Rocky And Rocking The Boat *Open Thread*

by

I am running a bit behind this morning for two reasons: one, AT&T continues to be the bane of my existence. I cannot tell you the number of times we have had techs out here to try and fix it, including two weeks ago. I have lost connection to tv, internet, and phone 3 times already this morning. Have I mentioned that I HATE AT&T?

The second reason I am behind this morning is because of Rocky. Rocky is a baby squirrel, so young, his eyes are still shut. Yesterday afternoon when I took DJ for his walk, he was pulling me to go into the lot next door, something we never do. Then I saw the hawk’s wings as it was flapping around the top of a tree. We went out to the road to finish our walk (it is barely a two lane road in our neighborhood), and he started yanking on me again to go up into the lot. He started pawing at something, and next thing I knew, there was a little baby squirrel trying to squirm away. I got DJ into his fenced yard, grabbed a box, put a towel in it, and found the little squirrel. Then I looked up what I was supposed to do with it. Putting it back into the tree (in the box) so the mother could find it and take it back to the nest was the solution. The mother should have gotten it within 2 – 3 hours at most.

Well, you know what happened. I think the hawk took the mother. The baby was getting cold, and it was getting late in the afternoon. Apparently, the mother doesn’t go out as much as it gets later. So, I put it in a cat carrier, got a little space heater, and put it in the garage to warm it up. Then I looked up what to feed him. For now, I am going with a rehydrating formula, but he needs to switch to regular formula now. He has been doing better as he got warmed up and gotten some fluids, including a 3:00 am feeding this morning (my hospital chaplain days kicked in).

Here is Rocky this morning:

160219_0001

Isn’t he so cute? He is the first baby squirrel I have ever seen in my life. And thankfully, my friend, Beth, who takes care of Jordan, has a young woman who works at the Equine Clinic who rescues and rehabs baby squirrels. She is going to come get Rocky this morning. (Oh, dang – it’s about time for another feeding. I have to hurry this up!)

As for “rocking the boat,” of course, that is Trump who has chased the endorsement of Rubio by Gov. Haley off the front page with yet another stunt the all too compliant media is willing to discuss ad nauseum. This time, he is going after the POPE. Yes, the Pope. Because there is no one he will not attack, apparently. I am not going to give that whole ginned up brouhaha by Trump any more space, though. He has gotten plenty on this whole thing, as always. I have to say, he does do that well – take over the daily news. But only because the media not only allows it, but encourages it.

There is one thing that he also said, though, that I do not want getting lost in all the Pope coverage. That is a comment Trump made at the CNN Townhall last night. This comes via Daily Caller:

Just to be clear, this is what he said:

[…]

Cooper asked Trump during a town hall forum on Thursday night  “If Obamacare is repealed and there’s no mandate for everybody to have insurance, what’s to — why would [an] insurance company … insure somebody who has a pre-existing condition?”

Trump responded, “Well, I like the mandate. OK. So here’s where I’m a little bit different. I don’t want people dying on the streets, and I say this all the time. And I say this — look, I did five speeches, maybe six speeches today. We had a lot of rallies. We had of thousands and thousands of people. I mean, we get big crowds.”

Trump added, “Every time I talk about this I get standing ovations. The Republican people, they’re wonderful people. They don’t want people dying on the streets. Sometimes they’ll say Donald Trump wants single payer because there’s a group of people — as good as these plans are and by the way your insurance will go way down, you’ll have better plans, you’ll get your own doctor, which Obama lied.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Um, well, TRUMP lies a lot too, on just about everything. How do we KNOW he would repeal and replace Obamacare when he has just said he supports the Mandate, and he is a little different on this? Sure he is – because he’s a DEMOCRAT!

And not for nothing, but the latest polls out show Trump losing to both Clinton AND Sanders. How about them apples? Meanwhile, Cruz, Rubio, Bush, and Kasich win against the Clinton and Sanders. We all know how much Trump supporters love them some polls. Maybe they should take a little look-see at these numbers.

Rocky calls – time to go feed the little baby and way past time to stop talking about Trump. Please feel free to discuss some of the other candidates here, like how Sanders is selling out these kids for Social Security, according to this Federalist piece, or how Cruz is gaining ground on Trump here in South Carolina. Or whatever is on your minds today.

This is an Open Thread.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Rocky And Rocking The Boat *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Bless you for rescuing Rocky! He is adorable. Majestic and beautiful as hawks and eagles are I wish that I’d been around to suggest to God that he make them vegetarians.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, Marge! Honestly, it was all abt timing. I wasn’t really supposed to walk DJ since I had just had that procedure, but I know how much he enjoys it. It was total right place, right time to save little Rocky. In just a few minutes, I am taking him to Beth who is going to drop him off at my vet on her way to pick up her son, and the squirrel rehabilitator is going to come get him from there. He told me to get some Pedialyte, which I just got back from getting at our local (beach) grocery store, fed him a bit, and he will be ready to go soon. So glad to know he is going to someone who does this all the time (I ended up getting the name of someone from our vet because time was of the essence and the young woman was unavailable when I called. But hey – Rocky is going to a good home with someone who knows how to rehab these young babies, so I am HAPPY!!).

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    I was rather annoyed with the Pope, he’s not a favorite of mine, until I saw Brett Baier on Special Report read the whole answer that the Pope gave to that reporter. It was evident that the reporter was trying to get some kind of cage match started and he succeeded. I really wish the Pope with keep his nose out of politics. And for a man living in a walled city that sits on top of who knows how many billions of dollars in paintings and other art objects beneath that city, he looks like a hypocrite when attacking the rich.

    Donald got what he wanted, more free air time, more attention, and his besotted supporters got what they wanted, someone else to be mad at. For Trump, the media and the Trumpkins, a win all around.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I was really glad Bret read the ENTIRE thing last night. It really highlighted how the media is all too willing and quick to jump into a Donald Trump fray. It is truly astonishing. And you are absolutely right – once again, he captured ALL the news, and his supporters have a new target.

      Ugh. And yeah, I am not overly fond of this Pope either, but wow – what much ado abt nothing…

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    To be fair to the Pope, he wasn’t around when those walls were built.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Republican Self-Sabotage

    By Mona Charen

    With all its faults, the Republican Party is the only vehicle for conservative ideas in this country. Conservatives themselves, or at least those who styled themselves conservatives, may have sabotaged it, handing the reins not to a moderate, nor even to a liberal Republican, but to a lifelong Democrat.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/monacharen/2016/02/19/republican-selfsabotage-n2121322/page/full

  5. mcnorman Says:

    OMG, Rocky is absolutely adorable!!!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, mcnorman! He is getting more so as the time goes on. Honestly, I’m gonna miss the little fella!!

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    About those Trump lies, this highlights a doozy – turns out he DID support the Iraq War: http://townhall.com/tipsheet/katiepavlich/2016/02/19/actually-trump-supported-going-into-iraq-and-said-so-in-2002-n2121912

  7. piper Says:

    Serendipity – the walk and rescue – so happy that you were the one to rescue the babe.

    As for T-rump and the media – it’s all about the ratings. More people have tuned in since T-rump decided he was a candidate.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Yes, it absolutely was! As was finding the squirrel rehabber. I am going to call him soon so I’ll report back, But I can tell you that he has another one abt that age so he can put them together, let them grow up together, and then release them together. How cool is that? But yeah – I am going to call him and see how the little guy is doing…

      And you are so right abt the ratings. Sigh…

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here’s a little more abt Rocky. He is 4 weeks old, and is still a bit dehydrated. But, the rescuer asked if DJ bit him because a cat or dog’s saliva can kill a baby squirrel as a result of the bacteria in their mouths. Usually, they have to go on antibiotics right away. I guess it was good I put the antibiotic cream on them, but yeah – hopefully, DJ didn’t slobber on him. Don’t think so – he seemed pretty dry. But he said we will know by 1:00 pm tomorrow for sure.

    He also said it is great rescuing these squirrels and releasing the because then you have pets you don’t have to clean up after! He goes out into the yard and they all come running to him, climb on him, stuff like that. He also said they purr like cats! Who knew?!

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Well, here’s some good news this morning. The other candidates are really cutting into Trump’s lead. Abt damn time: http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/270108-possible-trump-slide-gives-cruz-and-rubio-an-opening-in-sc

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    As well Cruz should. A number of Trump supporters I know are BIG Pro-Israel people. Will THIS finally break through their haze? Hope so: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/presidential-races/270045-cruz-slams-trump-for-being-neutral-on-israel-palestinian

  11. piper Says:

    Amy,
    Forgive my ignorance – is S.C. a state where the winner get all the delegates regardless of votes for the other candidates?

Leave a Reply

