The Last SOTU Address By President Barack Obama *Open Thread*

by

Tonight marks the last time President Obama will go before the American people to report on all the accomplishments of his final year in office. I reckon it will be a short speech! Ahem. Just kidding. I am sure Obama will claim “accomplishments” that many of us see just a tad differently, and which we are not quite so quick to embrace.

As for this being the last time we will have to listen to President Obama ramble on on this level, all I can say is:

I assume I am not alone in that sentiment, am I?

And really, in all honesty, I won’t be watching President Obama. Nope. I can barely stand the clips I have to see of him on the news. I am sure I will see enough of his speech that way again, but thankfully, there are ways to read what he said without having to watch him. Whew!

That said, my Governor, Nikki Haley, will be giving the SOTU Rebuttal. If I don’t catch it live, I fully intend to watch Gov. Haley to see what she has to say. And I sure as hell hope Haley will be the exception to the “Rebuttal Curse” Rule.

I have another outstanding reason for not watching Obama’s swan song. And that is this: Vegas, Baby!! Yes, I am in Las Vegas for a week as of today (Tuesday). It is my first time in Las Vegas (Suzy has been here many times for work – or so she avers! Ahaha…), so I get to check another state off the list of remaining states to visit.

But that’s not why I am going, at least not at this particular time, ESPECIALLY since, as it turns out, I will miss attending the Republican debates being held in Charleston on Thursday (and I will get a post up for that and any discussion you may want to have). The reason why is that it is time for the Continental Curling Cup!

Yes, Curling, the sport most Americans only get to see during the Winter Olympics. I know it is funny for a Southerner who has never witnessed a match in person to want to go to a Curling Competition, but that is EXACTLY why I want to go! I love Curling, and am fascinated by it. As far as I can tell, it is like Chess on ice.

I know people make fun of Curling, but that is because they do not understand how incredibly difficult it is. Even the people gliding across the ice make it look simple. It is anything but, as Bog Steve from England discovers:

See? Not so easy as it looks! Check out Conan O’Brien’s sidekick, Andy Richter, out on the ice:

At least by the end of it all, Richter stayed on his feet.

So bear those two videos in mind when you watch these amazing Curling shots, beginning with this shooter delivering the rock:

WOW, right?? Not only was it lots of fun to watch, but it was a great shot!

Speaking of great shots, here are a couple that were mighty impressive:

And then there is this one:

Holy smokes, am I right? And they make it look SO effortless.

I hope that I get to see some shots like that during the tournament. Wouldn’t that be fantastic?

And to make this trip even BETTER is that our dear friend, Gina, will be joining us for most of it. WOOHOO!!! We are so excited to spend some time with her, and to be able to watch the Republican Debate with her. True enough that we’ll be missing some of the Curling as a result. But hey – again, Southerner here, so you can’t expect me to sit in a cold arena ALL day long, can you? Heck, I have a hard enough time making it through a hockey match without being frozen by the end of it (the artificial joints and arthritis are negatively affected by cold weather, as many of you experience yourselves).

We also intend to miss some of the Continental Curling Cup to go see the Cirque de Soleil performance of Mystere. I have never seen any Cirque performances in person, so I am excited about that.

And we will go see “13 Hours,” too:

As you know, I have been following this story, as many of you have, from the very beginning. I am so glad that Michael Bay has taken the incredible story of bravery and courage in the face of not just an attack, but (seeming) abandonment by our Government, and put it on the Big Screen. Good on him for doing so, and thank heavens for those brave men who fought as hard as they did to try and save others. They are, without a doubt, heroes.

All of that is to say, I don’t know what I’ll be doing in Sin City tonight while Obama is giving his Last (yippee!!!!) State of the Union Address. It could be unpacking, eating dinner, or watching Suzy play some Blackjack (neither one of us drinks so it can’t be THAT sinful), but one thing I do know, I will not be watching President Obama.

How about you? What are your plans for tonight? If you DO plan to watch, please do feel free to let us in on what Obama is saying, and your thoughts on the subject. If you watch Gov. Haley’s rebuttal, I’d love to hear what you have to say about that as well.

Otherwise, this is an Open Thread. Not sure if I will get one up for Wednesday, but I will for Thursday and the debates. So have at it, friends!

Tags: , , , ,

35 Responses to “The Last SOTU Address By President Barack Obama *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I’m not quite sure what I’ll be doing tonight but one thing I can guarantee is that I won’t listen to Obama’s final SOTU. Since the White House is touting it as something special I expect we will be subjected to a lecture for our inability to see the greatness of this lawless president.

    You have to wonder if the man is tethered to reality at all. The more he tried to sell ObamaCare the less popular it became. It is now a proven disaster.

    The more he tries to sell gun control the sillier, and more dishonest he looks. And the more gun sales increase.

    And as for his trying to shove Syrian refugees down our throat, even having one sit next to FLOTUS, the less that’s working as people find out about the rapist culture and their attacks on women in Germany. Finding out is not easy either since that story has been nearly blacked out on national television.

    Yeah, talk to us Mr. President. The only thing that makes another SOTU even half way tolerable is that it’s his last.

    Wanna make any bets on who he will insult in the captive audience this time?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      What a great comment, Marge! And spot on observation abt the things Obama champions, and what happens to them as a result. Well said!

      And so,true abt the “refugees” in Germany and their rapist culture. It is astonishing that the media is trying to silence that very critical information from us.

      Well, we KNOW he will say crap abt Republicans, people who don’t buy into global warming as the biggest threat facing us rather than terrorism, and those whackadoodle gun owners. I reckon we will find out later on who else makes that list.

      Thank heavens this is the last one he will be giving…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Andrea Mitchell concerned that ’13 Hours’ could reignite Benghazi conspiracies, hurt Hillary’s campaign

    http://twitchy.com/2016/01/11/andrea-mitchell-concerned-that-13-hours-could-reignite-benghazi-conspiracies-hurt-hillarys-campaign/

    Why doesn’t the biased excuse for a reporter just join the campaign and be done with it?

    She doesn’t seem to have the slightest interest in doing the job a real reporter would do, which is reporting the “facts” and not her interpretation of them.

    She would make a pimple on a real reporters butt. Too bad she didn’t ride off into the sunset with her husband.

    • piper Says:

      Agree

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, she isn’t even bothering to hide her bias any more. Well, not that she was doing all that well before, I will grant you. Still, yes, how abt talking abt the facts of the movie, or interviewing the contractors or something? Oh, no wait – that would be too much like real journalism…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  4. mcnorman Says:

    Can’t watch. The sound of this clown’s voice makes me want to binge drink and take up chain smoking.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Me too and I gave up both years ago. 😉

      • piper Says:

        Me three.
        Plus I have more snowflakes to rearrange since we received another 2 inches of fluffy stuff last night.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          LOL, very cute Maxine!

          And yeah, rearranging all of those snowflakes one by one takes time!

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Me, too! Yeah, even after all these years, when I have zero desire to do either, watching Obama’s SOTU “special” address might make me miss it! Ahahahaha…

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOL, I hear you, mcnorman. It doesn’t hurt that we will still be in the air during it so not even a chance of landing on it accidentally. Whew! I do wish I could hear our Governor though. I expect that will be on video soon enough…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  5. piper Says:

    Amy,
    Enjoy your Vegas visit. Hope it’s warm there as we endure another week of global warming here – low teens with wind and snow.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I was enjoying Global Warming a couple of weeks ago when it really was “warm”. This seems like typical Wisconsin snow and cold. But then I’m not a liberal so I don’t get to talk out of both sides of my mouth.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Ahahahaha, true that, Marge!

        Oh, and speaking of WI, good for your boys to make it to the next level. Suzy is a Redskins fan, so she wasn’t thrilled, but Rodgers really got his groove back. Hard to compete with that!

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          I don’t know what to think about my Packers this year. It’s like they’re two different teams. One is really good and the other embraces mediocrity.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Hey, as long as Rodgers and the team are peaking now, they should do well. But I totally hear you abt the up/down of the team this season. Nerve wracking, isn’t it?

            Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, wow, piper – um, it is supposed to be in the 50’s during the day, then in the 30’s at night, not much different from what I have been having at home (though you don’t want me tell you what it is supposed to be at home this weekend).

      And thanks – I am looking forward to seeing a different part of the country. I am hoping to maybe see the Hoover Dam this weekend, fingers crossed!

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Many years ago I saw a documentary on the making of Hoover Dam and I’ve wanted to see it ever since.

        Vegas doesn’t’ interest me much except I really would like to see the Cirque de Soleil. I’ve watched it on television and they are amazing!

        During the Olympics I always try to watch the Curling. I don’t understand it very well but I find it fascinating for some reason.

        Be sure and give us your critique of the movie. From all I’ve heard, except from liberals, it’s very good.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I do hope we can go – it is such an engineering feat, it would be disappointing not to while I am out there. But, if not this time, I will just have to make a trip back out that way to see the Grand Canyon and the Dam.

          Yeah, since I don’t drink and don’t really gamble, Las Vegas wasn’t super high on the list, but once I found ou the Curling Cup was going to be there, it seemed like the perfect time to come. I am looking forward to Cirque – it really astounds me what people can do. So I am very much looking forward to that.

          I definitely will give you a review of the movie. I am anxious to see it.

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Obama’s speech about as expected – maybe a little worse. Michelle dressed for some reason like a banana.

    Nikki Haley on the other hand was fantastic. Gracious, civil, smart, witty. What’s not to like? Now watch the media attempt to tear her apart for the crime of being too good.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I missed both, though was able to see Gov. Haley’s response on her Facebook page. I thought she was great, and easily the best response I have ever seen to a SOTU since Obama.

      I glanced at the Legal Insurrection article abt her, and the comments were not so nice. WTH.

      I saw a lot of the after-event shows. Frank Luntz seemed to show some bias but honestly, some of the people he had on there were not able to articulate why some of the things Obama said were ridiculous. Like a woman who said his laundry list wasn’t what mattered to her, to which Luntz asked incredulously abt Equal Pay and raising the minimum wage not being part of her values, her answer wasn’t great. On Equal Pay, the woman SHOULD have said we have had that for decades, along with how Obama didn’t pay women as much as men himself. Or that raising minimum wage to the levels it has been in some areas has been terrible and has cost jobs.

      Anyway, I was more than disgusted to learn that members of CAIR were invited by Dems to be there. Wow…

      Thank heavens this last is over, with even Charles Lane of WaPo saying it wasn’t all that…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here is some fact-checking of Obama’s speech: http://dailysignal.com/2016/01/12/fact-checking-president-obamas-final-state-of-the-union/

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    And there is this: http://dailysignal.com/2016/01/12/what-obama-got-wrong-in-the-state-of-the-union/

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Seems the military present didn’t buy Obama’s claim abt how strong the military is under him: http://www.bizpacreview.com/2016/01/13/military-brass-gives-obama-stone-faced-sotu-stare-down-for-saying-this-293867

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Looks like no love for CiC but they rose when he complimented the men and women of the military. And we all know that he doesn’t mean that or care about them. The pretense is all political. He prefers to just use them as a backdrop for his sad, tiresome speeches.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        You said it, Marge. That is so true. He uses them when it serves him, all while working to dismantle them…

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • piper Says:

      Here an image – our sailors arrested by the Iranians.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Thank heavens they have now been released, with lots of self-congratulations from John Kerry. Still, glad they are okay.

        Cannot believe Obama ignored this last night, but that seems to be his MO to reality…

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Yes they have been released. We can be grateful for that. That Iran dared to take them in the first place, we know who to blame for that. Obama, putting our military in danger one concession to the thugs at a time.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Without a doubt, Marge. There is no doubt whatsoever who to blame for that. Kerry tried to make it look better by going on abt the relationship now, but I think the message from Iran is clear…

            Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    For those of us old enough to remember the “Iranian Hostage Crisis” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iran_hostage_crisis the image of American Sailors on their knees before Iranians with guns brings a visceral rage. At least it does for me.

    The 10 sailors are home and safe and yet the questions of why they were there remains.

    Two small boats do not wander into Iranian waters casually. If one had navigational problems then why wasn’t the second one able to chart a course? If one broke down why didn’t the second one tow it? This whole thing just doesn’t make sense.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Indeed, this certainly brings back memories of the Hostage Crisis. It is astonishing that they were made to do what they did – be on their knees, be disarmed, and then APOLOGIZE, all while lauding the nice treatment by their captors. WTH?? And then you have the weak apologist, Kerry, complement Iran on how well they handled things, Sure wish I could say the same for THIS Administration… Something is definitely amiss here, and that this happened so soon before they get a ton of money is beyond troubling. Well, not so much to Obama and Co., but to others of us…

Leave a Reply

