CNN Trump Revelations,Trump Angst, Cruz “Reaganesque,” And A Respite *Open Thread*

by

I admit right up front that I did not watch the CNN Townhall Tuesday night. Suzy and I were busy catching up on shows we dvr’ed while away on our cruise. But that isn’t the only reason. I just could not stomach watching Trump for that long. I mean, really – it was an HOURS long event. I can’t stand to watch Trump for more than a few seconds – just like Obama. Ahem. And I can’t watch Kasich that long, either. He just rubs me the wrong way. He irritates me.

Honestly, Ted Cruz is the only one I could have watched for that long, but I was just too tired. The cruise was fantastic, and I am exceedingly grateful for the opportunity and experience (more on that below). But by that time of night, I am done in. So I missed it last night, but thankfully, the part with Cruz is on Youtube (Part 1 and Part 2, for those of you who wish to see it).

All that said, I was delighted to see that Anderson Cooper of CNN really held Trump to account at least in this exchange:

 

Oh, boy. He really is such a petulant, temper tantrum throwing child, isn’t he? Good grief. And yes, that IS the argument of a toddler. Cooper had that exactly right.

But that wasn’t the only bombshell from the Townhall last night. Trump has rescinded his pledge to support the GOP nominee:

 

I know, I know – shocking. Trump lied. Again. All these months he has confirmed that he will, indeed, support the GOP nominee, no doubt to get votes. But it was all crap. I have no doubt that was the case from the get-go, but amazingly, some people believed him. Wow.

Again, I am not one bit surprised by this newsflash from Trump. I didn’t believe him in the first place. He just did that to quell the concerns of the RNC and mainstream Republicans that he wouldn’t go rogue. It proves once again, though, that Trump cannot be taken at his word. If you can actually nail him down on what his word is, of course. Good luck on that.

That is why leaders abroad are freaking out about a possible Trump nomination and Presidency. The Hill has the story:

Lobbyists in Washington say they are being flooded with questions and concerns from foreign governments about the rise of Donald Trump.

Officials around the globe are closely following the U.S. presidential race, to the point where some have asked their American lobbyists to explain, in great detail, what a contested GOP convention would look like.

The questions about Trump are “almost all-consuming,” said Richard Mintz, the managing director of Washington-based firm The Harbour Group, whose client list includes the governments of Georgia and the United Arab Emirates.

After a recent trip to London, Abu Dhabi and Beijing, “it’s fair to say that all anyone wants to talk about is the U.S. presidential election,” Mintz added. “People are confused and perplexed.”

The Hill conducted interviews with more than a half-dozen lobbyists, many of whom said they are grappling with how to explain Trump and his unusual foreign policy views to clients who have a lot riding on their relationship with the United States.

“We’re in uncharted territory here,” said one lobbyist with foreign government clients who asked not to be identified.

“The questions coming from the international community are not different than the things, categorically, we’re asking ourselves,” said Nathan Daschle, the president and chief operating officer of the Daschle Group, a firm run by his father, former Sen. Tom Daschle (D-S.D.).

“There’s an added level of bafflement because this is not the United States that they’ve been living with for so long,” Daschle said. “This is not the image the United States has been projecting.”

The questions about Trump often concern his foreign policy positions. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Well, of COURSE the questions are around Trump’s “foreign policy positions.” How could there not be? And I have no doubt that leaders abroad are beside themselves at the thought of a Trump Presidency. Hell, I am beside myself at the thought of a Trump Presidency, so I can scarcely blame them. I have zero doubt that Trump would be a disaster not just in the Foreign Policy Realm but in National Policy as well. No doubt.

And it is no wonder, then, that during the CNN Townhall, Trump received no applause, and Cruz plenty, as Dick Morris highlighted in this Tweet (h/t Facebook friend):

No applause for Trump tonight. Cruz was Reaganesque. Warm funny caring brilliant

Uh, yeah. Since I am listening to Cruz from the Townhall last night, I can concur with the assessment of Morris. There is only one Republican still running who I think would be good for the nation, and could beat Clinton. That is Ted Cruz. And I hope to hell Marco Rubio asks his delegates to vote for Cruz once the Convention comes around…

And now for a bit of a respite. That would be some photos from my recent trip. The initial video of the Magellanic Penguins was from Magdalena Island in Chile. Now I want to share some photos of those same kinds of penguins only in Argentina. This is a large colony – close to a million penguins, and the area is quite warm, the exact opposite of the Magdalena Penguins.

I should add, though,t hat a number of the Magdalena penguins had already begun their migration north, so we were able to see them in the water in Ushuaia, the most Southern city in the Southern Hemisphere, the closest to Antarctica. That was pretty cool. Oh, and Ushuaia was pretty cool, too. But I digress. Here, then, are the Magellanic penguins in Punta Tombo, Argentina:

DSC_0050DSC_0059DSC_0064

Aren’t they something? But they were not the only creatures there. In addition to the penguins are the guanacas, the animals from which we get llamas and alpacas:

DSC_0032DSC_0035

Aren’t they beautiful? They were there in abundance as well, though nowhere near the numbers of the penguins. The two live in harmony together.

That’s it for me. What’s on your minds today? This is an Open Thread.

Tags: , , ,

29 Responses to “CNN Trump Revelations,Trump Angst, Cruz “Reaganesque,” And A Respite *Open Thread*”

  1. foxyladi14 Says:

    Thank you Amy for the beautiful pictures.
    When you are on one of your trips, And you look real close you will find me in your pocket.
    Us shut in’s live our lives through our friends adventures. ❤

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Truly my pleasure, Foxy! And I am happy to carry you in my pocket so you can see these sights, too! 🙂

  2. foxyladi14 Says:

    Amy they say that people in our lives, are either lesson’s or Blessings.
    So thank you dear friend for being a Blessing, not in just my life, But in all the lives you touch. 🙂

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      What a LOVELY thing to say, Foxy! Thank you so very much! I am truly touched and humbled by your kind words.

      I am thankful for you and all of the amazing people who stop in at my little blog and spend some time here. Thank you!

  3. piper Says:

    Thank you for the beautiful pictures. I’m taking a break from politics today. After getting insulted with junior high school words and vulgar comments at what had been one of my fav blogs yesterday, I need a day to recoup. Donald’s insulting and vulgar mannerisms have permeated people who I once considered insightful and intelligent. Just shows how anonymity on the web reveals the immaturity of our citizens. His supporters although they will deny their behavior is anything like the obama bots in 2008 are behaving exactly like the obots during that fateful election season. Repeat, rinse and carry on.

    Wishing you, Marge and the other commenters here a wonderful day. The sun may be hiding here today but I’m still aglow from yesterday’s bike ride on sunny trails.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Enjoy your politics free day Piper. I suspect you will need the respite as the narratives heat up here in Wisconsin. I’m still enjoying the Walker endorsement and the sight of Carly campaigning with Cruz. Two of my favorites also ran’s are running with the man I want to see in the Oval Office. I don’t want to see Trump there even as a guest.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Truly my pleasure, piper, and I completely understand the need to take a step back. I am so sorry that you are being subjected to that kind of abuse from people who should KNOW better. It does seem, though, that so many of Trump’s supporters are indeed acting out just like The Donald. It is saddening to see such a downward spiral, especially by people we once respected.

      And how nice that you have the joy of your nice bike ride to keep your spirits up, along with the endorsement of Gov. Walker for Cruz.

      You said it, Marge – seeing two people for whom we have respect – Walker and Fiorina – join forces with Cruz is a delight. A much needed one, I might add!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    More PENGUINS! And guanacas too. Thank you so much. We are living vicariously through your travels.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOL – glad you like them, Marge! Aren’t those guanacas pretty?? The one in the second picture started running shortly after I took this photo. Unfortunately, Suzy couldn’t get the GoPro on fast enough to record it, but it was a beautiful sight to see!

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Someone should clue Trump in, since he is obviously clueless, that when someone attacks your wife, this is how a real man reacts:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      And I am also confused about how it even was an attack on Melania Trump to post an image of her that has been in the public domain for years.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Hell to the yes it is!!

      Good question. But then again, Trump LOVES to play the victim card, just like he tried to do with CNN yesterday, threatening to pull out of the townhall because CNN has been mean to him. H needs to grow the hell up already…

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Dumping Tabloid Trash on Ted Cruz

    By Brent Bozell

    The National Enquirer’s name in journalism is synonymous with factually unsupported drivel of the lowest kind. It is a sacred truth that no responsible journalist would reference the kind of garbage found in this tabloid.

    But somehow it’s perfectly appropriate for the same responsible journalists to report the sleaze over and over, emphasizing, of course, that the source is the awful National Enquirer.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/brentbozell/2016/03/30/dumping-tabloid-trash-on-ted-cruz-n2140821/page/full

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Tapper Blasts Obama as Hypocrite for Lecturing Press to Do Their Jobs

    CNN host: White House has abysmal record on transparency

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent response from Tapper, but I think it would have been even better had he highlighted how much Obama himself benefited from not being asked tough questions or questions that dug deeper. That is precisely how Obama has been able to sanctimoniously pontificate from the White House.

  8. foxyladi14 Says:

    Now we know. 😆

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Boom: Cruz 40, Trump 30 in New Wisconsin Poll

    By Guy Benson

    If Trump were the dominant frontrunner that he claims to be (having won less than 40 percent of the popular vote thus far), one would expect to see a tangible bandwagon effect gathering, with reluctant Republicans finally rallying around their presumptive nominee. This survey shows Cruz leading by a significant margin, with John Kasich pulling in more than one-fifth of GOP voters. Cruz and Kasich’s combined tallies more than double Trump’s. There is no coalescence around this uniquely flawed candidate.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/guybenson/2016/03/30/marquette-wisconsin-poll-n2141092

    This also from the poll is interesting:

    Walker job approval at 80% among GOP primary voters. Cruz leading Trump 45-27 among Walker supporters.

    Maybe not so smart for Trump to attack Walker.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOVE it! And yeah, not so bright to go after Walker, a man who has stood up against the vilest, dirtiest fighters, and WON. Clearly he has a lot of support in WI. I am just glad that some of that support is paying off for Cruz. Good news, indeed!!

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    ‘Mental.’ ‘Utterly Stupid.’ ‘Trump Only Cares About Trump.’

    Technically we’re supposed to welcome previous Trump fans-turned-foes with open arms. But barring some miraculous comeback by Ted Cruz, the Trump campaign will have cost the Republican Party the presidency after eight years of Obama, and perhaps the Senate and even the House – and Scalia’s replacement on the Court as well.

    Years of effort spent attempting to dispel the accusations of inherent Republican misogyny, xenophobia, hypocrisy, ignorance and blind rage have been undone by Trump’s campaign. And every Trump advocate in front of a camera had a hand in this.

    We’re not just gonna hug it out.

    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/433432/mental-utterly-stupid-trump-only-cares-about-trump

    I for one will never forgive them. Never!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      No kidding we aren’t going to just embrace them with open arms. The author is absolutely right. We had the opportunity this time around to get an incredibly qualified candidate up against Clinton, and instead, for reasons I will never understand (at least from Fox – I totally understand from liberal media), Trump was given unlimited air time while all the other candidates were frozen out. It was astonishing to see the way they capitulated to him, even allowing him to literally phone it in.

      I hope to all that is holy Cruz is the candidate, otherwise, sadly, the author will be proven right and all the hard work will be completely undone…

  12. GinaR Says:

    Thank you for posting the links to Ted Cruz’s portion of the Townhall last night, Amy. The more I hear him speak, the more I realize that he simply HAS to be our next president. Someone needs to take Kasich out behind the barn…and not let him up until he suspends his campaign and tells his supporters to vote for Cruz! He’s delusional if he thinks he’ll ever be president.

    As for Trump, well, he’s no more than an ignorant school yard bully who’s been allowed to get away with his vile behavior all his life because he has money. I agree with kenoshamarge, I will NEVER forgive those who pushed this POS to the forefront of the Republican field and lost us Scott Walker and Marco Rubio and Carly Fiorina.

    And I loved the photos of the penguins and guanacas! What an incredible trip you had, thanks for letting the rest of us tag along vicariously! 😀

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Truly my pleasure, Gina! I appreciate listening to Cruz this morning. He is SO smart, especially compared to Trump. Then again, my dog DJ is smarter than Trump, and MUCH cuter, I might add! 🙂

      Seriously though, you have it right, Gina. And I am in complete agreement abt what those 33% who support this man have done to dismantle the GOP. They wanted to blow everything up if they didn’t get their way. Sadly, they seem to be succeeding…

      I am more than happy to share my photos with y’all! As I have said, though, I don’t want to bore you to death with them. And if you knew how many I actually had, you would be AMAZED at how much I am limiting myself! Ahahahaha…

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    What kind of candidate for the Republican party can’t even get this right?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      NO KIDDING!!!! I mean, really – besides all of his other idiocies, if you are running for the highest office in the land, you sure as hell oughta get THAT right!!!

Leave a Reply

