Two Fiery Women: Heeding One, And Honoring The Other *Open Thread*

by

First, an admission on my part: due to my former narrow-minded Far Left Democratic mindset, I used to demean and dismiss both of the women about whom this post is. That would be Michelle Malkin, and former First Lady, Nancy Reagan. Since I became an Independent in 2008, I have come to realize how much misinformation I was fed, how many downright lies I was told, both by the DNC and the media, and how little regard for strong women the Democratic Party – the alleged Party of Women – actually has.

My eyes were open in a big, big way back in 2008, as I saw how the DNC treated then-Senator Hillary Clinton, as well as Governor Sarah Palin. The levels of sexism and misogyny was appalling, and shocking. It did, however, enable me to open my eyes some, remove the blinders and rose-colored glasses, and finally heed the red flags I had seen waving, but because I had been taught – not by my parents, mind you – by the Party how evil all Republicans were.  realized I had been sold a bill of goods by the Party to which I had given my allegiance from childhood into “mature”adulthood.

People to whom I would NEVER listen before simply because they had an “R” by their name, I opened my ears, and my mind. And what I discovered was that there were a number of intelligent, thoughtful, dedicated, passionate, patriotic people on the Right. One of those people was Michelle Malkin. Like anyone else, I don’t agree with everything she has to say, but her passion, her viewpoint especially on Education, and her role as Truthteller for Conservatives.

Malkin spoke this weekend at CPAC, the Conservative conference held every year this time. And for the first time in 13 years, Malkin brought her take on issues like border security, Common Core, and more to the floor, via Legal Insurrection:

 

Malkin is indeed fiery, and she is also absolutely right on Common Core. I have noted here more than a few times that many educators, my liberal cousin, a retired Education professor included, dislike Common Core with a PASSION. They are especially disgusted that there were blessed few (if any) Educators actually involved in crafting the behemoth Educational system essentially forced on States if they want any Federal money.

But that wasn’t all Malkin had to say, calling out the GOP specifically for using talking points to gain support, then turning against the very people who elect them to office. There is much more to her speech and I hope you will give her a lesson.

The other “fiery woman,” Nancy Reagan, passed away on Sunday. The First Lady from 1981 – 1989, she was known for her absolute devotion to her husband, Ronald Reagan, and her strength of character. That strength was often made manifest in ways that earned her the moniker of “dragon lady,” primarily for her input with her husband. That she was called that speaks volumes about her critics, in my opinion, since it was directed at her for what they saw as “meddlesome.”

Before I go further, once again, I have to make an admission. I was a died-in-the-wool, yellow-dog Democrat back then, and it has only been much later that I have come to appreciate Ronald Reagan’s presidency, and the devotion his wife had for him, as well as the care she took of him,  while he was President, and until his death. I remember well ridiculing one of the very few Republicans at Union Theological Seminary was I was an M.Div. student there, who was a big Reagan supporter. He must have been made of strong stuff as he sat with a bunch of us in my room watching the returns. And while he could have been a sore winner, he was not.

And I am ashamed of my reaction to a neighbor Suzy and I had back when Reagan died. He was a staunch Republican married to a Democrat. When she came over to say he wouldn’t be joining us in the day’s planned activity because he was watching all of the news about Reagan and crying, I admit, I made fun of him for it. I couldn’t understand why anyone would be that devoted to Reagan, a REPUBLICAN, for heaven’s sake!

Wow, right? Now I have listened to parts of his speeches (you know I couldn’t be bothered with that before), and understand why so many people consider him to be such a great President. And his beloved wife, Nancy, no doubt played a big role in that.

And so, I want to add a few photographs that highlight Nancy Reagan’s life. From the IJReview:

Visiting the Vietnam Memorial with her husband:

gettyimages-515060291

A “Just Say No” rally in Oakland:

c32260-15

In Normandy:

c8626-11

Saying goodbye to her beloved husband, Ronald:

(Click here to see the rest of the photos.)

Powerful images all, and they speak volumes about the woman she was.

For reactions from others to the passing of the former First Lady, the Daily Signal has a good piece I recommend, with observations like this from President George W. Bush:

[…] “Laura and I are saddened by the loss of former First Lady Nancy Reagan,” Former President George W. Bush stated. “Mrs. Reagan was fiercely loyal to her beloved husband, and that devotion was matched only by her devotion to our country. Her influence on the White House was complete and lasting. During her time as First Lady and since, she raised awareness about drug abuse and breast cancer. When we moved into the White House, we benefitted from her work to make those historic rooms beautiful. Laura and I are grateful for the life of Nancy Reagan, and we send our condolences to the entire Reagan family.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

May she rest in peace as she is reunited with the love of her life. And may her family be comforted knowing how much their mother meant to so many in this country, and around the world…

This is an Open Thread.

 

Tags: , , ,

28 Responses to “Two Fiery Women: Heeding One, And Honoring The Other *Open Thread*”

  1. piper Says:

    Thank you for this thread on Michelle Malkin and Nancy Reagan. I also like you believed the democrat message and denigrated both strong women. Thankfully my eyes and mind were opened, and I can see the hypocrisy coming from both parties which is why I changed from being a democrat to being an independent voter.

    As for common core education, why would anyone think teachers should have any input into the curriculum which we are supposed to teach – most of us have at least a master degree but obviously know nuthin about teaching and appropriate curriculum.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      My pleasure, piper! Yeah, once I took off the blinders, I realized there were a whole bunch of people saying things with which I agreed, but never would have known before because I wouldn’t listen to them. It’s embarrassing as hell, but there ya have it!

      And yeah – what the heck do you teachers know about edumacation, huh? Sheesh! 😉

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I too needed to have my eyes opened. Although I confess that even as a Democrat I was touched by the obvious love Ron and Nancy had for each other. There are too few real love stories around and it was amazing to me to have one in the White House. I also confess that I was impressed by Reagan saying to Nancy, after he was shot, “honey I forgot to duck.”

        It’s a shame that we have/had become so polarized that we don’t all, as Americans, mourn the passing of an American President, past or present.

        Unlike Hillary Clinton who celebrated and chortled at the death of Kaddafi, I don’t celebrate anyone’s death. Not mourn perhaps, but never celebrate.

        • mcnorman Says:

          It truly was a love that was to be envied. If ever there was a pair of lovebirds, they were it.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          That story abt Reagan telling his wife he forgot to duck is just priceless. What an amazing couple they must have been. The strength she demonstrated in caring for him in the White House, after he was shot, when he became ill, all of that speaks to her incredible strength…

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    Awesome post Amy.
    I love fiery Women.
    We have some that post here. ❤

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    I have come to like Michelle Malkin very much. She hasn’t wavered or waffled, she is who she is. Unapologetically. I applaud her for that.

    As for that ranting lunatic, Judge Jeanine, whom I am ashamed to admit I once watched and liked, I am past disgust. She has become Keith Olbermann in a dress. I have not only lost all respect for her, I have come to dread the strident sound of her overworked voice. Is it just me or has she begun pursing her lips just like her beloved Trump? I can’t bear to watch her enough to really tell. Just a zipping past impression.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Lands’ End Should Have Known Gloria Steinem Is Poison

    In simplest terms, Steinem sought equality for women not by building them up, but by tearing them down. She trashed traditional women and their work and insisted that we be like men. Of course, since men will always be better at being men in a being men contest, she had to kneecap men, as well. While we focused on manly standards of success, she and the other Ms.’s ripped the idea of masculinity and set up the men versus women discourse we are so familiar with today.

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/03/04/lands-end-should-have-known-gloria-steinem-is-poison/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      WHAT THE HELL WERE THEY THINKING?!?! Good HEAVENS, have they lost their minds in the marketing department there?! WOW.

      And excellent, excellent piece, btw – thanks for that!

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    It’s being reported that the Democrats have a plan to “shatter the Republican Party.” When he heard, Donald Trump said, “Beat you to it!”

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I would not be one bit surprised to learn that this was all coordinated in one way or another with Trump and the Dems. Considering how he talks abt the people who support him – uneducated, that he could kill someone and they wouldn’t care (which they seem to take as a GOOD thing to say abt them), and more, I would not be at all surprised…

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      No wonder Washington elites hate him so much, he actually thought it important to keep his word. That’s not a concept they can understand.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        People i know in Texas are definitely for Cruz, and that is why – he does what he says he is going to do. They say he is a man of his word, and yes, that seems to be a VERY foreign concept in Washington, DC…

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    😉

    Melania Trump gave an in-depth interview Wednesday about her upbringing in Slovenia and how she became a model and met Donald. She said she was instantly attracted to him. Donald Trump has two things that every supermodel wants in a man, ten billion dollars and high cholesterol.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      AHAHAHA…Funny!

      Btw, sorry to be so late to the party. I had to go have another epidural today since the last one did nothing for me. My ortho wanted me to have tow fairly close together, then go see him after we get back from our cruise. Fingers crossed…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Crossing my fingers for you too Amy. Also sending good thoughts and remembering you in my prayers. Sort of a triple whammy!

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thank you so much, Marge. You know that prayers are always more than welcome! And I love the Triple Whammy – heck yeah, bring it on! 😀

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    What an absolutely idiotic, ignorant, racist comment for Sen. Bernie Sanders to make, essentially that there are no poor whites in this country: http://injo.com/2016/03/553701-twitter-reactions-to-sanders-racism/?

    What a ridiculous thing to say. As one person noted, apparently he hasn’t been to Appalachia and other places across this country. WOW.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I read that he was trying to get some of the black vote away from Hillary and her amazing here it is and there it goes southern accent. This may do it. On the other hand it will probably lose and poor white voters. And in spite of the impression the media gives, there are more poor whites than poor blacks. Simply because there are more whites than blacks. Too bad basic math isn’t taught anymore.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Uh, yeah. But for some reason, poor whites just don’t matter, and clearly their votes don’t…

        It is funny how so many of these Dems all of a sudden get a Southern accent, isn’t it? Makes me nuts…

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump warns of commercials ‘bought and “payed” for by SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS’

    http://twitchy.com/2016/03/06/trump-warns-of-commercials-bought-and-payed-for-by-special-interest-groups/

    Evidently #therealdonaldtrump cant’ spell. Did not Trump tell us that “I know words, I have all the best words.” Maybe so, but evidently he doesn’t know how to spell all those words. His braggadocio about it makes him look silly.

    Not a fatal flaw, my own father’s spelling was always interesting and seldom right. But in a presidential candidate it just looks so tacky.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      It is just astonishing to see all of the complaints abt things in this election cycle like the Superdelegates for Clinton that no one seemed to mind when they were for Obama, and now the billionaire complaining abt groups having the audacity to target him for things he says. WOW. “I ought sue!” has been taken to new levels with Trump…

Leave a Reply

