I’ve Head That Song Before 🎶 Open Thread 🎶

by

 

Patti Page wasn’t singing about the same song I am. But the idea is the same. The idea is about lies.

Some people don’t seem to mind being buried under a mountain of lies by the people we elect to office. People that are supposed to have the welfare of the country at heart. People that turn out to be lying, cheating, crooked weasels.

We are up to our necks in weasels. Weasels of both genders and all shapes and color from both parties. Weasels that often tell a lie when the truth would serve as well.

Because of elected liars and media liars and Judicial liars and citizen liars it is difficult, if not impossible to find the truth.

The media “watchdogs” who’s job it is to seek out the truth and inform the public stopped doing their job long ago. They turned political activists and turned a respected profession into the world’s old profession. Few people respect the presstitutes these days. The few that do tell the truth are attacked from all sides. People really don’t want the truth. They want to be told what they want to hear.

 

What some people seem to have forgotten in our corrupt culture is that:

“Truth is not, never has been or never will be relative.  There is no such thing as a moral obligation to vote for someone you find morally objectionable.” ~ Reverend Cory Gordon

One of FOX “News” channel’s resident dolts, Sean Hannity, now rants hysterically about who he will blame should  his Cheeto God lose to the Horrible Hillary.  #NeverTrumpers are on the list as well as Glenn Beck and Ted Cruz. I cannot speak for Beck and Cruz but I know that I am quaking in my orthopedic shoes at the thought that Sean Hannity would blame me for something.

I’ve been watching a delightful cartoon series on “Situational Ethics” by Rev. Cary Gordon. I learned about Reverend Gordon and this series listening to the Steve Deace show. Deace was trying to explain why it is wrong to vote for the lesser of two evils. Reverend Gordon provided a way to explain it perfectly.

If you haven’t given this 5 part cartoon by Reverend Gordon a look please do. I like it very much and it explains to me a concept I “felt” but couldn’t quite put together in my mind. Voting the lesser of two evils was something I had done in the past, although I don’t think I ever really thought the person I was voting for was evil, I knew he or she wasn’t a good person. Voting for them made me uncomfortable.

Election 2016 is different for me – I find both candidates morally objectionable. I find both candidates evil. I cannot, in good conscience vote for either. I couldn’t quite articulate the reason.

I believe that we came to this sad choice because we had voted for the lesser of two evils again and again until we finally came to two individuals so evil that I had to draw a line. I am not alone in that decision.

 

Others may feel differently. Others may not find these two individuals evil. If so then they can, in good conscience, vote for one or the other of them. I just hope they do so without lying to themselves. Because the bad behavior of both of them has been very well documented.

Willful blindness to the truth because it isn’t what you want to believe or isn’t what you want it to be doesn’t change the truth. But it will change you.

A man I used to think of as a friend told me recently that I couldn’t accept facts.  He said it because I don’t agree with him about Donald Trump. That’s when I realized that this arrogant individual thought that his opinions were facts. Remember that old saying:

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.”  ~ Daniel Patrick Moynihan

This man thought himself much better informed than I am, and in many cases he is. Therefore he believed I should bow to his experience as fact. I did not. I would not. I will not. Thus we are friends no more. That is happening to many people this election cycle. Friends are friends no more.

The people I can respect in politics are few and far between. The people I can respect in media are few and far between. Every day there is a larger number of fellow citizens that I can respect no more because they don’t respect the truth.

It is a bad time in our history. We have been divided before and managed to survive at great cost. I wonder what the cost will be this time.

I believe we will survive. As Glenn Beck says we will wake up the morning after the election and live our lives. The world will not stop. It will not stop for those who are sad because their choice lost or stop for the joy of those who celebrate because their choice won. The world will keep on turning.

Who knows, perhaps in time truth will once again be an important part of American life. Maybe having one of the two vile individuals sitting in the White House and tainting it with every lie and every evil deed will open some eyes. Maybe the siren song of dishonesty will lose popularity. I hope so. I dearly hope so.

19 Responses to “I’ve Head That Song Before 🎶 Open Thread 🎶”

  1. piper Says:

    Excellent Marge. I also have a male friend who believes his opinions are facts which everyone should ascribe to and if you don’t as I question many of his so-called facts, then there is something wrong with you and will call you out spouting about the ‘abyss’ looking back at you. I tend to avoid him after one of his ‘factual’ and name calling rants which he must realize as he will send me biking info thru Messenger, never actually apologizing for his words but trying to keep our friendship going.

    BTW he’s an obot and blames the Israelis for what’s happening in the Mideast and to the Palestinians.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I have to sever some relationships for my own peace of mind. Not because I can’t stop talking about whatever is dividing us but because the other person cannot seem to believe that ranting at me won’t make me see things their way. I tend to get a bit testy after the 100th time that happens.

      You’re smart, exercise has a way of excising demons who think they know it all. At least it puts some distance between you and them.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, good Lord abt the Israelis and blaming them for what is going on in the Mideast. The Israelis are not TERRORISTS, and are the best thing in the Middle East (IMO). This blind hatred of Israel based on nothing more than emotion and ignorance is astonishing.

      And yeah, I get testy too when people keep trying to bludgeon me with their opinions…

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Another excellent post, Marge! I don’t know how you do it, but you just keep knocking ’em out of the park!

    Btw, our paper had that same cartoon abt Trump at the black churches!

    I sure hope you and Glenn are right. I keep thinking abt the direction this nation is headed, how ungrateful and entitled are the younger generations now, and I worry abt our nation…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      TY – glad you approve. It’s your blog and I am striving to keep up your standards. No easy task.

      I have no doubt that we are in for some dark days ahead. No matter which of the miserable, miscreant scumbags win there will be some sort of hell to pay.

      I just believe that there is some vestige of the American Spirit still within us as a people. We’ve erred before and rose again. I believe it will happen again because if I don’t I would go sit in a corner and suck my thumb. Or I would eat nothing but cheesecake until I killed myself with sugar and cholesterol but died with a smile on my face.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        No no, thank you! Honestly, I couldn’t do it without you!

        I sure hope you are right, dear friend. When I see where we are heading, with our educational system and parenting along with the capitulation of those who swear to serve us, I am not as hopeful as I once was. Especially when you look at the people citizens chose to represent the two main parties (or that one party chose for both but the other allowed them to do so). I just hope you are right…

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Obama’s trip to China could have gone better.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Derek Hunter: Burn It All Down

    I shudder to think what it’d be like to be a kid now. The whole world at your fingertips, the sum total of human knowledge on a screen in your pocket and modern Nazis policing your every word and thought.

    Sending your child to many colleges is akin to enrolling them in the Hitler Youth or sending them to a Soviet reeducation camp…for $50,000 per year.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/derekhunter/2016/09/08/burn-it-all-down-n2215226

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Jonah Goldberg on Glen Beck podcast. Very interesting and as always with Jonah, also entertaining. Much to my amazement I am also liking Glen Beck. Whodathunkit? Doesn’t mean I buy into everything he’s selling but he sure as hell is smarter, and better informed than Hannity, Bolling et al.

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I am so, so sick of these rich, entitled athletes with their protests against the United States. YES, they have Freedom of Speech, but again, I don’t watch sports for political commentary but to take a break from it. If it was a legitimate reason, meaning,not based on BLM propaganda, I might understand it more.

    But BLM is a movement based on lies, emotion manipulation, and violence, so yeah – hard to see these exceedingly entitled millionaires protesting en masse at a football game, on 9/11 as Right Scoop points out, is just infuriating: http://therightscoop.com/report-entire-seattle-seahawks-team-may-sit-during-national-anthem-on-911/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      If they do I hope they get their butts kicked in every game they play from here on out. Like you I am sick of people who benefit from this country and them spit on it.

    • cindyindie Says:

      Amen Sister Cuzin! They give new meaning to “dumb jocks”….They make MILLIONS of $$ PER YEAR, have a black President, black attorney general, get so many free passes not afforded the rest of us, and they act like they are so deprived…Well, that’s true if you’re counting brain cells! And hey! the Klan has freedom of speech too, (but I don’t think they want to be reminded of that)
      Great “seeing” you!

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    On the good news front, it seems that a number of us are actually geniuses. Whew, glad to know that is the REAL reason we talk to ourselves – ahahahaha: http://shareably.net/people-who-talk-to-themselves/

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Good grief. Trump’s comments on sexual assault in the military stemming from Tweets he sent out in 2013 are something else. As is his suggestion that he will form a “military justice system.” As the following article highlights, we have had one of those for quite some time: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/09/09/us/politics/donald-trump-sexual-assault-military-women.html?_r=0

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Hillary would be in free fall in her election chances if Trump would just shut his big mouth. Every time he says something stupid, which is every time he opens that yap he saves her. WTH?

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        That sums it up, Marge. He cannot stop saying unbelievably stupid things. Not only was this article in our local paper, but there was also one abt Lindsey Graham railing at Trump for his praise of Putin. UGH.

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This article is a trifecta for me: it is written by Mary Katherine Ham (love her); abt a Giants player (I’m a Giants fan); and makes fun of Lena Dunham (need I say more?): http://thefederalist.com/2016/09/08/odell-beckham-doesnt-care-about-lena-dunham-in-the-nicest-way-possible

Leave a Reply

