Now and Then, How We See Ourselves; And It COULDA Happened *Weekend Open Thread*

by

And now it is time for our break from the craziness that is our current climate in this country. Well, almost a break, but only because one of the pieces below is funny as hell (in my opinion, that is).

But first up is a beautiful piece a friend shared on Facebook. Photographer Tom Hussey took a collection of older people as they are now, and how they see themselves in the mirror. He was inspired from a conversation he had with an older man, according to Trendingly, which is from where the photos below come. Enjoy:

null

null

null

null

null

Aren’t these just amazing? They really hit the nail on the head of how so many of us think of ourselves in our head.

There are more of these stunning, powerful, beautiful photographs, and you can see the rest by clicking HERE. Tom Hussey absolutely nailed it, I think.

And now for some much needed comic relief, I have to share this hilarious parody by Funny or Die ia Chicks On The Right (h/t Gina):

Abraham Trump’s Gettysburg Address

Thanks. What an incredible crowd. They tell me this is the biggest crowd in the history of the North.

A while back some founders got together. And I mean they were good people but they really didn’t know anything about building a country. C’mon, you know, let’s face facts. Franklin with his little glasses and Washington with those horrible dentures — it was a nightmare. They didn’t know what the hell they were doing.

So then everyone comes to me and they say, “Please help us we’re in this terrible mess.” And believe me I knew this was gonna happen because our leaders were a total disaster who didn’t have a clue how to negotiate. Not the first clue, OK. It’s crazy. And I knew em all. Millard Filmore? The guy was a trainwreck. Franklin Pierce? A complete moron. Moron. And then James Buchanan they say dressed up like a woman if you can even believe it. I could tell you stories.

I mean they’re useless but I did business with ’em because I’m a businessman. It’s what I do. I traded cotton. I traded tobacco. I built the biggest plantations in the world. In fact I’ll tell you a story. Jefferson Davis came to me and begged me — begged me to live on a beautiful plantation that I had built in Mississippi. And it was beautiful, everything top notch and luxurious. I mean not the slave cabins ’cause they’re built for slaves. But everything was great and he’s pleading with me and what am I gonna say, “No”? So I sold it to him for an unbelievable profit. Largest profit ever made on a plantation sale. Hundreds of dollars in profit all pre-Confederate, which two centuries from now will be worth around $10 billion if maybe I decide to leave any to my kids. Who knows. We’ll see. And I say that not to brag just to give you an idea what’s what.

And by the way the slaves love me. Love me. The food portions. The amount of sleep. They’re nuts about me. If they end up freed when this is all over I will win the slave vote.

Anyway our politicians are the worst, they’re total failures and they didn’t let the South go bye bye and so I pick up the paper today and I read Salmon Chase may run against me in ’64! This idiot is in my own cabinet. And I like my cabinet, most of them have terrible beards but they’re OK. They follow orders. First of all what kind of name is Salmon? Should be a harpooneer on a whaling ship with a name like that. So I thought to myself, Salmon Chase, isn’t he the guy who night and day pleaded for a job with me after I kicked his ass at the convention in 1860? It was. I even found his telegraph number, give it a try see if it works. Dot dot dash dash dash dot dash dot dot dot dash.

And I can just hear the papers: “Abraham’s attacking again. He’s saying terrible things.” No. I say what I say because I’m honest. And I’m actually doing my job. Not like those nitwits in Washington. I mean I’m out here opening a cemetery for Christ sake! And as I look at this place I’m thinking, “How could there have been so many casualties?” There’s rocks and orchards all around, if I had the time I’d develop the property, but you can’t tell me that if you call yourself a soldier and you hear a shell or something coming you couldn’t have found a place to hide. And incidentally, so what, now Meade is some kind of a great general because he defeated Pickett’s charge? You’re up on a ridge with all your cannons and everything and the other army is walking right toward you. I mean they’re literally walking. Who couldn’t win that!

The point is I’m up all hours saving the Union and then here we are in this cemetery and I’m supposed to do what? Honor the dead? They’re dead. They’re losers. How are we in debt to them? I hate to tell you, but I like the guys who didn’t die. I’ll honor some of them.

And speaking of honoring, they want me to wrap up so they can honor me at a dinner. I’m so in demand it’s insanity half the time. All I’m telling you is if you’re living everything is for you.

Tell me the Long Brothers did not NAIL it with this parody! I thought it was funny. Suzy and I both were in stitches about the phone number (“dot dot dash dash dash…”). Hope you enjoyed it as well.

That’s it for me. What’s on your minds? This is the Weekend Open Thread.

41 Responses to “Now and Then, How We See Ourselves; And It COULDA Happened *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    White Privilege = being held responsible for the acts of your ancestors by those who accept no responsibility for the acts of their children. ~ Alice Teller

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    When walking, tottering, towards a store from the parking lot I often see this gray-haired old lady. When I realize that it’s me the shock is horrible. And the funny thing is it will happen again and again. Maybe because I tend to stay away from mirrors as much as possible at home. Just enough to put on what little makeup I wear these days and to fix my hair. In my mind I’m middle-aged but strong. In my mirror, not so much.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Love the photo – yes, that is exactly what it is like!

      And I hear you abt the mirrors, too. When I see myself, I think how much I look like my mom and her mother before her. That is not a bad thing, IMO, but yeah – definitely not the 30-something I am in my head!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        The funny thing is that all my life I’ve been told how much I looked like my Irish Grandma Jenny, my dad’s mother who died when he was a boy. I had her red hair and green eyes and her very fair complexion.

        Now that the hair is no longer red and I’ve so much older, because Grandma Jenny didn’t live to get old, it’s plain that I look more like my mother’s mother, my Danish Grandma Hattie.

        Something none of us ever thought was that I was more Dane than Irish. Makes me wonder if I was “acting” out the wild Irish child Jenny had been reported to be. Maybe “living” up to her made me look more like her.

        If the truth be told I could never have lived up to my Grandma Hattie who was the nearest thing to a Saint I have ever known.

        Just funny observations now that I have time to think about them.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Isn’t that interesting?! You paint such a great picture with your descriptions, Marge.

          I totally get that abt realizing later on who you really favor. Growing up, I was always told I looked like my grandmother, and I do. But everyone always said my sister looked like my mom. Well, now that I am older, EVERYONE tells me how much I look like Mom every time they see me.

          To prove a point, in the photo below, I am on the left (I was in “Brigadoon” in college), and on the right is a painting done of my grandmother when she was abt the same age I was at that time:

          Amy & Malta003

          Wild, right?

          Anyway, would love to hear more abt your grandmother. And I am sorry that your Grandmother Jenny was lost too soon…

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      Happens to me too Marge 😆

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Funny when the stranger in the store window is yourself isn’t it? I don’t look like that from this side and I’ll bet you don’t either.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Do you think these two care what color the cop is who has their back?

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Scott Walker defends Ted Cruz after Boehner ‘jackass’ comment

    http://www.cnn.com/2015/08/28/politics/ted-cruz-scott-walker-john-boehner-jackass/index.html

    I don’t believe my Gov has a chance, if you can’t get your message out and the people don’t know you how can you win? Media spends most of it’s time with Clinton and Trump with snippets of Bush and Biden thrown in.

    But I still think he’s one of the few real “class” acts in the race. And I would love to vote for him again.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I saw that Walker defended Cruz. I thought that said as much abt him as it did abt Boehner for making such an assholic comment. Good for Walker for doing what is right.

      Unfortunately, I fear you are right. It is hard for someone who is steady and serious to make a name when a carnival barker is around…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I read this morning that Huckabee did too. I wish Huckabee had just stayed with his television show. He had some interesting things on.

        He hasn’t a chance to win and he never did – why run?

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Good question, Marge. I don’t know why he decided to run, either. Seems to me he had a pretty good gig going. And Gov. Gilmore – really? I am sure he is a lovely man, but NO ONE is paying any attention to him. Heck, many people have no idea who he is. I lived in VA for a while, so I am familiar, but still. (And speaking of, how did a man from Syracuse, NY, Terry McAuliffe, become the Governor of VA?? That just boggles the mind…)

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    WATCH: Jimmy Kimmel Audience Cheers Poll That Calls Hillary a ‘Liar’

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/cortneyobrien/2015/08/28/watch-jimmy-kimmel-audience-cheers-poll-that-calls-hillary-a-liar-n2045001

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    UPDATE:

    Latest on Houston deputy: Suspect charged with murder

    http://townhall.com/news/politics-elections/2015/08/29/the-latest-on-houston-deputy-hunt-for-suspect-continues-n2045424

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I hope they throw the book at him for this assassination. Good for his mother for doing the right thing and turning him in.

      My thoughts and prayers are with this deputy sheriff’s family and department during this painful, terrible, senseless time.

      Btw, did you see that Flanagan/Williams aligned himself with the terrorists who took down the WTC? In that case, is this not Domestic Terrorism? Oh, no, wait – they have already declared it “workplace violence,” so it can’t be anything else like a hate crime or terrorism. Here’s the link: http://www.rt.com/usa/313718-virginia-journalists-death-homicide/

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    ‘Pendulum Factor’ could land Trump in White House

    By Michael Goodwin

    An explanation: I call it the Pendulum Factor.

    It reflects the fact that the legacy of each president includes the political climate he leaves behind. In plain English, Barack Obama’s most ­important failures as a leader begat Donald Trump’s success.

    A favorable legacy among voters generally means the public wants more of the same in the next president. The clearest example is that Vice President George H.W. Bush succeeded Ronald Reagan in 1988, an election widely regarded as Reagan’s third term.

    On the other hand, George W. Bush narrowly defeated Vice President Al Gore in 2000, a disputed election that was nonetheless seen as a repudiation of the scandal-scarred Bill Clinton era.

    The pendulum swung back again when Obama followed Bush, who left office with wars in Iraq and ­Afghanistan unsettled and the economy cratering and jobs vanishing.

    With Obama’s poll numbers ­underwater, the country wants change again. And Trump is the ultimate Un-Obama candidate, especially in style and attitude.

    http://nypost.com/2015/08/29/pendulum-factor-could-land-trump-in-white-house/

    Notice that Goodwin also mentions the ways in which Obama and Trump are alike:

    “ Both have thin skins and zero patience for dissent. Obama tries to govern through executive orders and it’s easy to envision a President Trump doing the same. A supporter calls Trump the Obama for the right.”

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, please no. And if they consider him the “Obama for the Right,” that says everything abt THEM, doesn’t it?? Wow. Just wow.

      I saw that he is planning an announcement for tomorrow, presumably abt the Third Party thing. It occurred to me that if he chooses the Third Party route, he won’t be in any more of the Rep. debates, right? That could only be a GOOD thing since we wouldn’t have to listen to him bloviate, and it would give more space for the serious candidates.

      Btw, someone for whom I used to have respect put up a Breitbart article abt how Megyn Kelly has shown herself to be a partisan journalist, how much her interaction with Trump has tainted her reputation, blah, blah, blah. Please. That narrow mindset and seeing the world through fractured glass is just illogical and nothing more than ideology. I am so sick of people twisting facts and situations to suit their particular beliefs. This past 7 yrs has been WAY too much of that, and it now seems to be ingrained…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        No Award: The Hugo Awards and the Nihilism of the Cultural Left

        http://thefederalist.com/2015/08/28/no-award-the-hugo-awards-and-the-nihilism-of-the-cultural-left/

        I found this article from the Federalist very interesting. Perhaps because I am and always have been a Sci-Fi fan. My love of Sci-Fi began with Andre books and has continues to this days come 65 years later. (I still think Norton was a genius and reread some of her books when I was recovering from surgery a while back. They stand, at least for me, the test of time. My second favorite writer back then was Robert Heinlein. Something tells me he would not be a favorite with the left these days.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I think we’re seeing the “pendulum” effect Goodwin was talking about. I think we are also seeing that the right and it’s Trumpites are no better than the left and their Obots.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          It is astonishing to me that they would rather have NO awards than the awards going to someone whose work is good, but with whom they disagree ideologically. We can thank all those “Trigger” people for this lunacy, no doubt.

          And I agree – I think we are seeing the “pendulum” swing back, only the person the Trumpettes have chosen to represent them is more troubling indeed. (A dear friend had on Facebook that she “used to think Trump was arrogant and smart.” Now she just “thinks he arrogant.” No kidding…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            The poll that had the word that first came to mind for Hillary was : liar also had the first word that came to mind for Trump: arrogant. So your friend is definitely in the majority.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Academia and it’s “trigger warnings” to a tee.

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Very funny and very sad because it’s so true.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFL – that is fantastic! He really nails it on the head. Thanks for the laugh!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        You’re most welcome. I needed a laugh too. In this world of Clinton corruption and Trump braggadocio I’ll take any laugh I can get.

        I find I am doing a lot more reading these days. Why bother with television it’s all Trump or Clinton all the time. Boring.

        So I read. And my blood pressure goes down. It’s amazing how that works.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I totally hear you. I am watching HGTV now and having a much better time of it after Maria Bartilaroma managed to find a way to compliment Trump’s idiotic tax plan that sounds more like Bernie than a Rep.

          It is kinda funny to me that all the Trumpbots are refusing to watch Fox after what they claim was a light by Megyn against him for asking a real question since they talk abt him – mostly positively – ALL THE TIME.

          Ugh. Yep, reading is good…

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Now I am turning to baseball since my Yankees are playing Suzy’s Braves (in all honesty, the Braves are my fave NL team, but the Yanks have precedence!).

          So many great shows on HGTV. And I love a lot of the Alaska shows. Such a phenomenal place. Just breathtaking…

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    The Obama-Generated Hissy Fit

    “American democracy has historically relied on three basic constraints: a shared commitment to the primacy of the constitutional process over any political agenda, the general necessity to achieve bipartisan support to make significant policy changes, and the natural desire of leaders to be popular by delivering peace and prosperity. Mr. Obama has transformed America by refusing to accept these constraints.”

    http://townhall.com/columnists/brucebialosky/2015/08/30/the-obamagenerated-hissy-fit-n2044979/page/full

    Good Article! I liked it because it mostly slammed the people I don’t like. Starting with Obama. And his put down of Trump is perfect:

    ” Do we really want another egotistical know-it-all who has a messianic complex running our country? The one we have now is not enough? “

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is a good article. Thanks for that – and no kidding abt people not having had enough of an egotistical man with a messiah complex already?! That is what I don’t get. People. Wow.

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This article from The Federalist makes a great point – talking trash isn’t talking straight: http://thefederalist.com/2015/08/31/donald-trump-is-no-straight-talker

Leave a Reply

