S.E. Cupp Asks A Question About Trump I Want Answered, Too *Weekend Open Thread*

by

This is not my usual weekend fare, but this piece by S.E. Cupp was just too good to pass up. The title alone really says it all, “Why Do We Keep Debating Trump’s Dumb Ideas?

Why, indeed??

I simply do not understand why every time Trump says something, it becomes THE topic for days on end, repeated over and over again, with pundits weighing in on what inane comment Trump made THIS time, with too many now trying to act like his declarations are somehow logical or possible. Just astonishing.

And every time a candidate is lucky enough to actually get some air time instead of Trump, invariably the majority of the interview is getting their response to something Trump said (or so it seems, anyway). I assume they continue to play the game, even those who try not to answer at first, because they are thankful that just a little light is thrown their way for a change. It is aggravating as hell to those of us who actually care about the policies and platforms of the other candidates, a concept that seems to have been thrown out the window at this point.

My aggravations with this process were summed up beautifully by Cupp in her piece. I wish I could reprint the whole thing here, but I will try to capture the highlights, or some of them anyway. From Townhall:

Say what you want about his flimsy policy knowledge, his unadulterated blurting and his intolerance for facts — and I’ve said plenty — but Donald Trump is a master at setting the agenda.

Every couple of weeks he spits an idea into the ether — usually of the same gelatinous integrity as most loogies — and it magically finds itself regurgitated by every cable news program, late night show, campaign trail press gaggle and American dinner table.

The latest? Campaign rival Sen. Ted Cruz’s eligibility to become President.

Before you rush over to Google, don’t bother. Cruz is totally eligible to become president. But that hasn’t stopped us from entertaining Trump’s newest spitball as a thing to “Discuss” with a capital “D”.

A brief tour of Trump’s previous talkers reads like a syllabus from Faber College.

There was the week-plus we spent debating what he meant when he said blood was coming out of Fox News anchor Megyn Kelly’s “whatever.” He ultimately claimed “nose.”

Then there was the time we almost didn’t at all believe him when he said he was talking about Carly Fiorina’s “persona” when he said, “Look at that face! Would anyone vote for that? Can you imagine that, the face of our next president?”

Well, those of us in the THINKING Community were quite clear about Trump’s intent when he referenced Fiorina’s face, or what he was REALLY saying about Kelly. We knew precisely what Trump was saying. It was crystal clear. How anyone could pretend differently says volumes about them – except that their fixation has impacted other candidates in this race so much in a negative fashion.

But hey – don’t take my word for it. Cupp continues:

[…] Worse than the name-calling and Animal House humor, though, are the conversations that seem to have a veneer of substance — and so are debated substantively, usually to the detriment of everyone involved.

First Trump lures you in by starting with an actual issue, like immigration or terrorism. But a few incoherent non-sequiturs later, it goes where no one in their right mind — or who was running for president — would ever take it. And a week later you’re actually discussing whether President Eisenhower’s horrific “Operation Wetback” is something we should legitimately revisit.

Or, instead of binge-listening to “Serial,” you find yourself reading up on the legal precedent for repealing the 14th Amendment. And whether we could actually get Mexico to pay for a wall on the U.S. border — to keep themselves out.

When Trump word-vomited that Muslims should be banned from entering the United States in response to the Paris terrorist attacks, all sorts of mind-numbing nonsense followed. Real, human people with grown-up jobs actually defended this by comparing it to the Japanese internment camps of World War II. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Well, this “real, human people” has had it with the constant attention paid to every idiotic, stupid thing Trump says as if it is in any way legitimate, feasible, or realistic. It just defies any semblance of logic or reason except that they want to direct the narrative. That is simply unacceptable.

Honestly, I think all the other candidates should DEMAND equal time. Every one of them. They should force these news stations to give them the same amount of free air (read: ad) time that Donald enjoys. At the very least, maybe we won’t have to see Trump on the tee-vee so often, which would sure save me from having to reach for the remote to change the channel when he comes on – again.

And, who knows, if the candidates did push the issue, maybe people will start to see that there are some really decent candidates out there who would make good Presidents. Hey, it’s a thought, anyway.

On a Programming note, as I mentioned in a previous post, Sharyl Attkisson’s program, Full Measure, will take a look at the rescue effort in Benghazi, or rather, the lack thereof. It should be mighty telling, especially in light of the “testimony” of Leon Panetta, the Hillary Clinton endorser who called the three soldiers who risked their lives in Benghazi “liars.” Wanna guess who I believe? Yeah, it is no contest.

Since this is a Weekend Open Thread, I have to leave you with something to make you smile. What would be better than a bunch of adorable baby animals all in one video? Nothing, so here it is:

Aren’t they just PRECIOUS?! Oh, my – so stinkin’ cute.

Okay, that’s it for me. I still want my question answered about the time wasted on one candidate above all others, but for now, I’ll just think about those cute babies…

Hope you have a great weekend. This is an Open Thread.

Tags: , , , , ,

41 Responses to “S.E. Cupp Asks A Question About Trump I Want Answered, Too *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump is a giant bore and a boor. And his supporters, the Trumpkins, resemble nothing so much as Obots. Thus I have had more than my fill of both.

    I keep waiting for people to come to their sense, but then I did that back in 2008 and 2012 and it never happened. I have begun to lose faith in the American people. Lost my faith in the government long ago.

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    You may have heard that Obama is going to leave an empty chair next to Michelle to represent those killed by gun violence (Suzy think it is because no one wanted to sit beside her – ahaha). Well, Sen. Cruz and a whole bunch of other people have something to say abt that: http://www.ijreview.com/2016/01/511026-ted-cruz-has-brutal-response-for-obama-about-leaving-empty-chair-at-state-of-the-union/?_ga=1.141017394.1262732885.1452353944

  3. piper Says:

    My tin foil hat theory – all of this free media coverage that Trump is receiving is a set-up that the dem. party and the clintonista are instigating so Donald will be the GOP candidate (ala Aiken, the weakest Missouri senatorial candidate, ensuring Claire Mc re-election). Another ploy is having as many Dem. voters crossing over whenever they can to vote for him in the primaries. Then kaboom, every single media article/show will be a ‘hit’ piece on him, and even though he’s a billionaire there plenty of dirt and his dealings which will be screamed on a daily basis until November. Can he really self-finance his candidacy – how much of his considerable wealth is hard cash and how much is tied up in buildings/property?
    Smh as how easily people are deluded by hype.

    Back to moving snow mounds around – it’s a clean job but someone has to do it.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      piper, I would not be ONE bit surprised for your theory to be right on target. They know damn well that Trump is a buddy of the Clintons, even if his supporters don’t want to believe that. I mean, really – you don’t invite people to your wedding, or GO, if you aren’t friends with them, especially for a former President and a US Senator. His policy positions have been much closer to that side of the aisle than Republicans, and why so many Conservatives support him is simply beyond me.

      And I have ZERO doubt Dems are crossing over to vote for Trump.

      LOL – you be careful out there in the snow!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Just to prove a point abt the media, I just got an email from Fiorina (I get them from several campaigns) talking abt the events she has held the past few days. One event was so over-crowded, the Fire Marshall made a joke abt his being there contributing to the problem, and in another event, traffic was backed up in the middle of the afternoon with people trying to get there.

        I saw that not to push Fiorina, but to highlight how poorly the media is doing with this campaign. To hear them tell it, NO ONE but Trump has people who care so much.

        I have no doubt Fiorina is not alone in having big crowds come to see them – we just aren’t HEARING abt them very much.

        That said, John Roberts DID acknowledge on Special Report the other night that Fiorina had a standing room only crowd.

        But yeah – there does seem to be a concerted effort to push the boorish, crass Trump as if most Indies and Reps want him. Uh, yeah, no.

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          If the other candidates get no press then they can get no traction in the polls. That makes it more difficult for them to raise money. Meanwhile the boorish Trump, who brags he’s got enough money to fund his own campaign, gets millions of dollars worth of free air time.

          And speaking of the boorish braggart, isn’t supposed to be “crass” to brag about your wealth. I remember reading something one of the Hollywood jerks said about having enough money to buy their own plane and thought, “what a jerk.” Oh, now I remember, it was Tom Hanks. I haven’t felt quite the same way about him since.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            That is exactly it, Marge. Why would Donald need to spend any money when the networks are giving him WAY more time than he could get through ads.

            I am so sick of the media playing Kingmaker. And piper is right – if Donald ends up being the nominee, you better BELIEVE all of the things he has done over his career will come out in a big way. Hell, as someone noted yesterday, they even managed to make Romney look bad when the worst thing he seemed to have done was have his dog in a crate on top of a car (as if dogs aren’t in crates – if they are lucky o in pickup trucks all across this land). Just astonishing.

            I am worried that SC goes for Trump. I just do not get why so many people support him even WITH all the air time considering the crap he spews on a regular basis. Just astonishing.

  4. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    It is deplorable that the Mayor of Philadelphia refuses to admit what the Islamic terrorist himself said after trying to assassinate a police officer. In contradiction to ALL facts known at the time, the Mayor claimed the exact opposite.

    That is sheer insanity.

    And now, the White House’s response: “No comment.” Seriously: http://www.weaselzippers.us/249835-white-house-no-comment-on-isis-connected-attack-in-philadelphia/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Why would he do that? Why would you refuse to admit the facts about a scum bag who tried to kill a member of the Philadelphia Police force? I just don’t get why it is more important to protect the killers and the citizens of this country. Unless it is still all about trying to hide how wrong Obama was and is about terrorists.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        And apparently, it is more important to deny reality when terrorists attack Americans lest we insult those 8 million Muslims in our country. So, yeah – this Mayor would rather handcuff (!) the police in their investigations, thwart justice, and make himself out to be a sheer moronic lunatic for claiming the exact opposite of what his Police Chief had just said.

        If Philly re-elects him, they deserve everything they get. The police don’t, though…

        Honestly, though – I do not understand these politicians who care more about insulting Muslims than they do protecting the vast majority of their citizens, or for standing up against terrorism. It is truly pathological.

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    An in our infinite stupidity under Obama and Kerry, despite it all with Iran, including the recent revelations of the trucks with missiles, it seems those sanctions will be lifted: http://thehill.com/policy/international/265302-us-barrels-toward-lifting-iran-sanctions

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    There Really Is A ‘War on Women’

    It turns out the “war on women” exists after all, and it’s being carried out by women like Joy Behar and other pagan progressives like her.

    This week Behar’s TV show, The View, provided proof that a male creep/perp need not be anywhere in the room for real life victims of sexual assault to be thrown under the bus.

    Sure, Bill Clinton is “a dog,” admitted Behar, while being confronted with his past infidelity and its impact on Hillary Clinton’s presidential hopes. But hey, according to Behar taxpayer-funded birth control and satisfying the blood lust to kill innocent babies (millions of them women, by the way) is worth a little unwanted groping here and there. Even a drowning maybe.

    Concerning Ted Kennedy and Chappaquiddick, Behar continued: “I mean, a girl drowns and he abandons her and she drowned and women still voted for Teddy Kennedy. Why? Because he voted for women’s rights. That’s why. That’s the bottom line of it in my opinion…I still will vote for Bill Clinton because he votes in my favor.”

    http://townhall.com/columnists/stevedeace/2016/01/09/there-really-is-a-war-on-women-n2101807/page/full

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Sigh. That sounds abt right.

      I have to admit, when I lived in Boston, I voted for Ted Kennedy using pretty much that “logic.” But in my defense, I was MUCH younger then, so there is that. Despite having to hold my nose to vote for him, I did. Same with Kerry (who also has some skeletons in his closet).

      All that is to say, sadly, I know that is the case with Dem women. I voted for Bill twice despite all the massive red flags abt how he treated women.

      Would I do it today? Not on your life. But I am older now, and I hope to heavens, a little wiser. Now I am ashamed of voting for someone like that just because of the letter after his name…

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Those of you in my age group or close to it, will understand the following statements. Those of you who are younger, will in time.

    The biggest lie I tell myself is …”I don’t need to write that down, I’ll remember it.”

    Wouldn’t it be great if we could put ourselves in the dryer for ten minutes; come out wrinkle-free and three sizes smaller!

    I don’t trip over things, I do random gravity checks!

    I don’t need anger management. I need people to stop pissing me off!

    Old age is coming at a really bad time!

    Lord grant me the strength to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can & the friends to post my bail when I finally snap!

    I don’t have gray hair. I have “wisdom highlights”.

    My people skills are just fine. It’s my tolerance to idiots that needs work.

    Teach your daughter how to shoot, because a restraining order is just a piece of paper.

    If God wanted me to touch my toes, he would’ve put them on my knees.

    The kids text me “plz” which is shorter than please. I text back “no” which is shorter than “yes”.

    I’m going to retire and live off of my savings. Not sure what I’ll do that second week.

    When did it change from “We the people” to “screw the people” ?

    Even duct tape can’t fix stupid … But it can muffle the sound!

    Why do I have to press one for English when you’re just gonna transfer me to someone I can’t understand anyway?

    Of course I talk to myself, sometimes I need expert advice.

    Oops! Did I roll my eyes out loud?

    At my age “Getting lucky” means walking into a room and remembering what I came in there for.

    Chocolate comes from cocoa which is a tree … That makes it a plant which means … Chocolate is Salad !!!

    And, of course ….. Have I sent this to you already… Or did you send this to me?

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump: Kim Jong Un deserves ‘credit’ for taking out rivals

    Republican primary front-runner Donald Trump says North Korean communist dictator Kim Jong-un deserves “credit” for the cutthroat efficiency with which he disposes of his political foes.

    http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/gop-primaries/265353-trump-kim-jong-un-deserves-credit-for-taking-out-rivals

    I’m sure the Trump supporters can find a good excuse for this too. Like Obots, they always do.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ugh, no kidding. Of course they will. Is there nothing this man can say that will dislodge his supporters?!

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Coulter: It’s ‘Absolutely False’ That Ted Cruz Is a Natural Born Citizen

    By Guy Benson

    Resolved: I’m going to keep writing about this ridiculous story, even if it means showering attention upon opportunists who desperately seek it, until this dumb boomlet finally dies out. Ted Cruz is a natural born citizen of the United States of America. He is fully eligible to be her president.

    But led by Donald Trump — who claims he’s making these noises for Cruz’s “own good” (of course you are, Don) — various figures in the Republican/conservative universe have begun questioning and disputing this fact. Yesterday, we had Senators Rand Paul and John McCain. Now we have firebrand anti-immigration columnist Ann Coulter eagerly joining the fray:

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/guybenson/2016/01/08/coulter-its-absolutely-false-that-ted-cruz-is-a-natural-born-citizen-n2101247

    To tell the truth I thought Ann Coulter was better than this. Too far right for me in most instances but to do a complete about face because she’s now lead Trumpkin Beyotch is low even for a liberal let alone someone who claims to be an honest voice for conservatives.

    But Trumpkins won’t care. Like Obots they will accept anything from their chosen one. And his acolytes. But we should listen to Coulter because she was so right about Romney. /s

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am right there with you, Marge. I am stunned by how much Coulter is in the tank for Trump. And to jump on this ridiculous bandwagon is beneath her.

      I am not one bit surprised that Trump is beating this drum trying to discredit Cruz, not one bit. He is this season’s Obama, and will do/say ANYTHING to tear down his opponents. I am just so disappointed in the people who have fallen for his BS.

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump escalates attacks on Ted Cruz’s eligibility to run

    http://townhall.com/news/politics-elections/2016/01/09/iowa-voters-experience-cruz-trump-divergent-campaign-styles-n2102236

    This is a perfect example of the kind of a man that Trump is – sleazy and repulsive. How any decent person can possible support him is beyond me. My hate of this man grows daily. I used to loathe him. Now I hate him. He and Hillary Clinton running to “lead” this country tells me that we are not the great country I thought we were. Not with so many people willing, no eager, to support such 2nd rate people.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      OHMYGOSH – we are so on the same wavelength on this, Marge. I just do not understand it, not one bit. It just makes no sense to me. Why they find his vulgar, insulting, petulant attacking behavior appealing is BEYOND me.

    • piper Says:

      Sadly I ‘m seeing more and more what I thought were sane people who exposed the hypocrisy of Obama, turning to Trump and borgerizing (new word I just made up) him just like the obots with Obama. Reason doesn’t seem to penetrate their heads that Trump is another side of the same Obama coin. Not to sure if running naked thru certain over the hill trump blogs would help them see Trump as he really is not Superman.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Love the new terms, piper – that really does sum it up well.

        And uh, yeah – I doubt even that would get the attention of some of these folks!

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Israel: Beware of Obama

    By Michael Goodwin

    Apologists and wishful thinkers, including some Jews, insist Obama real­izes that the special relationship between Israel and the United States must prevail and that allowing too much daylight between friends will encourage enemies.

    Those people are slow learners, or, more dangerously, deny-ists.

    If Obama’s six years in office teach us anything, it is that he is impervious to appeals to good sense. Quite the contrary. Even respectful suggestions from supporters that he behave in the traditions of American presidents fill him with angry determination to do it his way.

    http://nypost.com/2015/03/22/israel-beware-of-obama/

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    Sharyl Atkinson’s program, Full Measure, on the latest “memo” to surface about Benghazi.

    Rescue Interrupted

    http://fullmeasure.news/news/politics/rescue-interrupted

    I found this program riveting!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I figured it would be. Glad you thought so too, Marge!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I’m so glad you reminded me. I had totally forgotten to DVR her program. Now so thankful I did. Fascinating to see a “real” journalist at work.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Isn’t it? Seeing a true professional at work exposes so many other journalists for the sycophants they are.

          And what she revealed today was stunning – infuriating, maddening, and just heartbreaking…

  15. kenoshamarge Says:

    Woodward: Clinton Wanted to ‘Subvert the Rules’ as Secretary of State and ‘Lives in a Bubble’

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, that was an incredible response from Woodward. Thanks so much for this, Marge. Stunning!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        This is just a part of the FOX panel this morning. I watched the whole thing and the repulsive Juan Williams was trying to blame congress for ISIS. Laura Ingram was sitting next to him and I wish she had hit him over the head with her coffee mug. He’s such a tool.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I can’t believe Ingram DIDN’T hit him over the head. I swear, the people on panels with him show unimaginable restraint. Suzy had me change the channel the station on the car radio yesterday on our way to the vet (annual visit for DJ) when Eric Bolling announced his panel and Juan was on it.

          Anyway – good for you for making it through.

          It sure will be interesting to see what – if anything – comes of this latest revelation…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            Sadly I don’t expect much will come of it. There are laws for us “little” people and laws for elites like the Clintons. I expect that even if Comey comes up with something that Lynch, on orders from the White House will make sure it goes no further. After all, she served under Obama and much as they may loathe her, if she is tainted too much it taints him even worse than he’s all ready tainted. JMO

            • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

              I fear you are right, Marge. How warped is it that the front runner of a major party who wants to run the nation has already demonstrated that she is above the law? SMH…

  16. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A friend had this link up at Facebook. It is a number of excellent Thomas Sowell quotes: http://hausrules.us/dr-thomas-sowells-greatest-hits-perfect-quotes-from-a-total-genius

Leave a Reply

