Votes of the Rich and Famous 🏰 Open Thread 🏰

by

 

I read that Martha Stewart is Voting For Hillary. Isn’t that swell? Except I wonder why I should give a rat’s backside about who she’s voting for and why Martha Stewart felt compelled to share that with us.

Why do these rich and famous people think that we need to know how they will vote? If they think that their opinion will influence who we vote for then they obviously don’t have any respect for us. Or respect for our ability to make decisions on our own like fully functioning adults.

I don’t care what Martha Stewart thinks about politics or how she intends to vote. However if she wants to tell me how to whip up a quick and easy cheesecake I’m all ears. And Eyes. And taste buds.

I am not interested in the opinions of Martha Stewart on voting or on any other celebrity who wants to run their mouth. They have a perfect right. Just as I have to the right to think they are narcissistic nitwits that think that somehow their opinion is worth more than any other opinion.

Barbara Streisand has threatened to leave the country if Trump is elected. Does she think that will stop anyone from voting for him? Bye-bye Babs, don’t let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya!

Every election some dimwit threatens to leave the country if so and so wins. That’s supreme arrogance and an overinflated sense of your own importance IMO. Suck it up Buttercup the world doesn’t spin to the beat of your drum.

It’s no secret that Hillary has the support of most of the media and Hollywood. Is that supposed to sway my vote? Do they think us so lacking the ability to think for ourselves that we need them to tell us how we should vote?

The Hill has a list of some of the endorsements. Some of them I never heard of, celebrities being all in the eye of the holder I guess. Other’s I’ve heard of and therefore wouldn’t even think of voting for anyone they endorsed. That’s the backwards endorsement I guess.

Susan Sarandon and Lena Dunham for Hillary? There a gruesome twosome to beat three of a kind! I can expect that anything those two are for would be something I am against. That includes Hillary in the White House instead of in jail where she belongs.

Hulk Hogan and Ted Nugent for Trump? Now there are two men I would definitely expect to know who would be best to lead this country and make my life better. NOT! Here’s the whole list if you are interested: Celebrity endorsements for 2016

I’m just holding my breath waiting for Oprah to tell us that “Hillary is the One”! Because Oprah told us that Barak was the one and look how well that’s worked out for the country. I respect Oprah’s talent as an actress although I find her performances spotty. I respect her talent for marketing herself and making a ton of money. I don’t respect her opinion on politics one teeny, weeny bit.

Does Hollywood heartthrob George Clooney endorse Hillary? Well then count me in. Not. For one thing George Clooney does not make my heart throb. Never did. He affects my stomach and gives me a pain in the … gluteus maximus.

The rejection of celebrity endorsement is not a new phenomena for me. I even refused to allow Dr. Marcus Welby tell me what coffee to use way back in the dark ages when I was young and he was sorta young and he was Robert Young.

If I wouldn’t listen to Dr. Marcus Welby, that tells you that I am a celebrity endorsement lost cause. If you are old enough to remember Dr. Marcus Welby that is.

I suspect much of the support for Donald Trump comes from his being a “celebrity”. There was always something about the man that just creeped me out. Multiple marriages always are a sign to me of something being wrong with a person. Not saying there is something wrong with them, just saying that’s the feeling I get. Add in numerous affairs while married and while not and with married women and you have a man I don’t want to see in the White House.

I cannot comment on his television reality program. I never watched it. Watching some rich SOB fire someone isn’t my idea of entertainment.

Hillary is a celebrity of sorts. She’s been around so long and is as well know, at least her name is, as well known as the celebrities that endorse her. Celebrities that would be throwing rocks at the corrupt woman if she didn’t have the magic letter “D” behind her name.

Speaking only for myself I don’t want politics inserted into everything. I watch entertainment programs to be entertained and to escape from politics and venal politicians. Evidently I’m not the only one. Politically Charged Emmy Awards’ Ratings At An All Time Low 

Now that NFL programing is tied to BLM, which I loathe, despise and think domestic terrorists I don’t watch. Rumors are that their ratings are down from previous years. I hope so. I hope there are still enough people that are disgusted with politics being injected into sports.

If enough people reject the crap that is thrown at us in the name of politics we may get our entertainment back. The solution is easy…

Walt Handelsman

15 Responses to “Votes of the Rich and Famous 🏰 Open Thread 🏰”

  1. piper Says:

    Yesterday after gardening and showering I needed a few minutes of downtime before dinner so I decided to watch TV. Wealthy and famous, Tom Selleck, is the new spokesperson for reverse mortgages which I consider a scam program for older people who are struggling in today’s economy (have several friends who are in program and experiencing major hassles). My opinion of Tom and others like the former Senator Fred Thompson and the Fonz is in the crapper.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I agree completely. I think that reverse mortgage crap is just that – crap. That these people, who have plenty of money of their own and then some would help scam older people is unconscionable IMO!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Dear Amy Schumer: Obsessing Over Body Functions Is Rude

    Amy Schumer’s latest period-related shenanigans at Sunday’s Emmy Awards could make anyone question whether she’s ever had a period before.

    On Sunday’s red carpet pre-Emmy Awards show, wide-eyed “E!” host Giuliana Rancic made the mistake of asking Schumer an innocent question many feminists loathe: “Who are you wearing?”

    Schumer, clearly pleased she had a chance to use a long-planned line, saucily responded, on camera, that her ensemble included “Vivienne Westwood, Tom Ford shoes, and an O.B. TAAAAMPON!”

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/09/21/attention-feminists-body-functions-boring-obsessing-rude/

    If this is what passes for humor these days – count me out. What a skank!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Ben Shapiro: What To Expect In The First Debate: Boredom

    The debate will come to whether Trump can avoid being portrayed as a character from “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest,” and whether Clinton can avoid being portrayed as the title player from “Weekend at Bernie’s.”

    Sounds riveting.

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/9320/what-expect-first-debate-boredom-ben-shapiro

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Jonah Goldberg: Obama’s trolling Helped Give Rise to Trump

    In late 2014, when Obama announced that he was going to unilaterally block the deportation of millions of undocumented immigrants in the country — after insisting for years that the Constitution wouldn’t allow him to do anything of the sort — many writers on the left and the right recognized that at least part of his strategy was to bait Republicans. Obama could have changed the policy quietly, without much fanfare. Instead, he sought to incite as much right-wing anger as possible.

    Tellingly, the White House didn’t give the exclusive to Univision or MSNBC, but to Fox News. As liberal writer Bill Scher put it in Politico, “Operation Epic Troll” was a “smashing success.”

    http://townhall.com/columnists/jonahgoldberg/2016/09/21/obamas-trolling-helped-give-rise-to-trump-n2221174

  7. helenk3 Says:

    had internet problems, Had to change companies. Now I AM BACK and look out world

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Was wondering what happened and where you were. We miss you when you aren’t around. You find things we don’t. Hope this solves your internet problems.

      We had to change some time back – couldn’t figure out why we were always down. Finally we learned that the squirrels were chewing on the wires on the pole behind our back yard.

      We changed to Time Warner which had underground cables and that hasn’t happened again. They are crappy people to deal with but the squirrels either haven’t found their cables or don’t like the taste.

      Any way, welcome back Helen. And look out world!

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Okay, so not only is Trump ragging on Cruz, but he also, once again, reinforces the whole NY Values thing that HE said in the beginning, then hammered Cruz for during the campaign. Ugh: http://therightscoop.com/trump-craps-on-ted-cruz-again-while-mike-pence-laughs-along-video

Leave a Reply

