This Is Getting Old, And Getting Old *Weekend Open Thread*

by

And no, I am not referring to WordPress rapturing my first scheduled post, though that is a major annoyance. Rather, I am referring to more shenanigans involving Hillary Clinton and files on matters under investigation.

I know this isn’t my standard Weekend fare, but this recent revelation about Benghazi files going missing is just too important to miss. Intrepid journalist Sharyl Attkisson (who else) has the story and some historical perspective:

Beyond the issue of Hillary Clinton’s use of a private server for public business, including some classified materials; and beyond the fact that some of the documents continue to be improperly withheld from Freedom of Information requests after years, many more questions have arisen. One of them surrounds the State Department’s removal of Benghazi-related files from the secretary of state’s office a year ago, even though they were under Congressional subpoena.

It goes without saying that subpoenaed records are not to be removed or withheld. But in case there was any alleged confusion, the Benghazi Committee says it was explicit in its instructions: “The requests included standard language that “Subpoenaed records, documents, data or information should not be destroyed, modified, removed, transferred or otherwise made inaccessible to the Committee.’”

In a court filing in January, the State Department disclosed that staffers had rediscovered the documents. That much likely wouldn’t be known if it weren’t for a lawsuit filed in 2014 by the conservative watchdog Judicial Watch.

Honest to pete, thank heavens for Judicial Watch. Without them, there is a whole host of issues about which we wouldn’t know, along with a ton of shenanigans committed by the Federal Government against the very people it is supposed to serve.

But I digress. Attkisson puts this most recent disappearance act into context. I’ll save you the suspense – this ain’t the first time files disappeared in the midst of an investigation only to MAGICALLY reappear later:

[…] In 1996, after nearly two years of searches and subpoenas, the White House reported it found copies of missing documents from Hillary Rodham Clinton’s law firm that described her work for the Whitewater-related Madison S&L in the 1980s. The White House previously said it did not have the records. The originals have not turned up.

In 1993, the White House released an official statement incorrectly saying that no suicide note from Clinton White House Deputy Counsel Vincent Foster had been found after his death. It turns out a note had been found. And more than 24 hours after its discovery, White House counsel Bernard Nussbaum turned a note over to Attorney General Janet Reno.

Also in 1993, according to a Secret Service official, first lady Hillary Clinton’s chief of staff, Maggie Williams, removed records from the office of White House Deputy Counsel Foster the night of his suicide. Other Clinton officials, including White House counsel Nussbaum, later testified that they conducted an improper search of Foster’s office. At least one file was marked “Whitewater” and another was marked “taxes.” Another White House counsel, Bob Barnett, later picked up a box of Foster’s documents. Associate counsel Clifford Sloan’s contemporaneous notes cite the Clintons’ initials: “get Maggie—go through office—get HRC, WJC stuff.”

And let’s not forget that in 2014, former Clinton Deputy Assistant Secretary Raymond Maxwell said he witnessed a Benghazi document-sorting session in October 2012 in the State Department basement. He said then-Secretary of State Clinton’s chief of staff, Cheryl Mills, and her deputy, Jake Sullivan, were present. No law enforcement body or Inspector General has interviewed Maxwell. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Gee – sense a theme here? I do, and it is sure getting old. I guess I should be glad that these files reappeared now, a bit surprising given the ongoing campaign. I reckon they figure Hillary has the nomination in the bag, so this won’t hurt her the same way it didn’t hurt Obama. Hillary’s lying, dissembling, and blaming a video saw to that. And since we are so divided now by party, even with so much documentation about what happened in Benghazi, all the Democrats have to say is that the Republicans are on a witch hunt, and that takes care of that.

Yeah. It’s getting old alright. But enough of that for now (though feel free to discuss it). I getting old is on my mind a lot these days because, well, because I AM getting old. I have a birthday coming up (I am a Taurus through and through – I bet that is a shock to you, right? Ahahaha…). But even more, I continue to deal with issues related to aging. After months of trying other alternatives, it has become abundantly clear to my physician and to me that I need to have spinal surgery. It is major surgery, and will knock me out of commission for quite some time. The thought of surgery on my back scares the bejeezus out of me, but something has to give. The pain is just intolerable. More about all of this as the time nears, but suffice it to say, the realities of aging have been all too present as time goes by.

But hey – it could be worse, and I’m still here, so there is that. And what better way to deal with aging and pain than humor, am I right? Well, how about some humor that deals with aging? I got the remedy for you right here. And BONUS – it is also a prayer, perfect for a Weekend Open Thread:

 

Isn’t she just a HOOT??? She had me cracking up throughout the entire “prayer.”  Too funny.

Another great take on getting older is this take on it by Dave Allen, a British comedian:

 

I loved the line about young people claiming they will kill themselves when they get to the age of needing people to do things for them, then forgetting who they were supposed to kill when they got old. AHAHAHAHA. Hilarious!

True enough the adage, “old age is not for sissies,” but it is definitely better than the alternative, is it not? True that, too.

20160304_120537Before I go, I have a ROCKY REPORT!!! I got a message from the Squirrel Whisperer that Rocky is happy, healthy, has a girlfriend, and will be released TODAY!!! I had just been thinking about the little guy and wondering how he was. Anyway, Rocky and his girlfriend (whom I call Natasha) have been living in a large outdoor cage for 3 weeks now so they can learn the calls, chatter, and warning vocabulary of the squirrel community. The Whisperer is going to try and get a photo of Rocky as he embarks on his new life upon his release. If he does, you know I will share it here. This news makes me VERY happy! Yippee!!!

Feel free to share stories, joke, videos, or songs about getting older, or whatever else is on your minds. This is the Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , ,

24 Responses to “This Is Getting Old, And Getting Old *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thanks for both of those hilarious videos! They were a hoot! Funny but a lot of truth in them too. The old lady, ahem, is the same age as I am. Funny how I think of her as “an old lady” but usually don’t think of myself in the same way.

    A glimpse in the mirror, or as David Allen says in the window of a store and I wonder who that old bat is. It can’t be me because inside, where it counts, I am ageless. Except when I have one of those “senior moments” and put my phone in the fridge and have to use Lou’s phone to call myself to find it.

    Any way, a day that starts with a smile is always a good one.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      LOL – gosh you crack me up so much, Marge! Thank you for the laugh abt having to call yourself – I know the feeling!

      And yes, being ageless on the inside is what matters, but I definitely see my mom looking back at me from the mirror! 🙂

      Great slogan – love it!

  2. piper Says:

    Trying to stay young is really hard work and I gave that up when I retired wanting fun, fun and more fun.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Ain’t that the truth Piper. And yes, have fun. Enjoy life. Why the hell not? We can do good works and accomplish good things without being grim about it.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ahahaha – cute, piper!

      You and Marge are absolutely right. If we aren’t going to have fun now, when will we?! 🙂

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    I found this story interesting. And important in that it refutes so many of the lies told about Ted Cruz. I commented, although I don’t comment often at LI anymore because the comments have become so ugly. Evidently the good Professor thought so too because he finally booted one very prolific and nasty woman. I hope he cleans out the swamp a little more often. Anyway here’s the story:

    A Ted Cruz friendship

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/04/a-ted-cruz-friendship/comment-page-1/#comment-669200

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      It IS interesting! What a long, wonderful, rich friendship these two men share. And how much does it fly in the face of all the attacks by the media??

      Isn’t it astonishing that Cruz is SO much smarter than Obama, but very few people ever mention that? Shocking, I know.

      GREAT comment, btw, at LI. And good for you for saying something. I thought the comment from the person who had worked with Ted, and who talked abt how he went out of his way to help with the case, spoke volumes abt the man…

  5. helenk3 Says:

    https://counterjihadreport.com/the-hijra/

    just what is going on?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is UNBELIEVABLY troubling, Helen. It is astonishing what this President and his Administration are doing to this nation.

      Btw, speaking of Rep. Gowdy, I have some good videos of him coming up for tomorrow (probably – that could always change).

      Good grief.

  6. helenk3 Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    White Lies Matter

    How bad is Hillary Clinton’s image? This bad:

    Fifty-six percent of Americans view her unfavorably, according to the Huffington Post pollster trend.

    One-third of New York Democratic primary voters say she is neither honest nor trustworthy.

    Her image, writes Dan Balz, “is at or near record lows among major demographic groups.”

    Like, all of them.

    Among men, she is at minus 40. Among women, she is at minus 9. Among whites, she is at minus 39. Among white women, she is at minus 25. Among white men, she is 17 positive, 72 negative. Her favorability among whites at this point in the election cycle is worse than President Obama’s ever has been … Among African Americans nationally the NBC-Wall Street Journal poll shows her with a net positive of 51 points. But that’s down 13 points from her first-quarter average and is about at her lowest ever. Among Latinos, her net positive is just two points, down from plus 21 points during the first quarter.

    http://freebeacon.com/columns/white-lies-matter/

    And yet over a million people turned out to vote for her in NY alone. What does that say about the corruption in the population.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    We’re Out Of Problems

    By Derek Hunter

    It’s 2016, right? I hope so because that’s the year I put on my check when I paid my taxes.

    That’s means we’re at around 6,000 years or so of recorded human history, right? Add to that that thousands of years unrecorded before that, and you realize people have been around here for a while. Yet, in the year 2016, we find ourselves in a heated debate over what is or isn’t a man or a woman.

    We are out of problems.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/derekhunter/2016/04/24/were-out-of-problems-n2152934

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    If you have deleted “The Drudge Report” from your favorites since it became just another Trump Cesspool here’s something you might like. It’s kind of like Drudge before Drudge went Trumpnuts.

    http://thelibertydaily.com

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Once in a while I saw a Drudge report if someone else referenced it, but I didn’t follow it regularly like I do some other sites. But I will definitely take a look at this one.

      Btw, speaking of Trump, I got a comment to be approved in my inbox yesterday. I knew it was spam anyway, but when I looked at all the info for the sender and it had something abt the TrumpStore in it, I couldn’t help but shake my head at the way they try to infiltrate sites. Just like Obots did…

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hillary uses famous Prince song at campaign rally, BACKLASH erupts from angry fans

    http://www.bizpacreview.com/2016/04/23/hillary-uses-famous-prince-song-at-campaign-rally-backlash-erupts-from-angry-fans-332394#ixzz46lrR4Um7

    Evidently still a few people around that know a pander when they hear one.

Leave a Reply

