Suckers! 🍭 Open Thread 🍭

by

 

One thing I like about being an Independent is that I never feel the smallest twinge of guilt if I don’t support some candidate. The magic R or D mean nothing to me. Less than nothing since neither give a crap about the country or the people. Both suck. Both are for suckers.

It took me a long time to see this clearly. I suspect a lot of us having observed the shenanigans of both parties this election see how sucky political parties are. Perhaps they always were and we just didn’t know it. Perhaps we didn’t want to know.

It isn’t that we weren’t warned. The problem is that we ignored the warnings in our lemming-like following of our tribe.

“There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, is to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution.”  ~ John Adams 

Having been played for suckers for so long some people are angry. So angry they seem to have lost their minds. So angry their judgment and common sense have evaporated.

We the people have turned into “we the suckers.”  Let some loud-mouth, lying POS have the magic  R or D after their name and we follow along like they were the Pied Piper. Only they’re not the Pied Piper, they’re the rats!

Minorities vote overwhelmingly for the Dems. Yet what have the Dems done for them? Freebies? Handouts? Fine. Terrific. If you want to be at their mercy for the rest of your life. Life sure as hell hasn’t improved for minorities. Proof? Detroit – Chicago – Baltimore.

“It’s painful to believe that the would-be ‘public servants’ you’re forced to choose between are all phonies whose only real concern is their own care and feeding and who will lie so outrageously and with such a straight face that you know they’ve just got to believe you’re an idiot.”  ~ David Foster Wallace

How can people be gullible enough to believe these liars? How many lies do they have to tell before you decide that they can’t be trusted?  How many times do they have to break their promises before people get tired of being played for a sucker?

Many on the right shake their heads in disbelief at how the voters on the left have been scammed for so long. They can’t see that they have been victims of the same kind of con artists on the right. Neither sees the truth because they only follow the sound of their tribal drum.

In 2008 Obama had a Dem House and Senate. Republican “leaders” screamed we had to get control of Congress. So in 2010 the voters gave the House of Representative to the Republicans. Republicans gained six seats in the Senate but the Democrats still retained a majority.

When nothing was done to stop or even slow Obama the Republicans wailed that they needed to have the Senate to do anything. So in 2014 voters gave the Senate to the Republicans. When the dust had settled, recounts, a runoffs – the GOP now had a majority in the Senate of 54 to 44 and a majority in the House of 247 to 188. Oh joy! Now something would be done about that liberal rogue in the White House.

Now the GOP moaned that they needed the White House because Obama had veto power. While they moaned, complained and whined Obama waged a one man war on divided government and the Constitution. Much hand-wringing ensued.

 Here we are – election 2016.

Once again the GOP tells us we must vote for them. Because if we don’t – Hillary!

What alternative do they give us to the horrible Hillary? Donald J. Trump.

If you’ve been on a long visit to another planet and just returned you would think I was kidding. To my own astonishment I am not. Republicans with an almost certain chance to regain the White House nominated Donald J. Trump. Wealthy business man and all around buffoon.

Once again the Republicans are telling us we must vote for them to save the universe. Because Hillary – Because Supreme Court – Because Religious Freedom – Because 2nd Amendment. Because, because, because if we do… What?

What have they done with what we gave them? What good is appointing “conservative” Justices to the Supreme Court when they don’t make conservative decisions? Or uphold the Constitution instead of “case law”.

I’ve been a sucker long enough. I call myself an Independent but I’ve voted for the Republicans for the last 8 years. Not because I was always happy with them but because I found them just a tad less vile than the Dems.

I was excited at the thought of voting for Ted Cruz. To me he is one of the few principled conservative politicians. Not perfect but a good man and one I thought could steer our country in the right direction.

I knew the media would skewer him, after all they aren’t media they are mostly Dem activists. What flabbergasted me was the vitriol from the right. The “leadership”/”establishment” hates Cruz with a passion they seldom show against the liberals.

The “angry” bird voters wanted Trump because he tells it like it is and isn’t a politician.

Tells it like what is? He has so many positions on so many issues it is difficult to keep track. I don’t know if he babbles depending on how the wind blows or if it’s the voices in his head. Whatever cause the nonsense and stupidity that emerges is not based in logic and knowledge.

I won’t vote for Hillary. I won’t vote for Trump. I have enough to explain to my maker when my time comes without explaining that I voted for an immoral, corrupt old crone or an immoral, ignorant, foul-mouthed buffoon. Sometimes you just have to draw a line. My time is now.

19 Responses to “Suckers! 🍭 Open Thread 🍭”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I will never forget the day I cast my first vote for a Republican in 2008/ I thought the skies would darken, thunder would roll, and lightning would shoot out of the sky. Amazingly, none of that happened, but having been a diehard yellow dog left-leaning Democrat my entire life, it was one of the hardest things I have ever done to change my affiliation from “Democrat” to “Independent.” Like you, I am no longer beholden to either party.

    Thank God for that, too, since both of them seem screwed up beyond repair.

    Excellent post, Marge. Thank you for this!

    Btw, I always SMH in disbelief when Trumpkins claim Trump “tells it like it is.” What, because he uses vulgar language and constant ad hominem attacks calling people all kinds of names? That isn’t “telling it like it is” – that is boorish, bullying behavior. And as you noted, it isn’t like you can count on him saying the same thing two days in a row, or even two HOURS in a row, so this whole meme is just mind boggling!

    Wow…

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    And speaking of “Suckers,” that moniker might just apply to Obama who is jumping on the Kapernick bandwagon, taking yet another opportunity to push a false narrative and demonize Police: http://www.dailywire.com/news/8901/obama-defends-kaepernick-over-national-anthem-slap-ben-shapiro

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      If you are looking at an issue to be on the wrong side of – you’ll find Obama. Like Kaepernick he and FLOTUS sit at the pinnacle of success and whine about how victimized they are. Every time he opens his mouth I loathe him more.

      Since he is so much younger than I am, and the media is still in love with him, I will be subjected to his every utterance, except the stupid ones of course, until I shuffle off this mortal coil. Yuck!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        You are so right abt Obama and which side he always seems to take. It is amazing, isn’t it?

        Oh, LORD – what a thought abt his every utterance! Now THAT is a depressing thought!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    The Left Has Cried Wolf On Republicans So Long Trump Is Immune

    The Washington Post’s Chris Cillizza can’t recall ‘a consistent drumbeat of accusations about racism, sexism, demagoguery or facism’ before Trump. I can.

    New York Times columnist Frank Bruni, considering the charges of racism and hate-mongering lodged against GOP presidential nominee Donald Trump, asks: “Did Democrats cry wolf so many times before Trump that no one hears or heeds them now?”

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/09/06/left-called-republicans-nazis-long-doesnt-work-trump/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent question. It is AMAZING the things with which Trump is getting away and abt which so many people just don’t care. Wow.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    P Diddy, Pitbull: Charter Schools’ Hip Hop Heroes

    https://pjmedia.com/parenting/2016/09/02/p-diddy-pitbull-charter-schools-hip-hop-heroes/?singlepage=true

    These two men, who represent a facet of music I don’t like even a little bit, are doing more for the black community than all the race-industry thugs like Sharpton, Jackson and BLM put together. I applaud them.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Wow, that is incredible! I don’t like that kind of music ONE bit either, but I appreciate that these men are doing something with all the money they make to help the next generations coming along.

      I know a lot of educators don’t like charter schools – or should I see liberals- but it is hard to see a downside to them, IMO…

      Thanks for this!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        If some of the loud-mouthed whiny athletes would spend some of their millions and do the same they could make a difference to the black community. Instead they get all the money they can from poor kids for their over-priced jerseys or shoes or whatever.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    BREAKING: Greta Van Susteren OUT at Fox News!

    http://therightscoop.com/breaking-greta-van-susteren-out-at-fox-news/#ixzz4JUp0J5pJ

    No facts yet about if she jumped or was pushed.

    Here’s some more from Legal Insurrection:

    Greta Van Susteren Leaves Fox News, Says “Has Not Felt Like Home”

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2016/09/greta-van-susteren-leaves-fox-news/

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. amarissa Says:

    “I won’t vote for Hillary. I won’t vote for Trump. I have enough to explain to my maker when my time comes without explaining that I voted for an immoral, corrupt old crone or an immoral, ignorant, foul-mouthed buffoon. Sometimes you just have to draw a line. My time is now.”

    I understand that “you are mad as hell and cannot take it anymore”, however… Let me ask you… How would you feel on November 9 if Donald Trump became our new President? Would you still feel that drawing the line was the right decision?

    I do not mean this as disrespectful, contradictory or critical of your statement, I feel just as mad as you do. My question comes from the fact that this is really not the typical “both candidates are corrupt and dishonest election”. This election is about risking our safety and our economy by letting a madman become President. I haven’t commented here in a while because I have seen that we are not on the same page and therefore chose not to expose my views. However, seeing the dangerous road facing us, I decided to express my concerns and opinions among a group of people I respect.

    I have read here not too long ago that you believe the media is attacking Trump more than Hillary. Believe me, I watch CNN and MSNBC 24/7 and they do not let Hillary’s problems rest! They are responsible for putting Trump in the map and also for Hillary’s poll numbers going down.
    The emails and the Clinton Foundation are on their Teleprompters constantly and so is her health. They are beating her to death and that is one of the reasons Trump has gained some advantage.

    What I don’t hear as often from the TV media is demanding that Trump show his taxes, the fact that his immigration stance has changed every five minutes or of his relationship with Russia among the many, many other issues that make him the most dangerous candidate in our history. Trump University is hardly ever mentioned and neither is his history with the mob, his dirty business deals or the people who surround him. My experience has been that the only ones doing some good investigative work are the Washington Post and Politico.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/plum-line/wp/2016/09/05/trumps-history-of-corruption-is-mind-boggling-so-why-is-clinton-supposedly-the-corrupt-one/?utm_term=.156db0d8aedf

    I know Hillary’s faults. I was her biggest supporter and then became a Republican in the past two elections. I am still registered as a Republican but I refuse to vote for a man who is not only inept to lead us but one who is only running to fill his ego and his pockets. I am really scared of a Trump win; I have never felt as scared as I do now. Hillary might not be the best choice but at least she is the less dangerous.

    The reasons that made me decide to vote for Hillary are simple:

    • We know everything about her, the good and the bad. We do not know who the real DT is! He is Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde!
    • The other candidates do not stand a chance and they are helping Trump more than Hillary. Especially among Independents.
    • She is knowledgeable and experienced.
    • She has fought for women and children all her life.
    • Her religion and beliefs are well documented.
    • She is a good mother and was a very good daughter.
    • She will, in my opinion, work with both parties.
    • She is gay friendly.
    • She speaks English, not the mumble jumble we hear from Trump.
    • She is respected in other countries. She is not a clown.
    • I trust her with the nuclear button.
    • She has faced every hardship and has remained strong.
    • She is seen as qualified by both parties even though Republicans dislike her.
    • And because, maybe, it is time to give a qualified woman the chance to lead our country. She has fought for this for so long that I am sure she will do a much better job than our other choices.

    My conclusion is that voting for the other two candidates or not voting will give Trump the White House. I know you don’t believe this and I also understand that you are tired of voting for the lesser of two evils but this time, more than any other time in history, those two options are extremely risky. We are facing dangerous times and Donald Trump will lead our embattled country to hell. We cannot risk giving our WH to this misogynist, lunatic, inept, dirty scoundrel and racist monster! The only wall he will build is one to protect him from his own messages of hate.

    So sorry for the long post!

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    I understand and respect your decision and the reason for it. However I believe that we have arrived at this terrible place in our history because we continue to vote for the lesser of two evils. The lesser evil is still evil. Hillary is a corrupt, greedy, evil woman and I cannot in good conscience reward her bad behavior with my vote.

    I expect I will wake up the morning after the election and be disgusted with who is elected. Him or her.

    We all must do what we believe is best. I will not vote for evil people. Both are corrupt and immoral. To vote for them, for me, is an act of immorality. I will not do it.

    I do not agree with the reasons you listed to vote for Hillary. Does a “good” mother teach her child to be corrupt? Hillary did. Fight for women? She fought to destroy the women her husband assaulted. Religion? I think no Christian woman would do the things she has done. I see a very different woman than you see. And I despise her.

    I could go on but what’s the point? We don’t agree. So we will have to just agree to disagree.

    I have drawn my line. I will not ever cross it again.

Leave a Reply

