As The Days Count Down, Holiday Gift Ideas For You *Weekend Open Thread*

by

As we near the end of Hanukkah, and with Christmas less than two weeks away now (!), do I ever have some great gift ideas for you. Hey, it is the Weekend Open Thread, and personally, after all of the revelations of this past week, and what seems to be obsessive-Trump-coverage (ugh, so sick of it), I know I can use a break. The Holiday Season provides just that opportunity, if you ask me.

And so, I want to give you a few gift options. The first comes via HuffPo, and is for those people on your list who prefer their furry family to their human family and friends:

  • Cassandra Berger/Society6
    Dogs Are Better Than People shower curtain, $68 , Society6
  • Project Social T/Urban Outfitters
    You Must Be Kitten Me T-shirt, $29, Urban Outfitters
  • TheShirtDen/Etsy
    I Just Want To Drink Wine, Save Animals And Take Naps T-shirt, $13.99 – $17.99, Etsy
  • The Animal Rescue Site
    A Cat’s World mug, $12.95, The Animal Rescue Site
  • Tipsy Elves/Dolls Kill
    Feliz Navidog Sweater, $65, Dolls Kill
  • The Animal Rescue Site
    Only Speaking To My Dog T-shirt, $19.95, The Animal Rescue Site
  • Atomic Market/Amazon
    I Work Hard So My Cat Can Have a Better Life mousepad, $11.99, Amazon

Aren’t those some GREAT ideas? And they have more, which you can see if you CLICK HERE.

But I am pretty sure those pale in comparison to the next suggestion I have for you. This is also from Huffington Post, and it is a hoot. Are you ready for this? Here it is: an album of Christmas Carols performed by – wait for it – GOATS. I am not making this up:

And then there is this rousing Christmas carol:

Isn’t that HILARIOUS?!?! I was laughing so hard I could barely stand it. It is all for a good cause, this album, as it helps those in poverty by the organization, Action Aid.

Oh, my – cracked me up…Anyway, so there are some gift ideas for the animal lovers in your circle. And you’re welcome! Ahaha…

Since this is still Hanukkah, another Hanukkah tune is in order. This one is amazing, especially since it is all a cappella:

Nice mash-up, right? Hanukkah comes to an end on the 14th, but the meaning behind it continues every day, for everyone – we are not alone.

And this weekend also brings us the Third Sunday in Advent. I leave you with this beautiful hymn, “Lo, He Comes With Clouds Descending,” performed by the choir of Lichfield Cathedral:

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. Feel free to share some of your favorite hymns, carols, or tunes, though no way can you top those goats. Teehee!

This is your Weekend Open Thread.

NOTE: I will be leaving for Grand Cayman very

Tags: , , ,

28 Responses to “As The Days Count Down, Holiday Gift Ideas For You *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Ha! I love the goats. Goats really are a lot of fun. I wouldn’t mind getting one for Christmas, but of course I have no where to put them 😉

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Aren’t they fantastic?? I love goats – we can’t have them where we live, but oh, my – I would love to have some pygmy goats running around like these:

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        At one time, some 30 years ago, we had 17 goats. It started with one Nubian nanny named Minnie that we bought because my son Joe was allergic to cow’s milk. The herd grew as you must keep breeding them to keep getting milk. After a while we even bought a Billy Goat, named him Stinky, because he was.

        I made goat’s milk cheese and ice cream often. It was hard work but we loved it. Was sad to see them all go when we moved into town. By then I was working with a fourth generation and Minnie was only a fond memory. Her daughter Jezebel was my favorite of all time. Jezzy loved beer and cigarettes. At that time, my kind of woman.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, how cool! I remember now that your son was allergic to cow’s milk. And what an amazing labor of love to get the goats, KEEP the goats, and make cheese/ice cream. Joe was lucky to have a mom like you, that’s for sure!

          ROTFL abt Jezebel – that is too funny, Marge! Goats really are so cool, so much personality. I know you hated to say good bye to them…

  2. helenk3 Says:

    some unexpected beautiful music

    http://hotair.com/archives/2015/12/11/video-baltimore-ravens-placekicker-splits-the-uprights-on-ave-maria/

  3. helenk3 Says:

    my grandchildren are grown up except the 11 year old grandson, so they get money for the holidays.
    11year old got soccer stuff.

    great grandsons.

    3year old—plush finger puppets of dinosuers

    8year old—magic set with hat, cape and cane. he is the ham

    9year old a game like chess but with lazers and mirrors.

    hoping they have fun with them

    best part ordered from Amazon and they ship it

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent! And yes, so great ordering things from Amazon. That is from where we got a bunch of our gifts, too. I have three boxes to take out to the mailbox, and one more set of gifts to wrap, then that’s it. Whew!

      I get the kids will love their thoughtful gifts, Helen!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    My favorite Tee shirt is “Feliz Navidog”, although they are all adorable.

  5. foxyladi14 Says:

    Great Tshirts Amy. 😀

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Who said it, Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump?

    http://freebeacon.com/blog/hillary-clinton-donald-trump/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Holy moley, Marge. Good for Free Beacon to put these all together. That is exactly what I keep saying, and why I am flummoxed that so many Reps are supporting Trump. Then again, I have had people say they don’t care what he said in the past, they trust him to do what he says he is going to do now (though he hasn’t said many specifics, if you ask me).
      Wow…

  7. helenk3 Says:

    can we take a minute to honor this man

    http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/261088/passing-gi-joe-peter-collier

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    The Half-Hearted Case for Rubio

    By P.J. O’Rourke

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/12/12/the-half-hearted-case-for-rubio.html

    Hysterical! But probably not to Rubio supporters.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      This is so spot on, Marge, and it is just incomprehensible to me that no matter what he says or does, he continues to have the same amt of support. WTH?!

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    What ISIS Really Wants? To Kill You

    Beating ISIS is exactly what it wants and other crazy media fantasies.

    Since 9/11, America has been plagued with a media industry churning out counterintuitive “What do the terrorists want” pieces. Sure you might think that the terrorists “want to kill you”. But profound media thinkers who know all about Islam without ever having read the Koran know that what the terrorists really want is for us to kill them. Every time we bombed them, we were just “playing into their hands.”

    So far ISIS wants to be bombed, shot, kept out of America and Europe. And hated. It probably also doesn’t want to be invited to anyone’s birthday parties and enjoys calls from telemarketers.

    This masochistic Islamic State has some serious self-esteem issues. Or maybe it’s the leftists who claim to speak for it who do.

    http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/261089/what-isis-really-wants-kill-you-daniel-greenfield

    You keep thinking even the Left Stream Media can’t possibly think we’re stupid enough to believe this crap even if they are. Then you look at what nonsense their followers have swallowed before and know that they are counting on the stupidity of their folks.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, wow, what a great piece by Greenfield! Yes, either they really are that stupid, or they think we are. At least SOME of us aren’t, thank heavens, but I fear not enough…

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    You have just GOT to love Trey Gowdy. And this is another example of why this man should be the next AG: http://www.ijreview.com/2015/12/492206-dhs-official-gets-blindsided-by-trey-gowdy-and-her-response-will-make-you-say-dammnnn

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I’d like Trey to ask that question of all the government officials, including POTUS that same question. Because until he asked it I had seen the issue in that way.

      I knew there were mistakes made but I had no idea that due process was not observed.

      More and more we are seeing that those who tell us we are a “Nation of Laws” are not telling us the truth.

      No fly lists seem to be one example, which I didn’t know, and of course the very existence of “Sanctuary Cities” gives lie to any claim of being a “Nation of Laws”.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Amen to that, Marge. I would like for all those agencies to have to face Trey Gowdy and his questioning. Wouldn’t that be something?

        “Nation of Laws” does seem to be a thing of the past, doesn’t it? I think Sanctuary Cities are a good place to start to get us back to what we SHOULD be…

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    And on a much happier note, check out this amazing version of “Angels We Have Heard On High” by the Piano Guys:

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    Need proof John Kerry is an idiot? Here ya go…

    ‘Most powerful weapon’: John Kerry urges ‘public shaming’ to enforce new climate agreement

    http://twitchy.com/2015/12/13/most-powerful-weapon-john-kerry-urges-public-shaming-to-enforce-new-climate-agreement/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am literally SMH at this, Marge. Wow. Just freakin’ wow. How in the world this man ended up SoS is beyond me, except no doubt it was so me kind of payback.

      What a piece of work…

Leave a Reply

