Independence Day 2016 *Open Thread*

by

This country and our freedom as Americans was because there were giants at our foundation. Flaws? Of course – they were human beings and we are all flawed. But they were still giants. Still of such magnitude that we should all aspire to attain their courage and determination.

Some of what we consider flaws were simply because they were men of their times. The “father” of our country owned slaves. For all his flaws it is doubtful there would be a United States of America without George Washington.

The nit-pickers, the people that find something wrong with America on a daily basis offer little. One laughs to think of them in the company of the giants that formed this nation.

Many project their own inability to find happiness or peace on a nation that offers them only the opportunity to find it for themselves. There is no guarantee on heaven or earth that you will find what you seek. But there is no reason why a country is guilty because of what you lack.

I am always grateful that I was born an American. We may be losing our freedoms at an astonishing rate but somewhere deep inside, when I see Old Glory flying high, I believe that the American People will stop this idiocy.

Are there enough of us left that know and care? I cannot see the future but I believe that when the people were called upon for serious sacrifice in the past they rose to the occasion. I pray God they do so once again with this new threat that is far more insidious because it comes from within.

The founders warned us – will we listen?

If ever time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in Government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin. ~ Samuel Adams
Without morals a republic cannot subsist any length of time; they therefore who are decrying the Christian religion, whose morality is so sublime and pure (and) which insures to the good eternal happiness, are undermining the solid foundation of morals, the best security for the duration of free governments. ~ Charles Carroll, signer of the Declaration of Independence

Freedom is not a gift bestowed upon us by other men, but a right that belongs to us by the laws of God and nature. ~ Benjamin Franklin

 

The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government — lest it come to dominate our lives and interests. ~ Patrick Henry

 

I know no safe depository of the ultimate powers of the society but the people themselves. And if we think them not enlightened enough to exercise their control with a wholesome discretion, the remedy is not to take it from them, but to inform their discretion by education. This is the true corrective of abuses of constitutional power. ~ Thomas Jefferson

I was “introduced” to a man named Caesar Rodney by radio personality Steve Deace on his Independence Day program last Thursday. I had never heard of the man. My loss. so I will share what I learned with you and link you to more:

Caesar Rodney, (born October 7, 1728, Dover, Delaware – died June 26, 1784, Dover – delegate to the Continental Congress (1774–76, 1777–78), “president” of Delaware (1778–82), and key signer of the Declaration of Independence.

One of Delaware’s three delegates to the Continental Congress, Rodney had been away in Delaware and was quite sick when he got word of the impending vote on the resolution for independence.  All night, as the first of July, 1776, turned into the second, Rodney rode through a thunderstorm. He covered 80 miles and arrived at Independence Hall’s doorstep in time to cast Delaware’s deciding vote for independence. 

One of the great men I never knew about.  Another giant.

4th of july eagle emoticon  I hope you all enjoy Independence Day 2016! 

 

 

29 Responses to “Independence Day 2016 *Open Thread*”

  1. helenk3 Says:

    we were so lucky to have such men of vision far beyond their times to start this country. Think of how far they traveled in no air conditioning, and no paved roads and just what they accomplished.
    As I said in an earlier post, I and my children and grand children and great grand children we lucky enough to see where it all began.
    I can never understand those who can not or will not see the greatness of having the freedom to be, due to these men.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      For many, having never known anything except freedom they don’t appreciate it. And without people to educate them about our history and what our freedom cost they may never know just how lucky they are.

      You and your family know and that makes you grateful for what you have instead of expecting someone else to provide more. Coming from a military family as I did I always knew – they made sure I did. And for that I am forever grateful. As well as my gratitude for all those who gave so much so that I could hang my flag on my front porch this morning. Bless them all Lord, please bless them all.

  2. helenk3 Says:
    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks for this Helen. It’s nice when things are entertaining as well as informative.

      I admit I didn’t know, or more likely forgot, that the 4th wasn’t made a national holiday until 1840. Shouldn’t have taken that long IMO but glad they finally got around to it!

  3. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.publiusforum.com/2016/07/04/john-adams-reminiscences-first-independence-day-3/

    something to remember

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Shapiro’s Fiery Speech At Western Conservative Summit: People Who Sacrifice Conservatism On The Altar Of Trump Are ‘SOFT’

    For the love of all that’s holy, let’s think about building a movement beyond this election cycle. Think about building something once we’re past November.

    I’m 32 years old … I have a two-year-old and a two-month old. Those generations are only going to be protected if we revivify our movement – if we come together around those values, and if we learn who our enemies are, and if we fight them every single step of the way, never giving an inch and if we never stop fighting. We can’t get tired. If we do, they win. We can’t let them have a few victories – they exploit every single victory, and then push on to the next victory. The left is a ceaseless, heedless monstrosity, it’s our job to hold that wall.

    http://www.dailywire.com/node/7155

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      His speech was just off the HOOK, wasn’t it?? I so admire this young man, and I am so, so thankful to have young people like him in this country. It gives me hope…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I am a very big fan and look for his posts. He is the next generation of Conservatives and if they follow his lead they will be worth voting for. Ryan and his bunch were called the “Young Guns” – I think Shapiro is the first of the “new” young Conservative guns. And old GOP pols had best look out.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Conservatives’ List of Grievances Against the 2016 GOP Establishment

    They have fused their power with their friends across the aisle for their own personal ambition.

    They have squandered gains in the House brought to them by the people, and openly mocked their base.

    They have pretended at opposition to the fundamental transformation of America, implementing each and every insult to the detriment of the people.

    They have given lip service to the United States Constitution, refusing to restore the balance of power among the branches.

    They have made solidarity with the Chamber of Commerce whose mission is to create a permanent underclass of cheap labor.

    They have silenced conservatives within the party, going so far as to defeat them in general elections by standing by Democrats.

    more at:

    https://www.conservativereview.com/commentary/2016/07/conservatives-list-of-grievances-against-the-2016-gop-establishment#sthash.bGa1CxtF.dpuf

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Outstanding list. And so true. Thanks for this!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I don’t think the old guard realizes the anger they have caused. They see the unfocused and ignorant anger of the Trumpanzees and miss the outrage of the Conservatives who will not endorse or accept a POS like Trump.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    As our nation grows ever more divided – and that division cheered on and part of a political plan to make us more easily ruled, it should be remembered, lest we despair, that not all were on board in 1776 either. The Loyalists of their day are the parasites of today. Not all reside in either party. Parasites know no party or country – they just suck the life out of whatever country or people they attach themselves to.

  9. helenk3 Says:

  10. helenk3 Says:

    View story at Medium.com

    about time someone spoke up

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      It’s past time. But I don’t think it does any good. They can’t seem to learn. They think they know everything and that we should just sit quietly until they need/want our vote. And if we say no, then they insult us. Personally, not the kind of people I want to associate with.

      And Reince is a Kenosha boy, I expect better.

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Just like many of us have been saying, Clinton may be a liar, but she pales in comparison to TRUMP: http://www.aol.com/article/2016/07/04/trump-and-clinton-probably-want-you-to-ignore-this-fact-checker/21423721/

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Happy Independence Day, everyone! Marge, great post. Thank you for your outstanding observance of this earth-shattering event! e are blessed to live in a country like this, unique in all the world, and we would do well to remember that and act to do right by her…

    Hope everyone has a a great day!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thank you. It’s my pleasure. I love everything about Independence Day. I had my flag out at dawn and have small flags in the two cement flower pots that are the steps of my front porch.

      I read the Declaration of Independence, as I do every Independence Day. Then I searched out the wisdom of the founding fathers and read and reread what they had to say.

      If anyone ever sticks a microphone in my face and asks me what we celebrate on the 4th of July, they’ll get an earful.

  13. helenk3 Says:

    https://pjmedia.com/lifestyle/2016/07/02/this-independence-day-lets-thank-beer-for-its-role-in-getting-this-country-started/?singlepage=true

    the real reason the Pilgrims landed in Boston

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Because they ran out of beer? Are we sure these were English not Irish? I do miss my beer. I drank Killian’s Red for many years. But once I “quit” smoking I knew I couldn’t have any beer either. Two beers in and I’d have been looking for a smoke.

      So I quit both. Cold Turkey. The same day. Lou cried and hid out most of the time for the next month. He deserves a medal for putting up with me. Just don’t tell him so. I don’t want it to go to his head.

  14. helenk3 Says:

    I just finished watching The Devil’s Disciple”. I forgot how good Kirk Douglas was in that movie.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I loved that movie! I thought Burt Lancaster was very good in it too. And yes, Kirk Douglas was very good.

  15. helenk3 Says:

    this is the America I was taught to love

  16. helenk3 Says:

    tonight on gettv a Dolly Parton 4th of July special. lots of good music

  17. helenk3 Says:

    an awesome July 4th

    http://regated.com/2016/07/america-action-veteran-saves-bald-eagle-precision-marksmanship/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      What a fantastic story Helen! Thank you so much for sharing it. Please bring it forward to the next thread in case anyone misses it here. It is well worth repeating. Wonder why this story isn’t on all the news channels this 4th? Because it is all about the kind of people we are and not about what “they” want us to be. Bless this vet. And “Freedom” the eagle who would be just a dead eagle with a man and his gun.

  18. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Sharyl Attkissonis tearing it up still on Benghazi with a 2-part series:

    http://fullmeasure.news/news/politics/benghazi-rescue-interrupted-pt-1

Leave a Reply

