Another “Super Tuesday” Has Come And Gone *Open Thread*

by

 

Florida…….99 Delegates, Winner Take All, Closed Primary

Illinois……69 Delegates, Winner Take All*, Open Primary

Missouri……52 Delegates, Winner Take All*, Open Primary

N Carolina….72 Delegates, Proportional, Open Primary

N Mariana Is…9 Delegates, Winner Take All, Closed Caucus

Ohio……….66 Delegates, Winner Take All, Open Primary

Let me say right off the bat I am opposed to “winner take all” primaries. I am even more opposed to “open primaries”. I also think “early” voting is stupid beyond belief.

Although in North Carolina, it’s only open if you are registered as Non-Affiliated (Independent). If you are Independent then you have your pick of whichever ballot you want. But if you are registered as a Republican or Democrat, then the only ballot available to you is the party ballot. (Got this information from The Right Scoop)

I would only favor “winner take all” if the candidate took more than 50% of the total. If not, then proportional. Open primaries are an open invitation to shenanigans in my opinion. I know many people don’t see anything wrong with it, it isn’t illegal, but I don’t like it. Your vote shouldn’t be part of a game.

As I said above I don’t like early voting. How many votes have been cast for people who have all ready dropped out? People wasted their vote. That should not happen.

Trump has  “won” the 9 delegates from the North Marianas Islands.  He “took” Florida, Illinois, North Carolina and at this point Missouri as well.  Kasich convincingly won Ohio.

Rubio has suspended his campaign after getting thoroughly trounced in his home state. Unfortunately not before his ego kept him in and gave Trump 99 delegates. Could he have thrown his campaign behind Cruz and the two of them defeated Trump? We’ll never know now. Perhaps not since it is being said that Trump got the majority of the codger vote in Florida and there are a whole lot of codgers there. And as David Harsanyi so eloquently said: “Boy, they really suffer down in Boca.”

And as a further triumph for Trump I expect Kasich to throw himself and his win in his state over to Trump at some time in the near future. He’s making big noise this morning but has to know other than a brokered convention he hasn’t a chance. And a brokered convention that bypasses the top two will not sit well with Republicans. We’ll have to see how things play out.

Here are the complete numbers available as I’m writing this:  http://townhall.com/election/2016/primary-results

What does it all mean? I have no idea. To me it appears that Trump is all but inevitable. I have the same sinking feeling in my stomach as I did when I watched Obama take the country by storm. The same anger. The same disbelief.

I was told by a Trumpanzee this morning that Republicans will now unite behind Trump. Given the delusional state of most Trump supporters I think she actually believes that. She then believes the country will rally behind him to defeat Hillary. Like an Obot I suspect she believes in unicorns.

I suspect we are watching the slow motion death of the Republican Party. What that means other than dominance by the Dems I don’t know. I’m not sure I even want to know. I just know that I for one will never jump on the Trump Bandwagon. And there are a lot more like me. A lot more. Sour grapes? Maybe. But heartfelt sour grapes.

I’ll leave you with what David Harsanyi says so much better than I can:

   The Lesson of 2016: People Are The Worst   

By David Harsanyi

Last weekend I began rereading Gustave Le Bon’s 1895 book about the psychology of large groups, entitled “The Crowd: A Study of the Popular Mind.” The book basically offers a synopsis of the Trump — and to some extent — the Obama spectacles of the past few years. It’s filled with snippets like this one:

The masses have never thirsted after truth. … Whoever can supply them with illusions is easily their master; whoever attempts to destroy their illusions is always their victim.

The Lesson of 2016: People Are The Worst

Whatever sparked the Trump movement, it now exhibits most of the irrational attributes of “The Crowd.” And this kind of boorish, herd mentality is human nature. Still, plenty of smart people continue spend a lot of time speculating about the movement’s deeper motivations. Rationalizing it. How many stories today, for example, will focus on the white hardscrabble working-class voter even after Trump ran away with the gray-haired retirees of Florida and the well-heeled homeowners of the Chicago suburbs?

Boy, they really suffer down in Boca.

15 Responses to “Another “Super Tuesday” Has Come And Gone *Open Thread*”

  1. mcnorman Says:

    I liked Marco’s buh bye speech. It’s too bad that he ran with the gang of eight. He would have actually had a chance. I, like so many others cannot forgive what the Dems have done to the border. Anyone offering amnesty to those who have been allowed to break the law are criminals imo. I have friends and family that work for DHS which is now a department run by PC. They were told (8yrs ago) to not chase anyone crossing. This is the new voting base. HRC better brush up on those foreign languages, especially Espanol.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Rubio had such promise and he threw it all away when he played patty-cake with the Gang of 8. He never recovered from that. Republicans never trusted him after that.

      • mcnorman Says:

        Actions always speak louder than words. I live with the consequences of an open porous border. I know that there is absolutely no desire to close it at this time.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Caught this comment this morning and this lady speaks for me too:

    The Donald was confronted with the anti-Trump voters who said they’d prefer a 3rd Party candidate to Trump this morning on Fox;

    He said ” the anti-Trump voters love me, they just don’t want to admit it publicly.”

    ….uh, NO we don’t love you privately or publicly, Donald. When you provide conservatives with informed, principled plans, when you stop the demagoguery, the juvenile personal attacks and inflammatory language….when you begin to behave like a leader of the free world, then we’ll talk…I won’t hold my breath….

  3. foxyladi14 Says:

    Another great post Marge thanks.
    Honest and thoughtful.JK might even pull this off. 🙂

  4. foxyladi14 Says:

    My Grad kids wasted their vote on Bernie. 😆

  5. foxyladi14 Says:

    Obama is on TV,
    Announcing his SCOTUS pick. 😦

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump: “I’m Speaking to Myself” About Foreign Policy, I “Have a Very Good Brain” and “Instinct”

    “I’m speaking with myself, number one, because I have a very good brain and I’ve said a lot of things,” Trump said. “In fact, in my book in 2000 I talked about Osama bin Laden.”

    “I know what I’m doing, I listen to a lot of people, I talk to a lot of people and at the appropriate time I’ll tell you who they are, I speak to a lot of people but my primary consultant is myself and I have a good instinct about this stuff,” Trump continued.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/katiepavlich/2016/03/16/trump-on-morning-joe-i-have-a-very-good-brain-so-i-consult-myself-about-foriegn-policy-n2134735

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump’s Electoral Math Doesn’t Add Up

    Republican front-runner Donald Trump is asked repeatedly about polls showing him trailing Hillary Clinton badly in the general election. He always says the same thing: other polls show him winning, and Clinton will be very easy to defeat.

    Trump’s national general election poll numbers are remarkably consistent. He trailed Clinton in 19 of the last 20 polls, all of which were conducted in February or March. His average deficit in those surveys was slightly over 7 points. His median deficit was 8 points.

    http://www.rothenberggonzales.com/news/article/trumps-electoral-math-doesnt-add-up

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

  9. foxyladi14 Says:

    Perfect picture for a lot of people. 😀

    https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/v/t1.0-0/s480x480/1505388_1100453186680479_5195175225626722796_n.jpg?oh=478244bd0dbcd42217bc29158e60ad8d&oe=57845DB0

Leave a Reply

