A Day To Remember The Fallen *Open Thread*

by

memorial-day-shadow-soldier-clip-art

Today is the day we remember all those who have died in the service of this great Nation. It is not a day to be taken lightly, though too often these days, people are more consumed with sales and cookouts. It just seems to be the nature of the beast these days, and while people can certainly engage in those activities, I hope that they – we – take a moment to reflect upon, and/or say a prayer for those who were willing to lay down their lives for this country.

That sacrifice, often given willingly, to give one’s life for another, for a cause greater than oneself, is a type of heroism, bravery, and selflessness that is hard for many of us to fathom. To lay down one’s life for another is downright Biblical (John 15:13), and is a gift beyond measure or repayment.

It is that sacrifice that we honor this Memorial Day. I can think of no better way to honor the Fallen than to share this moving, infomative, video regarding the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, and the Amphitheater:

The Unknown Soldier “is known but to God…” But he, and the others there, are not forgotten by this elite of elite guards, and the Nation.

And then there is this moving, and powerful, speech by President Ronald Reagan to honor those who gave their lives on Memorial Day:

They gave up everything for our country, for us. We owe them a debt we can never repay. All we can do is remember them, what they did, and why they had to be brave for us…

Amen to that. And that is what this day is all about, to remember them, remember their sacrifice, and be thankful for them.

As noted at the US Memorial Day site, a time has been set aside to do just that, to remember and honor the Fallen:

To help re-educate and remind Americans of the true meaning of Memorial Day, the “National Moment of Remembrance” resolution was passed in December 2000. It asks that at 3 p.m. local time all Americans “voluntarily and informally observe in their own way a Moment of Remembrance and respect, pausing from whatever they are doing for a moment of silence or listening to Taps.”

And so, on this Memorial Day, may we take a moment to honor and remember those who gave their lives for us, and for the freedoms we enjoy…

memorial_day_11

This is an Open Thread.

Tags: , , ,

23 Responses to “A Day To Remember The Fallen *Open Thread*”

  1. helenk3 Says:
  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A powerful, moving tribute to a Marine taken too soon by his wife. May we remember to comfort and honor the families of the fallen: http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/05/i-am-proud-to-be-the-widow-of-cpl-jonathan-daniel-porto-usmc

    • GinaR Says:

      This was such a beautiful tribute, Amy, thanks. My heart just breaks at the picture of her and her daughter and his grave site.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    From where I sit at my computer I can see a wooden case on the top of a bookcase containing a carefully folded American Flag. I treasure it. It came from the coffin of my father, Master Sergeant Roy K. Milligan. I was always so proud of him and of the 25 years he served in the army.

    I shudder to think what he would think of the America of 2016. Then again he believed in this country and he would probably cuss out the “losers” and pat the strong and the faithful on the back and tell them, as he always told me, that they done good.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Marge, what a moving comment. Your dad sounds like an amazing man, and this country was all the better for his 25 yrs of service to this nation.

      Thank you for the flag folds, too. Powerful indeed…

    • GinaR Says:

      Thanks, Marge, for sharing a bit of your dad with us. This country could use men like him more than ever now!

      And thank you for the flag folds. As Amy said, very powerful.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Thank you Gina. As soon as I saw that “cartoon” I looked up towards the flag case on my bookshelf. The two seemed to go together.

        We sometimes for get, or at least I do, that “cartoonists” create powerful images that touch our hearts as well as our funny bones. Another reason I am a cartoon fan and addict.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Beautiful and moving tribute to those who gave their all Rev. Well done.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    When Charles Keating IV Was Killed In Iraq, America Lost More Than A Navy SEAL

    Charlie left footprints on the hearts of all who knew him, and though our tears lay us low today, in the days, months, and years to come, his spirit will live on in all of us as a beacon of strength. That is his legacy, and it is now our task to shoulder it in his stead no matter what obstacles lay beyond the horizon.

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/05/30/when-charles-keating-iv-was-killed-in-iraq-america-lost-more-

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thank you for putting this up. I am having major issues with my computer, all stemming from my loathing of Trump (I received an email that looked like it was a story from CNN abt Trump wanting to give up, so naturally I opened it without checking the email address first. Stupid.). Anyway, I was reading this very article when my computer shut down again. Ugh.

      It is an important story, so thank you!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Glad to help. Aren’t those computer “issues” just the worst? In my case I often don’t know if it’s the computer being snotty or if I’ve done something wrong.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          ROTFL – you are so funny – just cracked me up. I mean, yeah, it could just be a “snotty” computer! Ahaha…

      • GinaR Says:

        I did the same thing a few weeks ago, Amy, and it’s so frustrating! And that’s on top of my usual problems with Apple’s El Capitan operating system (which is a major POS) and my email system (my computer can’t connect with the server 80% of the time…if I knew how, I’d ditch Go Daddy and go elsewhere!). Oooops….I hijacked your problems…:D I’m sorry you’re having those problems!

        Speaking of Trump, I know you already saw this, but it seems appropriate to repost it here, in light of that very moving and eloquent memorial speech by Reagan. Talk about a POS…
        http://therightscoop.com/trump-says-his-memorial-day-speech-could-have-equaled-mlks-i-have-a-dream-speech-but-this-happened/

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          No worries, Gina! We’re sharing! 😉 I hate you had that problem. Our iPad has been freaking out all day. Suzy finally did the updates today to see if it would help, but it just seems to be worse. Ugh.

          THANK YOU for putting the link up of the unbelievably assholic claim by Trump abt his speech vs. MLK’s. This man is just insane…

          • GinaR Says:

            I’d prefer that we had happier stuff to share! LOL… I am not going to update my iPad or my iPhone this time, it will only cause more problems with those two pieces of crapola. So sorry to hear that it’s made your iPad worse, though.

            Trump is certifiably insane. I simply cannot comprehend why people are attributing the virtues of “power” and “strength” and “speaking his mind” and “non-political/non-pc” to him. I truly believe it’s because he has awakened their darkness and that’s the place they’re now living from.

    • GinaR Says:

      And the tears start flowing…again…thanks, Marge! LOL. What a loss to this world, the death of Charles Keating.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Powerful story indeed – and yes – definitely brought tears to my eyes. What a tremendous young man Keating was. My heart breaks for his family, his friends, and our country for losing such an amazing warrior and man…

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          You don’t replace men like Keating – you just do your best to try to live up to the example he set. And that can fill a lifetime.

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    One last tribute for Memorial Day. This one is particularly poignant since it was created by soldiers who are currently deployed in Afghanistan (h/t The Right Scoop):

Leave a Reply

