Guest Post By KenoshaMarge: “When Did Ignorance Become A Point Of View?” *Open Thread*

by

We are fortunate to have another great guest post by KenoshaMarge.  I don’t want to give anything away, but I swear, I literally laughed out loud reading this. Marge has nailed it again. Enjoy!

So many don’t know much about how little they know.

Every time I see one of those interviews, usually on a campus or a beach, of young ignorant people I cringe. Are mom and dad proud of these ignoramuses? Love them yes. Proud?

I have a granddaughter that I love dearly but honestly folks, she’s dumber than a bag of cotton balls. That doesn’t keep her from running her mouth and telling us old fools what’s what. Evidently the ability to text is now considered intellectual. What’s that old saw about keeping quiet so as not to tell the world you’re a fool?

“Better remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out remove all doubts”

Quite honestly I don’t think she has the ability to remain silent. And that’s a real pity.

Remember that old Sam Cooke song – “What A Wonderful World”? If so refresh you memory by listening and reading the lyrics:

Don’t know much about history
Don’t know much biology
Don’t know much about science book
Don’t know much about the French I took

But I do know that I love you
And I know that if you love me too
What a wonderful world this would be

I don’t claim to be an ‘A’ student
But I’m trying to be
Maybe my being an ‘A’ student baby
I can win your love for me

But I know that one and one is two
And if this one could be with you
What a wonderful this would be

I really loved that song. I sang with it and danced to it. That was back in 1960 when I was a young chick.

I sang the lyrics but I did know quite a bit about History, Geography etc. If you didn’t, in those dark old days, you didn’t graduate. Which means most of our fragile little snowflakes who are now off to college wouldn’t have made it past High School. What would that have done to their oh so fragile little egos?

Another old saying that you hear often is that “God must love stupid people because he made so many of them.” I don’t think God makes stupid people. I think most people have at least average intelligence. They may not be “stupid” but they sure are ignorant. For the most part that’s just laziness.

That includes the dunce in the White House that talked about visiting all “57” states. What educated man, especially one that is supposed to be “brilliant”, says such an ignorant thing? Most smart folks would have heard themselves say that and immediately corrected the error, made some self-deprecating joke and moved on. We’ve all done it and no harm is done. But when you are so arrogant you don’t think you make mistakes then you let the mistakes stand all you prove you aren’t nearly as smart as you think you are. Exhibit A sits in the White House. When he’s not too busy fund-raising, playing golf or insulting Republicans.

I know that I’m not the smarted tool in the shed. I’ve always known that. But I have a desire to “know” that can be used instead of the brilliance I wasn’t born with. A desire to know and a disdain for dishonesty.

There are a lot of people who will find themselves at a loss in the real world once they leave the tender arms of the educational system. The real world doesn’t give “participation” trophies and it doesn’t care much about your tender ego.

It would be best if those who spout nonsense as if it were some just discovered truth tried, just for a short time, to learn the truth. Not a liberal truth and not a conservative truth. The truth. Because learning is wonderful thing. It’s as exciting, at least to me, now when I am in my seventies as it was when I was in my twenties. Plus with the Internet it’s so much easier!

Ignorance isn’t bliss and it isn’t something to be proud of. It’s a condition brought on by the refusal to use your God given brain to know. Not to just parrot what someone told you. Not to find the hard work of knowing too much trouble. Finding information is something that never gets old for me. I find those who don’t bother to “know” and babble on too tiresome to bother with. Which is why I seldom see my granddaughter. I wish her well But I also wish her and her big ignorant mouth elsewhere.

Thanks so much for this, Marge – loved it!

Tags: ,

26 Responses to “Guest Post By KenoshaMarge: “When Did Ignorance Become A Point Of View?” *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Glad you liked it Rev. I just get so riled up by talking points and institutionalized ignorance. What is wrong with these people that they can be so ignorant and not know it? I so hesitate to use the word “stupid” about ordinary folks. I usually reserve that for media, pundidiots and politicians. Oh and relatives.

  2. helenk3 Says:

    I want to be 97 years old and still learning something new.every day. Our kids are now being indoctrinated not educated. They do not even know how much they don’t know. The money wasted on a so-called college education is beyond belief. We knew more coming out of high school then these kids coming out of college .
    Political Correctness is a curse on free speech and hinders learning. The only thing right now that might save the future of this country is home schooling

  3. insanitybytes22 Says:

    LOL! Thanks for the post, very entertaining. I share your frustration with some of the young, even my own flesh and blood. Sadly there’s some older folks too, that just make me want to ask, who ties your shoelaces for you? How did you manage to live this long in such a state of blatant stupidity? I don’t mind the truly stupid, they are at least willing to learn and their hearts are in the right place. It’s the mindlessly indoctrinated ones that couldn’t rub two braincells together if they tried that drive me nuts.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Ignorance is absolutely not a condition of the young. However the “education” system now in place ensures that most will emerge not only from High School but from College no smarter than when they went in. What a waste of time and money that is!

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    YAY!!!! Another great post, Marge Thanks.
    And as you said “learning is wonderful thing”
    I learn something new every day.
    Sometimes more then one. 😀

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      To me any day that I learn something new is a success. Which means almost every day is successful. That said I try, very hard, to make sure that what I “learn” is the truth and not just wishful thinking. Being informed isn’t easy and what a bore it would be if it was.

  5. foxyladi14 Says:

    Now here is a poor girl showing how little she knows. :facepalm:

  6. foxyladi14 Says:

    Me too Dana. 😡

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Me too Foxy!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Great comments, everyone! I am literally in the car going to pick up our goddaughter to begin a trip up to VA for a few days. Isn’t Marge’s post so good?

        Mcnorman, you cracked me up with the shoelaces comment. And yes, to learn something new every day is a great day indeed!

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  7. foxyladi14 Says:

    Wasn’t Obama featured like this too. 🙄

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

    Pander much? 😯

    http://www.breitbart.com/video/2015/07/31/hillary-political-operatives-trying-to-prevent-african-americans-from-voting/

  9. foxyladi14 Says:

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Joan Walsh: “I Feel Sad” For Trump Supporters, “Have No Firm Grasp Of Reality”; Steele: That’s Elitism

    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2015/07/30/joan_walsh_i_feel_sad_for_trump_supporters_have_no_firm_grasp_of_reality_steele_thats_elitism.html

    I am NOT a Michael Steele fan and I would rather set my hair on fire and put the blaze out with a hammer than be a Chris Matthews fan – but – both men showed Joan Walsh up for the elitist POS she is. Her trying to defend her words is rather sad. Her insistence that she’s so much more of the people, the ones she’s just denigrated, than Trump because she was not born to wealth is pathetic. Does that mean she doesn’t believe that Dem Presidents FDR and JFK were men of the people? After all, both of them were born to wealth.

    I am continually amazed at the fact that this stupid, mediocrity of a female is so often on television. I used to think it was because she was Chris Matthews’ comical sidekick. Now even he is making fun of her stupidity. I don’t feel sad for her. I feel sad for anyone that thinks she’s worth reading or listening to. I came across this looking for something else or else I wouldn’t bother. Honestly I just dislike her so much I love showing what a pinhead she is.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Lol, don’t you just hate it when you have to agree with people like that? But hey, truth manages to spill out from unlikely sources sometimes, I reckon. Thanks for this!

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Isn’t it amazing how often people show you exactly who they are and don’t even know it?

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    Morning outrage:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Perfect – that really says it all, doesn’t it? I mention this issue some in the upcoming Weekend Open Thread – I may have to steal this to add it in! 🙂

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Please do. Dana Summers cartoons are awesome! The thing I find with conservative cartoonists, for the most part, is that they tell a POV in their cartoons. Many are little articles all in one small cartoon with few words. Liberal cartoonists on the other hand, for the most part, just name call and show nasty images of elephants, conservatives in general and southerners in particular. Not funny, not clever and not worthy. I know because I make it a point to check out the competition so to speak. Being a cartoon aficionado I would be doing myself a disservice if I only sought out one point of view. Some on the left are just plain nuts. Luckavich comes to mind.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thanks! I added it – it fit right in!

          Excellent point, Marge. The constant barrage of ad hominem attacks from the Left is just tiresome, but unfortunately, that seems to have become the norm for most people now – attack the PERSON, not their policies. It is a lazy way of thinking, IMO, and reduces us down to a lower denominator. But that is how they roll…

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    I heard Kirsten Powers say on Special Report several times that although a majority of the country finds Hillary Clinton untrustworthy they still regard her as a strong leader. Which makes you understand why we have so much corruption in government. Voters think she’s not to be trusted but the trust her to lead? What kind of insanity is that?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, dang – that is perfect! And it is so telling that, even with ALL THE CRAP Hillary has pulled, people still will vote for her. Just because she is a woman and has a D after her name. It is astonishing, and indeed goes to show why we are in so much trouble…

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here’s an example of just how nasty and crazy liberal slimeball Mike Luckovich is. What has Donald Trump to do with the killing of Cecil the Lion? Yet Luckovich ties him to that. And RCP puts it in their “cartoons of the week”. A great way to smear someone when they haven’t done anything, at least in this instance, wrong.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, good grief. You said it – he has now tarnished Trump, conflating him with this current outrage, as if he had anything whatsoever to do with it. What a jackass.

Leave a Reply

