Down The Rabbit Hole *Open Thread*

by

There are hundreds, maybe thousands of people, and all of them smarter than me, who have tried to explain the Trump phenomena. Mostly unsuccessfully. They try but most of them, for all their smart don’t have any more of a clue that I do. They just need to pretend they understand because they are pundits and pundits need to know stuff. Unlike us ordinary folk who don’t know…stuff.

Among those writing about the phenomena Sunday morning was Jonah Goldberg. His explanation made the most sense to me of any explanation I have seen or heard. Jonah you have made sense of the inexplicable.

I don’t know how many of you remember the  movie, “Invasion Of The Body Snatchers”. The one I prefer was made in 1956 starring Kevin McCarthy and Dana Wynter and was in black and white. It was frightening. The Donald Sutherland remake couldn’t hold a candle for sheer fright power in my opinion

I checked under my bed for one of the alien pods for months after seeing it. It scared the dickens out of both me and my little brother and yet there wasn’t any blood, no body parts, and the aliens were more implied than seen. It was terrifying, especially if you had an imagination.

Horror movies today require little or no imagination. The movie floats on a sea of blood and most of the movie is devoted to turning stupid people, you know the kind that hear a noise down in the basement of a spooky house and go look to see what it is –  into pieces, some large and some small.

Many movies are about young people who some how during the course of the movie get turned into sushi. No need for any imagination because you see exactly what happened to the victim. In all too graphic detail.No wonder we tend to be somewhat blunted in our sensibility. We have been deluged with images that are meant to horrify until they horrify no more. Then new, and bloodier images must be conjured. Young people have watched these images their entire lives.  Freddy one, two, three to infinity. Each bloodier than the previous.They’ve grown up on a steady diet of teenagers chopped, sliced, diced to whatever bloody ending a writer can think of. That would blunt anyone’s sensibilities.

Now what the dickens has this got to do with politics and with the Trump Phenomena you ask? Or maybe you don’t. Maybe you don’t care. Maybe you are sick of the whole thing and wish to have your eyes and ears Trumped no more. Understandable.

However if you want to see if I can come to a point, if I have a point, or even if I can find my point, stick with me for a moment or two. I do have a point, it’s around here someplace. Ah, I remember…

Sunday morning Jonah Goldberg whom I like very much, I like his dog Zoe too, wrote what I consider the definitive explanation of the Trump Phenomena – We’ve been invaded. There are pods under our beds and if you go to sleep you will be taken over too and become a mindless Trumpkin and mouth mindless inanities.

Below is the piece by Jonah, go read the whole post – it’s very long but it’s also funny. Even in what can read is his despair, Goldberg is amusing.

 In a Slow-Motion Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Media Figures Embrace Trump One by One  

By Jonah Goldberg

At times, I sometimes think I’m living in a weird remake of The Invasion of the Body Snatchers. If you’ve seen any of the umpteen versions, you know the pattern. Someone you know or love goes to sleep one night and appears the next day to be the exact same person you always knew. Except. Except they’re different, somehow. They talk funny. They don’t care about the same things they used to. It’s almost like they became Canadian overnight — seemingly normal, but off in some way. Even once-friendly dogs start barking at them. I live in constant fear that I will run into Kevin Williamson, Charlie Cooke, or Rich Lowry and they will start telling me that Donald Trump is a serious person because he’s tapping into this or he’s willing to say that. I imagine my dog suddenly barking at them uncontrollably.

http://www.nationalreview.com/article/432708/donald-trump-media-supporters-principles-conservatism

See what I mean? It is suddenly clear to me. Thank you Jonah Goldberg. We have witnessed the coming of the pod people. And you thought those kinds of people were Democrats.

You thought that only Democrats could so lack cognitive ability that they would worship at the feet of a one term Senator and become Obots. Wrong.

You now see that that same lack of cognitive ability is present in Republican ranks too.

The Pods are everywhere. Don’t go to sleep.

 

UPDATE:

It has become clear to me that while chastising the media for their “Trump” mania, I have become infected too. I’ve admitted to having TDS. My disgust, distaste and revulsion for the man has lost me friends and caused me to lose perspective.

I’m gonna take something for that. Because I know there is a cure.

17 Responses to “Down The Rabbit Hole *Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Marge you have done it again.
    Now after I get up off the floor from from my giggling fit.
    I love you and your sense of humor.
    And the excellent explanation of thing. 😀

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    Marge said
    “However if you want to see if I can come to a point, if I have a point, or even if I can find my point, stick with me for a moment or two. I do have a point, it’s around here someplace. Ah, I remember”
    _______________________________

    Mine is under my hat. :lol

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Random Thoughts on the Current Chaos

    By Kurt Schlichter

    I’ve avoided picking a candidate so far, but it’s time for the Schlichter Primary polls to close. I support Scott Walker – wait, sorry, he wisely pulled out when he saw this wasn’t going to be a cycle where normalcy was rewarded. No, I support Ted Cruz. I’ve given him some money, and I know some people associated with his campaign and they are top notch. His ideology largely matches mine, and he’s cunning. I’ve seen him talk – though I wish he was less a Harvard Law appellate lawyer than a trial lawyer who has to talk to actual people instead of at them.

    But I am worried because I doubt he’s ever been in a bar brawl. His civility spiel is nice, but if he really believes it he is delusional. This is going to be an epic knife fight and if he’s not willing to go toe-to-toe with Hillary and her hordes – yeah, the Trump rally crashing was a vision of violent things to come – he’s going to be crushed. His people can do it; he needs to decide he’s going for the throat and then go for it.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/2016/03/14/random-thoughts-on-the-current-chaos-n2132949/page/full

  5. foxyladi14 Says:

    Oh my!!! 😯

    https://t.co/kEFev1L0Af

  6. foxyladi14 Says:

    A comment from another site.

    ‘Did anyone happen to watch the political “insiders” last night with Harris Faulkner? The former NY congressman straight up said that a lot of people have invested a lot of money and no matter the votes Trump is not going to be POTUS, it won’t be allowed. He and the other 2 agreed that the person that will actually be POTUS is not yet in the race”

  7. foxyladi14 Says:

    My question is this.
    Will we the people stand for TPTB to choose POTUS for us (again)?

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    In Defense Of Trump’s Chicago Protesters

    By tucking tail and running from Chicago Friday, Donald Trump proved he has neither the head nor the heart to withstand the strong scrutiny of American democracy.

    Back in August, Donald Trump had strong words for Bernie Sanders after a Black Lives Matter protest interrupted a Sanders rally. Trump said, “I would never give up my microphone. I thought that was disgusting.” He went on to say, “That will never happen with me…I don’t know if I’ll do the fighting myself, or if other people will, but that was a disgrace. I felt badly for him, but it showed that he’s weak.”

    On Friday night, Trump had the chance to show how he would react to a Black Lives Matter protest. He tucked his tail between his legs and scurried back to his jet. At least Sanders had stayed on the stage.

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/03/14/in-defense-of-trumps-chicago-protesters/

    Let me make it perfectly clear that I do not advocate violence against anyone. But protests are a way for people to voice their opinion. Was there violence “before” the rally was cancelled?

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump Is Loki

    By John Podhoretz

    Trump, I’ve often said, is a manifestation of Loki, the god of misrule. Misrule breeds chaos. Chaos breeds violence. A political party that chooses Loki for its leader is a political party with a rank-and-file choosing chaos. And a political party whose populist left is provoking its rival into choosing chaos is morally stained as well.

    https://www.commentarymagazine.com/politics-ideas/campaigns-elections/trump-is-loki/

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Rev Amy has made her disdain for Trump perfectly clear. She has said, repeatedly, that she will not vote for him. She has expressed her dismay at his followers for making excuses for him. I know that is true because I have had many conversations with her on the subject and I heartily agree. When she returns she may well be open to being proselytized about Trump. That’s for her to say. I can only speak for myself – and I am not.

    This blog is one of the few places on the internet where you can find some peace from the Trump supporters and their insistence that even if you don’t like him you must vote for him.

    I remember hearing that siren song many times before. Both as a Democrat and as an Independent. We have to vote for people we don’t like, don’t want, don’t trust, and don’t respect – for the greater good. Lest someone worse get elected. What the Trump supporters cannot seem to understand is that for some of us, many of us, there is nothing worse than Trump!

    Everyone is free to cast their vote as they choose. For those who support Trump you will have your chance to cast your vote for him. But please, don’t attempt to pursued me to vote for him.

    When you have the ballot in your hand, as we have here in Wisconsin, there is only one person’s opinion that matters, your own. As it should be.

  13. foxyladi14 Says:

    Amen dear friend. ❤

  14. foxyladi14 Says:

    I am anxiously waiting for some word from our dear Amy.
    With pics too. 😀

  15. foxyladi14 Says:

    Where is everyone Marge?
    Looks like it is you and I, holding down the fort. 😀

  16. foxyladi14 Says:

    I love these 🙂

    https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtf1/v/t1.0-9/12742028_789572381146731_5995050278716498209_n.jpg?oh=15e77aac82ee5ce0ca31998c9a8e7128&oe=57564DB3

Leave a Reply

