The Great Divide *Open Thread *

by

 

It is no secret that this country is divided. We are divided in ways that don’t mean much and in ways that are vitally important.

My two sons still argue over which is better, McDonalds or Burger King. A silly argument that they seem to enjoy as much now as they did when they were 10 and 11. Harmless fun mostly.

Sadly many of the ways in which we are divided aren’t so innocuous. Until Barak Obama came on the scene I thought that the black/white racial problem was well on it’s way to being mended. Not completely of course, that will never happen, but better – much better. Now the black/white divide seems wider than ever.

Hispanics seem outraged if you don’t want an open border because that means you are a racist and hate Mexicans. The fact that they break the law and force themselves into our country ahead of those that get in line and follow the process outrages me. The way they demand rights which they don’t have is unacceptable.  It has nothing to do with race.

Racist is a word that has lost much of it’s impact in the last ten years because it is applied to whoever disagrees with someone because of their ethnicity. Mostly it has nothing to do with ethnicity and everything to do with ideas, issues and agendas. But don’t try to tell the race-baiters that.

If I disagree with almost everything that Obama suggests it must be because I am a racist not because I am now and always have been a fiscal conservative and therefore a big spender like Obama is everything I dislike.

It couldn’t be that I find him as a man and as a leader to be monumentally dishonest at best and a congenital liar at worst. I don’t care if a liar is black, white or any other color. A liar is a liar and that’s just wrong. Can’t say it any plainer than that.

I had no love for Bush’s spending habits but he’s white so it’s okay to disagree with him. It’s also alright to denigrate Bush because the media didn’t like him. Barack Obama they adored. For no reason I have ever been able to fathom.

I don’t care about the color of a persons skin I really dislike liars. That makes me dislike most politicians, black, white, brown, red, yellow and all the combinations of shades between.

However the biggest divide that I see, and the one with the most potential to divide us beyond repair is the divide between those who work and strive and those who live off the government, and thus off the work of others. Those who work resent those that don’t and those that don’t seem to resent those that don’t give more. It’s insanity and it is only getting worse.

We now have an almost permanent class of victims. Nothing is ever their fault, every one cheats, teases, robs, hates, doesn’t understand or doesn’t agree with them. Their never-ending whines are tiresome and absurd. Yet some politicians see them as perfect little votes so they encourage the adolescent behavior. Those of us who were raised to stand on our own two feet and take responsibility for our lives don’t understand these people. We can’t even imagine being so pathetic.

You meet a lot of these whiners on-line. If you are like me you run in the opposite direction just as fast as your mouse and keyboard will take you. They seem to like being miserable and feel that it’s their occupation to make others as unhappy as they appear to be. Then there are the angry nasty people who cannot seem to comment without showing that they never learned any manners or self-control and thus continue to talk and act like adolescent. Not surprising when a presidential candidate acts in the same way.

Adults and mature people are in shorter supply that they used to be. Big babies with a permanent grudge against the world for their own shortcomings come in all shapes and sizes. Also colors but don’t mention it because that makes you a racist.

Both major parties are now as divided as I can ever remember  seeing them. Bernie voters say they won’t support Hillary and #NeverTrump say the same about him.

Here we are in 2016 with a chance to vote for one of two of the most despicable nominees this country has ever seen. Both major parties fail those that support them and give us dreck. There are any number of things about which Americans are divided. This one seems one that is actually a good thing to be divided about. Because if we have to be divided or vote for Hillary or Trump, better to be divided.

Tags: , , , ,

24 Responses to “The Great Divide *Open Thread *”

  1. piper Says:

    Another well written thread!

  2. piper Says:

    Amy,
    Sanders actually received more votes than Drumpf in both California and New York.

    But stay tuned next week Mr. Clean aka Bombastic Screecher is giving a speech detailing the nefarious dealings of the Clintons hoping that voters will see him as the only good presidential choice.

    The squirrel tactic – focus on her not me and my business and personal failings. Or else he’ll have to use the ‘victim’ strategy since we all hate him for being rich, handsome and the most brilliant person in the room according to the voices in his head.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      A speech I would bet, and I’m not a betting woman, is not written by the orange buffoon and delivered via a teleprompter since his HUGE brain doesn’t bother to memorize things.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Interesting abt Sanders getting more of the vote too. I am not really surprised by that, and the GOP really should be paying attention to this – but they won’t. Like Ryan affirming his support for Trump even if he is a racist (in so many words). Same with my Senator, Tim Scott, who complained abt the racism in Trump’s comments but isn’t bothered enough to not support him.

      WOW.

  3. piper Says:

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/06/primary-results-rundown-the-state-of-the-dumpster-fire//#more

    Hmmmm- Michael Reagan wants people to stop comparing Drumpf to his father – wonder why.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Yet one of Trump’s dismal media fools insists that Reagan would support Trump – because they know more about Reagan than his son. Ignorance can be cured but there is no cure for stupid.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Trump endorsed a southern Congresswoman–and the results of her election are absolutely stunning

    http://www.bizpacreview.com/2016/06/08/trump-endorsed-a-southern-congresswoman-and-the-results-of-her-election-are-absolutely-stunning-349643

    I hadn’t heard about this woman or Trump’s endorsement. She sounds like his kind of candidate. Glad to hear that SC had enough brains to reject her, evidently by a lot.

    • amarissa Says:

      She had won thanks to the Tea Party but then she went to Congress and did the opposite of what she said she would do. The Tea Party dumped her this time around and pushed the other candidate. Trump, however, supported her and even made a robocall on her behalf. LOL! She lost big time so that shows how much the people listen to him.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I had seen something abt this but didn’t know much abt her. Thanks, amarissa, for filling in more of the story.

      I love that she lost big after getting Mr. Big’s endorsement. AHAHAHA…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Between her own failure to follow through and the public’s growing awareness of what Trump is, she cooked her own goose. I like when that happens.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. helenk3 Says:

    http://theresurgent.com/christians-have-no-duty-to-vote-for-donald-trump-or-hillary-clinton/

    Just WOW

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I am not a big Eric Erickson fan but the paragraph below says what I feel perfectly.

      ” If you are fine voting for an unrepentant serial adulterer who has called for war crimes against innocent women and children because you think he is better than Hillary Clinton, go for it. But don’t tell me I should violate my conscience to join you.

      So long as you avoid justifying your vote for Donald Trump by claiming him a mighty warrior for the Christian faith, I’ll avoid passing judgment on you voting for Trump.”

      This election is making strange bedfellows and every day I wonder if I fell down a rabbit hole. Thanks for this Helen, I missed it.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        He’s not my favorite either, but he occasionally makes some very good points…

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A dear friend had this link to Steve Deace’s show last night. The beginning part to the Delegates is powerful indeed. Pay special attention to the clip of David French talking abt the phone call his wife’s family received from a member of the Trump Campaign threatening him (he had already decided not to run). That is the kind of crap Trump does.

    Anyway, here’s the link: https://www.conservativereview.com/commentary/2016/06/deace-show-gop-delegates-have-chance-change-history

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I listened to Deace’s podcast a little while ago. Work and listen, pause, and then listen. I got a lot done so I could get back to the podcast. I thought he made some excellent points. I wish I believed that the delegates would show the spine and decency to follow through. I don’t. And I hope I am wrong.

      Levin doesn’t seem to much like this idea and doesn’t seem to think it will happen. But much as I like Levin, and his knowledge and love of the constitution is incredible, his hatred of all things liberal tends to make be not always trust his judgment.

      I listen to and respect both men. I make up my own mind. That doesn’t mean I don’t respect these men and won’t listen – I just don’t always agree. And that’s fine by my.

      It seems too many Cruz supporters have turned into Cruz Cultists and that scares me. They loathe anyone that doesn’t support Cruz or believe he will win at the convention. Thus some are starting to turn on Levin. It’s a crazy cycle and I refuse to get on ANY crazy train.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Yeah, I’m not jumping on any crazy trains! No way…

        And the fact that you make up your own mind is one of the best things abt you, Marge! I wish more people were like you!

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          I think all of us here, the Rev’s Righteous Army of Reality, make up our own minds. And that’s IMO a very good thing.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    What the HELL does this say abt the GOP leaders??? WHY would they support a man abt whom they are so concerned? It is insanity, just sheer insanity: http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/282794-gop-fears-next-trump-controversy

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Gov. Walker has a point – Trump is a poor choice, and he isn’t the official nominee yet: http://therightscoop.com/uh-oh-scott-walker-now-backing-away-from-pledge-to-support-republican-nominee/

Leave a Reply

