Growing Old With Dignity *Open Thread*

by

 

My life has not been blessed with great wealth or fame. I am not and have never been more than average looking. My talents are ordinary and average.

There are those who tell us that as long as you have your hearth… Another not so much.

So is it too much to ask for some dignity? Don’t we all deserve some dignity? Especially as we grow older? Do we have to be the cliché about silly old women?

 

Okay that should be your first clue that I’m writing not so much about dignity as a lack thereof. Because life is full of a lack thereof when it comes to dignity. And if you don’t laugh about it, it will laugh at you.

I’ve never believed that he/she who laughs last didn’t get the joke. I’ve always believed that he/she who laughs last didn’t think the joke was funny and finally decided to laugh because it was expected. Everyone else is laughing so perhaps I have a substandard funny bone.

In my younger days I would utter a nervous titter which  was usually diagnosed as embarrassed because I hadn’t got the joke. That just made me look foolish. Now I just sit stone-faced and look at the teller of the unfunny, usually inappropriate joke as if I was trying to decided what kind of rock they had dwelt under until now.

Getting old is a bad enough joke on us to begin with. Many people try to fight off the process and thus make total fools of themselves. A 70 year old woman with 22 year old boobs doesn’t look sexy, she looks ridiculous. There is no dignity there.

There may be little dignity in having to haul the “girls” up past your waist with a block and tackle but at least you don’t look like some silly old fool trying to look young.

That’s just me. If some women want to fight growing old with lotions and potions and going under the knife who am I to say they shouldn’t. I personally find no dignity there. They are fighting a battle they cannot win. If they want to emulate the Spartans at  the Battle of Thermopylae I suppose we should applaud their determination if not their common sense.

There does come the time when you’ve passed just being old to being really old. Then you are suddenly in a whole new phase of your life. You are celebrated for being really old. The fact that you are still breathing is considered remarkable. If you can show some semblance of still possessing a functioning cerebral cortex or have the stamina to walk across the floor you are a marvel. I’m not sure there is dignity in that. But lots of people seem to like the attention. Don’t consider me one of them. I am curmudgeon now and will be one when I’m 100. That’s my dignity!

There are also people who decide if they can’t have dignity they will relish the lack of it. I read about an old lady that decided since the flap on her upper arm was waving in the breeze she’d do something special about it. She had a flag tattooed on it. Now while that arm flaps in the wind so does the American Flag. Bless her for making lemonade out of a lemon. I find a certain dignity, as well as courage in that.

Growing old is not for sissies. The path you now walk is full of pitfalls and pratfalls and affronts to your dignity. Indignities abound. Your body betrays you and your mind often fails you. You want to scream: “This is not what I signed up for!”

Once you calm down, because getting agitated is very bad for your blood pressure and where’s the dignity in blowing a blood vessel because you were pissed off? Life reduced to such choices seems sadly lacking. Until you consider the alternative to growing old.

 

Maybe I shouldn’t complain about the indignity life thrusts on we mortals. Just look at what we mortals do to our pets:

Funny and creative pet costumes, cat costumes, dressed up cats

Cats are dignified animals. Cats do not want to be dressed up in silly costumes. Does that look like the face of a happy cat to you?

How about a dog dressed up by his owner as a bus?

Funny and creative pet costumes, dog costumes, dressed up dog

What the ???

And finally let me combine the indignity of an animal with some of the little old ladies I have seen behind the wheel…

Do you suffer from a lack of dignity? Do you have other things, more important things to worry about? You’re right. Never mind.

22 Responses to “Growing Old With Dignity *Open Thread*”

  1. helenk3 Says:

    I am not too sure about dignity. I want the devil so worry oh boy she is up this morning. I do not want to go quietly into the night, I want to go kicking and screaming.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I also intend to go kicking and screaming. If not capable of that I will at least cuss and scowl.

      But until then – life leaves us so little dignity. Hospital stays if nothing else make that perfectly clear.

  2. helenk3 Says:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2016/08/26/brilliant-response-obamas-dont-discriminate-warning-louisiana-pure-american-gold/

    Hey backtrack don’t mess with Cajons.
    awesome response to backtrack’s stupid “don’t discriminate warning”

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Perfect response to the man who has done more to divide us than he ever did to bring this country together as “One Nation Under God”.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    White House rejects Donald Trump’s claim that blacks are worse off under Obama

    Despite government data supporting Donald Trump’s claim that blacks are worse off under President Obama, the White House insisted Thursday that blacks have made progress under the first black president and that the Republican nominee would reverse those gains.

    Mr. Trump’s pitch that black Americans have “nothing to lose” by voting for him is clearly irritating the White House, which tried but failed to muster much convincing evidence that life for blacks in America has improved over the past eight years.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/aug/25/white-house-disputes-trumps-claim-blacks-worse-off/?utm_source=RSS_Feed&utm_medium=RSS

    I am an adamant #NeverTrumper, give me crooked over nuts every time, but he’s right about this. Which probably means he’ll claim he never said it any minute now.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.theamericanmirror.com/assange-interesting-serious-hillary-info-yet-come/

    this should be fun to watch

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Evidently there is no bottom to the amount of things that Hillary, Bubba and their “Foundation” has to hide. Granny Hillary and Grandpa Clyde.

  7. helenk3 Says:

    http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37021991

    the alt-right.
    I never really paid attention to this. I surf the net a lot and did not pick up on this.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      From what I hear on Beck and Steve Deace the “alt” right or alternative right is full of white supremacists. Nice folks.

  8. helenk3 Says:

    https://pjmedia.com/lifestyle/2016/08/25/taxpayer-funded-university-grants-students-just-2-hours-of-free-speech-per-week/

    can you believe this?

  9. helenk3 Says:

    Bernie Sanders to solo campaign for Hillary Clinton for 1st time on Sept. 5 in New Hampshire at AFL-CIO breakfast – @kylegriffin1
    See original on twitter.com

    wonder who would have been candidate if some one real had run against clinton

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I wonder how many of the young people that followed him will listen to him and vote for Hillary. Because from what I’ve read the young voters aren’t happy with either Hillary or Trump. Will they change their mind if she offers as many freebies as Bernie?

  10. helenk3 Says:

    I am going to start doing some reading on Evan McMullin.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I heard him on either Glen Beck or Steve Deace and was disappointed in his answers on immigration. Basically same as Rubio and Bush. But now that Trump has killed that issue I guess that will be the best we will ever get.

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    LOVE this post, Marge! Yeah, this getting older thing is not for sissies indeed.

    Btw, my undergraduate thesis was in Medical Ethics, “Senior Citizen As Patient The Ethical Implications of Truth-telling.” The inside page had that very quote. I wrote it in honor of my grandmother, a nurse not just by profession but vocation, who was treated like a child when she was in the hospital by wet-behind-the-ears young whoppersnapper nurses. Made me angry to see someone who had forgotten more than these kids knew being treated like she was incompetent.

    Anyway, great post,t hough I would argue you are FAR from ordinary, my friend! Your intellect and sense of humor are definitely a class above!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I have few talents but God blessed me with a sense of humor that makes many things tolerable that otherwise would not be. I laugh because the alternative would leave me permanently waterlogged.

      Some days I search for something silly to write since the “news” is either incomplete, dishonest, nonsense or stupid.

      Politics are often stupid and the media that covers them are dumber and more dishonest than the guy that wrote a ransom note on one of his deposit slips.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Well, you have a sense of humor in spades ,though I still think you sell yourself short! 🙂

        And you ain’t only kidding abt the stupid news and stupider politicians. Ugh. Laughter really is a saving grace, isn’t it? Thank heavens for your wit and ability to frame things the way you do to give us that relief from the idiocy of what is going on these days!

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          You would think that with all that is going wrong in the world Hillary and Trump would be showing us some ideas that would solve at least some of them.

          But no. These two decrepit dimwits are having a slugfest over who is the most racist. Seriously?

          Personally I don’t think either one of them is racist. You have to care enough to hate someone because of the color of their skin to be racist. These two don’t care enough about anyone to do that. Each of them cares about themselves. Neither of them has the wisdom, competence, or integrity to solve anything. Either one, if elected will, IMHO makes things worse.

Leave a Reply

