Everybody Is Always Mad * Open Thread *

by

It’s no secret that most Americans are furious with their government. The reasons for the anger a varied and valid. Government of the people, by the people and most of all, for the people, seems to be a thing of the past.

Citizens have good reason to be disgusted with the politicians that come begging votes at election time and then arrogantly ignore the will of the people until the next election. Politicians depend on the short memory of many voters. They depend on the voter that will vote for the magic letter, be it a D or an R behind a politicians name. They depend on our tribalism and are seldom disappointed.

People have good reason to be weary of promises never kept. It isn’t that most are naïve enough to actually think someone courting us for our vote is going to keep all their promises, but couldn’t they keep a few?

Incumbent Politicians know that most voters will, 91% of the time vote them back into office. The times when incumbents are voted out are rare and noteworthy.

We have anger towards each other too.

When I find that someone is supporting Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton for president I want nothing more to do with them. Naught. Zip. Zilch. Zero. To me anyone that is that brain-dead doesn’t belong in my life. I am willing to keep my distance – but – if they try to persuade me to their way of thinking I am willing to unleash rhetorical hell on them.

As free American citizens they have a perfect right to act like fools. Trying to convince me to join them in their ignorance and stupidity releases something in me that is broad and deep and very angry.

I have always had strong opinions and have always been tenacious in defending them.

Sometimes I find, to my dismay, that I have based my opinions on deceit and have been scammed. Instant rage.

I am more than capable of making a fool of myself. I’ve done it many times over the years. I don’t need any help. My anger when I discover that I’ve been duped is colossal. I think most of us feel outraged when flimflammed. I just tend to get a bit angrier than most.

Righteous anger aside shouldn’t we be appalled at the insults perfect strangers throw at each other in blog comment sections? I’m not talking about calling someone a dimwit, or a fool, I’m talking about vicious name-calling up to and including death threats.

Is the ability to hide behind a keyboard allowing repellant people to attack in ways they wouldn’t dare face to face?

An acquaintance of mine tells me that one of the most abhorrent trolls she has ever read is in fact a school teacher who is a very nice person. She claims the nasty comments online are just this woman’s way of getting things off her chest. A kind of safety valve.

I think there’s more to it than that. I’ve read some of what this nice teacher wrote and personally I’m glad she isn’t teaching my grandkids. I’m also glad she doesn’t live in my neighborhood. There’s a lot more than normal anger hiding inside that woman. I don’t want to be in the vicinity if and when it breaks lose.

It’s no wonder we have at each other as if we were mortal enemies with the political “role models” we have before us. There seems to be nothing of which politicians will not accuse each other.

 

Children hurling insults on a school yard show as much control as left vs right and Democrat vs Republican. And the repellent media eggs it on.

Much of the worst fighting is in primary battles. This seems to be getting worse. People who are supposedly on the same side fling poo at each other like monkeys. There seems to be nothing too vile to accuse their opponent of doing or being or thinking.

Yet weeks and months later they stand on a stage together and the loser will endorse the winner. WTH?

Much has been made of the fact that Ted Cruz did not endorse Donald Trump. How dare he not pledge to support the man that attacked his wife, his father and had a surrogate accuse him of infidelity? They are outraged. Are they nuts or am I?

I never had much use for Kasich until he refused to endorse or attend the convention.  I respect Cruz and Kasich far more than any of those that endorsed. Certainly miles more than toadies like Huckabee, Carson and Christie. They sold their souls and it shows.

I think the people that should be heaped with scorn are those that disparaged someone repeatedly and now stand on a stage and says what a swell person he is and what a great President this person will be.

Were they lying then or are they lying now? Both positions cannot be the truth. Lies are being told now or were being told then. So why should we listen to them?

I know is that many people are mad most of the time. To my dismay I’m often one of them. I need to work on that.  I find that I still loathe Trumpanzees and do not wish them well. I’ll have to work on that some more. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

We should be angriest of all at the fact that come November our choices will be the Repellent Corrupt Woman or the equally Repellent Lunatic.

Political Cartoons by Bob Gorrell

14 Responses to “Everybody Is Always Mad * Open Thread *”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Excellent, excellent post, Marge. You have REALLY nailed it. Yes, we are angry, and with good reason. That doesn’t mean going out and destroying the country because of it. Righteous anger is one thing. Destructive anger like that of too many we see now is quite another.

    I wanted to share a very good piece from The Federalist abt the ever-present meme that a no-vote for Trump is a vote for Clinton and vice versa. It is most definitely not, and this author explains that well. He also makes clear that NO ONE owns a vote but the person him or herself. No one. Nor the Party nor the candidate:

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/08/01/no-party-owns-my-vote

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      That’s a great article! I especially liked this line:

      “The neither vote is an important statement that apparently flies over the heads of these pundits: that neither candidate is fit to be president. “

      And of course the title says it all – “No party owns my vote” ever.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        So glad you liked it! And yes – that is precisely the point, whether the pundits want to admit they get it or not…

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Kaine Clashes With Clinton Campaign Manager Over Abortion Law

    Last week, Clinton Campaign Manager Robby Mook suggested that Kaine had changed his mind on the legislation, telling CNN’s Jake Tapper that Kaine will “stand” with Clinton on defending a woman’s right to choose and repealing the Hyde amendment.

    When Tapper asked Kaine to respond on Sunday, the VP pick said that is not accurate and doubted that’s what Mook meant to say.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/cortneyobrien/2016/08/01/kaine-clashes-with-clinton-campaign-manager-over-abortion-law-n2200364

    Silly Kaine doesn’t seem to realize that once he became Hillary’s running mate his soul is no longer is own. Nor are his opinions. How naïve was that?

    Now the question is will he or won’t he back down. My bet is on he will.

    Cause you gotta be a baby killing badass to get elected by the Dem voters in 2016. That’s the only “choice” allowed.

  4. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I have a Presidential candidate I can fully support, especially having met him in person. I give you:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      He’s got my vote too. Never met a dog that wasn’t better than a politician!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        He is absolutely adorable in person, too: charming, handsome, and smart. We could do a whole lot worse!

  5. helenk3 Says:

    maybe if you ate organic

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I think if that guy showed up at my door he’d find an angry old lady with a cane. If he persisted he might find “organic” broth in his future after my cane knocked his teeth out. Grrrr

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Wow, this is a pretty big defection from the GOP. I very much appreciate her point abt looking her kids in the eyes: http://www.aol.com/article/2016/08/01/jeb-bush-adviser-sally-bradshaw-gop/21442889/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      As Trump keeps saying stupid, unforgiveable things, and as the DNC makes excuses I suspect this will not be the last. I suspect many have all ready decided they don’t want to be a part of this new Trump party. They just haven’t advertised it.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

Leave a Reply

