Guest Post By KenoshMarge: “Music Has Charms” *Weekend Open Thread*

by

This is a wonderful post by KenoshaMarge, and provides a much needed respite after an incredibly intense week. So much happened this past week, from the SCOTUS rulings to ISIS attacks in three countries, including France.

But this one in particular resonates with me since music has always been a big part of my life from singing in the choir, to playing flute in band and orchestra, to playing guitar and singing for decades. Thank you so much for sharing this with us here, Marge, and thank HEAVENS you are getting stronger every day. Bless you!

Please forgive the formatting. WordPress has lost its collective mind and has screwed up the sidebar and comment section. Hopefully they will get their act together soon, and get this fixed.

Music Has Charms

As most of you know and for those who do not I had a triple bypass 5 months ago. No, wait, come back, I’m not going to tell you all about it. Well just a little bit.

In order to bypass the old clogged arteries they need new arteries. And since I couldn’t convince any of the nurses to donate some of theirs the surgeon took them from my left leg which up until then was a perfectly good and functioning leg. I found out later that the leg gives more long lasting problems then the heart surgery. That and side effects from the medications they give you. So first they save your life and then they make it miserable. Sorry, old grumpy and ungrateful person at times writing here.

What was once a good leg now swells up till it hurts and if I spend too much time on my feet it gets wobbly. I must wear something called “compression stockings” which are at lot of fun, especially to get on. They’re sorta like putting ten pounds of crap in a five pound bag. Then I must sleep with my legs higher than my heart to help keep the swelling down and circulation percolating along. I resemble the letter “V” every night.

One of the things I must do is walk; every day and for at least 15 minutes at a time. Longer and the leg gives me trouble. So I get on my treadmill and walk for 15 minutes. Twice a day. Every day. That 15 minutes seemed to be the longest part of the day and was boring. So I got my CDs out and began walking to some of my favorites.

I have a lot of CDs to choose from and some worked well got my “walkies” and others not so much. I love the bombast of “Ride of the Valkyries” but it isn’t all that much fun to listen to while walking. Especially since if I try to conduct like I like to do to bombastic classical music on a treadmill I’ll fall on my ass.

I love Big Band music but not so much for walking. I found that the songs and music I remembered dancing to when I was just a pup were the most fun. Put a perky in my walk and a spring in my step that remained even after I got off the damn treadmill. And in spite of the leg that’s making such a fuss about having a few lousy veins removed.

Some days I walk to the Eagles, sometimes its CCR and today it was Roy Orbison. Loved the Orbison then and love him now:

From the mid-’50s through the late-’80s, Roy Orbison made his own unique brand of pop music. His earliest records were raw, frenzied rockabilly that held up with the best of ‘em, while his signature drama-laced ballads had few, if any, equals. Orbison created a sound unlike anyone. A sound that was both innocently earthy, and worldwise ethereal at the same time. Not an easy thing to do.

An influence on everyone from the Beatles to the Cramps, Roy stood alone. From his roots in ’50s rock and roll, through those soaring ballads and up to his comeback in the ’80s solo, and as part of the Traveling Wilburys,  he was an American original.

Pretty Woman is probably his best known song but my person favorite is “Dream Baby”:

Watching the WWll vet dance to the music of his youth in the video I posted the other day got me   thinking about this. That old man danced to the music that meant so much to him at one time and he was terrific! All the aches and pains and stiff joints forgotten as he moved to the music of his youth.

He reminded me of the dance scene from the old black and white movie “The Canterville Ghost” with Robert Young, Margaret Sullivan and the wonderful Charles Laughton as the ghost. Long before Robert Young was Dr. Wellby and sold coffee pots. 

I may have to buy Ben Gay in a gallon tube but I hope I keep dancing to the music of my youth just like that old geezer did to “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy”. Because if you are only as old as you feel, for a few minutes that man was 50 years younger. And when I listen, walk and dance to Roy Orbison, so am I.

Okay I’ve taken my walk down memory lane. I shudder to think that some old timer some day will dance to “Trap Queen” by Fetty Wap. (Rap song and artist I had to look up.) But I’m sure it will happen.

What “oldies” put a spring in your step? Which ones have you dancing in spite of all the damn aches and pains and stiff joints? Or is it something “current” that I find incomprehensible? After all this is about your “walkies” too.

35 Responses to “Guest Post By KenoshMarge: “Music Has Charms” *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. helenk3 Says:

    Marge this song is good for walking.

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    I love music too.And as quick as I get my hearing aid will be listening to some. 😀

  3. foxyladi14 Says:

    Sending prayers to Amy, On her loss. ❤

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hey is it just my computer or is the comment section all wonky? As in full screen with tiny letters?

  5. foxyladi14 Says:

    For those wanting memorabilia. 🙂

    http://dixieoutfitters.com/

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I was thinking abt this yesterday – it isn’t like the black community is all that thrilled with homosexuality, so this is abt what I expected: http://www.bizpacreview.com/2015/06/27/black-lives-matter-pastors-collide-with-new-rainbow-america-we-will-not-obey-an-unjust-law-218425

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

    My {git up and go} has run away.
    If anyone spots it, Please send it home.
    I will be waiting in bed. 😯

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I don’t know what in the HELL is going on with WordPress, but it is completely screwed up right now. WOW.

    Apparently, this is all the result of WordPress adding a rainbow flag to the top of readers. It seems to be screwing everything up.

    And just to put some things in perspective, this is how ISIS responded to the SCOTUS ruling on same-sex marriage: http://www.ijreview.com/2015/06/354858-isis-responds-scotuss-gay-marriage-ruling-sending-4-men-deaths/

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Something for all you animal lovers out there. I got such a kick out of it and I hope you do too.

  11. cindyindie Says:

    Marge—-I’m so sorry about all of the complications form your surgery….Bless your heart!
    As far as music for walking..one song that gets me going good…and I really can’t stop moving when I hear it is : “Soon and Very Soon”, as well as a lot of the Big Band stuff from the ’40’s (which was the first music my tender little ears heard when a child)

Leave a Reply

