Is It Only a Week? *Open Thread*

by

 

I looked at a calendar and realized that it was only a week ago that Trump became the “presumptive” nominee of the Republican Party. Only last Tuesday night did Ted Cruz suspended his campaign. Followed the next day by Kasich who realized that he’d done all the damage to Cruz that he could so he might as well get out. No more votes to split and help Trump. Only a week. It seems like forever.

I  thought that after all the changes that 2008 brought to my life this would be a rather cut and dried election cycle for me. I’m trying to figure out how I could have been so wrong.  Only consolation is that everyone else was wrong too.

This is an unprecedented election. It is now the turn of those on the right to act like fools and become members of a cult of personality. I would not have believed that having seen the insanity of the Obots that anyone on the right would emulate them. Again, I was wrong.

In January 2008 I was a Democrat.  Often an unhappy Democrat and  often feeling out of step with the Democrat Party. I was still convinced that the Dems were the better choice. Then they showed me, and millions of others that they were not only not the better choice but that they were worse than those that opposed them. Corruption oozed from their pores with the advent of Obama and many of us left the party.

Some became Republicans but I felt that wasn’t a good fit for me so I became an Independent. I still am. I owe my allegiance to no party and that’s the way I want it to remain. I have more access to information that ever before in my like and yet I am often befuddled and confused. Not confused enough to become a member of a cult. No confused enough to ever be fooled by Donald Trump.

I thought that once the Republicans fielded their candidates there would be an easy choice and that any if not most of them could/would destroy Hillary Clinton. I once supported Hillary  but Benghazi changed that. I now found her abhorrent.   Many of the things I once believed about Hillary Clinton turned out not to be true. I still would vote for her over Obama but that’s not an accolade for her it’s a brickbat for him

And who could have guessed that I would witness what ultimately may be the death of the Republican Party. A suicide by Trump.

My first choice was my own Governor, Scott Walker. A good man. A solid man. A decent man. And a really lousy campaigner. Exit Governor Walker rather quickly.

The field was still large – too large in my estimation and I next decided to support Carly Fiorina. A perfect foil IMO against the Clinton woman card. A good solid candidate in my estimation. I liked Carly. Then she exited. And I then there was my 3rd and final choice, Ted Cruz.

I had always liked Ted Cruz but given the constant drumbeat of hostility the media aimed at him I didn’t think he had a chance. He gave it one hell of a run but in the end lies, innuendo, smear tactics and an unwavering negativity from the media did him in.

Plus an electorate  with enough stupid, foolish  and indecent people who would prefer a 70 year old vulgarian buffoon with the maturity of a toddler. A foul mouth, immoral and dishonest reality show clown who isn’t fit to run a lemonade stand.

Do I sound angry? You bet I am. We had a real chance to turn this country around and back to what it was always supposed to be. We had a real chance to have someone in the White House that believed in the Constitution and would keep his oath to uphold it.

Now Donald Trump is our presumptive nominee. Not my choice and not a man who will ever get my vote. He has shown in this one short week that he doesn’t’ deserve it and indeed has said he doesn’t need it.

Yet the Trumpanzees swarm and continue to call names because some of us refuse support this inferior man. Does this mean we’re fired? I certainly hope so because I do not want to be associated with this mountebank or the fools that support him.

In just one short week Trump has stuck his foot in his stupid mouth so many times I’ve lost count. He’s lied, spun, flip-flopped, obfuscated, whined and generally made a total ass of himself. All the while his clueless followers mindlessly trot along behind never wavering  in their adulation. It honestly doesn’t seem to penetrate their besotted brains that sometimes, oftentimes, most of the time, the things he says are gibberish.

One week ago he became the presumptive nominee of the Republican Party. And that party, that was not healthy, began it’s death march. Perhaps it can survive Donald Trump. Or perhaps he will lose the election as most of us think he will.

Neither he nor Hillary will get my vote. I have a conscience. I have morals. I have integrity. I have values. He has none of those things. Evidently that doesn’t’ matter to the Trumpanzees. It matters to some of us. It matters a lot.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

57 Responses to “Is It Only a Week? *Open Thread*”

  1. piper Says:

    Excellent Marge,

    Charlie Sykes talking to Meghan Kelly on ‘Never Trump”

    http://therightscoop.com/you-embrace-trump-you-embrace-it-all-every-slur-every-insult-every-outrage-charlie-sykes/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I heard his interview over at RS just a little while ago. Go Charlie! Makes you proud to be from Wisconsin when Charlie gives them hell doesn’t it?

      He’s right too, they own every thing that comes from his mouth and his silly, juvenile “tweets” if they support him.

      Luckily “we” are too smart, and principled for that.

      • piper Says:

        Actually I’m a transplant from Minnesota, Indiana, Michigan and Sweden. But yes I’m proud that most Wisconsin people didn’t fall for the bombast egotist. From what I understand, Drumpf pop-u-halarity is hovering around 25%.

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Transplants welcome. Although my mom was born and bred Wisconsinite my dad was from North Dakota. Until I was 12 and my dad retired from the military I didn’t spend a whole lot of time here except when visiting with my Maternal Grandparents.

          Once Dad retired and went to work at the Simmons plant in Kenosha I planted my roots deep and vowed to go a roaming no more.

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Excellent piece, Marge. Thank you for this. I can’t believe it’s only been a week, either. It seems WAY longer than that. Here it is only MAY and we have two more months to the Convention, and even longer to Election Day. Ugh.

    Jennifer Rubin has a good piece in WaPo abt Trump already self-destructing – and that is all in that same week. Maybe there is hope yet that he will continue to show what an absolute lunatic he is enough that even some of his people will realize he is full of hot air. Here’s the link (h/t Facebook friend): https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/right-turn/wp/2016/05/09/trumps-self-destruction-begins-early/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I expect he will “destruct” himself with every thinking voter – excludes the deluded, conned and foolish Trumpanzees. But while some people are still hoping Ted Cruz can rise from the dead at the Convention I just can’t see that happening.

      I can see the leadership trying to push someone else off on us and I don’t find that acceptable either. So I cant’ see any choice but between Hillary and Trump.

      Unless, and this doesn’t seem possible, Trump somehow does not get 1237. Then all bets are off.

      • piper Says:

        Some people never learn – words can just be words which they should have learned after the 2008 debacle which gave us 2 terms of ………….

  3. piper Says:

    Luv the ‘Don’t’ which sums up my feeling to a T.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      As usual I found that when looking for something else. I usually find the best stuff that way. As soon as I saw it I knew it was the perfect ending. Glad you like it.

  4. helenk3 Says:

    Right there with you Marge. I too am now an Independent since 2008.
    Right from the beginning I swore I would never vote for trump. I saw what he did in Atlantic CIty to the small businesses there. He is bad pay. I have seen nothing to change my mind.
    he is cashing in on mindless anger and that is not a good thing. Anger can be used construtively but that is not happening today in this country. Marx and Lenin would be so proud of what it happening in this country. But people forget that the anger and overthrowing of a czar caused many long years of pain and loss.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      When we exited the Democrat Party in 2008 and decided to become Independents who knew that we would look back and be so happy we didn’t become Republicans. Because this Republican Party seems bound and determined to commit suicide and be damned to the country.

      Meanwhile the Dems are more concerned about allowing grown men, not necessarily transgenders, into bathrooms with women and little girls. It is all insane.

    • helenk3 Says:

  5. helenk3 Says:

    http://conservativeread.com/cruz-and-senate-face-choices-as-lucifer-in-the-flesh-returns/

    something to watch in the next years

  6. helenk3 Says:

    http://newsbusters.org/blogs/business/sam-dorman/2016/05/10/youre-hired-how-nbc-spent-11-years-making-trump-household-name

    one of the msm that helped trump

  7. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/435075/are-we-sure-nomination-now-clear

    interesting

  8. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.redstate.com/joesquire/2016/05/10/sarah-palins-plan-take-paul-ryan-will-just-scam-people/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

    OUCH

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I have no idea why Sarah Palin decided to destroy what little credibility she had left by jumping on the Trump band wagon but I suspect by the time this is done she’ll be done too.

      She’s made some really bad choices. It’s all on her. I’m done with a woman that claims to be a conservative and then endorses Trump.

    • piper Says:

      Agree that she wants to stay relevant and make money on the side. I’m sure that Dancing for the Stars would give her feet something to do while bringing in the dough.

      BTW – only 81% of the people in Ryan’s district support him – who else has those kind of approval numbers.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        That’s why the Trumpanzees idea that they’ll take him down is so ludicrous. I had intended vote against him in the primary as my own protest for some of his actions but found his challenger, Paul Nehlen, is a Trump supporter so that ended that.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    When I stopped watching FOX that ended my watching political programming on television. I catch clips online but that’s all. Instead I listen to Mark Levin, Steve Deace and Dana Loesch on podcasts. And I learn things. No talking over, no arguing and no b.s. They all encourage people to go look up things if we doubt the truth of what they say. I don’t miss the nonsense I used to watch on television. And I’ve gained so much through listening to the podcasts.

    I learned about this, which I confess I never knew, of if I knew, I forgot.

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Well, HERE’S some potential good news from the Cruz Camp: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/gop-primaries/279354-cruz-floats-restarting-campaign-if-he-wins-nebraska

    I keep saying the delegates haven’t been counted yet, and Trump, no matter what tantrums he throws, STILL has to reach the threshold. I know I am a “hope springs eternal” kind of gal, but yeah, not giving up quite yet!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I’m afraid to get my hopes up again. No matter what Cruz does the same forces will be aligned against him.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, yeah, well there is that. Sigh.

        You never know, by then with all the insane crap Trump is spewing, they may see Cruz as the only way to save face…

  11. helenk3 Says:

    you know that old chinese curse “may you live in interesting times”?
    well this summer is going to have some interesting political commercials

    example

    http://theresurgent.com/his-words-against-him-trumps-dangerous-nonsense/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Yes, indeed – that is PRECISELY what they are going to do. Heaven knows there is no shortage of ammunition in that regard…

    • thedametruth Says:

      Yes indeed…but nothing could be worse than the heinous chicanery of 2008.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I think there has been as much that is as bad and perhaps some that is worse.All hidden beneath the surface. The Dems chicanery was right in the open and yet many people never knew.

        The corruption is on both sides of the aisle. Which is why we need to get rid of the harnesses that bind us to either party and think only what is best for the country.

        The real villains, IMO, the relentlessly evil villains are the media. Without their collusion the politicians wouldn’t be able to get away with what they do.

        Without an honest media an honest government isn’t possible. Any way that’s how I see it. We all see things from our own perspective.

  12. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/california/2016/05/10/trump-surprises-with-high-profile-california-delegate-list/

    hope when some of these are up for reelection this will be remembered

  13. thedametruth Says:

    Ditto. Except that I would vote for ANYONE or ANYTHING in this godforsaken planet besides Shrillary or Ovomit. Oh, wait…it no longer matters how we cast our “vote”–we HAVE no vote now, and havent since 2008, that horrific watershed year we watched our votes, our “Free Elections,” our independent media, our party–our lives–shredded before our very eyes as we fought valiantly to save it. That was the year I began reading Kenosha Marge and so many other fact seeking Americans who saw through the lies, hype and skullduggery that coopted the Democrat party into a tawdry, soulless lying machine. I never got over it, and though I have gone on with my life, there lies beneath my heart an ugly wound that will never really heal. So no, I shall never vote for another Democrat as long as I live, nor shall I ever trust either party again, I Will “vote” against every pusillanimous, dastardly, vilely vorrupt and disingenuous Democrat that ever runs. May they all be damned to eternal hellfire and brimstone, bless their pus filled little hearts.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I agree. I will never vote for a Democrat until I believe they have cleansed their party of the filth that run it.

      But I didn’t become a Republican either. I became an Independent and therefor owe no allegiance to either party. And even then we owe aleingence to our country and our conscience first.

      Therefore if it is Trump vs Hillary from the two major parties I will vote Libertarian. I hope they nominate Justin Peterson because I like him the best but even voting Gary Johnson is better than either Trump or Clinton.

      I wish Hillary Clinton had turned out to be what I once thought she was – she isn’t.

      I believe Hillary will be Obama’s 3rd Term. I won’t vote for her but I believe she will be less destructive in the long run than Trump. Because quite honestly I think the man is either in the early stages of Alzheimer’s or he’s just plain nuts.

      I believe what Hamilton said:

      “If we must have an enemy at the head of government let it be one whom we can oppose, and for whom we are not responsible ~ Alexander Hamilton

  14. thedametruth Says:

    Oh yes, and good to read a Kenosha Marge post again. I’ve been out of the political loop for several years now in order to protect whst is left of my physical and mental health. We all know many who died as a result of the 2008 horrors.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thank you . I stop and take a breath and step back now and then but then something gets me riled up again and I’m off and running.

      I ran from another blog where I had made a home for myself for years when the Trumpanzees unrelenting attacks became too much to bear. Can always count on the Rev for a safe harbor. But I was here everyday anyway, just for the good company.

      Glad you stopped in.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      It is nice to *see* thedametruth here! Glad you caught Marge’s excellent (as always) post. And glad that you have been engaging in some self care. We all need to remember to do that for ourselves, especially as the political realm becomes crazier and crazier.

      And yes, many of us had our eyes opened that fateful run in 2008. I am an Independent, too, but yeah, the Dems would have to do something MAJOR to indicate they had turned from their ways. I am not holding my breath for that not one bit.

      I am just disgusted, though, that so many of the same people who railed against the actions of Obots are now embracing those very tactics in support of Trump. Have people truly learned NOTHING?! Ugh.

      Again, Marge, thank you for the kind words. It is an honor to have y’all here!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        The “kind words” are nothing but the truth.

      • helenk3 Says:

        the trump ugly effect seems to have taken over a lot of places. I thought the obots were bad, but the trumpettes are a lot worse. These are people we have chatted with and debated for years. I can not believe the change. It is almost like some kind of virus that spread and contaminated everything. They no longer listen or want to hear let alone discuss any other point of view. This saddened me a lot

  15. helenk3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/politics/trump-missing-donations-veterans/

    and the scuzziness keeps on rolling along

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Hey if Mr. Donald J. Moneybags is as rich as he was bragging about then there should be no problem. He can just write a check for the 3 million. After all he ducked the debate to help the Vets didn’t he?

  16. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2016/05/hillarys-emails-hacked-russia-kremlin-deciding-whether-release-20000-emails-hacked/

    if this is true, how can backtrack’s dept of crime, not indict her?

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Department of Crime and Criminally corrupt AG Lynch too busy suing the state of North Carolina for wanting keep men out of women’s bathrooms. Next to that National Security is nothing. /s

  17. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.the-american-interest.com/2016/05/06/the-last-gentleman/

    this is a man I would have loved to meet and sit down and talk and listen to

  18. helenk3 Says:

    http://bigstory.ap.org/article/6974c44c74da4e9f910ee2f22e6a7f08/trump-has-plan-b-convention-outside-help

    first it was everynight would be trump night, now this.
    is it a convention or not?

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Looks like the plan is to turn it into another Trump “reality” show. Everything he touches becomes a 3 ring circus. And the head clown has a filthy mind and mouth.

  19. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.redstate.com/absentee/2016/05/11/running-unopposed-trump-manages-lose-half-nebraska-primary-vote-cruz-rubio-kasich-carson/?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed

    running against nobody, trump loses 1/2 Nebraska primary vote

  20. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2016/05/10/top-trump-aide-presidency-of-the-united-states-is-the-ultimate-reality-show/

    OMG

    • helenk3 Says:

      do you blame paul ryan for being willing to step down and away from this hot mess?

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      There you have it folks, the mindset of the Trump people. I loathe Hillary Clinton but corrupt and dishonest as she is she is at least tethered to reality. This clown is nuts.

  21. helenk3 Says:

    http://therightscoop.com/conservatives-need-to-give-up-conservative-principles-and-back-trump-says-tucker-carlson/

    there are no words

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Never been a Tucker Carlson fan although I may have agreed with him from time to time. But just in that short clip he showed what a dishonest man he is.

      A. Since when Tucker you twit has the Republican Party ever been for open borders? You suggest they are and that’s not only a lie it’s a damn lie!

      B. The problem with saying that we’ve have laws in effect for 51 years and they aren’t working is that they aren’t being given a chance to work because they aren’t being enforced.

      C. The Federal Government allows and funds Sanctuary Cities while suing the state of North Carolina for having audacity to say the men should use men’s public restrooms.

      This not only isn’t the America I grew up in it’s an America I never saw even in my worst nightmare.

  22. piper Says:

    Last night at knitting, one of my friends, suggested that Paul Ryan stepping down from being the RNC convention chair is an interesting development – as a way to stonewall Trump from getting the nod and choosing Ryan to run as their preferred candidate. Honestly I think that the big boys see the disaster heading their way if Drumpf is the candidate affecting many races – local, state and national. Polls, smolls at this point are really useless given how many people now have cell phones instead of land lines which are more likely answered by seniors who I’m not knocking as I’m one myself. But as soon as my security system is redone, I’ll be dropping my land line to save a few dollars.

Leave a Reply

