Just Sitting Around *Weekend Open Thread* UPDATED

by

Update at the end of the post.

Not that many of us have the time to do that, though it wouldn’t be a bad thing if we did. Mental breaks are a good thing, especially with this week of continued terror attacks at the hands of radical Islamist extremists, our President targeting Republicans instead of said terrorists, infantile students running our universities, and so much more going on in the country, not to mention the world.

Not that I wish to minimize the impact on families directly affected by these terror attacks, be they in Paris, or Egypt, or Mali. Mot at all. But sometimes you just need to change the channel to something good, do something fun like play cards, or video games, go to a movie, take a walk, pet your furry family members (I refer to cats, dogs, and the like, just to be clear!), or watch something funny lest the pain, dismay, anger, or frustration become too much.

And so, for this Weekend Open Thread, I want to share some fun things with you to provide a break, a respite, from the horrors, the craziness, and the mind-boggling attitudes of entitled students we are seeing these days.

So let’s get to some mental health breaks for the weekend. Check out these Chow Chow puppies jockeying for position:

Ahahaha, aren’t they so cute?? A friend had that up at Facebook, and I just had to share it. Adorable!

I came across this hilarious parody of a Beach Boys song via HuffPo. It totally cracked me up, and I hope it does you, too:

I think my favorite was the blonde flight attendant twirling her hair. So funny! And the pilot did an excellent job, I have to say. People can be so clever, can’t they?

To pair some dancing with that singing, check out this absolutely BRILLIANT mash-up of old dances and the hit, “Uptown Funk”:

Isn’t that just incredible? So many iconic dances represented there, with so many stars who were doing all the cool moves long ago. Heck, they were doing them long before some of these young whippersnappers who think they invented them were even a glimmer in their parents’ eyes. What a fun, toe-tapping video. It made me smile from beginning to end.

I want to conclude with a touching story of compassion from a doctor for her terminally ill patient, and a wish fulfilled. From Little Things:

In her 70s and suffering from a terminal illness Terry Lee doesn’t have long to live. As a former horseback rider, her dying wish: to see a horse one last time. Terry has no family ,and with limited time her doctor, Dr. Elizabeth Mann, Fellow, Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine at Mount Sinai Health System, felt moved to fill this request for her patient.

Mann told us, “She had no idea it (a miniature therapy horse) would be in her hospital room, but being able to be with a horse again was something that was really important to her, and so I wanted to make that happen for her.”

To make Lee’s wish come true, Dr. Mann reached out to Gentle Carousel Miniature Therapy Horses, and like magic, her request was granted with a horse named “Magic.”

“There’s a lot of things we can’t do in medicine, we can’t fix every single problem, but we can provide some happiness to our patients,” said Mann. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Now you know how I love Gentle Carousel and all the tremendous work they do for veterans, children, those who have suffered through tragedies, and those who are are in hospitals, assisted living facilities, and nursing homes. There is a video in the article of the meeting between Terry Lee and Magic you can see here. What a moment of grace and joy for this woman, and what a gift from her doctor to call in some Magic…

That’s it for me. This is your Weekend Open Thread, so feel free to share whatever is on your minds!

UPDATE: Gentle Carousel had the following update about Terry today on Facebook:

We wanted to let our Facebook friends, who have been keeping Terry in their thoughts and prayers, know that she passed away last night. Terry was a lifelong equestrian who wanted to be with a horse one last time. Thanks to her wonderful doctor and the staff at Mount Sinai Beth Israel Hospital in NYC, therapy horse Magic was able to grant her last request this past Tuesday in the ICU.

“I never saw Terry as animated or full of life as she was during her visit with Magic. She said it herself at the end of the visit: “my heart is bounding out of my chest”. – Dr. Elizabeth Mann

Here is a photo of Terry getting her wish fulfilled with Magic:

null

Thank heavens Terry was able to have her last wish fulfilled. May she rest in peace…

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “Just Sitting Around *Weekend Open Thread* UPDATED”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I’m in a baking mood today. The snow is coming down like crazy even thought it’s 35 degrees and it was raining just a short time ago. What I think is pretty around Christmas stinks before Thanksgiving.

    I made a double batch of sugar cookies, some little round steaks for a lunch for Lou of steak, baked potato and salad. I’ll have the potato and salad and then we both will have some strawberries with whipped topping. Yummy.

    Cooking is a bit of a challenge today because I’m wearing an eyepatch. I was making lunch yesterday, you should understand that since Lou works 2nd shift our “dinner” is at noon, anyway, I was making ham steak, American fries with onion and butter beans yesterday and when I dropped the sliced potatoes into the sizzling onions a splash of hot oil hit me in the eye. Not the eyelid, the eye. I immediately washed it out with cold water but it is still painful and unless covered waters continuously and the nose runs too. Yuck. But once I put on the eyepatch, Lou had one from some injury at work, imagine a piece of frozen hamburger in your eye – talk about yuck. Anyway the eye feels much better, doesn’t water so long as I keep the eyepatch on. But of course that means I have no depth perception. As I say, cooking is a challenge as is walking and I’m afraid to go down in the basement to do laundry. Lou offered but I’m “funny” about laundry – I don’t like someone else doing it. Don’t know why but I’ve always been like that.

    Fortunately I can still read, don’t need depth perception for that, so that’s what I plan on doing most of the day. I’ve started rereading the “Wheel of Time” series and that should keep me busy until New Years.

    Well, there’s probably more about me and my life than you wanted to know. Hope your weather is better than ours although inside, with the oven going it’s not really all that bad. I just put some sweet potatoes in the oven, cubed and sprinkled with Splenda and cinnamon which is how I like them, and the smell is heaven.

    We did our grocery shopping yesterday and so we don’t need to go out on the streets which when I hate bad weather. What’s “cooking” with you nice people.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I love hearing abt your life, Marge! And I was wondering if you were getting snow today. I heard the weather guy mention it this morning, but missed the map. I had a feeling that it was around where you are, though. Snow before Thanksgiving – WOW.

      HOLY MOLEY abt the hot oil flying into your eye! Bless your heart! Of COURSE that would affect your depth perception! Yikes, that must have hurt so badly. Hopefully, it will get better soon.

      The sugar cookies and sweet potatoes sound delicious! I love sweet potatoes – so tasty!!

      Amazing how much you are getting done considering the eye thing. Well, except for laundry. Maybe Lou can just carry it down for you and you can just make sure you get yourself down safe and sound! 🙂

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Didn’t think I’d leave without dropping off a cartoon didya?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      It is ironic, isn’t it, that Obama made fun of Reps for being afraid of women when one of the suicide bombers in Paris was a WOMAN?! What a piece of work.

      Great ‘toon!!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        We keep hearing about how “smart” he is and yet he says the stupidest things. Lucky for him that the LSM doesn’t pounce on every thing he says like they do to a Republican. Which means all the GOP candidates have to be twice as careful and twice as smart. Which is kind of a low bar for them. Then again when the LSM makes a big deal about Rubio taking a drink of water the GOP hasn’t a chance.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Carson loses his hold on Iowa’s conservatives

    Worried about security, these voters are shifting toward Ted Cruz.

    http://www.politico.com/story/2015/11/ben-carson-ted-cruz-iowa-conservatives-216124#ixzz3s9WecMcf

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      This doesn’t surprise me. I can see Cruz rising more. He is so smart, and has such a great legal background, that his qualifications put him in better stead to run the country than the affable Carson…

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here’s an Obama cartoon from Australia – nice to know POTUS is a laughing stock.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    I just got some great news and I wanted to share. You may or may not remember that after my surgery I wanted desperately to get a dog. But I had to wait until I was well enough to take care of one. I believe that time has come.

    Yesterday Lou mentioned that I was going to look for a dog when he was talking to his sister on the phone. She told him that her daughter, his niece, Amy was dating a Veterinarian. People drop off dogs from time to time and don’t come back for them. He’s dedicated to finding homes for them if he possibly can.

    Lou’s sister called back this morning to tell us that Amy’s boyfriend, the nice vet, is going to be on the look out for a perfect dog for me. Small, short coat, older and house broke. And looking for someone who will love it 1/2 to death. Kathy told him about me and he says he’s going to make two “people” happy, one little dog and one little lady. So I am overjoyed! Now comes the hard part – waiting.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Marge, that is just FANTASTIC news! Good on Lou for mentioning it to Amy and getting this ball rolling for you. That is just amazing news. I am absolutely DELIGHTED for you!

      If you don’t want to wait too long, and if there is one in your area, many prisons have dog training programs for rescues. You get a dog who is well trained, and well behaved. Bonus! Just a thought.

      In the meantime, though, I hope you don’t have to wait too long. And most of all, I am so, so glad you feel ready to have a dog now. THAT is big news!!! 😀

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    The Veterans Site had this hilarious video up on Facebook. Marge, I thought of you – maybe this is the kind of dog you will get:

    AHAHAHAHAHAHA…

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A friend had this up at Facebook. The responses to Obama were fantastic: http://www.westernjournalism.com/obama-just-tried-to-defend-his-refugee-program-on-facebook-and-it-backfired-big-time/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      It doesn’t matter what the people want – Dems and Obama just go their own way and believe that sooner or later the public will come around. The public has not but that doesn’t matter either. They still go their own way. So long as the Democrat party is the party of Barack Obama, Hillary Clinton, Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid NO Democrat will ever get my vote again. POTUS has proven to be a liar, over and over again. A vote for any Democrat is a vote for him or ultimately that lying POS, Granny Clinton.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Okay, Bill Maher is just messing with me now. This Federalist piece reviews what he said abt Islamic values on Friday night: http://thefederalist.com/2015/11/21/bill-maher-blasts-liberals-for-believing-that-muslims-share-the-same-values/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      To find Bill Maher, whom I loathe and despise, and Ben Domenech, whom I respect and admire, agreeing makes my head hurt.

      I guess it does prove that there is always something that we can all agree about. Can we all agree that Maher is a jackass almost all the time?

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        LOL – yes, we can most definitely agree on that! That is why I am so shocked that Maher has been coming out on this more and more.

        And yeah – that kind of cognitive dissonance first thing in the morning is tough, huh? 🙂

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Three Media Lies About Syrian Refugees

    They’re not refugees.

    By Daniel Greenfield

    Thirty governors have come out against Obama’s policy of dumping Syrian migrants in their states. Some want more thorough vetting. Others have issued executive orders barring any further resettlement.

    In response to these common sense measures, Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton put on faces of mock moral outrage and the media is frantically spinning new lies about the migrants and national security.

    But it’s time we told the truth about what is really going on and exposed their three biggest lies.

    1 .The “Refugees” Are Not Fleeing Persecution, They’re Welfare Migrants

    Syria is in the middle of a religious war between Sunni and Shiite Muslims.

    But Sunni Muslims fleeing religious persecution can choose one of the many Sunni states in the region. Most Syrians have ended up in Jordan and Turkey, which are both Sunni countries. The Sunni Muslim countries are certainly not persecuting their fellow Sunnis. And neither country is run by ISIS.

    Likewise Shiite Muslims can find sanctuary in Shiite Iran or parts of Lebanon.

    The only authentic refugees are Christians and Yazidis who do not have a country to call their own in the region. Only these non-Muslim peoples can be considered refugees fleeing religious persecution.

    http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/260831/three-media-lies-about-syrian-refugees-daniel-greenfield

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is PRECISELY what Carly Fiorina has been saying, that they aren’t refugees, but that they are looking for better employment possibilities. That is FAR from the same thing. She said that gaining asylum in the USA is a very lengthy process and requires a good bit of documentation.

      And I could not agree more abt the Syrian Christians and the Yazidis. I mentioned that very thing at my Facebook page the other day when noting that only 53 Christians from Syria have been admitted. What did my Dem/Obamabot sister say? That ISIS has killed more Muslims than Christians. I said that was true insofar as there are more Muslims there than Christians anyway, but that the Christians have been TARGETED for persecution, and are being wiped out. THAT is a huge difference.

      Yet the Left, like my sister who goes to church regularly, say very, very little abt the persecution of Christians…

Leave a Reply

