“Do You Hear Me Now?” *Open Thread*

by

To continue the theme of “PUMA Forever,” those of us who are in the #NeverTrump camp have been disgusted, disappointed, and dismayed by the number of Republicans who have acknowledged all MANNER of things about Trump, like Governors Rick Perry and Bobby Jindal highlighting how insane he is, and then turn around and give full-throated endorsements of the man they (correctly) labeled before. Even our once-respected, oft-cited SC Representative Trey Gowdy, one of the few “adults” in the room (or so we thought), has now endorsed this man.

To say this is beyond frustrating to see big-time Republicans endorse a “madman” (Jindal’s word) as the presumptive Nominee of the Republican Party, thus the head of the Republican Party, indicates to many of us jut how little integrity, backbone, morals, and ethical compass they truly have.

Frankly, all of these Republican bigwigs could learn a lesson from Katrina Jorgensen. Who, pray tell, is Ms. Jorgensen? According to Legal Insurrection, she is the Communications Chair of the Young Republican National Federation. This is quite the big deal organization:

[…] The YRNF is an official division of the Republican Party, a separately incorporated umbrella organization representing the local groups of YRs, defined as Republicans between the ages of 18 and 40 years of age.

According to Legal Insurrection, Jorgenssen posted her resignation letter at the YRNF site on Facebook. Here is why she has chosen to resign:

As the head of our national communications my voice is part of our message, and I am intrinsically tied to it. Therefore I must step down. I cannot live with being seen as supporting a candidate I truly feels tramples on all of our values. Even if we, as an organization, focused exclusively on congressional candidates, we would still be seen as complicit. It would be impossible to resist the pressure to push for a straight-R ticket when we campaign.

The role of the Communications Committee is to reach our members and the public with our positions in support of our parent party. Unfortunately, the RNC has decided to embrace this candidate as our standard-bearer. So every press release, every tweet that does not denounce Trump will be seen as capitulating to the GOP. Our social media accounts have already seen messages from people announcing their support of Donald Trump and invoking our organization. I cannot be part of that. No matter how loud I am in my renouncement of Trump, my title will still betray me. I want no part of a racist, fascist, hateful presidency.

There is no easy answer to the situation our party is in, but I believe we would do much more for our country by standing together against Donald Trump. We have been told for years how we are the future of the party, this is our opportunity to seize that future. But if we have instead decided to uphold a man who does not represent us or our views — a man that has belittled war heroes, explicitly stated misogynist beliefs, relied on intimidation of minorities, insulted our international allies, rewarded violence, championed divisive rhetoric and proved completely uneducated in conservative fiscal policy — I cannot participate in that. When each of us decided to get involved in politics, we all hoped to change our county, our state, our nation for the better. We sit on the edge of history now, a choice to be made.

Holy smokes. Isn’t Jorgensen something? And is she at least 35? If so, maybe SHE’S the one who should be running on a Third Party ticket! Seriously, she seems to have a far better head on her shoulders than FAR too many in the Republican Party who immediately toed the line, voicing support for someone whom they previously derided for a whole host of legitimate reasons, says a whole, whole lot about who they are at their core.

And it says something about who Jorgensen is at her core. She concludes her resignation letter with this:

…I cannot support a candidate who endorses bigotry and lawlessness, with a minimal understanding of the fiscal policies long associated with our party, even if he does have an “R” after his name. I could not later tell my children I did the right thing, instead I would have to live with allowing my politics to be corrupted. I cannot stand by and continue to write newsletters and posts that so strongly conflict with my personal values. I will not surrender my beliefs.

This is not the way forward. I will not quietly fall in line. I will not give up my principles.

I will always be #NeverTrump. (Click here to read the rest.)

Hells yeah, #NeverTrump Forever! Good on her for standing up, speaking out, and being a woman of her convictions. There are a whole helluva lot of Republican Bigwigs who could learn a lot from her, though from their actions, integrity and the courage of their convictions are just not high on their lists. Sad to say, but true.

Speaking of “hear me now,” the House Judiciary Committee is holding a hearing on smug, arrogant, duplicitous IRS Commissioner, John Koskinen. The end game is impeachment of the Commissioner for his actions, or lack thereof. We could only be so lucky. From The Hill:

[…]

The hearing will examine allegations that Koskinen impeded Congress’s investigation into the IRS’s handling of political groups. Koskinen will not attend the hearing.

Some GOP lawmakers have accused Koskinen of failing to comply with a subpoena, making false statements under oath and failing to notify Congress in a timely fashion about missing communications from former IRS official Lois Lerner.

While some lawmakers at the hearing are expected to push for impeachment, the Judiciary Committee has avoided using that word. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Of course they are hesitant to use the word, “impeachment.” I just don’t know what they hell TOOK so long, but even still, it is far from a done deal. Not only do they have the hearings, but according to The Hill article, even if the House does vote to impeach this schmuck, the Senate has to do the same by a 2/3 vote. With this bunch, I don’t see that happening, but I would love to be wrong.

sk052416dapc20160524094520But hey, maybe if they can do the right thing on Koskinen, they can go after the idiot head of the VA, Robert McDonald, next.

Hey, a girl can hope, can’t she?

You know, I used to say I couldn’t wait for the Obama Administration to be a thing of the past, but now? I am not sure whoever we end up with, unless something astonishing happens at the Conventions, I dread 2017 just as much if not more…

You feel me? Speak out, this is an Open Thread and it’s your turn now!

Tags: , , , , , ,

39 Responses to ““Do You Hear Me Now?” *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thanks for the information about both YRNF and Katrina Jorgenson – both are new to me. She, is a heroine worth more than all the little bobble heads that call themselves Republicans and march in lockstep to a party.

    She represents those who will not get in line. As with this quote I happened across this morning:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I read the article over at Legal Insurrection and for once put in my 2 cents worth. I know I will be attacked savagely since the Trump supporters there are vicious. I don’t care. I could not stand silent while they attacked this young woman and her principled stand.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      My pleasure, Marge. I had never heard of the organization or her either until I read the article at legal Insurrection. I was just so taken by her principled stance when others in the Party are so quickly rolling over that I just had to post this. Seems like she’s a PUMA to me!

      GOOD FOR YOU for saying something. I didn’t even look at the Comments. I’ll have to take a look now, though!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    There aren’t words to explain the likes of Robert McDonald. This country seems determined to do wrong to our vets. And yet many people who do nothing but breath and breed are given better medial attention that most vets will ever see.

    This is a systemic multigenerational offense that is a taint on us as a nation. The promise to fix this is made from the left and the right and still nothing is done.

    One might almost come to believe that there is no one in the White House, The Senate and the House of Representatives that actually gives a good damn. Talks cheap and that all these people we elect are = cheap talk!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      You said it, Marge. It is just astonishing that man still has his job. If this had been under a different Administration, he surely wouldn’t. He is an embarrassment and does not deserve to polish the shoes of those whom he is supposed to be serving.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This man really has no shame. None whatsoever. Our veterans SO deserve better than McDonald: http://thehill.com/policy/defense/281051-va-secretary-refuses-apologize-for-disney-comments

  5. helenk3 Says:

    taking a short break from the political nonsense today.
    I have TCM on the tv,
    so far I have heard George and Ira Gershen music, now I am listening to the music of Jerome Kern

    can’t ask for a better day than that

  6. helenk3 Says:

    per your request

    http://www.redstate.com/brandon_morse/2016/05/23/boom-disney-responds-va-secretarys-comments-measuring-wait-times/

    Disney replies to Donald

  7. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2016/05/its_too_late_hillary__we_already_have_had_a_female_president.html

    the first unelected female president

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, that really says it all, doesn’t it? Jarrett really has had an extraordinary impact on this nation, especially for someone who was not voted into office. UGH.

      • justine Says:

        Maybe I’m wrong, but Valerie seemed awfully smug on 60 Minutes.
        .

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, I don’t think you are wrong at all. Maybe that is the elf-satisfied look of launching cultural turmoil while engaging in machinations behind the scenes…

  8. helenk3 Says:

    http://townhall.com/columnists/thomassowell/2016/05/24/commencement-season-n2167494

    good article

  9. amarissa Says:

    Et tu Rick?
    http://twitchy.com/sd-3133/2016/05/24/thats-disappointing-rick-santorum-endorses-donald-trump-to-preserve-the-constitution/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Good heavens. He thinks TRUMP is going to protect the Constitution? The man who doesn’t know the Constitution? That is just idiotic. Seriously. He has sullied himself with this endorsement.

      • amarissa Says:

        I have never liked nor believed him. God forgive me but I have even thought he uses his poor little daughter for campaign purposes.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Yeah, he was always sanctimonious, and a bit holier-than-thou, but that someone who constantly refers to their faith and its impact on his daily life would ENDORSE someone like Trump rather than saying nothing says a whole, whole lot. I guess he’s looking for his piece of the pie, too…

  10. amarissa Says:

    and here…
    http://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-election-trump-santorum-idUSKCN0YF2YK

  11. helenk3 Says:
  12. helenk3 Says:

    this made me laugh

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    On the topic of #NeverTrump, a friend had a link to this EXCELLENT response by the incomparable Jonah Goldberg on why he is now, and forever, #NeverTrump: http://www.nationalreview.com/article/435686/donald-trump-republican-nomination-vote

  14. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    For years, I have believed abortions should be “safe, legal, and rare,” and I would add, only in the first trimester. After that, only in the case carrying the baby to term would be harmful to the mother.

    As science has advanced, we now know how much earlier fetuses develop, and feel pain. Now the thought of an abortion at all is a hard pill to swallow, but especially since much later in the pregnancy is allowed (19 weeks in SC). THAT I cannot stomach at all. A fetus is practically viable at 20 weeks.

    Then this video came along to show the procedure for 2nd trimester abortions. I will tell you right upfront, I could not watch it all before I was in tears. I just couldn’t. I cannot fathom how doctors – “at first, do no harm” – can perform these abortions, never mind later on. How it isn’t infanticide once the fetus reaches viable-outside-the-womb age is beyond me. Just beyond me.

    Anyway – if you can stomach it, here is the link: http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/05/is-this-video-changing-peoples-minds-about-abortion/

  15. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Yeah, sure it won’t, Ben – having Donald at the top of the ticket won’t impact the platform a whole lot. Sure…

    Here’s the link: http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/281149-rnc-official-we-wont-go-full-trump-on-party-platform

  16. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I’m sorry, but this is just insane. THIRTY ONE different “genders” listed in NYC? INSANE!!!! (h/t Facebook friend): http://www.thefederalistpapers.org/us/nyc-just-released-a-list-of-officially-recognized-genders

  17. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/freddie-gray/bs-md-ci-williams-nero-transcript-20160523-story.html

    good reading

  18. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    It would be abt damn time for the RNC to change its Primary rules – especially for the open election states – but I guess we’ll know in July if that happens: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/05/25/us/politics/republican-primary-schedule.html

  19. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A Facebook friend had this up – Donald Trump making idiotic comments abt Gov. Susanna Martinez (and Rubio coming to her defense). Trump – UGH: http://twitchy.com/gregp-3534/2016/05/25/marco-rubio-defends-gov-susana-martinez-after-donald-trump-attack-video/

  20. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.progressivestoday.com/progressive-students-oberlin-college-want-abolish-low-grades/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

    Is there a list of colleges that you would not waste your money and your kid would not waste 4 years of their lives attending?

Leave a Reply

