. My apologies!

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thank you. I didn’t mean to cause so much aggravation. Can you get rid of my “attempt” to fix the problem? Next time I’ll just email you if I have something. I have just become addicted to the formatting that WordPress allows. Again, sorry.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, no aggravation at all. I knew I should have just done it like that in the first place. Haste makes waste, as they say. 🙂

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Okay, so now I am trying to figure out how to get the re-blog part off, but it doesn’t show up in the actual post. Ugh. I may just have to start over, but didn’t want to lose the comments…

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Don’t bother Rev. The idea was for someone to post something so that you could just concentrate on vacationing. It is what it is and that’s fine. Go enjoy your vacation time!

          And I certainly meant this to be an “open post” so Foxy and Helen and all, please jump in.

  4. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Okay, all fixed! Sorry abt that! I didn’t know when I re logged it that it wouldn’t do the entire thing right there. Oops.

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Are all these candidates deliberately trying to make their party look silly? The worst of the giant egos IMHO is Donald Trump. I cannot stand the big blowhard. I used to watch Neil Cavuto every day. Now? Not at all. His insistence of giving the “Donald” so much air time disgusted me past my ability to take Cavuto seriously. He can have the “Donald” and I save some aggravation.

    Honestly do Huckabee and Santorum really think they have a snowball’s chance? Huckabee should have stuck with his television show and Santorum should have accepted his trip to obscurity.

    And is it just me or is it kinda of silly to compare Hillary’s numbers, she who stands alone verses the numerous GOP candidates? Won’t there be a lot of difference in those numbers once the GOP is down to one or two?

    JMO

    Mad Voter Looks at the May 28 Presidential Poll

    Polling season is upon us — when is it not — and our good friends at Quinnipiac University just released another one May 28 on the Republican horse race and Democratic one-woman race. (Don’t they ever do anything else at Quinnipiac? How about teaching French?)

    Short form for the Republican side: nobody’s winning.

    There’s a five-way tie. Bush, Carson, Huckabee, Rubio and Walker were all knotted up at 10 percent with Paul at 7 and Cruz at 6. Others straggled behind in the competition to make the top ten for the debates. Fiorina just snuck in at 2. I’m rooting for her to make the cut, because she’s being a great anti-Hillary with energy to spare. This was a registered, not a likely, voter poll and twenty percent of Republicans were undecided.

    http://pjmedia.com/diaryofamadvoter/2015/05/29/mad-voter-looks-at-the-may-28-presidential-poll/#ixzz3bWqXIxfa

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      You said it, they are making the party look silly. rand Paul said some really stupid things the other day, too. Sheesh.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        With Rand Paul around the Dems don’t need to snipe at the GOP. Does Rand Paul really think blaming ISIS on the Hawks in the Republican Party will play well with Republican voters?

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Can you believe he said that crap? I am quickly losing any respect I ever had for him…

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  6. Cindyindie Says:

    Great post, Marge! You are such a talented writer…..and always have the best cartoons!
    Thanks for helping out Cuzin Amy!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I agree, she sure is, isn’t she, Cuz?

      Thanks again, Marge!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Thanks for the opportunity to speak my piece Rev Amy. Getting stuff off my chest is necessary for my well-being and a low blood pressure reading.

        • foxyladi14 Says:

          Works for e too Marge, Great post thanks. 😀

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          As noted above, believe me, it is my honor. Any time, Marge, any time!

          And I totally hear you abt the blood pressure! If this helps you, by all means, any time! 🙂

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      How nice of you to say so Cuz! I always have loved to write and am grateful to the Rev for giving me the chance. I love words and am dismayed at the decline of our public discourse.

      As for the cartoons, they are my passion! Cartoons say so much with so little that it never stops amazing me. And to be able to make me chuckle or at time laugh right out loud is something I find even more amazing.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Believe you me, it is truly my pleasure, Marge. Thank you so much. You have such a way with words, it is a joy to have you here!

        And the cartoons just rock…

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Thank you so much for saying that. I am smiling from ear to ear. Ü

          In that spirit I have written something else you might want to consider. Since I royally screw up the last attempt to send it to you how about you send me an email and I will send it to you via “reply”. Maybe that will work better. And maybe it won’t be something you care to use. Just let me know.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Is it on your site? If so, I can just grab it and put it up. I would be delighted to do so.

            If it isn’t, then I will send you an email using your login address so you have my email address, if that is okay!

            Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Speaking of getting something off my chest, have those of you who have had surgery had more trouble with the “side” effects from medications after the surgery than from the surgery itself?

    I sailed through the surgery and have made, and am making a steady recovery and in many ways feel better than I have for years.

    However the “side” effects from the medication for my blood pressure medicine is horrible. I am on the fourth one and am monitoring it and me myself. I know how I feel better than anyone and I have found that taking two different ones is not for me. (Any that end in “L” may give you a dry hacking cough that will last for months after you stop taking it. Isn’t that fun?”)

    One of the “beta blockers” clogged me up so bad it took 3 days before I could unclog me.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      For me, it was the pain meds I was on post-surgery. Unfortunately, after all the surgeries I have had, my knees are declining again. Even with all o f the PT (abt which I am, um, religious), my body seems to see the replacements as foreign bodies and just doesn’t like them. Sigh.

      But I have heard the same complaint from other heart patients, so there is definitely something to that, Marge…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        So sorry to hear about your knees Amy. After all you’ve gone through it stinks that they are declining.

        The funny part about the medications is that I learned more about them from other people giving feedback for one of the over-the-counter meds I was buying. So many had suffered the same “side effects” that I had. Some offered some good advice and others suggested things I hadn’t thought about.

        At the time I was taking two blood pressure medications – one in the morning and one and night. I would get so clogged up and filled with gas the pain was excruciating. When you talk to the heart surgeon and the cardiologists about it they don’t seem all that concerned. For them a little constipation is small potatoes compared to fixing and maintaining a human heart.

        I tried to understand and then I got pissed. I stopped taking both medications for a few days. My cardiologist had suggested that perhaps part of my problem might be that I had gone from being a vegetarian for 20 years to eating meat again and that might have thrown my system off. Within a few days of going back to my vegetarian ways I felt so much better and a lot of the bloat and gas was gone. But my blood pressure kept going up. So I fiddled around and I am now taking only the night time medication and I take it with a gentle, 100mg stool softener and I am doing well. Blood pressure is down and if I get clogged I just skip a day with the blood pressure meds. At first the doctor wasn’t all that happy with me but he sees the results and says if it works for me. It helps that I have a blood pressure cuff at home and take my blood pressure every morning myself. I promised I would call him right away if it got too high. Funny thing is that the only time it gets really high is in his office.

        I didn’t mean to be so long winded about my health but my point is that we know our own bodies better than anyone and perhaps we know what to do for it better than they do in some aspects. Its working for me and is worth thinking about I think.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, no, I am very glad you are telling us more abt how your life has been post-surgery, Marge, you are right – we do know our bodies better and know what works for us. Sure, sometimes adjustments need to be made with meds, and I am glad you finally have a system that works. But yeah, the doctors d on’ have to live with what we have to deal with, and they don’t have to deal with the same challenges, either. So good on you for that!

          And thanks, I appreciate it. I have to say, it is pretty darn frustrating, but I am certain that the life lesson I am supposed to be learning now is how to be a human being, not a human doing, bit by bit, I will get there!

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • foxyladi14 Says:

        Sorry to hear that Amy. ❤

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thanks, Foxy. I reckon it just is what it,is,a lifelong learning for me to listen to my body and stop pushing it so hard. One of these days, I will get there!

          And you are right abt doctors, they are human. Medicine us an I exact science, too, but what we know is one size does not fit all, so some trial and error is often involved. 🙂

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      Yes Marge I have. 😡

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

    To everyone I wish,
    Good health ad much happiness,
    I love this thread. 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ah, thanks, Foxy! I wish good health to you, too! 🙂

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    John Hawkins has some important questions in his piece. My guess is that that answer to any of them from liberals would be one of 3: “racist, misogynist, or Islamaphobe”, because insulting or name calling what they do. Actual “real” conversations or arguments are anathema to them. Those take reason and thinking, something which is in very, very short supply in the liberal DNA.

    http://www.picgifs.com/graphics/q/question-marks/graphics-question-marks-173780.gif 20 Questions You’re Not Supposed To Ask In America Today

    1) If Islam is really a religion of peace, as opposed to a particularly violent religion, then why do so many people and organizations across the world refuse to show Muhammad cartoons out of fear that they’ll be murdered by devout Muslims for doing it?

    2) If illegal immigrants are supposed to help our economy, then why weren’t they helping the economies of the poor nations they fled?

    3) Given that Hillary Clinton’s nearly accomplishment-free political career has been based on riding the coattails of a serial adulterer who has humiliated and cheated on her over and over, isn’t Hillary Clinton a terrible role model for young women?

    http://townhall.com/columnists/johnhawkins/2015/05/30/20-questions-youre-not-supposed-to-ask-in-america-today-n2005812/page/full

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, those are some great questions! And you are right abt the liberal response to them. Thank you for this!

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  10. foxyladi14 Says:

    My very wise friend, Marge said. 🙂
    I didn’t mean to be so long winded about my health but my point is that we know our own bodies better than anyone and perhaps we know what to do for it better than they do in some aspects. Its working for me and is worth thinking about I think.
    ____________________-

    Doctors are just human too, And they do the best they can.
    However we are all different critters.
    And what works for one, Might kill the next one. 😀

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Exactly Foxy. I had some GREAT doctors. But they were focused on saving my life and something as mundane as “constipation” didn’t seem to appear on their radar or to be of great importance. After all, who ever died from constipation.

      I can attest to the fact that more than once since my surgery I have I would or wished I would.

      Now that I’ve found a way to help myself I am feeling so much better and in fact feeling pretty cocky about myself. One of the nurse practitioners I see told me she wished more people would take control of their health as I have done. She was one of the few that actually “listened” to what I said. So many, and they are good people all, don’t “listen”.

      Constipation may not be “sexy” like a brilliant doctor cracking you open like a walnut and holding your beating heart in his hands but when you are home alone and feeling like you are doing to blow up it’s mighty damn important to the one who thinks they may soon become the IED of their living room.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I sent another response, but it hasn’t shown up,yet. But yes, Marge, that is true abt issues like that. And it does make a difference in terms of quality of life and suffering on a daily basis. So yeah, it is a matter of degrees, to be sure.

        And good for you for being so proactive abt your health. That is exactly what it takes, right?

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          If I don’t take care of me who will? I got to where I was before surgery through my own fault and stupidity. Now I am determined to make the last years of my life healthy and as happy as possible. For myself and for Lou – cause if Momma ain’t happy…

          Funny thing is once the medical community realizes that you are not going to just sit down and shut up, they start to listen. And then they can help you do what you can you make choices that improve your quality of life.

          After surgery I followed the advice of doctors and nurses 100%. They said jump, I asked how high. I knew nothing about where I found myself and knew that what was a frightening experience for me was nothing new for them. So I was a very good patient.

          What has been going on with “side effects” is a whole different story.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Good point – yep, we are responsible for our own selves, that’s for sure. I hate you had to go through all of that, but it sounds like you have the best possible attitude to deal with the recovery and get to a good, healthy place. That is no small feat. I hope you have many more years upon this earth, Marge!

            Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  11. foxyladi14 Says:

    h/t CDH

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CGQkaJRUcAA8QkW.jpg:large

  12. foxyladi14 Says:

    I am going to have Cataract surgery soon,
    Then I am going to get a hearing aid.
    WOOT!!!!!! 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I hope your surgery is a big success! And I hope your hearing aid is a big help, too! 🙂

  13. foxyladi14 Says:

    Good By May!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

