A Good Veterans Day To Those Who Served*Open Thread*

by

It seems appropriate to begin this Veterans Day Post with the following speech from President Ronald Reagan, and the pledge of a soldier who gave his life for this country:

Indeed, we are Americans. And we honor those who are willing to put on the uniform of one of our branches of the military.

I might add, and we honor their families too, who have served along with them. I know there are many here who have had family members who served. And there is no doubt that those who have served, and do serve, could not/cannot do so without the support of their families in a host of ways. So thank you to the families of veterans and active service members across the world.

That said, one day is simply insufficient to thank the veterans of this great nation for all they do to protect us, to protect our allies, to protect our rights and our freedom. We as a nation should do more for them than we do, beginning with completely revamping the entire Veterans Administration. At this point, the VA fails too many of our wounded warriors too often, and that simply cannot stand.

Heck, even a Democrat and former Representative is claiming Obama needs to do more than “pay lip service to veterans.” From The Hill:

Former Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-R.I.) is challenging President Obama’s handling of veterans and their mental health struggles.

“Frankly, we’re coming up on Veterans Day and the president of the United States ought to pay more than lip service to veterans,” he said on MSNBC’s “Weekends with Alex Witt” last Saturday.

“Half of veterans are going to be covered by their employer-sponsored healthcare, which means that if the president wants to stand with veterans who are suffering from traumatic brain injuries and post-traumatic stress, he needs to ensure that the private insurance companies out there actually cover traumatic brain injuries and post-traumatic stress,” Kennedy added.
“That’s the best way on this Veterans Day for this president to stand with veterans,” he said. “We have the authority to enforce this.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

I couldn’t have said it better myself. Yes, President Obama DOES need to do more than just talk about helping veterans and actually work to DO something for them. It isn’t rocket science, after all. We can do it. And we SHOULD do it. Frankly, it is the least we can do for those who are willing to put on the uniform of the United States.

And speaking of those who put on the uniform, a dear old friend shared with me a cool photo of a US Coast Guard Sand Pounder from WWII, something I had not heard of before. Here is the photo and accompanying information:

Isn’t that something? It is an incredible photograph all by itself, but the history is pretty neat, too!

On this Veterans Day, may we remember all those who have served our Great Nation, those who were willing to put their lives on the line for us, and for those who gave the ultimate sacrifice:

My deepest thanks to all of our veterans. Thank you for your courage, your bravery, your sacrifice, and your time. I cannot even fathom where this country would be without you.

Thank you.

This is an Open Thread.

Tags: , , ,

18 Responses to “A Good Veterans Day To Those Who Served*Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    First act this morning for me, as on every Veterans Day, was putting my flag in the holder beside my front door. I cannot honor them or their service enough but I “like” doing something. And I always love showing the flag.

    • foxyladi14 Says:

      Love it Marge Thanks.
      I wish we had more Heroes. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Love this cartoon. This says it all.

      And good on you for putting out your flag, Marge! These days, that is no small thing!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        For me, since the operation I have a great deal of difficulty raising my arms higher than my shoulders. That makes putting my flag up a bit of a problem. Lou offered to lower the holder and I said no. I don’t want it to be easy to fly my flag. If I have to “work” at it then it makes it mean more to me. If that makes any sense to anyone except me.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Marge, I totally understand that. It says so much abt you, and all of it good.

          That said, I am sorry you have trouble raising your arms. I imagine that is aggravating on a host of levels, not just on occasions like this…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            It’s annoying but when you consider what others have to contend with it’s hardly worth mentioning. I probably shouldn’t have. I’m not some kind of a martyr or anything, I just found it more meaningful and didn’t want Lou to make it easier for me. He often wants to do that. About darn near everything. Yet he understands my fierce independent streak and lets me have my way even when it worries him. When it becomes too much of a problem I’ll let him put the flag holder lower. For now it’s just right for me.

            • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

              Marge, I get how you feel exactly, and I am glad you mentioned it. I totally understand abt that independent streak, believe you me, as well as Lou’s wanting to make it easier for you. What a sweet guy! I imagine you will be ready when you are ready, but until then, I get the importance of wanting to leave it right where it is…

              Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A Facebook friend shared this excellent piece by Ruth Marcus of WaPo, “College Is Not For Coddling.” https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/college-is-not-for-coddling/2015/11/10/6def5706-87db-11e5-be39-0034bb576eee_story.html

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I saw that on RCP and didn’t bother to read it because Ruth Marcus is, IMO, a liberal nitwit most of the time. I’ll have to read this and see if she changes my mind.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Below the Ruth Marcus story was a link to a Kathleen Parker column called “The Swaddled Generation”. It’s worth reading too.

      I especially liked the two paragraphs I’ve posted below. Maybe because they offer some hope.

      Last week, Purdue University followed the University of Chicago’s lead in January by issuing a statement of principles of free expression. Both guarantee “the broadest possible latitude to speak, write, listen, challenge, and learn. . . . It is not the proper role of the university to attempt to shield individuals from ideas and opinions they find unwelcome, disagreeable, or even deeply offensive.”

      Praising Chicago’s example, Purdue President Mitch Daniels laid out the stakes in a telephone interview: “If universities want to embarrass themselves with their behavior, allowing people to be shouted down or disinvited, that’s their problem. But if they’re spawning a bunch of little authoritarians with an inverted view of our basic freedoms, that’s everybody’s problem.”

      https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/the-swaddled-generation/2015/05/19/162ea17a-fe6a-11e4-805c-c3f407e5a9e9_story.html

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I know, I was shocked too when I read it in WaPo, no less!

        Thanks for the link to the Parker piece. I’ll check it out, but those two paragraphs alone give me hope, I have to say. Thanks!

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Political Media Lament “Dryness” of Fox Business Republican Presidential Debate

    Not the “clown show” they were hoping for

    Early headlines focused mainly on who won, who lost, and Kasich managed to do the unthinkable — he united the Republican base who overwhelmingly agree he’s the most annoying candidate in the history of candidates ever.

    The biggest winner of this debate was Fox Business. But it’s sad we get excited when a debate is treated like well, a debate, and not a road-side clown show.

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2015/11/political-media-lament-dryness-of-fox-business-republican-presidential-debate/

  5. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2015/11/how_america_failed_to_keep_the_republic.html

    How America failed to keep the republic.

    a must read article

    made me think, the next president will most likely appoint 2 supreme court justices. I want Ted Cruz to be the one appointing them, rather than Hillary Clinton

Leave a Reply

