Primary Day In Wisconsin **Open Thread**

by

I live in Kenosha, Wisconsin. Kenosha is located in the extreme SE corner of Wisconsin and hugs the shore of Lake Michigan. And today is primary day in Wisconsin. I cannot remember there being such excitement about a primary in Wisconsin.

In a normal year, by the time the primary gets to Wisconsin we just validate what’s all ready been decided. Sort of the designated drivers that are useful but don’t have much fun. We are accustomed to Wisconsin, and thus Kenosha, not mattering much. We haven’t been relevant in the primaries since Hector was a pup. And since that saying was fresh and new.

This year is different in that as in so many other ways. Wisconsin is being courted like we’ve never been courted in my memory. We’ve never had so much national attention. I guess that’s part of being relevant. Some of us like the attention, others not so much.

It’s a good feeling to know that for once our vote will make a difference. As it will in the states that come after us. What’s with a few states deciding for the whole country anyway? Shouldn’t we all count? Something needs to be done about that. Because if more people’s vote mattered wouldn’t it matter to more people to vote? Just a thought.

In Wisconsin we have an absentee/early voting period for 2 weeks before the election. I have a bad leg so I prefer to go to the Municipal Building and vote a few days ahead of time rather than stand in line. So last Friday I went to vote. Seems a lot of other people had the same idea. A whole lot of other people.

You can vote “absentee” in Wisconsin without giving a reason. When I come limping in with my pretty pink cane people pretty much know why I’m voting absentee. Why the rest were there I have no idea. But a nice lady gave me a chair so I didn’t have to stand long and thus I was no grumpier than usual.

My vote went to Senator Ted Cruz. An honest to goodness “for”  a candidate for the first time in a long time. This time I want “my” guy to win because I think he is the best and the brightest.

Today the interest in Wisconsin voters is ferocious. We are studied, discussed, and either applauded or denigrated depending on which candidate gets our vote.

Tonight we’ll know which polls were right, which were wrong and which were wishful thinking. We’ll know that Ted Cruz “won” Wisconsin  and only need to know by how much.

We’ll also know if Bernie beat Hillary again in another of his meaningless victories. Meaningless  because the Superdelegates will choose the Democrat winner and they have no intention of choosing Bernie.

Media is having a field day discussing the possibility of a big fight in Cleveland at the Republican convention. They seldom mention that even if Bernie wins he can’t win. Such bias is so common that we’ve become accustomed to it. Such a sad commentary on our “free press”.

Talking to fellow Kenoshans I’m sure the polls are right and Ted Cruz will win. So do most of the experts. The degree to which he wins is the question. A big win will stick in Trump’s craw for two long weeks until the next election. That will be in New York where Trump is expected to win big. That expectation may be nice but he’ll have the fact of a loss to gnaw on for two weeks. This from a man that likes to call others “loser”.  Karma!

But for now we and he will see how many hearts and minds he’s won in Wisconsin. I have no doubt he will have won some. One thing I do like is that with Bernie and Hillary punching it out we won’t have to contend with too many Dems and their shenanigans. They like to mess with the Republican primary. And we don’t much like that. A lot.

I do doubt that a majority of politically savvy Wisconsin voters will vote for such a flawed candidate. Although some will vote for Kasich, which since he cannot win baffles me. Saying we are savvy doesn’t discount that some of us are stubborn and silly.

By the end of the night all the speculation will be over. The winner will be announced and the post mortem will begin.  By tomorrow morning we’ll be just one more state in the primary rearview mirror. Unimportant until the general election rolls around. Tattered campaign posters will litter the landscape and most of us will be all too glad to see the national media move along.

When all is said and done, when all the votes are counted and the last pundidiot finishes telling us what happened, it really was nice to have our vote be important. Not to disrespect the voters in Iowa but honestly we have just as many hayseeds as they do and we give a great State Fair.

Tags: , , , ,

17 Responses to “Primary Day In Wisconsin **Open Thread**”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I’ve been listening to Charlie Sykes this morning and evidently he’s receiving information about there being a large turnout all ready this morning.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, please, please let this be the case! 🙂

      And thank you SO much for your insider’s take on this race. I truly appreciate you taking the time to write this post. Thank you!

  3. piper Says:

    Marge,
    Great thread about our state which is a wonderful place to live especially if you’re close to Lake Michigan. Even though the bike trail is a bit hilly, love riding my bike along this scenic route.

    As much as I love attention and lots of phone calls from ‘unavailable’ and ‘out of area’, I will be delighted that tonight when I come home from knitting, the results will be in and the flashing light on my phone will go back to messages from friends and a few charities who don’t take the word ‘no’ and ‘remove me from your list’ to heart.

  4. piper Says:

    Too funny – I would try this but I live in a small burb where gossip is rampant and the neighbors already think I’m a bit of a kook.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I still get strange looks since I goosed a guy with my cane a few years back at my voting place. It isn’t as if I did it on purpose. And that was before I got the four pronger. I admit there are a few people I would like to smack upside the head with the cane but goosing them never occurred to me. Then I did it again in Wal~Mart. Oops.

      Kook is good. Preferable to predictable and boring in my book.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      AHAHAHA – love the Maxine! That is too funny!

      LOL abt the “kook” moniker. I like it! 😀

    • helenk3 Says:

      Piper and Marge

      In my family , we practice the “lets give them something to talk about” theory.

      years ago my son in law stopped in a store and bought condoms and bananas and walked out whistling “lets give them something to talk about”. He never knew that I knew that story

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        People are gonna talk anyway – might as well help them along.

        Funny how our kids never think we know about stuff like that isn’t it? I guess it’s hard for them to think of us as young and frisky. My grandkids on the other hand seem to expect it from me.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hey Helen, the first one to fall over the “Panama Papers”:

    Iceland’s Prime Minister Resigns Over Panama Papers Leak

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/christinerousselle/2016/04/05/breaking-icelands-prime-minister-resigns-over-panama-papers-leak-n2143839

    • helenk3 Says:

      wonder how many more will fall?
      someone at No Quarter said that Soros was a funder of the site that leaked the papers. If so and so many of Putin”s friends get caught in it, he better stay away from people with umbrellas. He might get a ricin tipped one up his rear

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Soros has his dirty hands in so many things I would believe him more likely to be one of the miscreants than a whistle-blower. The evil old man will live forever I fear.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    WOW counties are Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington. They are supposedly the most conservative counties in the state. So if a Republican candidate isn’t winning there… And 80% turnout in Waukesha? Wow indeed!

    Huge Absentee Ballot Returns in WOW Counties

    80% Turnout Expected in Waukesha

    On Monday afternoon, the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board (GAB) released county-by-county figures for absentee ballot returns. Here is how the WOW counties performed in absentee ballot returns.

    Waukesha County – 28,218

    Ozaukee County – 6,740

    Washington County – 7,387

    TOTAL: 42,345

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    BOOM! Ted Cruz now in DEAD HEAT with Trump in new national poll

    http://therightscoop.com/boom-ted-cruz-now-in-dead-heat-with-trump-in-new-national-poll/#ixzz44zSOPFoD

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Cruz engineering second ballot defection of “Trump delegates”

    Trump is fighting at the 10,000 foot level, dominating the media and holding huge rallies. It’s worked so far.

    But Cruz is undermining Trump by fighting in the trenches with a much more effective ground game at the delegate level.

    Trump may find that his delegate lead is a castle built on sand, washed away with the approach of the second convention ballot.

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/04/cruz-engineering-second-ballot-defection-of-trump-delegates/

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    So far, looking pretty good for Cruz! I think they have already called it for him. Yay! I have to say, Marge, looks like Trump is squeaking by Cruz in your county. Wassup with that?? 🙂

    In any event, good news!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Kenosha County is very liberal. Union people. They seem to have a distaste for straight talk and the Constitution. Don’t seem to mind the unions taking their hard earned money and giving it to the Democrat party. I’ve always been baffled by it.

Leave a Reply

