Friday Morning Happy Hour * Open Thread *

by

I don’t do the whole “TGIF” thing anymore. I’m retired. Every day is the same for me and I only know it’s Sunday because I go to church. Oh and I keep track of when it’s Tuesday so I remember to take the garbage out to the curb.

I don’t go out and have a few drinks with co-workers on Friday after work. These days a “few drinks” for me are herbal tea and Geratol.

I am looking for something to give me a positive feeling. I want to feel better about the world around me. I want to stop feeling so stressed and frazzled.

I do tend to get a bit worked up about politics – there is a very good reason for that – everything is bad, wrong, crooked, dishonest and generally all around lousy. Other than that…

So I decided to search out some news that isn’t about politics, government and elections. I don’t want to hear about crime or what is happening to some dimwitted celebutard either.

Olympic news is good – USA is doing well. No one has keeled over from drinking, swimming or boating in the polluted water yet. Yay!

I loved the story about Michael Phelps and his rival. Michael Phelps’s Finger Wag.  Chad le Clos of South Africa, who barely beat Phelps during the 2012 Olympic games in London was being a real hot dog. Michael Phelps glowered beneath a hoodie. In the end, Phelps had the last laugh.

I was happy for Phelps not just because he’s an American, but because I don’t much like hot dogs. The human kind anyway.

I love to learn new things so maybe it would be a good time to look around and see what I can learn…There’s a fun fact that should cheer me up in no time. Who thinks up stuff like that? Kinda twisted donchathink? But then I posted it. Never mind.

I read somewhere that if a mosquito is biting you and you flex that muscle, it will explode. What will explode, the muscle or the mosquito? I worry about things like that.

Now I sit very still when a mosquito lands on me just in case I might flex a muscle and the muscle will explode. I have enough health problems without adding exploding muscles.

Of course if I was sure it would be the mosquito that would explode I’d be flexing my muscles like Arnold Schwarzenegger. Actually I just wanted to type his name to see if I still remembered how to spell it. I didn’t.

Did you know the average person spends 3-4 years in the toilet? I think that’s over a lifetime – not all at once.

I like to learn things but that isn’t one of the things I wanted to learn. Now I cannot unlearn it.

I can forget why I walked into the kitchen 5 minutes ago but I will probably remember that the average person spends 3-4 years in the toilet for all eternity.

Did you know that anatidaephobia is the fear that somewhere in the world, there is a duck watching you? Me neither. I could have lived without knowing that but  I would prefer to think about ducks rather than the years spent in a toilet fact.

Here’s a happy fact for a Friday morning to send me into the weekend in a good mood: Squirrels behave kindly and will adopt orphans if they notice that a relative does not come back to the kiddies. Isn’t that sweet? I think I’ll add extra peanuts for the kindly little squirrels tomorrow morning.

Except for the one that ate a hole in the screen in the back porch and got trapped there looking for peanuts. The peanuts are in a closed container so his vandalism was all for naught. Then he scared the living crap out of me when I went into the porch. That squirrel gets no extras. (As if I knew which one it was – it went one way and I went the other so fast neither of us could describe the other.) I’m betting it was the sneaky one that sits among the geraniums and does them no good.

Here’s another squirrely fact: It is estimated that millions of trees in the world are accidently planted by squirrels who bury nuts and then forget where they hid them?

Did you know that a blue whale’s tongue weighs more than an elephant?  It might be hard to work that into a conversation.

Did you know that most of the laughs you hear on TV shows today were recorded in the 1950s? That means technically, you’re hearing dead people laugh…

Did you know that the average human brain is capable of remembering only about 60% of whatever happened just the day before? I thought I was the only one. I also thought    the percentage was higher. Some days – much higher.

Did you know that  chocolate is said to contain phenylethylamine. That’s the same chemical your brain produces when you fall in love. No love life? Eat chocolates.

Did you know that 1930s outlaw  Charles Floyd aka Pretty Boy Floyd used to destroy mortgage papers during bank heists, freeing hundreds of people from property debt? Guess there is some good in everyone.

Did you know that Iceland has no army and is recognized as the world’s most peaceful country?

I hope you have a great day and head into the weekend with a smile on your face. If I helped put one there I will have a really great day.

Now back to snarling about politics…

38 Responses to “Friday Morning Happy Hour * Open Thread *”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Ha! Great post. I’m always up for free coffee, too. I heard Thursday of the work week referred to as “day four of the hostage situation.” Cracked me up.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I never heard that one. For the working stiff it’s pretty darn accurate. Unless you love your job. I had one I loved once and the days flew by. The ones I didn’t love – time dragged and Friday’s seemed endless with freedom just in sight.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Love this post! My sister put something on my Facebook page the other day that coffee beans are my birth stone. That abt sums it up!

  2. helenk3 Says:

    a beautiful way to start Friday

  3. piper Says:

    Another scam from Don the Con and his children -we were not the developers only gave branded our name. Everyone lost their investment but we made $500.000.00 in the branding. Nice con job!

    http://www.latimes.com/politics/la-na-pol-trump-baja-snap-story.html

  4. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.westernjournalism.com/heres-why-an-emotional-michael-phelps-burst-out-laughing-during-the-national-anthem/

    nice story

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      That’s a good story.

      Remember that some libs wanted Ibtihaj Muhammad to carry the flag in the opening ceremonies? Some people thought Ibtihaj Muhammad, the first American Muslim woman to compete in the Olympic games, should hold it. Fortunately those “some” people didn’t get a vote.

      Muhammad, who competes in fencing, was not selected to carry the flag, and was eliminated from medal contention in her sport rather quickly after a series of losses.

      The way I see it is that you not only need to be the first at something to compete in the Olympics – you actually need to be good at it.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      The Braves fans do the same thing when the anthem is being sung – focusing on the BRAVE part. Pretty cute. And I can totally see that lightening up the mood for Phelps.

      And now, Phelps has broken a record from ANCIENT GREECE. What a freakin’ BEAST he is, and yet, seems to have his head on straight (now)…

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I cannot begin to tell you how big it is that Clinton and Trump are essentially tied in South Carolina. SOUTH CAROLINA, a reliably red state even when Obama ran. This is how disastrous a Trump candidacy is: http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com/news/state/south-carolina/article95055897.html

    Add to that all of these other wing states into the mix along with GA turning Blue: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/presidential-races/291257-polls-clinton-leads-in-four-swing-states

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Cruz Tried to Warn Us

    As Ted Cruz warned current Trump sycophant Hugh Hewitt back in April,

    “If Trump is the nominee, Hillary wins and she wins by double digits. He gets obliterated! … [W]e’re looking at a Walter Mondale-level blowout.”

    Does anyone still doubt this? If so, reconsider your opinion in a month or two. Neither the screws in his head nor the wheels on his campaign will be getting any tighter for The Donald in the weeks ahead.

    He might benefit from momentary blips in some polls, but the overall trend will continue downward toward utter ruin for himself and the GOP. Already nearly half of all registered voters want Trump to drop out of the race.

    http://moonbattery.com/?p=75114

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Just Shut Up For A Month Donald

    Making Sense by Michael Reagan

    Forget the idea of a Republican intervention.

    Nothing GOP bigwigs or people like Rudy Giuliani can say to Donald Trump now will get his head straight and get him back on track.

    For candidate Trump, it ought to be pretty clear by now that there is no track, no train, no schedule and no final destination.

    His track goes wherever his wandering mind and runaway ego take him at any given instant, whether he’s speaking to 3,000 people or tweeting from his bedroom.

    http://www.cagle.com/michael-reagan/2016/08/shut-up-for-a-month-donald

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ohmygosh, this is SO true. He needs to shut the hell up already. But it was lunacy for the Powers-That-Be like McConnell to think for a SECOND that Trump could be reined in. How can anyone think they can rein in a lunatic like him??? He thinks he is SOOO brilliant, and always has ALL the best words, so why the hell would he listen to someone like McConnell r, well, ANYONE??? He has proven he won’t, he has proven he lies with impunity (I’m still not over him claiming as he did in the Hugh Hewitt interview that he doesn’t insult people – WTH????), is a loose cannon, and really, not at ALL smart!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Like you I’ve never understood the attraction Trump has for some people. Perhaps you can support him but you sure as hell can’t understand him. Listen, better yet get a text of one of his rambling speeches and you’ll think you flew over the cuckoo’s nest. It makes no sense.

        He has the vocabulary of a 4 year old without the self control.

        I don’t get it, I’ve never gotten it and I never will get it. I usually can just agree to disagree with people about who they choose to support – not with Trump and not with Obama. Their followers are much the same kind of nasty name-calling scumbags. I loathe him and I loathe them. I was repulsed by the Obamabots and feel the same way about Trumpanzees.

        No one with common sense, common decency, a love of country and a love of God could possible support either of these two men. One is wicked and one is nuts.

  9. helenk3 Says:

  10. helenk3 Says:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2016/08/12/trump-campaign-rnc-to-hold-emergency-meeting-today-in-orlando/

    interesting. is this a please help me, or a you are on your own meeting?

  11. helenk3 Says:

    In today’s mail I got 2 invitations for lunch from crematorium busnesses. 1 for an insurance policy for my funeral expenses. a 2 notices that my car warranty is about to expire.
    SHOULD I WORRY?

    • piper Says:

      hmmmmmm – I only get invitations from hearing centers and retirement folks which get shredded without being opened.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I get the same thing all the time. Lou who 5 years younger than I am just started getting them.

      The local funeral parlors have me on speed dial I think.

      I get all kinds of mail for hearing tests too. I usually mail the invitation for a “free” hearing test back with the word “Huh” written in large red sharpie.

  12. helenk3 Says:

    http://theweek.com/articles/642447/what-happen-trumpism-after-trump

    this is a good question that few have thought about

    • piper Says:

      His actions on issues are the opposite of his sound bites like wanting more visas for people to work his properties, stiffing small businesses, etc., etc.

      ‘But Donald Trump is not a normal candidate. And there’s a real risk that one consequence of his abnormality will be to tar all of his legitimate issues with his tainted brush.’

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      My hope is that Trumpism, like Trump and the Trumpanzees disappear and are never heard from again.

      The premise of the article seems to be that Trump brought up issues not mentioned before. Nonsense. All the things he talks about, often with little or no actual understanding of the issue have been on Republican plates for years.

      The problem isn’t anyone talking about them, the problem is someone doing something about them.

      Trump isn’t interested enough in learning enough to do anything. He also doesn’t care enough. With him it’s all vanity. Plus he’s not only got a few screws loose, many have completely fallen out.

  13. piper Says:

    Today, I walked thru my small subdivision of approx. 100 homes without seeing one political sign which is telling given most of my neighbors are republicans who usually had their yard signs at the front edge of their property. Have seen several Ryan signs but no Trump signs anywhere here or in neighboring cities.

  14. helenk3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/culture/hilarious-segment-memes-inspired-trump-tower-climber/

    this was funny

  15. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.westernjournalism.com/fox-news-announces-new-management-structure-and-leadership-team/

    wonder how this will work out

  16. helenk3 Says:

    true

    https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/s480x480/13902746_1449734881708891_8956031682340173007_n.jpg?oh=80166214d6e787d6f760c7ca44e8835f&oe=585528A1

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Sadly all too true. Media cares nothing for the truth anymore. They care about their particular “agenda” and ratings. Even ratings don’t/won’t matter with cable so long as low ratings channels like MSNBC are bundled in with the channels we actually want. We pay for them whether we watch them or not. Thus they survive.

      The big 3 survive because the public watches them even though they don’t trust or respect them. And sadly believe much of the bilge the networks peddle.

      Their success says more about us as a people than it does about them as the dishonest scum they are. They cannot survive without our support.

  17. helenk3 Says:

    Amy this one is for you

  18. helenk3 Says:

    this explains a lot about elections

Leave a Reply

