Stories For A Sunday Morning **Open Thread**

by

Our New Family Member

We have a pit bull. We found him a few weeks ago, walking along the road in a rural area. He was jumping on cars, and we thought maybe his family was camping somewhere nearby, so we passed him by. A few hours later, on our return trip, he was still in the same place, again, trying to get folks to stop for him. When he saw us, he laid down in the middle of the road, so we were unable to get around him.

We stopped the car and looked around for a few minutes, trying to figure out if anyone was around from whom he was separated. It didn’t appear so. Then we took a good look at the dog. He had no collar and he was really thin. We decided he was abandoned.

My husband said, “If he doesn’t bite me when I try to pick him up to put him in the car, then we have a new dog.” The dog happily joined us with no fight at all. The only thing we were in danger of was getting licked to death. He kept sticking his head between the two front seats and thanking us for picking him up.

The dog was clearly on the road for some time. He was extremely under weight. He was covered in scars and new wounds. We have surmised that some of the scars were from when he was on the road, we are thinking possible fights with coyotes, but he also looks as though he was used for fighting other dogs. We figured his incredibly sweet personality was the reason he was abandoned. He must not have been a good fighting dog.

So, we fed him a lot over the course of the next weeks and he gained over twenty pounds. We took him to the veterinarian, who said the dog appears to be in good health, despite his having been abandoned. The vet guessed the dog is about two or three years of age, from the condition of his teeth. The vet gave him all the required shots and sent us on our way.

We do love this dog. He has obviously been mistreated and yet, he still is so very sweet. He had no manners, but he is a quick learner. He no longer tries to get on the bed, but he does like sitting in one of the folding chairs. We figure he wishes to avoid being underfoot when our daughter is dancing about, which she does often. She has stepped on him a few times. When that happens, he simply moves. He does not growl or bare his teeth. This is the first pit I’ve ever been around, so all the stories I have heard over the past few decades make me wonder about their validity.

Since then, he has become a member of our family.

***************************

The Father and the Doctor

A doctor entered the hospital in hurry after being called in for an urgent surgery. He answered the call asap, changed his clothes & went directly to the surgery block. He found the patient’s father pacing in the hall waiting for the doctor. On seeing him, the dad yelled: “What took you so long? Don’t you know that my son’s life is in danger? Don’t you have any sense of responsibility?”

The doctor smiled & said: “I am sorry, I wasn’t in the hospital & I came as fast as I could after receiving the call…… And now, I wish you’d calm down so that I can do my work”

“Calm down?! What if your son was in this room right now, would you calm down? If your own son dies now what will you do??” said the father angrily.

The doctor smiled again & replied: “I will say what Job said in the Holy Book “From dust we came & to dust we return, blessed be the name of God”. Doctors cannot prolong lives. Go & intercede for your son, we will do our best by God’s grace”

“Quoting scripture when we’re not concerned is so easy”, murmured the father.

The surgery took some hours but the doctor was able to go out to the agitated father and report that the boy would be fine. And without waiting for the father’s reply he carried on his way running. “If you have any question, ask the nurse!”

“Why is he so arrogant? He couldn’t wait some minutes so that I ask about my son’s state”, commented the father when seeing the nurse minutes after the doctor left.

The nurse answered, tears coming down her face: “His son died in an accident, he was at the funeral when we called him for your son’s surgery. Now that he saved your son’s life, he left running to finish his son’s burial.”

Never judge anyone….. because you never know how their life is and what they’re going through”

***************************

Just a Dream?

For the last few months I had noticed the brakes on my car getting weaker and weaker. They still worked but it took longer for my car to stop and I had to push the brake pedal further to the floor. I knew that I needed a new set of brake pads put on, but it had been a rough Winter and I had so many other things to do and places for my money to go.

I kept putting it off then and babied my brakes as much as I could. Then I had a dream. I was driving my car on a bright, sunny day when suddenly a stalled car appeared in the road in front of me. I stomped on my brakes but they didn’t work and I smashed into the back of the other car. The dream wreck awoke me with a start and I decided to get my brake pads changed the next day.

When the mechanic took off the old ones I noticed that the pads were worn paper thin.

The day after that I was driving home from the grocery store with my daughter beside me and my two sons in the back seat. As I neared a tight, mountain curve I saw a Semi-truck coming from the other direction. It took the curve too fast and slid two feet over the center line. I hit my brakes and simultaneously steered my car towards the side of the road. We gasped as the huge truck missed us by only a foot.

It was only later when I was home safe in my bed that I realized that if I had still had my old, worn-out brake pads on I wouldn’t have been able to slow down fast enough to have missed that truck. My children and I would have either been injured or killed. I closed my eyes and gave thanks for that dream. I guess God still had some more for us to do in this world.

***************************

Sometimes I just like to think about good things and good stories. Sometimes I like to just feel good about the world and my place in it. Today is one of those days. Have a Blessed Sunday. ~ Marge

 

11 Responses to “Stories For A Sunday Morning **Open Thread**”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Great post, Marge! Thank you!

    And Foxy, they are coming out of their summer down in this Hemisphere, but it is COLD here! 🙂

    Thanks so much, Marge – you rock!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks Amy. Sundays are special days to me and I always try to put the anger and angst aside for a time.

      We miss you and anxiously await Penguin pictures!

  3. piper Says:

    Thank you for posting these stories showing that humanity, care and dignity still prevail.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      No problem Piper. It does us all good to stop and see that all is not doom and gloom. There are still many fine and good people – they just don’t make the news much.

      Hey Piper, did you look out the window and see the bright light? I think it’s the sun. Look quick before it disappears again.

      • justine Says:

        I have a super-slow internet connection, so I seldom get to actually view videos. An advertisement on TV, however, makes me smile every single time I see it.

        If your connection is fast enough, here’s the video: https://youtu.be/DrNvZQEwTMA

        It’s a great ad.
        .

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          You got caught in the filter for some reason Justine. Sorry I didn’t see it and fix it quicker. I’m not as fast as Rev Amy.

          That little one has learned a lesson all ready that we would all do well to learn – It doesn’t’ matter how many times you fall down as long as you keep getting back up. He made me smile too. Thanks for sharing.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    I don’t know if any of you are familiar with Jeanne Robertson. She’s is so funny that I often have tears rolling down my cheeks when I watch on of her videos. I was looking for a song on YouTube and there were some of her videos and I lost about 2 hours just watching them. My sides hurt from laughing.

    I thought I’d share one of them, enjoy.

    • piper Says:

      Found her about 2 years ago – she’s a hoot.
      Although it was in the high 30’s with wind, I went for a walk on one of our beautiful trails in Milwaukee County enjoying nature and the sun for an hour. Nice to step back and enjoy a political free day.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I did much the same. Went for a short walk and enjoyed the sunshine.

        I stayed away from politics. Haven’t even had the television on all day.

        I made a pot of chili for lunch and Lou made pot roast for dinner.

        He tinkered around in the garage for a while and then played games on the computer like he loves to do.

        I read and read and read.

        It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

