Yet Another GOP Debate, Big States/Stakes Coming, And Hasta La Vista, Baby

by

Yes, Lord, there is another GOP Debate Thursday night on CNN following the Democratic one they had Wednesday night. That one went about as well as you might expect given the two Democratic candidates split the states in Tuesday’s Primaries (Clinton – Mississippi, Sanders – Michigan – a shocking outcome).

I think this sums up the Democrats’ debate fairly well after that:

 

Well, one has to HOPE Red will win in the upcoming election, unless it’s Trump and then, in the infamous words of Sec. Clinton, “What difference at this point does it make?” Ahem.

Huh – come to think of it, this could well relate to the GOP debate Thursday night, too. You feel me?

Anyway, yes, CNN will be hosting the event, beginning at 8:30 pm (EST), with Jake Tapper, Dana Bash, and Hugh Hewitt willing to come back and be another target for Trump’s condescending, insulting attacks. Good luck there, Hugh…

One thing about these events – there are only four people left, and one of them – KASICH – really needs to bow out already. Even if he wins his home state of OH, his pathway to the nomination can be summed up thusly: slim and none. He is doing nothing but aiding and abetting Trump every time. Get out.

Which leads me to the Big States and Stakes coming up on March 15th. This day is seen as a real make it or break it for both Senator Marco Rubio and Governor John Kasich. They NEED to win both of their states, Florida and Ohio, respectively. That still won’t be enough for Kasich, in my humble opinion, but it will sure help Rubio. Unless, heaven forfend, he loses his state to The Donald. At this point, Rubio is moving up in the polls, cutting Trump’s lead to single digits, but Rubio has to work like crazy to make sure he wins his state. And it would help if it was by a lot just for bragging rights since Florida is a “winner take all” for Republicans, with 99 delegates, a pretty big haul. But don’t count out Cruz, either. He may do well there.

Ohio is also a “winner take all” state, which means Kasich absolutely has to win it. He is “optimistic” about it. Though as I have noted above, even with the 66 delegates it provides, I am not sure that will be enough to keep him in anyway.

Hillary Clinton, meanwhile, is currently leading the polls in both Florida AND Ohio, which should really put her out of reach of Bernie Sanders. That is, should those numbers hold. She is looking VERY strong in Florida, though, so her chances look very good there.

Of course, these aren’t the only states holding Primaries on March 15th for both Democrats and Republicans. The others are: Illinois, North Carolina, and Missouri. The Republicans have a caucus in the Northern Mariana Islands, too, so be sure to watch out for THOSE results. Ahaha.

One other thing about the upcoming Primaries: Florida is a closed primary, meaning people HAVE to vote in their respective primaries, no crossing over. Ohio, on the other hand, is open. To see more about which states are open or closed, click here. Bottom line, it will be interesting.

And I will not be here to write about it at all. Nope, on March 15,I will be in Puerto Chacabuca, Chile, Day Four of our fourteen day NCL cruise from Santiago, Chile to Buenos Aires, Argentina, and on our second excursion of our trip.

Our first one will be in Puerto Montt, Chile. We have a number of sea days during this cruise, which is fine by me, two days between Puerto Chacabuco and our next port of call, Punta Arenas, Chile. The next day, Day Eight, we will be in Ushuaia, Argentina. Another sea day, and then we are in Stanley, Falkland Islands. Another sea day takes us to Puerto Madryn in Argentina, then another day at sea. We dock then in Montevideo, Uruguay, then disembark in Buenos Aires the next day. I will take lots of photos, and Suzy will take some videos, too. I will bore you with them after I return, including video by Suzy (hopefully) of the Rockhopper Penguins in the Falklands:

And since we will begin our trip today, flying first to Miami, then an overnight flight to Santiago with a day of sightseeing on Friday, with the cruise beginning on Sat., this is my last post until I return at the end of the month. Once we leave Miami, we will only be checking email once a day on the ship, primarily to make sure all is well with our babies.

Thankfully, Kenoshamarge has accepted being the Administrator of the blog until I return. If you have any questions, or if a comment gets stuck waiting for approval, she will be the one to contact. I am HOPEFUL that Kenoshamarge will also feel like writing a few more of her fantastic posts – but no pressure, Marge!

Until then, consider this your continuing Open Thread. Feel free to discuss whatever is on your minds, from the Primaries to the terror attacks that continue to rock Israel, taking the life of a West Point grad/Army vet/Vanderbilt student, Taylor Force, yesterday. There is much going on in the world despite the focus of the Campaigns here.

Until my return then, all I have to say is, Adios and Hasta la vista (baby). I wish you all a good 2 1/2 weeks, and hope you are all doing well both now and when I return. Thanks again, Marge, for taking over for me. You’re the best!

This is an Open Thread.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

38 Responses to “Yet Another GOP Debate, Big States/Stakes Coming, And Hasta La Vista, Baby”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I am not the best, but am filling in for the best and that’s scary. But I’ll try and hopefully your blog will still be standing when you return.

    Have a wonderful time. And I want to see those pictures and videos. Especially of penguins. I love, don’t we all, penguins!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      My dear Marge, you sell yourself short! And thank you for the very generous compliment. That is so sweet of you! I am grateful indeed that you agreed to keep an eye on the blog while I am gone. I know it is in very good hands indeed!

      Absolutely, lots of photos and videos of penguins upon my return! I am so excited abt seeing them, I can scarcely contain myself! I know there will be many great things to see, but PENGUINS! Need I say more?! 🙂

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here’s a great quote from the end of what I thought was a great John Kass article in the Chicago Tribune. The whole piece was good IMHO, but this part really said it all for me. The link for the entire article follows the quote.

    The issue here is Republican Party politics. Trump would deal with the GOP establishment. That’s what he does. He’s a deal maker.

    And Cruz? He burned his bridges with the Combine bosses on purpose, publicly, loudly, so there was no hope of return. ~ John Kass

    http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/columnists/kass/ct-trump-cruz-gop-kass-0310-20160309-column.html

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I agree – excellent article by Kass. Thanks so much for this!

      Oh, and in case you are wondering ho I am responding, I am sitting in the Admirals Club in Miami. We just got in, and our flight doesn’t board until 10 tonight. So, I have a little time on my hands!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Admiral’s Club? No messing with the lessor ranks huh you two? 😉

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          LOL, not on this trip! Thanks to how much Suzy travels for work, we are in First Class, a good thing indeed since this is an overnight flight. The reclining chairs will be much better for my achy breaky neck, back, shoulders, and knees. 🙂 So yeah, when you are in First going to certain countries, they let you into the Club. Thank heavens since it is also close to our gate. Bonus!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ahahaha, love it! And isn’t it ironic how the media doesn’t care how low TRUMP goes, but they berate anyone else who says something remotely low. Amazing…

  4. mcnorman Says:

    You have a great time Amy. KenoshaMarge is a blast. No worries here.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump Campaign Manager Admits to Assaulting Reporter Michelle Fields, Left Her Bruised

    During a discussion with Breitbart’s Matt Boyle and reported by The Daily Beast, Lewandowski admitted to grabbing Fields and made the excuse that he didn’t realize she worked for Breitbart, a Trump friendly outlet. He also left Fields with a bruise.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/katiepavlich/2016/03/10/trumps-campaign-manager-admits-to-physically-grabbing-reporter-michelle-fields-n2131300

    Evidently Lewandowski is one of the “good” people Trump will surround himself with. And who knew it was only wrong because he didn’t know she was from a “Trump Friendly outlet.

  6. piper Says:

    Amy,
    We’ll miss you but have a blast during your vacation.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, piper! I will miss all of y’all, too, but I look forward to telling you all abt our exploits upon our return!

      • mcnorman Says:

        Cannot wait to see the pics.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thanks, mcnorman! We are safely at our hotel in Valparaiso after a pretty Rocky flight overnight, but a very nice private tour of Santiago, and lunch in Valparaiso overlooking the ocean (these people eat later than we Americans do!). Tomorrow, the ship!

          Oh, and I did take some photos today. Once I get home, you will be begging me to stop! 🙂

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    So I am hearing all this talk that, after being called a pedophile and more by Trump, Carson is going to endorse him. I cannot begin to tell you how disgusted and disappointed I am with this decision of Carson’s. It says a whole lot abt him to me, and none of it good. Wow. Just freaking wow.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      It tells me the same things it tells you about Carson. He is not, and evidently never was, the man I thought he was.

      • mcnorman Says:

        I think that he wanted more than anything to stick a finger in Ted’s eye.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          No, he most definitely is NOT the man we ought he was. As I noted above, he will be getting a position out of it, and yes, I think it was a jab at Cruz. That kind of vindictiveness, one that potentially affects the nation, speaks VOLUMES abt who Carson really is…

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          That makes him a very petty little man. I thought better of him. Sigh, another time that I thought someone was far better than they were. Will I never learn?

          • mcnorman Says:

            I can only imagine that she is happy to be reunited. She waited patiently and I will add with much grace.

          • mcnorman Says:

            Wow, my comment went nutso.

            Don’t beat yourself up on this. I have come to terms with what politics does to people. IMHO if what Carson says is true to his heart, he wants to make change happen. If forgiving that monstrous transgression of DTs gives him an opportunity to make the education system function or give us better than ogarbagecare on a DT cabinet…who am I to question that? On the other hand, I too have been very disappointed and will only tell you that time and actions are much louder than words. Four deep breaths and I usually can wait and watch a little longer. I have no pony in this race. I do and will vote against whatever the dems decide to prop up. I have been decimated by ogarbagecare and this asshat’s other policies so I will not give my vote to them.

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            Yes, “petty” is the word for Carson. I am really surprised after all the horrible things Trump said abt him that he could turn around and endorse this man for POTUS. Just astonishing…

  8. mcnorman Says:

    On another note, just finished watching Nancy Reagan’s funeral. I was never a fan of hers, but I admired the incredible love and support of her husband.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Theirs was a real love story. She must have been very lonely for a very long time.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I imagine she is very glad to be reunited with her true love. Yes, she must have been lonely indeed without him all those years. Well, her time has come to return Home and for that I imagine she must be grateful.

      I didn’t appreciate her at the time, but I have respect for her now…

Leave a Reply

