Can’t Take Any More, Can’t Take A Joke, and Watching What We Say *Open Thread*

by

I don’t know about you, but it seems to me that Fox News has been giving a TON of time to All Things Trump. That is to say, I think it has gotten worse than before when I thought it couldn’t get any worse. Well, it has. I have had to change the channel a number of times because I am so sick of them having him on, showing his rallies, talking to him on the phone, or asking other candidates about him. I am sick to death of the drumbeat of them shoving him down our throats.

But it seems that as bad as I think Fox is, there are other networks that are even worse. Seriously. My head would explode with any more Trump. The Federalist has this story and why they do it:

[…] But if we’re saying the conservative entertainment media types are hurting the Republican Party by covering Trump so much. What does that say about the rest of the media? There was one survey that showed in previous month, CNN covered Trump three times as much as all other candidates combined during a 1-week period. Another study showed that CNN and MSNBC covered Trump three times as much as FOX News. So if FOX News is hurting the Republican Party by covering Trump, what is CNN doing, what is MSNBC doing? […] (Click here to read the rest.)

THREE TIMES AS MUCH AS FOX? Are you KIDDING me with that?? Trump must be on ALL the time then. Perhaps their point IS to try and hurt the Republican Party. Heaven knows, I wouldn’t put it past CNN and MSNBC one bit. But it begs the question why Fox does it.

To that point, Governor Sununu just called out Bill Hemmer on that on “America’s Newsroom” by telling him that other candidates are talking about ISIS, that other candidates are drawing big crowds, and more, but they only show Trump. No. Freakin’. Kidding. Why? That’s the big question, especially with the caucuses and primaries about to start, the media has a lot for which to answer.

Which leads me to my next topic. That would be the “Tweet Heard ‘Round The World” by Carly Fiorina. When I heard what the Tweet was, I was sure it was a joke. Well, that has been confirmed by the person who Tweeted it, Carly Fiorina. From The Hill:

[…] “Can’t a girl have a little fun?” Fiorina asked on CNN’s “State of the Union.” “That was a tongue-in-cheek tweet, which the people of Iowa understand, because I was asked over and over again in Iowa, having attended a Hawkeye tailgate.”

“They knew that my heart was torn, that I had said something really controversial, like, you know, ‘ISIS is a JV team,’ or, ‘This demonstration was a result of a video,’ ” she said, referring to comments made by President Obama and Democratic primary front-runner Hillary Clinton, respectively.

After Fiorina’s tweet, the University of Iowa was promptly trounced by Stanford, prompting social media users to start a “#CarlyCurse” hashtag.

“Let’s just say, if the biggest mistake I make is a tongue-in-cheek tweet about a Rose Bowl, the American people will sleep safely when I’m president of the United States,” she said.

“I guess it was a slow news day for the media.” (Click here to read the rest.)

Again, no kidding. That they made SO much hay out of this Tweet that was clearly a joke is astonishing. And that they have made so little of the quotes that had to do with very serious issues speaks volumes.

UGH, I am so sick of the media. And not just because I am sick (I got slammed with a cold over the weekend).

The media also tried to mislead on comments made by Dr. Ben Carson, and he once again pointed out the danger of “Political Correctness.” From The Hill:

Ben Carson said in an interview Sunday that fellow 2016 GOP presidential candidates should watch their comments on the campaign trail, adding, however, that they should not be so concerned “about how offended our enemies are.”

“We should all be careful about what we say, but the fact of the matter is, let’s not get so concerned about how offended our enemies are,” Carson said on ABC’s “This Week. “And let’s pay a whole lot more attention to who we are and how do we protect our people here in the United States.”

Carson’s statement came after the retired pediatric neurosurgeon was asked about the comments of GOP front-runner Donald Trump, who called for a temporary ban on Muslims entering the U.S. That footage seen in a new recruitment video for al Shabaab, a Somali-based Islamic militant group.
Carson, for his part, has questioned whether a Muslim should be president.

“I question whether a Muslim who wants Sharia law can be a president,” Carson said Sunday. “It’s not consistent with our Constitution. There’s no backing away from that. And the fact of the matter is, political correctness will destroy us if we don’t wake up.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

That is a VERY different statement than what was ascribed to Carson as indicatedeven in the body of this article. A Muslim who supports SHARIA LAW and wants to impose it on this nation is not the same as a moderate Muslim like, say, Dr. Zudhi Jasser. Would any one of us want a Muslim President who wanted to impose Sharia Law? No! So why is this such an outlandish statement, according to the media?? (Not for nothing, but this Political Scientist claims Islam in general is “incompatible with the founding of America…”)

And while I am on the Political Correctness thing for a moment, Robert Tracinski had a great piece about it in The Federalist, “The Year The PC Chickens Came Home To Roost.

Meanwhile, President Obama is getting ready to do yet another end-run around Congress on the Second Amendment all while things are blowing up in Saudi Arabia with Iran. As always, Obama continues to push his ideology while all hell breaks loose. One more year, just one more year…

This is an Open Thread.

30 Responses to “Can’t Take Any More, Can’t Take A Joke, and Watching What We Say *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Sorry about the cold Rev. Keep warm, take vitamin C and drink lots of green tea with honey. At least that works for me. Nothing cures it but the above makes me feel better. I also make sure to stay warm so a cold is a good excuse to curl up with my favorite fleece throw and a pile of books. If I doze off over my book it’s right where I left off when I wake up.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, Marge. I was supposed to go see an Ortho PA for my shoulders and my wrist ORTHo for afollow up this afternoon. I had been waiting for the first app’t for a month now, and HATED to let it go. But I felt like it would be wrong to go when I was sick, possibly infecting the PA, Ortho, staff, and others not to mention going out all afternoon when it has gotten cold. Add to that I would have to be driving a good bit since Suzy is heading up to the Boston area later on this afternoon. Canceling seemed like the only wise path to take…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Ouch, a double whammy! Both a miserable cold and missing an appointment you needed. Sometimes doing the “right” thing, which you did, should feel better shouldn’t it?

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          No kidding, huh? Especially since I couldn’t get another one for THREE MORE WEEKS. Ugh.

          And thanks, Marge. Honestly, I sure wish someone ELSE had made that same decision! I swear, I think I picked this up while at the doctor’s office last week. Ironic, huh?

          I should add, it doesn’t help when my large dog smacks me in the nose when I let him in a few minutes ago. I don’t think he broke it, but he sure clocked me one. Suzy said I have a bruise by my nose now. I am not surprised. He walloped me, as if my poor head needed THAT!

  2. piper Says:

    My opinion which is worth a plug nickel is that all the newsy stations were given the ‘message’ that they were to push ‘Trump’ on us shoving all the rest of the GOP candidates away from being the candidate who runs against Hillary who would unleash a ton of ads showing that he is unfit to lead given his dirty dealings and laundry. At some point, hopefully, people will wake up and see that Trump is a huge insulting gasbag who might be fun at a party but not as a long term partner.
    The media is loving that Trump is a bombastic ego with a story that can be reported time after time taking the focus off obama and his disastrous presidency.
    My story and I’m going to stick to it until the cows come home to my suburban home in downtown Wisconsin.

    Remember what happened in Missouri during Claire McC. re-election helping the weakest link, Aiken, win against the strongest GOP candidates who would probably have help Claire retire that year.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Well, your opinion is worth a lot to us here! 🙂

      I think you are right, Piper. I think they love Donald for the entertainment factor and as a way to make the RND look ridiculous. They don’t highlight anything people like Bernie Sanders say – like claiming he is a political outsider on his 25th anniversary in POLITICS – or hold Clinton accountable for her incessant lies. So putting Donald up against them just makes them look better, especially with the one-sided reporting.

      But Sununu was right – the other candidates have been saying the things Donald is saying now before he did, and with far more eloquence. Yet he gets ALL the air time. That led me yelling at the tee-vee this morning when he was bragging abt not really HAVING to run ads but doing so anyway. Of COURSE he doesn’t need to run them when he gets so much free air time. SHEESH!

      And not for nothing, I thought his ad was idiotic. IMO, that is.

      EXCELLENT point abt McCaskill!!!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    I usually DVR the “Fox News Report” on Sunday night and then fast forward to the “Political Insiders”. All I heard last night was Trump, Trump, Trump. I got disgusted and turned it off. It’s a wonder other candidates make an headway at all when for all intents and purposes Cruz is the only Republican being covered.

    I am moving more and more into the Cruz camp. I like the things he says. They aren’t always handy little sound bites like the media likes to use but they are often thought-provoking and headed in the direction I want to go.

    Washington depends on the American People Not Paying Attention ~ Ted Cruz

    I read that Trancinski article and thought it was great!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Yeah – I had to change the channel this morning. I have “Charmed” on in the background. I find these witchy sisters to be more credible than Trump OR Clinton, so there is that! AHAHA. And I’d much rather watch them than one more second of Trump, Trump, Trump. So. Sick. Of. Him.

      I can appreciate that abt Cruz. Many of my friends are Cruz supporters. I didn’t think he stood much of a chance because of how the MSM had/has depicted him, not to mention the Rep. PTB, but hey – if he can make headway, I will gladly support him. At least he is smart as hell and a Constitutionalist.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Since the media is close to rock bottom in credibility with a sizable majority of Americans, their attacks on Cruz may backfire.

        I post this whenever I can to remind people of the man who not only stood up to the CNBC libs posing as “moderators” but stood up for the others on the stage. That’s character IMO.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, NICE!! That is a good one, Marge!

          And I sure hope so. If he can get a word in edgewise over the incessant Trump Bandwagon, that is…

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Best A.F. Branco Cartoon of 2015 (Reader Poll)

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/01/best-a-f-branco-cartoon-of-2015-reader-poll/

    I voted but it was hard to pick just one!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, wow – those were some GREAT choices! I picked one, too, but I could easily have picked each one of those!

  5. piper Says:

    Amy,
    Follow Marge’s advice and add zinc and chicken soup which you can get homemade from a Chinese restaurant.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, if only there was a Chinese restaurant anywhere close to here! The closest one is 45 minutes away. 🙂 (I live on a rural barrier island near Charleston.) But good suggestion!

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    While the two parties are way too much alike in many ways, there are some differences that matter to me. A lot!

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Who says the Obama Administration doesn’t do any screening”

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Something else very important that Cruz said – and the media is more interested in the latest Trump, and Fiorina, tweet.

    There is a problem in Washington, and the problem is bigger than a continuing resolution. It is bigger than ObamaCare. It is even bigger than the budget. The most fundamental problem and the frustration is that the men and women in Washington aren’t listening. ~ Ted Cruz

    Honestly the whole Fiorina kerfuffle is silly.

    But, Carly is smart enough to have made damn sure her “joke” was not seen as pandering. Didn’t mind the “joke”, do mind the lack of attention to giving her enemies a chance to go after her. JMO

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Cruz is right – they aren’t listening. They could care less what we keep telling them, no matter how loudly we scream. If the major change in the Senate didn’t get through to them, I don’t know what will. Unless it is someone like a Prez. Cruz who stands up to people like McConnell, et al. SOMEONE has to do it since they clearly are not hearing us.

      Though a Trump is not the one to do it. He is all hot air out for himself, closer to the Clintons than he wants people to remember. I don’t trust him as far as I can throw him. Come to think of it, I don’t trust him at ALL…

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Well, hell – how could they not be given all the time and attention they get?? But yeah – I feel just like the folks pictured above…

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Illinois Considering Recall Election for Rahm Emanuel

    Calls for Chicago mayor, Rahm Emanuel, to resign have been increasing and include a call from Al Sharpton. Amid rumors that Emanuel’s office withheld the Laquan McDonald police video purposefully to boost his reelection chances, Illinois is now considering the possibility of a recall election.

    With Chicago, Illinois, and other prominent Democrats calling for Emanuel to resign and even The New Yorker writing about Emanuel’s “sudden but well-deserved fall,” it’s hard to see how he stays in office.

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/01/illinois-considering-recall-election-for-rahm-Emanuel/

    Experiencing massive Schadenfreude 😉

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I heard that a little while ago. Isn’t that something? Sure will be interesting to see what comes of this!

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hillary: I’m Not Lying, So The Benghazi Families Must Be

    Hillary Clinton, a confirmed liar who’s deeply distrusted by voters, claims that all four of these grieving relatives aren’t telling the truth about what she said to them on September 14 — back when the White House was still peddling the video myth in public. Indeed, Hillary included a heated reference to the film in her speech at the casket ceremony that day, in the context of discussing the broader upheaval across the region. Somebody is lying. Hillary asserts that it isn’t her, leaving only one, highly implausible option.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/guybenson/2016/01/04/hillary-im-not-lying-so-the-benghazi-families-must-be-n2099353

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      How very well I remember what she said to them THEN and what she is saying now. To call these families liars is so beyond the pale, it is despicable. Those families have had to suffer tremendously, first because their gov’t represented by Hillary apparently chose politics over their loved ones, and now Clinton is choosing politics over the truth. Abhorrent.

  13. piper Says:

    Oy vey – now feminists want to ban the word ‘foreign’

    “The “On the Record” host blasted the Women’s Media Center over a tweet calling for the word “foreign” to be banned in 2016.

    “That is about as nutty as it gets,” Van Susteren said. “Besides being just about the worst example of political correctness, it is incredibly dumb.”

    “It makes women look like a bunch of knuckleheads, focusing on irrelevant, the goofy and not the real issues,” she continued. “Like how women are treated under Sharia Law, by ISIS, or by human traffickers. Even issues like how to hold jobs, get child care, put food on the table for their kids. Those are real women’s issues.”

    Van Susteren asked how the group was even able to come up with such a proposal.

    “They should be ashamed for being so foolish. And frankly, I wish we could ban them for being stupid,” she concluded.”

    http://www.weaselzippers.us/249018-greta-rips-womens-group-who-wants-to-ban-use-of-word-foreign-because-of-usthem-implication/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Are you kidding me with this idiocy??? Really?? This is where we are now? WTH is wrong with these people? Good heavens, people in this country have lost their minds. Glad GRETA hasn’t, and put them in their place. WOW.

Leave a Reply

