The Absurdity Of It All ** Open Thread **

by

 

Some days, in between bouts of rage, confusion and depression, I can look at the world around me and see the absolute absurdity of it all. Who would have dreamed back when I was an adolescent, that someday millions of adults would take to their keyboards to insult and argue with other adults like kids in a school yard? Comments? More like all out war.

Little that adolescents do surprises me. If you have raised 3 children through their teenage years, as I did,  much of the ability to “surprise” you about kids has flown the coop.

Adults continue to surprise me. Adults and politics are not only a constant surprise but a revelation. That includes myself. The depth of emotion I can feel, both good and bad, for someone on  the other side of my computer never ceases to amaze me. In the “olden” days did people ever come to loathe their pen pals?

Given an honest look politics is always absurd. Ask almost any citizen and they’ll tell you that politicians are dishonest and only in office for what they, the politician, can get out of it. Then many, if not most, will tell you how the candidate they are supporting is the exception to that rule. Absurd? I do believe it is.

I believe, with every fiber of my being, that falling in love with a politician is absurd. You choose the one you think will support most of what you believe, for their own benefit or not, and hope for the best.

 

You don’t ever, and I mean never, believe their campaign promises will be kept if it will not benefit the politician. And understand once a flip-flopper, always a flip-flopper. I’m not talking about changing and evolving over 20 years. I’m talking a radical change in thinking or believing in a short time span. Especially a political time span bracketed by elections.

We see this reality election after election and still some of us continue to believe. Or disbelieve and just don’t care. Some columnists have begun to write about the sad, but true, fact that many voters simply don’t care if the person they vote for is honest, ethical, moral or has character. They’ll  vote for him/her anyway.  Why would supposedly decent people do that?

An evolution I’ve come to since 2008 is that a firmly held belief of mine, that Americans are basically a decent people, was wrong. Decent people DO care if the people they elect are decent too. Decent people care about honesty, ethics, moral and character. Or maybe not. Not anymore.

To give two example of absurd let’s talk about Ann Coulter and Laura Ingram – two women who claim to be staunch conservatives. Yet both support Donald Trump who is not, and never has been, a conservative. Both women unceasingly bad mouth Ted Cruz who is and always has been a conservative. Is that not the very definition of absurd? Ir is it just a flip-flop? Either way it’s dishonest. Ms. Ingraham proves my point out of her own mouth:

  Laura Ingraham resorts to the stupidest strawman fallacy to defend TRUMP 

Here’s what a strawman fallacy argument is – when you make up a fake argument and pretend it’s your opponent’s main argument in order to knock it down and make yourself look smart and right.

http://therightscoop.com/laura-ingraham-resorts-to-the-stupidest-strawman-fallacy-to-defend-trump/

Ann Coulter on the other hand needs explain why she was so positive, and she is always positive about her being right and every one that disagrees with her is wrong, that Mitt Romney would win. She said it many times. She insulted those who disagreed. And now she’s running her mouth again? Ann Coulter = “Often in error, seldom in doubt.”

Confession: I never liked either of these women very much but did agree with them about some issues from time to time. Coulter can even be amusing in a malicious sort of way from occasionally. Just not often and just not all that amusing.

Another prime example of absurd is John Kasich. Still in the running? For what? I’ve always thought he was running for VP. Now that it’s obvious that Trump will win Kasich is blocking Cruz for Trump to audition for the job. And he can probably deliver Ohio. Or perhaps he’s waiting for a brokered convention to make him the nominee. I don’t think even the Republican Establishment is that stupid but then…

Even more absurd, to me, is that anyone, anywhere for any reason would believe that a narcissistic, vulgarian with no experience in government should be the next President of the United States. I can understand not wanting “establishment” candidates but someone with no experience for the job whatsoever? How stupid is that? Because the man knows Real Estate he will know how to run a country? It is all so absurd.

And if you really want absurd, read some of the things Trump has said. Not what someone else has said about him, what has issued from those pursed lips.

 

 

15 Responses to “The Absurdity Of It All ** Open Thread **”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Ha! Well said. I too can not believe how absurd the world is becoming. They’ve all gone mad, I tell ya.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Mark Levin mocks Trump and Fox News for falsely smearing Ted Cruz over Melania advert

    http://therightscoop.com/mark-levin-mocks-trump-and-fox-news-for-falsely-smearing-ted-cruz-over-melania-advert/

    Mark Levin explains slowly and carefully enough that even a Trumpanzee should be able understand the whole kerfuffle about the Melania is and was dishonest.

    Didn’t know anything about Ainsley Earhardt before but now I know all I want to know about her.

    And we also know all we need to know about FOX News channel. Glad I stopped watching it completely a week ago. I had cut down little by little and now I am 100% television news free.

  3. mcnorman Says:

    I would like to nominate you to become to become the President of Emory. I want the ninnies to cry loudly when they have to hear you straight talkin’.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      The students at Emory don’t want someone who talks the truth and treats them like adults. They want someone that cuddles them and treats them like infants. I couldn’t do that.

      Back in the dark ages when my generation went off to college they were considered young adults. I cannot possible imagine any of them having the vapors because someone’s name was written on a sidewalk in chalk. These little twits refuse to grow up and want someone else to supply sugar tits and sympathy. Again not my style.

      I do appreciate that you appreciate straight talk. I think we can accomplish a whole lot more with straight talk than pussy-footing around a topic. I’ve been called many things in my life, a pussy-footer isn’t one of them.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    CRUZ TO TRUMP: “You’re a sniveling coward, leave Heidi the hell alone!”

    http://therightscoop.com/cruz-to-trump-youre-a-sniveling-coward-leave-heidi-the-hell-alone/#ixzz43qsV392Q

    I haven’t watched CNN in years. I may start watching them again if they continue to actually report the truth. I don’t want or expect them to support Ted Cruz. Or any other candidate from either party. I want them to be what they once were – a news channel. Tell us the news and leave the sleaze and bias to MSNBC and FOX. You might be surprised how many new viewers you would get.

  5. Jane Says:

    I’ll immediately grab your rss as I can not find your email
    subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?

    Please let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Jane I am only “babysitting” the blog while Momma Amy is on vacation. Contact her when she returns in a few days.

  6. piper Says:

    Branca cartoon is spot on – unbelievable our prez. doing the tango while the world burns.

    • piper Says:

      Tried to copy this cartoon but lacking skill in transferring.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I fixed for you. Just “right” click on top of the image – then click on “properties”, then click on the address – then on select all, then copy. If it doesn’t end in jpg or png or something like that you won’t get the cartoon.

      Sounds difficult at first but once you do it a time or two it is really easy. Oh, and always leave a couple of spaces between any text in your comment and the cartoon image url. I forget all the time and Rev Amy has to rescue my poor cartoon.

      Try a couple of cartoons here to get some practice. You’ll soon be on a good cartoon hunt just like I am. I’ve bagged quite a few and so will you.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Isn’t Obama revolting? That’s the trouble with narcissists, they have no empathy, or even the ability to fake empathy for others. Someone should have told him not to do that. Too late now, another image of the all for himself president.

  7. piper Says:

    Marge,
    Yesterday was quite the weather day here – rain from misty to heavy showers, then light snow to freeze. Driving will be a lot of fun until the ice melts.
    Have a great day – will be back later. (smiling)

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Wisconsin weather is always a surprise and a challenge. Poor Lou works 2nd shift and he came home during the icy part. I woke up enough, it was 2:30 a.m. to commiserate a bit before falling back to sleep.

      At least, right now, the sun is shining. Life is always better for me when the sun shines. You have a good day too!

Leave a Reply

