Another SC Primary, Dem Version; Some Good News, And An Update

by

UPDATE at the end of the post.

Here we are, another weekend, and some Campaign news is encroaching upon the usual Weekend fare.

Yes, one week afte the Republican Primary here in South Carolina, the Democrats have their say on Saturday. At this point, it looks like a runaway for Sec. Hillary Clinton. She has a massive lead on Sen. Sanders at this point. Clinton has also garnered the endorsement of Rep. James Clyburn, no small things for Democrats here.

Meanwhile, with Super Tuesday coming up, the candidates on both sides are hotfooting around trying to make their case to the people. But for now, it seems like a slam dunk that Clinton will win SC. Once the polls are closed, I’ll report in, but at this point, it seems highly likely Clinton will get this win under her belt.

Since I am already discussing the Campaign and candidates, I have to share some of Richard Cohen’s recent Opinion piece in WaPo. He really hits some major characteristics that should be a big red flag for voters. From WaPo (h/t Facebook friend):

[…]

I may never forgive Donald Trump for what he said about Mexicans. I may never forgive him for what he said about Muslims or that smutty crack he made about Megyn Kelly. I may never forgive him for his lies and his bravado and his nasty personalizing of political differences. I may never forgive him for all these things, but I draw the line at Serge Kovaleski, the reporter with a congenital condition that limits mobility . Trump mocked him. I will neverforgive him for that.

This happened in November, and I’m sure you know about it, but it has been left in the dust kicked up by further Trump outrages that include a denial that he ever did what in fact he did. He twisted his body in approximation of Kovaleski’s. Trump not only denied doing it, but he denied knowing about Kovaleski’s condition, despite having been interviewed by him on several occasions.

[…]

Trump’s other outrages arguably had an element of political calculation to them. The stuff about Mexicans, about immigrants in general, and about Muslims was popular among his supporters. It’s not that I think these insults were disingenuous — the man’s bigotry was evident when he insistently questioned whether Barack Obama was a natural-born American — but they applied to large groups, momentarily unpopular, and no single person either had to bear a stigma or feel the hurt. Trump came closest to showing his innate cruelty with his remark that John McCain, who spent five years as a prisoner of war in Vietnam, was no hero. Trump has an adolescent’s contempt for the suffering of others.

With his recent victory in South Carolina, we have to face the prospect that Trump could be the Republican nominee, possibly the next president of the United States. It’s a depressing thought. He’s crass and dishonest, a bully in a bespoke suit. But he’s also cruel, as evinced by his crack about McCain and, more particularly, his mocking of Kovaleski. After all, McCain’s heroism is beyond question and a personal attribute. His captivity, his tortures, may not be fully behind him, but it is in the past. Not so Kovaleski’s condition. It’s with him every day. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

I appreciate the point Cohen is trying to make, though I have zero doubt that the impact of McCain’s years’ of torture are with him still. Cohen seems to forget that McCain’s arms aren’t the same post-captivity/torture. Like Kovaleski’s “condition,” it is a daily thing. But I take his point, and understand that he is coming from a place of righteous indignation at the treatment of a friend by some spoiled Richie Rich-type who has no filter or compassion “for the sufferings of others…”

Cohen raises many good points, and I hope some fence-sitters might just take note. Hey, we gotta have some hope, don’t we?

Okay, enough political talk for me now. And since we were discussing SC earlier in the post, I want to return back to my state. Now, some of you may recall that a while back, SC was in the news for another reason. That was the brutal abuse of a sweet Pitbull, Caitlyn, by a criminal who taped her mouth shut. I won’t put that photo up again, but I did want to share a photo from the Charleston Animal Society of what this sweet girl looks like now:

And as you see in the blurb above, her abuser is facing a Federal charge. If he is convicted of that, he should be off the streets for a while. At least Caitlyn is in a good place, has recovered not just physically, but emotionally too, as her foster parents report. Oh, and her foster parents will be her forever parents once the case of Caitlyn’s abuse has been tried. How wonderful is that recovery?  She is one happy pup, that Caitlyn…

Speaking of happy pups, check out this adorable video making the rounds of a dog and his friend, a river otter:

How freakin’ adorable is THAT?! Oh my gosh, so much cuteness.

Oh, one last thing before I forget. Two weeks from today, Suzy and I will be boarding the NCL Sun in Santiago (Valparaiso), Chile, for a two week cruise around Cape Horn, the Beagle Channel, Falkland Islands, and so much more. As I think I have mentioned before, we will be seeing PENGUINS – several different varieties including Rockhopper penguins – and glaciers as well:

We will actually be leaving a couple of days before the cruise since it is an all-night flight, and a massive time change. (And thank heavens we have the BEST pet/house sitters in the world so we CAN go on trips like this. They love our pets like their own. It is a real gift to be able to go out of the country, know that our house is safe, and our animals are well cared for in our absence.)

Internet access is limited on the ship. They do have it, but it is expensive so the most I will be doing is checking/clearing email. But you know what is coming next: if anyone has a burning desire to write a post in my absence, I would be delighted to put it up. I know that a lot will be going on with the Primaries while we are gone. Just wanted to put that out there!

This is your Weekend Open Thread!

UPDATE: As expected, Clinton is CRUSHING Sanders in SC. The polls closed not long ago, and the race was called PDQ for Clinton. From The Hill:

Hillary Clinton has been projected as the winner of South Carolina’s primary, giving her what looks to be a decisive victory in a key state days before Super Tuesday.

Several news organizations declared Clinton as the winner just after polls closed at 7 p.m. NBC News said it was projecting an “overwhelming” victory for Clinton based on exit polls.

South Carolina was seen as a test of Clinton’s strength with African American voters, who were expected to side with her over Sen. Bernie Sanders.

Clinton has won three of four contests against Sanders, but South Carolina is her biggest win and support from black voters could carry over to Alabama, Texas, Georgia and a few other states voting on Tuesday. The win is also a significant reversal from 2008, when Clinton lost the state by 28 points to Barack Obama.  […]  (Click here to read the rest.)

And there you have it – Clinton is on a roll…

Tags: , , , ,

36 Responses to “Another SC Primary, Dem Version; Some Good News, And An Update”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I just wanted to thank you for the link to the Matt Walsh post at the Blaze. It was awesome! He said all the things I think and feel but just cannot articulate.

    I am sometimes so incoherent with outrage I feel as if my tongue is tied in a knot. I’m saving Walsh’s post to use in bits and pieces when my mind won’t supply the words I want and need. So is it plagiarism if I admit I’m stealing?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Truly my pleasure, Marge! I was thinking specifically of you when I put it up since you have been dealing with so many Trumpkins of late. I figured it would be good ammo to use. Glad you like it! And nope – as long as you give credit where it is due, steal away! 😀

      Oh, I also wanted to highlight this Federalist piece by Mollie Hemingway abt the impact of Christie’s endorsement. The short of it is, there isn’t any. It was designed to knock Trump’s terrible performance out of the news: http://thefederalist.com/2016/02/26/mollie-hemingway-christie-endorsement-wont-help-trump-beyond-this-news-cycle/

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I saw that. Do you think since she said it on Cavuto’s program Trump will be whining about FOX not treating him fairly again?

        I very much like Mollie Hemingway and agree with what she’s saying. Too much nasty spoils everything. Christie “supposedly” took down Rubio and yet Rubio is still in the running and Christie is not. I think the Christie endorsement adds nothing.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I figured you probably saw that! And yes, Hemingway is quite something, isn’t she? I well remember Stephen Hayes saying she was one of (of maybe the) smartest person he knew, and he reads her faithfully.

          LOL – ohmygosh, I bet he will! I swear, Fox has really capitulated to Trump’s bullying and threats, haven’t they? The only way to stop a bully is to not give into them. They must have missed that memo…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            The first person at FOX to turn into a Trumpkin was Cavuto. Even before Trump announced. And that’s when I quit watching Cavuto.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Uh, yeah. I don’t watch him, though I am glad Hemingway spoke the truth to him. Good for her.

            So now we have Jan Brewer endorsing Trump, too. Wow. Just wow.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Oh and by the way, the river otter and the pup playing is adorable. Thanks for sharing.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Wait, Melissa Harris-Perry Walked Off Her Show?; Update: Show Might Not Come Back

    “I don’t know if there is a personal racial component,” she said. “I don’t think anyone is doing something mean to me because I’m a black person.”

    An NBC News spokesman said in a statement, “In this exciting and unpredictable presidential primary season, many of our daytime programs have been temporarily upended by breaking political coverage, including M.H.P. This reaction is really surprising, confusing and disappointing.”

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/mattvespa/2016/02/27/wait-melissa-harrisperry-walked-off-her-show-n2125642

    How funny is it Harris-Perry is even hinting that MSNBC is racist?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Do they PROMISE her show might not come back? I mean, don’t get me wrong – the idiotic comments she makes are excellent fodder for ridicule, but how the hell this woman even GOT a show is beyond me (though this is the network that gave Charlatan a show, too, so there is that)…

      It is all pretty funny…

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A Facebook friend had this up today: http://www.chicksontheright.com/rubio-slams-media-for-ignoring-donald-trumps-liberal-past/

    It is ASTONISHING that the media have spent only 1.3% of its ad nauseum coverage on Trump’s long lasting and very liberal past. It is appalling, and highlights just how corrupt the media has become. As the article points out, considering the ginned up articles abt Rubio (remember the idiocy of the NY Times abt his boat?), it is a dereliction of duty for the media to ignore, or willfully refuse, Trump’s liberal not-so-distant past…

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    To highlight Chris Christie’s hypocrisy even more, I give you this Politico article (h/t Facebook friend): http://www.politico.com/blogs/2016-gop-primary-live-updates-and-results/2016/02/chris-christie-endorsement-donald-trump-shouldnt-be-president-219864

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Oh my dear heavens – I just had a Trumpette try and convert me to Trump. I kid you not. And this person’s rationale was, well, not exactly rational. This is someone I had previously enjoyed, but they are now tagging Trump posts to my Facebook page (I do not discuss politics there as a rule), and sent me a – get this – Chris Matthews video to convince me of what a “genius” Trump is. It went downhill from there, and I do mean downhill.

    Did you know it makes you a Trump Hater if you actually look at his past, or hold him accountable for the statements he has made? Yet somehow, I am supposed to TRUST that he will do EVERYTHING he says he is going to do despite a horrendous rating at the Politifact Truth-o-Meter:
    http://www.politifact.com/personalities/donald-trump/

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Personally, I am surprised there are ONLY forty, but that’s just me (h/t Facebook friend): http://townhall.com/columnists/johnhawkins/2016/02/27/40-reasons-not-to-vote-for-donald-trump-n2125585/page/full

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I thought reason #1 was enough. Unless you are determined to have Hillary presidency.

      1) Trump has favorability ratings that make him unelectable: The American public is very familiar with Donald Trump and people hate his guts. Trump’s current favorable/unfavorable rating is 34/58. Just as a point of comparison, the two biggest landslides in history were against Jimmy Carter (33/58) and Walter Mondale (34/40). Trump is so unpopular with the general electorate that we might as well be running Jared Fogle or Bill Cosby.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        YES – that SHOULD be sufficient. When you consider all the rest, it makes it glaringly evident that support for this man is detrimental to this nation in a big way. This mindset that Trump will magically take care of all these ills is just delusional…

  9. piper Says:

    My opinion which is worth about a plug nickel is that many democrats are crossing over to vote for Donald now in the primaries with no intention of voting for him in the general ensuring a Hillary victory.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I think the same thing Piper. Our Obot neighbor told my husband that both he and his wife intend to vote for Trump on April 5th so that he’s the one Hillary has to face in the general. They think she can beat him. They seem most afraid of Rubio vs Clinton.

      Of course the Republican circular firing squad is destroying their own nominees at a furious rate so who knows? Trump may be the only one still standing by April 5th.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I think you are spot on, piper! They were pretty sure that happened here in SC last week.

      And Marge, thanks for the verification that this is the plan for Wis. too. It surprises me not one bit for all the 40 reasons Hawkins mentioned in the link above.

      That they fear Rubio goes along with the conventional wisdom. I think he is definitely more electable against Clinton…

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    The GOP would never be the same if Trump wins nomination

    By Michael Goodwin

    While spending months burning through mountains of money for next-to-nothing results, party leaders, candidates and their backers took comfort in the theory that Donald Trump was winning only because the Republican field was so large. With Rubio now designated the favorite son of the anti-Trump crowd, the theory will be tested Tuesday.

    If Trump runs the table or anything close, it’s game over. Not just for Rubio, but also for the party’s entire establishment. Trump is a total disrupter, and the GOP would never be the same.

    http://nypost.com/2016/02/27/the-gop-would-never-be-the-same-if-trump-wins-nomination/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I agree completely with Goodwin – the GOP will never be the same if Trump ends up being the nomination. No doubt abt it. He will destroy it. And I think that is his intent.

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Has anyone else run into the “guilt you” argument? I mean those who insist that if you cannot hold your nose and vote for Trump that means you are helping Hillary? Because I have. A lot. And I’m getting angry about it. I have, we all have, a perfect right to vote for whoever we want to support for whatever reason. We can think the other’s reasons are stupid or ignorant but that doesn’t change their “right”. Except there are a lot of people that think they have the right to “guilt” us into voting for Trump or else Hillary will win.

    My personal opinion is that either is a disaster for us as a people and a country. And no one will “guilt” me into voting for a man I despise with every fiber of my being. And the more they try the more intractable I become.

    I don’t know how many more elections I will be around for. But I know that I have drawn a line for this one. I will NOT vote purely against any more. Sometime I can hold my nose and vote. Not this time. The stench coming from both Trump and Hillary has burned out my olfactory nerves.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ABSOLUTELY. I had someone I had previously considered a friend send me a PM yesterday trying to proselytize me into voting for Trump, mentioning the Hillary thing, all of that. Every time someone plays that game with me, “if you don’t vote for Trump, you’re handing the Presidency to Hillary!” I reply that, no, THEY are by choosing a candidate singularly unsuited for the position he seeks. I then tell them that people have to EARN my vote. The last time I voted for a candidate I didn’t like but felt I had to do so was John Kerry in 2004. That was the last time I voted straight ticket Dem, and I will never, ever give my vote away to someone I dislike again.

      I am perfectly happy voting for either Cruz or Rubio, but I will NEVER vote for Trump. He may even be worse than Hillary should he get the Presidency. In many ways, with his bullying, violent, arrogant manner, he is likely to be worse…

      So yeah – it is pretty much incessant. That is their main talking point, I think. Just like Obots, they get their talking points and go with them, trolling every single Facebook page of someone they may (or may not) know, constantly attacking people and making it ALL abt Pro-Trump. I am sick to death of them already.

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    I got a new Mercedes Lackey trilogy yesterday from Amazon and I intend to spend the day with it.

    No Sunday Morning television, the talking heads haven’t been on my favorite list for some time.

    No Oscars, the whole extravaganza is now nothing more than a venue for the self-indulgent and for more racial politics. Just me and my book and silence. I like silence. I’m a big fan of silence.

    Lou is going down to visit his mother for the day so I will have the house to myself.

    Maybe tomorrow I’ll wake up better able to contend with a world that seem to have gone crazy. Maybe not. But I will have had one beautiful day of no damn Donald Trump and that’s worth the world to me. A cleansing of the palate if you will.

    Have a blessed day my friends.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I watched a little bit of news early on, but once it became the Trump Show again – on both Fox and CNN – i watched the Friday night Curling show I had dvr’ed, and Suzy has been catching up on some of the shows she missed while she was out of town. I have been reading Dana Perino’s book (very interesting, I have to say!), and plan on not watching the Oscars, or talking heads today.

      Yep – it is a day of rest for us both, it seems! 🙂 Your day sounds perfect, Marge. Nothing like curling up with a good book when you know you won’t be interrupted. I hope your day is as lovely as it sounds, and may you be blessed as well, friend!

  14. piper Says:

    I wanted to write this before leaving on my bike ride. A bit of dissonance here – why are so many people posting comments about how ‘awful’ T-rump is and all of his nefarious business dealings yet are planning to jump off the cliff in voting for him. SMH

    And somehow everyone is thinking that he will be the nominee based on him winning 2 states. Well then let’s all pack it in right here and now, and save the yelling/ mashing of teeth for the general.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent cartoon, though Trump said just recently that he supported the Obamacare Mandate – and then he changed his mind in less than 24 hrs. I literally had someone who was trying to convert me to Trump yesterday claim that to hold him to his record in the past was being a Hater. I swear to you, I am not making this up. It doesn’t matter what he said LAST WEEK – his followers are SO sure he is going to do what he says he is going to do once he is in office. I swear, it is a blind following worse than Obama’s. Yep, I am pretty sure of that…

      And that’s what I keep saying. Why even bother having Primaries if the media is going to determine that Trump has already won with votes cast in only 4 states?? What’s the point of having elections, then – why not just let the media declare who it is going to be, and we can like it or lump it? WOW…

      Thanks for the great cartoon!

  15. foxyladi14 Says:

    Have a peaceful happy blessed Sunday dear friends.
    I love you all.
    And Amy enjoy the trip. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks, dear Foxy – and the same to you!

      I appreciate the well wishes for the trip, too. SO excited! 😀

  16. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I love our Governor: http://www.wimsradio.com/2016/02/28/south-carolina-gov-nikki-haley-doesnt-understand-why-chris-christie-endorsed-donald-trump-2/

    And this quote is fantastic:

    Haley said Trump is everything “we teach our kids not to do in kindergarten.” She added Rubio’s recent jabs at Trump show he was willing to lead and fight with passion and is “exactly what we tell our children also — if a bully hits you, you hit back.”

  17. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    To go along with the Matt Walsh piece (40 Reasons Not To Vote For Trump), there is this analysis on Trump’s Narcissistic Personality Disorder (h/t Facebook friend): http://www.addictinginfo.org/2015/11/22/top-u-s-psychiatrists-confirm-trumps-narcissistic-personality-disorder-textbook-case/

Leave a Reply

